DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 14, 16-28 and 32 are currently pending
Claims 1-13 were previously canceled
Claims 15, 29-31 and 33 are currently canceled
Claims 14, 17, 21-28 and 32 are currently amended
Claims 14, 16-28 and 32 are currently rejected
Specification
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
This application does not contain an abstract of the disclosure as required by 37 CFR 1.72(b). An abstract on a separate sheet is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 8 states “the width” and instead should state “the opening width” for further clarity and to maintain consistency. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 2-3 state “ring .” and instead should have the period closer and further recite “ring.” for further clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “each of which is provided” on line 5. It is unclear and confusing what Applicant is referring to by reciting ‘each of which’? Claims 16-28 and 32 are also rejected since these claims depend on claim 14.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "inner and/or the outer supporting bodies” on lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 16-28 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karbachsch et al. (U.S. 5,290,457) (hereinafter “Kar”).
Regarding Claim 14:
Kar teaches a filter apparatus (see FIG. 1, a filter apparatus 10) (see col. 1 lines 28-30) (see col. 2 lines 32-50) (see col. 5 line 66 through col. 6 line 25) (see col. 6 lines 59-63 further discussing a direction of flow from inside to outside, or from outside to inside), having a filter material (see FIG. 1) (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20) (see col. 6 lines 16-19 and lines 39-58), wherein a prefilter is connected upstream of a surface filter in a flow direction of a fluid flow to be cleaned of particulate contamination (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20) (see col. 6 lines 16-19 and lines 39-58), wherein the prefilter comprises a bulk material for increasing an effective surface area of the filter material (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20) (see col. 6 lines 16-19 and lines 39-58), wherein the bulk material is accommodated between confining layers (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20) (see col. 6 lines 16-19 and lines 39-58), each of which is provided with fluid passages (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20) (see col. 6 lines 16-19 and lines 39-58) (see col. 6 lines 59-63 further discussing a direction of flow from inside to outside, or from outside to inside);
wherein the confining layers form a thin cylinder wall of a hollow cylinder (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20 forming walls of the cylinder) (see col. 6 lines 16-19 and lines 39-58) (see col. 6 lines 59-63 further discussing a direction of flow from inside to outside, or from outside to inside).
Although Kar discusses diameters and widths of the multiple filter elements/layers, one may broadly interpret that Kar does not explicitly teach an opening width of which is smaller than a diameter of a single grain of the bulk material, wherein the opening width of the thin cylinder wall is between 1% to 10% of a free diameter of the hollow cylinder, as recited in amended, independent claim 14. However, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the filter apparatus of Kar specifically the opening widths and diameters for optimization purposes and to create an efficient flow path (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20) (see col. 3 lines 40-46 further discussing differing sizes and geometries) (see col. 6 lines 16-19 and lines 39-58) (see col. 6 lines 59-63 further discussing a direction of flow from inside to outside, or from outside to inside).
Regarding Claim 16:
Kar teaches the filter apparatus of claim 14, wherein the bulk material consists of inorganic, metallic or organic materials of natural or synthetic origin (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20 forming walls of the cylinder) (see col. 3 lines 40-46 further discussing differing sizes and geometries) (see col. 6 lines 16-19 and lines 39-58) (see col. 6 lines 44-53) (see col. 6 lines 59-63 further discussing a direction of flow from inside to outside, or from outside to inside).
Regarding Claim 17:
Kar teaches the filter apparatus of claim 14, wherein a fill height of the bulk material between the confining layers is between 5 mm and 50 mm, or between 10 mm and 30 mm (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20 forming walls of the cylinder) (see col. 3 lines 40-46 further discussing differing sizes and geometries) (see col. 6 lines 16-19 and lines 39-58) (see col. 6 lines 44-53) (see col. 6 lines 59-63 further discussing a direction of flow from inside to outside, or from outside to inside).
Regarding Claim 18:
Kar teaches the filter apparatus of claim 14, wherein the bulk material is hydrophobized and/or comprises hydrophobized materials (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20 forming walls of the cylinder) (see col. 3 lines 40-46 further discussing differing sizes and geometries) (see col. 6 lines 16-19 and lines 39-58) (see col. 6 lines 44-53) (see col. 6 lines 59-63 further discussing a direction of flow from inside to outside, or from outside to inside).
Regarding Claim 19:
Kar teaches the filter apparatus of claim 14, wherein the bulk material consists of one or more of sand, silicates, metals, glass, activated carbon (s), and plastics in granular form (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20 forming walls of the cylinder) (see col. 3 lines 40-46 further discussing differing sizes and geometries) (see col. 6 lines 16-19 and lines 39-58) (see col. 6 lines 44-53) (see col. 6 lines 59-63 further discussing a direction of flow from inside to outside, or from outside to inside).
Regarding Claim 20:
Kar teaches the filter apparatus of claim 14, wherein the confining layers and/or the surface filter are formed of wire or plastic meshes or nonwovens (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20 forming walls of the cylinder) (see col. 3 lines 40-46 further discussing differing sizes and geometries) (see col. 6 lines 16-19 and lines 39-58) (see col. 6 lines 44-53) (see col. 6 lines 59-63 further discussing a direction of flow from inside to outside, or from outside to inside).
Regarding Claim 21:
Kar teaches the filter apparatus of claim 14, wherein the surface filter has a confining layer for the bulk material or forms a boundary layer itself (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20 forming walls of the cylinder) (see col. 3 lines 40-46 further discussing differing sizes and geometries) (see col. 6 lines 16-19 and lines 39-58) (see col. 6 lines 44-53) (see col. 6 lines 59-63 further discussing a direction of flow from inside to outside, or from outside to inside).
Regarding Claim 22:
Kar teaches the filter apparatus of claim 14, wherein the hollow cylinder comprises following components from inside to outside:
an inner supporting body (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20 forming walls of the cylinder);
a confining layer for confining the bulk material (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20 forming walls of the cylinder);
the bulk material for increasing a surface area of the surface filter (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20 forming walls of the cylinder);
optionally a further confining layer (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20 forming walls of the cylinder);
a surface filter (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20 forming walls of the cylinder);
a support fabric for supporting the surface filter (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20 forming walls of the cylinder); and
an outer supporting body (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20 forming walls of the cylinder) (see col. 3 lines 40-46 further discussing differing sizes and geometries) (see col. 6 lines 16-19 and lines 39-58) (see col. 6 lines 44-53) (see col. 6 lines 59-63 further discussing a direction of flow from inside to outside, or from outside to inside).
Regarding Claim 23:
Kar teaches the filter apparatus of claim 14, wherein components used in each case extend concentrically to a longitudinal axis of the hollow cylinder (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20 forming walls of the cylinder) (see col. 3 lines 40-46 further discussing differing sizes and geometries) (see col. 6 lines 16-19 and lines 39-58) (see col. 6 lines 44-53) (see col. 6 lines 59-63 further discussing a direction of flow from inside to outside, or from outside to inside).
Regarding Claim 24:
Kar teaches the filter apparatus of claims 14, wherein a cylinder wall with its respective components is enclosed on its free end faces by a respective end cap ring (see FIG. 1, caps 14) (see col. 1 lines 28-30) (see col. 2 lines 32-50) (see col. 5 line 66 through col. 6 line 25) (see col. 6 lines 59-63 further discussing a direction of flow from inside to outside, or from outside to inside).
Regarding Claim 25:
Kar teaches the filter apparatus of claim 14, wherein inner and/or outer supporting bodies are formed of a perforated sheet, a wedge wire screen or a wire mesh (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20 forming walls of the cylinder) (see col. 3 lines 40-46 further discussing differing sizes and geometries) (see col. 6 lines 16-19 and lines 39-58) (see col. 6 lines 44-53) (see col. 6 lines 59-63 further discussing a direction of flow from inside to outside, or from outside to inside).
Regarding Claim 26:
Kar teaches the filter apparatus of claim 14, wherein an outer supporting body has a circumferential, spiral-shaped wire protruding outwards towards an environment (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20 forming walls of the cylinder) (see col. 3 lines 40-46 further discussing differing sizes and geometries) (see col. 6 lines 16-19 and lines 39-58) (see col. 6 lines 44-53) (see col. 6 lines 59-63 further discussing a direction of flow from inside to outside, or from outside to inside).
Regarding Claim 27:
Kar teaches the filter apparatus of claim 14, wherein the filter apparatus is in a form of a hollow cylinder (see FIG. 1, a filter apparatus 10) (see col. 1 lines 28-30) (see col. 2 lines 32-50) (see col. 5 line 66 through col. 6 line 25) (see col. 6 lines 59-63 further discussing a direction of flow from inside to outside, or from outside to inside).
Regarding Claim 28:
Kar teaches the filter apparatus of claim 14, wherein the bulk material consists of inorganic, metallic or organic materials of natural or synthetic origin with a grain size for the single grain of between 0.1 mm and 2 mm (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20 forming walls of the cylinder) (see col. 3 lines 40-46 further discussing differing sizes and geometries) (see col. 6 lines 16-19 and lines 39-58) (see col. 6 lines 44-53) (see col. 6 lines 59-63 further discussing a direction of flow from inside to outside, or from outside to inside).
Regarding Claim 32:
Kar teaches the filter apparatus of claim 16, wherein a fill height of the bulk material between the confining layers is between 5 mm and 50 mm, or between 10 mm and 30 mm (see FIG. 3, filter materials/layers 18, 19 and 20 forming walls of the cylinder) (see col. 3 lines 40-46 further discussing differing sizes and geometries) (see col. 6 lines 16-19 and lines 39-58) (see col. 6 lines 44-53) (see col. 6 lines 59-63 further discussing a direction of flow from inside to outside, or from outside to inside).
Other References Considered
Fleck (U.S. 5,015,375) (hereinafter “Fleck”) teaches a rechargeable filter assembly.
Karbachsch et al. (U.S. 5,169,528) (hereinafter “Kar2”) teaches a filter element.
D.B. Pall et al. (U.S. 3,252,270) (hereinafter “Pall”) teaches a system and method for removing oil entrained in air.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and focus on amended claim limitations, which have been addressed above in the updated rejection (see above).
The previous specification/abstract objection is still maintained since Applicant has not addressed or corrected the objection.
The previous claim objections have been considered and are now updated (see above).
The previous 112(b) claim rejections have been considered and are now updated (see above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AKASH K VARMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773