CTNF 18/692,292 CTNF 87933 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This is a response to U.S. Patent Application No. 18/692,292 filed on 03/14/2024 in which Claims 1 – 26 were filed for examination. Status of the Claims Claims 1 – 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Examiner Note The Examiner cites particular columns, line numbers and/or paragraph numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/14/2024 have been entered and considered by the examiner. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “receiving he first and second signals”, it should recite “receiving the first signal and second signal” . Appropriate correction is required. Drawings 06-22-07 AIA The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: S1 in Figure 2 . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1 – 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Burns et al. (US 10,281,891) (hereinafter, Burns) . Regarding Claim 1, Burns teaches a method of manipulating control of an operation of an actuation unit of an apparatus using a remote controller configured via a retrofitting of the remote controller to a native controller of the apparatus (see Burns’ Col. 1 lines 35 – 55 and Claim 1) , the native controller prior to the retrofitting being configured to control the operation of the actuation unit based upon a first signal indicative of a first control variable of the apparatus (See Burns’ Col. 5 lines 41 – 45 and Claim 1) , the method comprising: sensing the first control variable of the apparatus at a sensor (Burns in Col. 1 lines 40 – 43 and Claim 1, teaches sensing a first control variable of the apparatus at a first sensor) and generating a first feedback signal by the first sensor based upon the first control variable) ; generating the first signal based upon the first control variable (Burns in Col. 1 lines 40 – 43 and Claim 1, teaches generating a first feedback signal by the first sensor based upon the first control variable) ; generating a second signal based upon a first setpoint of the native controller for the first control variable (Bruns in Col. 1 lines 44 – 46 and Claim 1, further teaches sensing a second control variable of the apparatus at a second sensor and generating a second feedback signal by the second sensor based upon the second control variable. Burns in Col. 6 lines 49 – 52, teaches that a setpoint P1 can be provided that represents a desired injection pressure of the actuation unit 22. The setpoint P1 can be compared against the modified feedback signal S6 and an error signal E1 can be generated) ; at the remote controller (Burns in Col. 5 lines 44 – 45 and Fig. 2, further teaches a remote controller 46 can be in signal communication with the native controller 40) : receiving the first and second signals (Burns in Col. 1 lines 47 – 48, and Claim 1, further teaches receiving the first feedback signal and the second feedback signal) ; generating a control signal based upon the first signal and a second setpoint of the remote controller for the first control variable (Burns in Col. 2 lines 3 – 7, teaches receiving the first feedback signal and the second feedback signal, comparing the pressure of the injection molding apparatus to a desired pressure setpoint, generating a control signal based upon the pressure and the desired pressure setpoint); combining the generated control signal and the second signal to produce a modified feedback signal (Burns in Col. 6 lines 24 – 33 and Fig. 2, teaches that a signal S4 (first signal) can be provided to the remote controller 46 that indicates the actual melt pressure of the injection molding apparatus 10. The actual melt pressure can be compared against the setpoint P2 and an error signal E2 can be generated and provided to a PID control algorithm G2 that generates a control signal C2. A signal S5 (second signal) can be provided to the remote controller 46 that indicates the measured injection pressure of the actuation unit 22. The control signal C2 and the signal S5 can be combined into a modified feedback signal S6 (modified feedback signal)) ; and transmitting the modified feedback signal to the native controller in lieu of the first signal (Burns in Col, 6 lines 39 – 41 and Fig. 2, further teaches that the modified feedback signal S6 can be transmitted to the native controller 40 in lieu of the feedback signal from the injection pressure sensor 42) ; and at the native controller, controlling the operation of the actuation unit based at least in part on the modified feedback signal (Burns in Col. 6 lines 47 – 49, and Fig. 2, further teaches that at the native controller 40, the operation of the actuation unit 22 can be controlled according to the modified feedback signal S6). Regarding Claim 2, Burns teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Burns further teaches: wherein the apparatus comprises an injection molding apparatus comprising a heated barrel and an injection shaft, the actuation unit being operatively coupled to the injection shaft, and wherein the operation of the actuation unit facilitates operation of the injection shaft with respect to the heated barrel (Burns in Col. 1 lines 58 – 62 and Claim 2, further teaches that the injection molding apparatus comprises a heated barrel, an injection shaft, an actuation unit, and a native controller. The actuation unit is operably coupled with the injection shaft and is configured to facilitate operation of the injection shaft with respect to the heated barrel). Regarding Claim 3, Burns teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 2. Burns further teaches: wherein the injection shaft comprises a reciprocating screw (Burns in and Claim 9 , wherein the operation of the actuation unit facilitates a reciprocation of the reciprocating screw (Burns in Col. 3 lines 19 – 26 and Claim 9, further teaches that the injection molding apparatus 10 can include an injection molding unit 12 that includes a hopper 14, a heated barrel 16, a reciprocating screw 18, and a nozzle 20. The reciprocating screw 18 can be disposed in the heated barrel 16 and configured to reciprocate with respect to the heated barrel 16. An actuation unit 22 can be operably coupled to the reciprocating screw 18 to facilitate powered reciprocation of the reciprocating screw 18). Regarding Claim 4, Burns teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 2. Burns further teaches: wherein the injection shaft comprises a plunger, wherein the operation of the actuation unit facilitates a reciprocation of the plunger (Burns teaches wherein the injector shaft comprises one of a reciprocating screw and a plunger (See claim 24). Burns in Col. 3 lines 19 – 33, further teaches The injection molding apparatus 10 can include an injection molding unit 12 that includes a hopper 14, a heated barrel 16, a reciprocating screw 18, and a nozzle 20. The reciprocating screw 18 can be disposed in the heated barrel 16 and configured to reciprocate with respect to the heated barrel 16. An actuation unit 22 can be operably coupled to the reciprocating screw 18 to facilitate powered reciprocation of the reciprocating screw 18. In some embodiments, the actuation unit 22 can comprise a hydraulic motor. In some embodiments, the actuation unit 22 can comprise an electric motor. In other embodiments, an actuation unit can additionally or alternatively comprise a valve, a flow controller, an amplifier, or any of a variety of other suitable control devices for injection molding apparatuses or non-injection molding apparatuses) . Regarding Claim 5, Burns teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 2. Burns further teaches: wherein the actuation unit comprises one of a hydraulic motor and an electric motor (Burns in Col. 3 lines 27 – 29 and Claim 11, teaches that the actuation unit 22 can comprise a hydraulic motor. The actuation unit 22 can comprise an electric motor). Regarding Claim 6, Burns teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 2. Burns further teaches: wherein the first control variable of the injection molding apparatus is one of a injection pressure of the heated barrel, a temperature of the heated barrel, and a volume of a hopper included in the injection molding apparatus (Burns in Col. 5 lines 45 – 49 and Claim 3, teaches that the injection pressure sensor 42 can facilitate detection (direct or indirect) of the injection pressure inside of the heated barrel 16 (i.e., the pressure of the heated barrel 16 at the beginning of the reciprocating screw 18) by providing a feedback signal via a signal line 43 to the native controller 40. Burns in Col. 7 lines 30 – 34, further teaches that a native controller 40 can be configured to sense and control any of a variety of suitable alternative control variables, such as, for example, a temperature of the heated barrel 16, a volume of the hopper 14, or velocity of the reciprocating screw 18). Regarding Claim 7, Burns teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 2. Burns further teaches: wherein the first control variable of the injection molding apparatus is a melt pressure of the heated barrel (Burns in Col. 7 lines 30 – 40 and Claim 3, further teaches that a native controller 40 can be configured to sense and control any of a variety of suitable alternative control variables, such as, for example, a temperature of the heated barrel 16, a volume of the hopper 14, or velocity of the reciprocating screw 18. It is also to be appreciated that, although the remote controller 46 is described as providing the capability to control the melt pressure of the injection molding unit 12, a remote controller using the injection pressure of the actuation unit 22 can be configured to sense and control any of a variety of suitable alternative control variables). Regarding Claim 8, Burns teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 2. Burns further teaches: wherein the first control variable of the injection molding apparatus is a cavity pressure of the injection molding apparatus (Burns in Col. 5 lines 27 – 32 and Claim 14, further teaches that the remote controller 46 can sense the melt pressure and/or the cavity pressure of the injection molding apparatus 10 and can send a signal (e.g., a modified feedback signal) to the native controller 40 that affects the manner in which the native controller 40 controls the reciprocating screw 18). Regarding Claim 9, Burns teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Burns further teaches: wherein the generating of the control signal at the remote controller comprises: comparing the first signal to the second setpoint for the first control variable (Burns in Col. 2 lines 3 – 6, teaches that at the remote controller, the method comprises receiving the first feedback signal and the second feedback signal, comparing the pressure of the injection molding apparatus to a desired pressure setpoint. Burns in Col. 6 lines 59 – 66, further teaches the native controller 40 is controlling to the desired injection pressure of the setpoint P1, the modified feedback signal S6 from the remote controller 46 can affect the control signal C1 from the native controller 40 in a manner that actually controls the melt pressure of the injection molding apparatus 10 to the desired pressure defined by the setpoint P2 (rather than controlling the injection pressure of the actuation unit 22 to the setpoint P1)) ; and generating the control signal based upon a difference between the first signal and the second setpoint (Burns in Col. 2 lines 6 – 7, teaches generating a control signal based upon the pressure and the desired pressure setpoint. Burns in Col. 6 lines 26 – 29, further teaches that the actual melt pressure can be compared against the setpoint P2 and an error signal E2 can be generated and provided to a PID control algorithm G2 that generates a control signal C2) . Regarding Claim 10, Burns teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 9. Burns further teaches: wherein the generating of the control signal at the remote controller comprises providing the difference as an input to a PID control algorithm of the remote controller to generate the control signal (Burns in Col. 5 lines 36 – 37, teaches that the remote controller 46 can be a PID controller. Burns in Col. 6 lines 21 – 29, further teaches that at the remote controller 46, a setpoint P2 can be provided that represents a desired melt pressure of the injection molding apparatus 10. A signal S4 can be provided to the remote controller 46 that indicates the actual melt pressure of the injection molding apparatus 10. The actual melt pressure can be compared against the setpoint P2 and an error signal E2 can be generated and provided to a PID control algorithm G2 that generates a control signal C2). Regarding Claim 11, Burns teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 10. Burns further teaches: wherein the PID control algorithm of the remote controller is a first PID control algorithm, and wherein the controlling of the operation of the actuation unit at the native controller based upon the modified feedback signal comprises providing the modified feedback signal as an input to a second PID control algorithm of the native controller that is different from the first PID control algorithm (Burns in Col. 5 lines 36 – 37, teaches that the remote controller 46 can be a PID controller. Burns in Col. 6 lines 47 – 58, further teaches that at the native controller 40, the operation of the actuation unit 22 can be controlled according to the modified feedback signal S6. For example, a setpoint P1 can be provided that represents a desired injection pressure of the actuation unit 22. The setpoint P1 can be compared against the modified feedback signal S6 and an error signal E1 can be generated. The error signal E1 can be provided to a PID control algorithm G1 that generates a control signal C1 that commands the screw control 44 to advance the reciprocating screw 18 at a rate that causes the injection pressure to converge towards the desired injection pressure indicated by the setpoint P1). Regarding Claim 12, Burns teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Burns further teaches: wherein the second setpoint of the remote controller is a setpoint for the first control variable (Burns in Col. 2 lines 3 – 6, teaches that at the remote controller, the method comprises receiving the first feedback signal and the second feedback signal, comparing the pressure of the injection molding apparatus to a desired pressure setpoint. Burns in Col. 6 lines 59 – 66, further teaches the native controller 40 is controlling to the desired injection pressure of the setpoint P1, the modified feedback signal S6 from the remote controller 46 can affect the control signal C1 from the native controller 40 in a manner that actually controls the melt pressure of the injection molding apparatus 10 to the desired pressure defined by the setpoint P2 (rather than controlling the injection pressure of the actuation unit 22 to the setpoint P1)) . Regarding Claim 13, Burns teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Burns further teaches: wherein the second setpoint of the remote controller is a setpoint for a second control variable different from the first control variable (Burns in Col. 7 lines 8 – 23, teaches that during a molding cycle, the melt pressure of the injection molding unit 12 can be changed by changing the setpoint P2. Different setpoints can correspond to a different stage of the molding cycle. For example, to initiate the initial injecting stage, a setpoint can be provided that causes the melt pressure to increase enough to begin melting the thermoplastic pellets 24 and distributing the melt to the nozzle 20. Once the melt pressure has increased enough to begin filling the mold cavity 34, a setpoint can be provided that initiates the filling stage at a pressure that is appropriate to properly fill the mold cavity 34. Once the mold cavity 34 is almost filled (e.g., end of fill), a setpoint can be provided to decrease enough to initiate the packing stage and hold at a substantially constant melt pressure during the holding stage) . Regarding Claim 14, Burns teaches an apparatus (See Burns Fig. 1) comprising: an actuation unit (See Burns Fig. 1 actuation 22) ; a native controller in communication with the actuation unit and configured to control an operation of the actuation unit, the native controller storing a first setpoint of the native controller for a first control variable of the apparatus (Burns in Col. 4 lines 7 – 9 and Fig. 1, teaches that the injection molding apparatus 10 can include a native controller 40 that is in signal communication with various components of the injection molding apparatus 10. Burns in Col. 6 lines 21 – 24, further teaches that at the remote controller 46, a setpoint P2 can be provided that represents a desired melt pressure of the injection molding apparatus 10) ; a remote controller in communication with the native controller via a retrofitting of the remote controller to a native controller (Burns in Col. 4 lines 44 – 48, teaches that a remote controller 46 can be in signal communication with the native controller 40, a melt pressure sensor 48 located in, at, or near, the nozzle 20, and with a cavity pressure sensor 50 located proximate an end of the mold cavity 34. Burns in Col. 5 lines 37 – 40, further teaches that the remote controller 46 can be retrofitted onto the injection molding unit 12 to provide additional functionality not capable of being provided by the native controller 40) , the native controller prior to the retrofitting being configured to control the operation of the actuation unit based upon a first signal indicative of first the control variable of the apparatus (Burns in Col. 5 lines 41 – 50, further teaches that prior to retrofitting the remote controller 46 onto the injection molding apparatus 10, the native controller 40 can be in signal communication with an injection pressure sensor 42 (shown in dashed lines) located at the actuation unit 22. The injection pressure sensor 42 can facilitate detection (direct or indirect) of the injection pressure inside of the heated barrel 16 (i.e., the pressure of the heated barrel 16 at the beginning of the reciprocating screw 18) by providing a feedback signal via a signal line 43 to the native controller 40) ; and a sensor in communication with the remote controller and configured to sense the first control variable and generate a first signal based upon the first control variable (Burns in Col. 1 lines 40 – 43 and Claim 1, teaches sensing a first control variable of the apparatus at a first sensor) and generating a first feedback signal by the first sensor based upon the first control variable) , wherein the remote controller is configured to: receive, from the sensor, the first signal (Burns in Col. 1 lines 47 – 48, and Claim 1, further teaches receiving the first feedback signal and the second feedback signal) , receive, from the native controller, a second signal indicative of the first setpoint for the first control variable ((Bruns in Col. 1 lines 44 – 46 and Claim 1, further teaches sensing a second control variable of the apparatus at a second sensor and generating a second feedback signal by the second sensor based upon the second control variable. Burns in Col. 6 lines 49 – 52, teaches that a setpoint P1 can be provided that represents a desired injection pressure of the actuation unit 22. The setpoint P1 can be compared against the modified feedback signal S6 and an error signal E1 can be generated) , generate a control signal based upon the first signal and a second setpoint of the remote controller for the first control variable (Burns in Col. 2 lines 3 – 7, teaches receiving the first feedback signal and the second feedback signal, comparing the pressure of the injection molding apparatus to a desired pressure setpoint, generating a control signal based upon the pressure and the desired pressure setpoint) , combine the generated control signal and the second signal to produce a modified feedback signal (Burns in Col. 6 lines 24 – 33 and Fig. 2, teaches that a signal S4 (first signal) can be provided to the remote controller 46 that indicates the actual melt pressure of the injection molding apparatus 10. The actual melt pressure can be compared against the setpoint P2 and an error signal E2 can be generated and provided to a PID control algorithm G2 that generates a control signal C2. A signal S5 (second signal) can be provided to the remote controller 46 that indicates the measured injection pressure of the actuation unit 22. The control signal C2 and the signal S5 can be combined into a modified feedback signal S6 (modified feedback signal)), and transmit the modified feedback signal to the native controller in lieu of the first signal (Burns in Col, 6 lines 39 – 41 and Fig. 2, further teaches that the modified feedback signal S6 can be transmitted to the native controller 40 in lieu of the feedback signal from the injection pressure sensor 42) , and wherein the native controller is configured to control the operation of the actuation unit based at least in part on the modified feedback signal (Burns in Col. 6 lines 47 – 49, and Fig. 2, further teaches At the native controller 40, the operation of the actuation unit 22 can be controlled according to the modified feedback signal S6). Regarding Claim 15, this claim merely recites an apparatus executing instructions as similarly recited in Claim 2. Accordingly, Burns discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 15, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 2. Regarding Claim 16, this claim merely recites an apparatus executing instructions as similarly recited in Claim 3. Accordingly, Burns discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 16, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 3. Regarding Claim 17, this claim merely recites an apparatus executing instructions as similarly recited in Claim 4. Accordingly, Burns discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 17, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 4. Regarding Claim 18, this claim merely recites an apparatus executing instructions as similarly recited in Claim 5. Accordingly, Burns discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 18, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 5. Regarding Claim 19, this claim merely recites an apparatus executing instructions as similarly recited in Claim 6. Accordingly, Burns discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 19, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 6. Regarding Claim 20, this claim merely recites an apparatus executing instructions as similarly recited in Claim 7. Accordingly, Burns discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 20, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 7. Regarding Claim 21, this claim merely recites an apparatus executing instructions as similarly recited in Claim 8. Accordingly, Burns discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 21, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 8. Regarding Claim 22, this claim merely recites an apparatus executing instructions as similarly recited in Claim 9. Accordingly, Burns discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 22, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 9. Regarding Claim 23, this claim merely recites an apparatus executing instructions as similarly recited in Claim 10. Accordingly, Burns discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 23, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 10. Regarding Claim 24, this claim merely recites an apparatus executing instructions as similarly recited in Claim 11. Accordingly, Burns discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 24, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 11. Regarding Claim 25, this claim merely recites an apparatus executing instructions as similarly recited in Claim 12. Accordingly, Burns discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 25, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 12. Regarding Claim 26, this claim merely recites an apparatus executing instructions as similarly recited in Claim 13. Accordingly, Burns discloses/teaches every limitation of Claim 26, as indicated in the above rejection of Claim 13 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ARIEL MERCADO VARGAS whose telephone number is (571)270-1701. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00am - 4:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Scott Baderman can be reached at 571-272-3644. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ARIEL MERCADO-VARGAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118 Application/Control Number: 18/692,292 Page 2 Art Unit: 2118 Application/Control Number: 18/692,292 Page 3 Art Unit: 2118 Application/Control Number: 18/692,292 Page 4 Art Unit: 2118 Application/Control Number: 18/692,292 Page 5 Art Unit: 2118 Application/Control Number: 18/692,292 Page 6 Art Unit: 2118 Application/Control Number: 18/692,292 Page 7 Art Unit: 2118 Application/Control Number: 18/692,292 Page 8 Art Unit: 2118 Application/Control Number: 18/692,292 Page 9 Art Unit: 2118 Application/Control Number: 18/692,292 Page 10 Art Unit: 2118 Application/Control Number: 18/692,292 Page 11 Art Unit: 2118 Application/Control Number: 18/692,292 Page 12 Art Unit: 2118 Application/Control Number: 18/692,292 Page 13 Art Unit: 2118 Application/Control Number: 18/692,292 Page 14 Art Unit: 2118 Application/Control Number: 18/692,292 Page 15 Art Unit: 2118 Application/Control Number: 18/692,292 Page 16 Art Unit: 2118