Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "provided between the batteries adjacent to each other" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the batteries” in the claim. It is unclear which of “a plurality of stacked batteries” Applicant is referring to. For the purpose of this Office Action, the claim limitation is being read as, “provided between at least two of the plurality of stacked batteries adjacent to each other”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "along a stacking direction of the battery" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the battery” in the claim. It is unclear if Applicant is referring to “a battery pack”, one of the “a plurality of stacked batteries”, one of “at least two of the plurality of stacked batteries adjacent to each other”, or otherwise. For the purpose of this Office Action, the claim limitation is being read as, “along a stacking direction of the plurality of stacked batteries”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the adjacent batteries" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if Applicant is referring to the “a plurality of stacked batteries”, “at least two of the plurality of stacked batteries adjacent to each other”, or otherwise. For the purpose of this Office Action, the claim limitation is being read as, “the at least two of the plurality of stacked batteries adjacent to each other” as is reasonable in light of [0017] of the instant specification.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a holding member which holds the plurality of batteries" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the plurality of batteries” in the claim. It is unclear whether Applicant is referring to “a plurality of stacked batteries”, “at least two of the plurality of stacked batteries adjacent to each other” or otherwise. For the purpose of this Office Action, the claim limitation is being read as, “a holding member which holds the plurality of stacked batteries”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a convex portion projecting from the battery” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the battery”. It is unclear whether Applicant is referring to “a battery pack”, “a plurality of stacked batteries”, one of “a plurality of stacked batteries”, one of “at least two of the plurality of stacked batteries adjacent to each other” or otherwise. For the purpose of this Office Action, the claim limitation is being read as, “convex portion projecting from at least one of the plurality of stacked batteries” as is reasonable in light of [0106] of this instant specification.
Claims 2-6 are similarly rejected as being dependent from claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “in a direction approaching the battery” in line 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the battery” in this claim. It is unclear whether Applicant is referring to “a battery pack”, “a plurality of stacked batteries”, one of “a plurality of stacked batteries”, one of “at least two of the plurality of stacked batteries adjacent to each other” or otherwise. For the purpose of this Office Action, the claim limitation is being read as, “in a direction approaching the at least one of the plurality of stacked batteries”.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the convex portion of the holding member” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether Applicant is referring to “a protrusion projecting in a direction approaching the battery”, some other different yet unclaimed “convex portion of the holding member”, “the accommodating portion” or otherwise. For the purpose of this Office Action, the claim limitation is read as, “the accommodating portion of the holding member” as is reasonable in light of [0040] of the instant specification.
Claims 4-6 are similarly rejected as being dependent from claim 2.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the holding member projects inward of the battery to from an outer edge of the battery” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the battery” in the claim. It is unclear whether Applicant is referring to “a battery pack”, “a plurality of stacked batteries”, one of “a plurality of stacked batteries”, one of “at least two of the plurality of stacked batteries adjacent to each other” or otherwise. For the purpose of this Office Action, the claim limitation is being read as, “the holding member projects inward of the battery pack to an outer edge of the battery pack”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Naoya et al. (JP2017174831A, refer to patent equivalent JP6469768B2 Examiner machine translation for citations).
Regarding claim 1, Naoya discloses a battery pack (i.e. battery module, [0010]) comprising:
a plurality of stacked batteries (i.e. battery block in which plurality of prismatic battery cells are arranged side by side, [0014], Fig. 2, 1 and 8);
a spacer (i.e. cell holder, [0014], Fig. 2 and 4, 2, ) which is provided between at least two of the plurality of stacked batteries adjacent to each other along a stacking direction of the plurality of stacked batteries (Fig. 2) and holds the at least two of the plurality of stacked batteries adjacent to each other (i.e. cell holder configured to hold battery cell, interposed between two battery cells, [0023], Fig. 2, 2); and
a holding member (i.e. side plate, Fig. 1 and 2, 4) which holds the plurality of stacked batteries along the stacking direction as shown in Annotated Naoya figure 2 below.
Annotated Naoya Fig. 2
Naoya further discloses wherein the spacer includes a convex portion ([0033], Fig. 4 and 6, 26) projecting from at least one of the plurality of stacked batteries toward the holding member (i.e. side plate, Fig. 5-6, 4 and 42); and the holding member includes an accommodating portion having a recessed depression to accommodate the convex portion (i.e. fitting concave portion, [0033], Fig. 6, 43), as shown in annotated Naoya figure 6 below.
Naoya Annotated Fig. 6
Regarding claim 2, Naoya discloses all limitations as set forth above.
Naoya further discloses the holding member includes a protrusion projecting in a direction approaching at least one of the plurality of stacked batteries, as shown in annotated Naoya Fig. 5 below.
Annotated Naoya Fig. 5
Naoya further discloses the convex portion of the spacer and the accommodating portion of the holding member are in contact with each other along a direction intersecting the stacking direction, as shown in annotated Naoya Fig. 5 below.
Annotated Naoya Fig. 5
Regarding claim 3, Naoya discloses all limitations as set forth above.
Naoya further discloses wherein the accommodating portion is formed in a U shape, as shown in annotated Naoya Fig. 6.
Annotated Naoya Fig. 6
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Naoya discloses all limitations as set forth above.
Naoya further discloses wherein the spacer includes an attachment portion which is open towards the holding member and includes a recessed depression to which the protrusion of the holding member is attached, as claimed in claim 4, and as shown in Annotated Naoya figures 4 and 6 below.
Naoya further discloses the attachment portion is formed in a U-shape, as claimed in claim 6, and shown in Annotated Naoya figures 4 and 6 below.
Annotate Naoya Fig. 4 (left) and Fig. 6 (right)
Regarding claim 5, Naoya further discloses all limitations as set forth above.
Naoya further discloses a distal end of the protrusion of the holding member projects inward of the battery pack from an outer edge of the battery pack, as shown in annotated Naoya figure 5 below.
Annotated Naoya Fig. 6
Conclusion
/E.J.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 7/10/2026