DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed March 14, 2024 is acknowledged. Claims 46-58 are pending and under examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the lines, shadings, numbers and letters of FIGs 1, 3, 5, 7, 10, 12, 14, 16 and 17 are not sufficient to provide satisfactory reproduction characteristics. 37 CFR 1.84(l) states that “all drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined.” In the instant case, the letters and numbers of the scale bars over shading especially in FIGs 7, 10, 12, 14, 16, 17 are not sufficiently dark for reproduction; the text in FIGs 1, 3, 5 is very small and/or of poor resolution to permit satisfactory reproduction characteristics.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code at least in paragraphs [0294], [0295], [0313] and [0314]. Applicant is required to delete each of the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Additionally, the use of the terms Hi-Scribe®, Wizard®, NanoDrop®, Matlab®, SYBR®, SensiFASTTM, GraphPad®, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 46-50 and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Searle (US 20190059364 A1, published February 28, 2019) in view of Genbank (XM_019051047.1, PREDICTED: Bemisia tabaci aquaporin AQPcic-like (LOC109036687), mRNA; available November 9, 2016).
Regarding claims 46-47, Searle teaches administering dsRNA (i.e., a silencing element) to Bemisia tabaci whiteflies ([0038], [0050]). Searle teaches the dsRNA targets the Aquaporin (AQP1) mRNA with NCBI accession number KX390870 ([0042]). Searle teaches the dsRNA was produced by amplification from cDNA isolated from whitefly using AQP1 specific primers ([0042]; Table 1). Searle teaches administering the dsRNA to whiteflies resulted in 50% lethality (i.e., has insecticidal activity against an insect plant pest) (FIG. 11). Searle teaches that on ingestion by the insect, the dsRNA is internalized into cells, where it is cleaved into small interfering RNA (siRNAs) of approximately 21 nucleotides, which guide RISC complexes to degrade complementary mRNAs ([0004]). Searl teaches that RNAi has yielded significant plant protection against at least three other insect plant pathogens ([0004]).
Searle does not teach the sequence of the dsRNA targeted to AQP1.
Genbank teaches the mRNA sequence of the AQP1 gene from Bemisia tabaci. The primers used by Searle to create the dsRNA are from positions 281-302 (forward) and (421-442) reverse of the mRNA, which would have produced a dsRNA having a polynucleotide that is complementary to position 281-442 of the AQP1 mRNA (page 2, underlined and labeled). Genbank provides evidence that the SEQ ID NO 162 is positions 552-751 of the AQP1 mRNA (page 2, underlined and labeled). Genbank teaches that the coding portion of the AQP1 mRNA spans positions 167-955 (page 2, line 2).
Regarding claims 46-47, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed a dsRNA targeted to and having one strand that complementary to a sequence that is 100% identical to positions 552-751 of the AQP1 mRNA. It would have amounted to designing a dsRNA against a known target having a known mRNA sequence by known means to yield predictable results. Based on Searle’s example it is evident that targeting the AQP1 mRNA transcript with RNAi comprising a dsRNA that has 100% complementarity to the AQP1 mRNA provides insecticidal activity. Because the AQP1 mRNA sequence is known in the art, it was entirely predictable that a dsRNA having a strand that is complementary to any stretch of the coding sequence of AQP1 mRNA could be designed. Additionally, based on the Searle’s disclosure that RNAi has been used to control other insects, it clear that designing dsRNAs against any mRNA target is routine as long as the mRNA sequence is known in the art. It would have been obvious to try the dsRNA having 100% identity to SEQ ID NO 162 because there are finite number of predictable ways to design a dsRNA having 100% complementarity to the known AQP1 mRNA. Furthermore, it would have been routine to screen through each of the possible dsRNAs to determine which dsRNA produces optimal target silencing. However, because each of the predictable solutions would have 100% identity with the AQP1 mRNA, including SEQ ID NO 162 it was entirely predictable that the dsRNAs would have insecticidal activity against whiteflies.
Regarding claim 48-50, the dsRNA having a strand that has 100% complementary with SEQ ID NO 162, a 200-mer rendered obvious above, reads on a claim 48-50 that requires the dsRNA to have a strand that is at least 70% identity to a SEQ ID NO 162 complement (claim 48), or at least 19 consecutive nucleotides of SEQ ID NO 162 or a complement thereof (claim 49), or both (claim 50).
Regarding claim 58, Searle teaches making transgenic tomato plants engineered to produce the AQP1 dsRNA in planta ([0045]-[0050], [0078]).
Claims 51-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Searle (US 20190059364 A1, published February 28, 2019) and Genbank (XM_019051047.1, PREDICTED: Bemisia tabaci aquaporin AQPcic-like (LOC109036687), mRNA; available November 9, 2016) as applied to claims 46-50 and 58 above, and further in view of Coelho (US 20190343122 A1, published November 14, 2019). and Mitter (Mitter et al., Nature Plants (2017), 3: 16207).
The teachings of Searle and Genbank are recited above and applied as for claim 46-50 and 58. Searle and Genbank do not teach delivering the RNAi as a composition also comprising layered double hydroxide (LDH).
Coelho teaches RNAi-based insecticides are RNA interference used for insect pest control and uses dsRNA of about 100-500 nucleotides that is complementary to an essential target gene [0081], [0136], [0137]). Coelho teaches dsRNA can be delivered in a composition with layered double hydroxide (LDH) ([0236]). Coelho teaches once loaded on LDH, the dsRNA does not wash of, shows sustained release, and can be detected on sprayed leaves even 30 days after application ([0236]). Coelho teaches the LDH-dsRNA technology was first described by Mitter in 2017 and used to target RNAs from plant viruses ([0236]).
Mitter teaches to form LDH-dsRNA complexes, dsRNA was absorbed into LDH with a mass ratio of 1:4 (Fig 1c; page 2, ¶2). Mitter also teaches LDH-dsRNA at compositions with 1:5 mass ratio, but that 1:4 ratio showed complete loading (Fig 1c, page 2, ¶2) such that at 1:5 about 80% of the dsRNA would be absorbed onto the LDH.
Regarding claims 51-57, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the dsRNA complementary to SEQ ID NO 162 rendered obvious above for claims 46-50 with the LDH taught in Coelho and Mitter. It would have amounted to the simple combination of known elements by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have predicted that the obvious dsRNA could be combined with LDH because 1) Coehlo teaches insecticidal dsRNAs can be delivered with LDH, and 2) Mitter demonstrates a dsRNA-LDH combination. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to have made the composition because Coehlo teaches dsRNA-LDH compositions are stable and effective for delivering insecticidal dsRNA. Regarding claims 56-57, it would have been obvious to specifically produce the combination at a 1:5 mass ratio of LDH to dsRNA, wherein there is 20% excess dsRNA because Mitter teaches that at such a ratio, the LDH is fully saturated and effective at administering the dsRNA onto plants, wherein the skilled artisan would reasonably predict the plant insect pathogens would encounter it.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/CATHERINE KONOPKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1635