DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LEE et al. ( KR 10-2014-0064475 A) .
LEE discloses a laser processing apparatus comprising: a laser generator (100) that
generates a laser beam; a diffraction optical element (210) that splits the laser beam generated from the laser generator into a plurality of sub-laser beams; an objective lens (270) that is located in front of a processing target (3) and positions the foci of the plurality of sub-laser beams (2) on the surface of the processing target (3); a first aberration correction optical system (251); and a second aberration correction optical system (252) (see paragraphs [0030] and [0044], claim 1, and figures 2 and 6).
Additionally, regarding claim 12 LEE discloses a stage (300) that can adjust the position of the processing target (3) (see paragraph [0026] and figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit.
EXEMPLARY RATIONALES
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 2-8 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. ( KR 10-2014-0064475 A)
Lee discloses the claimed invention except in reference to claims 2-8, 11:
Regarding claim 2, it could be easily derived from the feature disclosed in LEE , wherein an
aberration correction optical system (250) reduces aberration according to relative positions of the plurality of sub-laser beams (2) so that the foci of all the sub-laser beams (2) are formed on the surface of the processing target (3) (see paragraph [0044] and figures 2 and 6).
Regarding claims 3-4 the claim differences amount to design changes to the feature disclosed in LEE , wherein the sub-laser beams split by the diffraction optical element (210) are all accommodated in the first aberration correction optical system (251) (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 5, the additional features could be easily derived from the feature disclosed in LEE , of a beam gap adjustor that adjusts a gap between the plurality of sub-laser beams (see claim 1 and figures 2 to 6).
Regarding claims 6-8 the additional features amount to design changes to the feature disclosed in LEE , wherein the gap between the plurality of sub-laser beams (2) are variously changed (see paragraph [0055]).
The additional feature of claim 11 amounts to a design change to the feature disclosed in LEE , of further comprising: a scanner (260) that changes the traveling paths of the sub-laser beams (2); and the objective lens (270) that is located in front of the processing target (3) and positions the foci of the plurality of sub-laser beams (2) on the surface of the processing target (3) (see paragraph [0030] and figure 2).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. ( KR 10-2014-0064475 A) alone or in view of KIM (WO 2020189897 A1)
Regarding Claims 9-10 The additional features of claims 9-10 could be easily derived from: the features disclosed in LEE , of a beam expander that inputs a laser beam of uniform intensity to the diffraction optical element and a high order beam block mask that removes a high order sub-laser beam (see claims 15-16 and figure 2); and the feature disclosed in KIM, wherein a difference in the beam intensity or strength occurs between a plurality of unit beams (13a) (see paragraph [0038] and figure 2). 【0038】 Referring to fig. 2, when the multi-beams 13 are formed by dividing the laser beam 12 into a plurality of unit beams 13a, a difference in beam intensity or intensity may occur between the plurality of unit beams 13a. This may be caused by diffractive optics, lens aberration, or the like in the process of forming the multi-beam 13 by dividing one laser beam 12, and due to this difference (or error), the multi-beam 13 may be heterogeneous for each position of the unit beam 13a.
Claim 13 LEE , which is closest to claim 13, discloses a laser processing apparatus comprising: a laser generator (100) that generates a laser beam; a diffraction optical clement (210) that splits the laser beam generated from the laser generator into a plurality of sub-laser beams; and an objective lens (270) that is located in front of a processing target (3) and positions the foci of the plurality of sub-laser beams (2) on the surface of the processing target (3) (see paragraph [0030], claim 1 and figures 2 and 6). Claim 13 differs from LEE in that the latter does not disclose the feature of the former wherein a focusing lens unit is apart from a multi beam generator to accommodate the plurality of sub-laser beams that are split at the maximum angle from the multi beam generator. However, said difference could be easily derived by a person skilled in the art from the feature disclosed in LEE , wherein the sub-laser beams split by the diffraction optical element (210) are all accommodated in the objective lens (270) and are apart from each other (see figure 6); and the feature disclosed in KIM, wherein a focusing lens (132) is apart from a pattern plate (131) (see paragraph [0097] and figure 6).
Claims 14-15 The additional feature of claim 14 amounts to a design change to the feature disclosed in LEE , wherein the sub- laser beams split by the diffraction optical element (210) are all accommodated in the first aberration correction optical system (251) (see figure 6). The additional feature of claim 15 could be easily derived from the feature disclosed in LEE , of a beam gap adjustor that adjusts a gap between the plurality of sub-laser beams (see claim 1 and figures 2 to 6).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THOR S CAMPBELL/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3761
tsc