DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments filed 6-23-26 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant amends the claims to recite that the selected subpictures are selected using identification information identifying at least one subpicture indicated in the request and argues that the prior art of record does not teach of the newly added limitations. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Di, [0212]-[0219] and [0231] teaches of ROI information carried in the request of the client. Moreover, it is disclosed that the ROI information includes x information, y information, width, and height to identify and select the subpictures/ROIs based on the information in the request, thus reading on the newly amended limitations.
For the reasons stated above and detailed below in the claim rejections, the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 20-27, 29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Di et al., US 2019/0238933.
Regarding claim 20, Di teaches of an image processing method comprising:
generating a bitstream of a partial region constituted by selected subpictures among the subpictures included in a picture based on a request from a second apparatus (See [0165]-[0179] request from client for region of interest; Di, Fig.4 and [0161] which discloses of multiple client devices); and transmitting the bitstream of the partial region to the second apparatus (See [0165]-[0179]; Di, Fig.4 and [0161] which discloses of multiple client devices),
wherein the selected subpictures are selected using identification information identifying at least one subpicture indicated in the request (See [0212]-[0219] and [0231]).
Regarding claim 21, Di teaches of an image processing apparatus comprising:
circuitry configured to generate based on data of content, partial region file generation information for generating a file for storing a bitstream of a partial region including selected subpictures of a picture; and generate a control file for controlling distribution of a content file to store the partial region file generation information (See [0010]-[0013]; [0019]-[0025], and [0165]-[0179] which discloses the file of the mpd, xml, dash which stores and generates the spatial regions and region of interest region used for sending the desired regions to the client based on the request),
wherein the selected subpictures are selected using identification information identifying at least one subpicture indicated in the request (See [0212]-[0219] and [0231]).
Regarding claim 22, Di teaches the image processing apparatus according to
claim 21, wherein the circuitry is further configured to generate partial region information indicating a position of a subpicture constituting the partial region in the picture, and store the partial region information in the control file (See [0010]-[0013]; [0019]-[0025], and [0165]-[0179] which discloses of the position/coordinates of the regions).
Regarding claim 23, Di teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the circuitry is configured to store pieces of the partial region information of candidates for the partial region in mutually different adaptation sets of the control file (See [0019]-[0025] which discloses of the partial regions in different adaption sets within the mpd/xml file).
Regarding claim 24, Di teaches the image processing apparatus according to
claim 22, wherein the partial region information further includes information indicating a position of the subpicture in the partial region (See [0010]-[0013]; [0019]-[0025], and [0165]-[0179] which discloses of the position/coordinates of the regions).
Regarding claim 25, Di teaches the image processing apparatus according to
claim 22, wherein the partial region information further includes information indicating a size of the subpicture (See [0068], [0179], and [0200]-[0201] size information).
Regarding claim 26, Di teaches the image processing apparatus according to
claim 22, wherein the circuitry is further configured to store pieces of the partial region information of candidates for the partial region in one adaptation set of the control file (See [0019]-[0025] which discloses of the partial regions in different adaption sets within the mpd/xml file).
Regarding claim 27, Di teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the partial region information further includes link information with respect to information indicating a position of the subpicture in the partial region (See [0020]-[0025] uri/url for information of at least the spatial position).
Regarding claim 29, Di teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 22, wherein the partial region information further includes link information with respect to the partial region information (See [0020]-[0025] uri/url for information of the regions).
Regarding claim 31, Di teaches an image processing method comprising:
generating partial region file generation information for generating a file for storing a bitstream of a partial region including selected subpictures of a picture based on data of content; and generating a control file for controlling distribution of a content file to store the partial region file generation information (See analysis of claims 20-22; [0010]-[0013]; [0019]-[0025], and [0165]-[0179]),
wherein the selected subpictures are selected using identification information identifying at least one subpicture indicated in the request (See [0212]-[0219] and [0231]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-19 and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di et al., US 2019/0238933 in view of Ramaswamy et al., WO 2018/152437.
Regarding claim 1, Di teaches of an image processing system comprising a
server including first circuitry and a client apparatus including second circuitry (See Fig.4, client and server), wherein
the second circuitry of the client apparatus is configured to request the server for a bitstream of a partial region of a picture (See [0165]-[0178] client sends request to server for the bitstream of the region of interest) based on partial region file generation information included in a control file for controlling distribution of a content file to generate a file for storing the bitstream of the partial region (See [0010]-[0013] and [0019]-[0025] which discloses the file of the mpd, xml, dash which stores and generates the spatial regions and region of interest region used for sending the desired regions to the client based on the request),
wherein the first circuitry of the server is configured to
generate the bitstream of the partial region constituted by selected subpictures among a plurality subpictures included in the picture based on the request by the
client apparatus (See [0165]-[0179] the server generates and multiplexes the bitstream of the selected region of interests and transmits to the client based on the client request), and
transmit the bitstream of the partial region to the client apparatus, and wherein the second circuitry of the client apparatus is further configured to receive the bitstream of the partial region transmitted from the server (See [0165]-[0179] the server generates and multiplexes the bitstream of the selected region of interests and transmits to the client based on the client request wherein the client receives the bitstream), and
wherein the selected subpictures are selected using identification information identifying at least one subpicture indicated in the request (See [0212]-[0219] and [0231]).
Di is silent with respect to wherein the client segments a segmented region from the bitstream of the partial region.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ramaswamy teaches of wherein the client segments a segmented region from the bitstream of the partial region (See [0009]-[0011], [0015], [0055], and [0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Di to have incorporated the teachings of Ramaswamy for the mere benefit of being able to display the segments in a desired manner.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches of an image processing apparatus comprising:
circuitry configured to generate a bitstream of a partial region constituted by selected subpictures among the subpictures included in a picture based on a
request from a second apparatus; and a transmission unit that transmits a bitstream of the partial region to the second apparatus (See analysis of claim 1; Di, Fig.4 and [0161] which discloses of multiple client devices; Ramaswamy, [0053] multiple clients),
wherein the selected subpictures are selected using identification information identifying at least one subpicture indicated in the request (See [0212]-[0219] and [0231]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the circuitry is further configured to extract the selected subpictures constituting the partial region from a bitstream of the picture based on the request (See Di, [0019]-[0027], [0168]-[0187], and [0232]; Ramaswamy, [0005]-[0015], [0045]-[0054], [0061], and [0069]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the circuitry is further configured to identify a subpicture including a segmented region designated using a coordinate in the request (See analysis of claim 1; Di, [0168]-[0173] coordinates in client request), select metadata from which the identified subpicture is extractable, extract the identified subpicture from the bitstream of the picture using the selected metadata, and generate a bitstream of the partial region constituted by the extracted subpicture (See Di, [0019]-[0027], [0168]-[0187], and [0232]; Ramaswamy, [0005]-[0015], [0045]-[0054], [0061], and [0069]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the circuitry is further configured to generate a bitstream of the partial region in a case where a bitstream of the subpicture is requested (See Di, [0019]-[0027], [0168]-[0187], and [0232]; Ramaswamy, [0005]-[0015], [0045]-[0054], [0061], and [0069]), and decode the bitstream of the picture (See Di, [0186] decoding the bitstream by the client) and segment the segmented region from the picture and encodes the segmented region to generate a bitstream of the segmented region in a case where the bitstream of the segmented region is requested (See Ramaswamy, analysis of claim 1 and [0009] encoding of the segmented regions being requested such that the content is displayed according to the users desires at the client device).
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the circuitry is further configured to identify a subpicture including a segmented region designated using information regarding a display region in the request, select metadata from which the identified subpicture is extractable, extracts the identified subpicture from the bitstream of the picture using the selected metadata, and generate a bitstream of the partial region constituted by the extracted subpicture (See Di, [0012]-[0027], [0165]-[0187], and [0232] coordinates in the display region is requested and uses at least metadata from the mpd file and resolution/bandwidth of the pictures to generate the bitstream of the desired regions; Ramaswamy, [0005]-[0015], [0045]-[0054], [0061], and [0069]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches of the image processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the circuitry is further configured to select metadata from which a subpicture constituting the partial region designated using identification information in the request is extractable, extract the subpicture from the bitstream of the picture using the selected metadata, and generate a bitstream of the partial region constituted by the extracted subpicture (See Di, [0012]-[0027], [0165]-[0187], and [0232] coordinates in the display region is requested and uses at least metadata from the mpd file and resolution/bandwidth of the pictures to generate the bitstream of the desired regions).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the circuitry is configured to select metadata from which a subpicture designated using identification information in the request is extractable (See Di, [0012]-[0027], [0165]-[0187], and [0232] coordinates in the display region is requested and uses at least metadata from the mpd file and resolution/bandwidth of the pictures to generate the bitstream of the desired regions), extract the subpicture from the bitstream of the picture using the selected metadata, and generate a bitstream of the partial region constituted by the extracted subpicture (See Di, [0012]-[0027], [0165]-[0187], and [0232] coordinates in the display region is requested and uses at least metadata from the mpd file and resolution/bandwidth of the pictures to generate the bitstream of the desired regions).
Regarding claim 9, the image processing apparatus according to
claim 3, wherein the circuitry is further configured to select metadata from which a subpicture constituting a partial region designated using identification information defined in a control file for controlling distribution of a content file is extractable (See Di, [0012]-[0027], [0165]-[0187], and [0232] coordinates in the display region is requested and uses at least metadata from the mpd file and resolution/bandwidth of the pictures to generate the bitstream of the desired regions), extract the subpicture from the bitstream of the picture using the selected metadata, and generate a bitstream of the partial region (See Di, [0012]-[0027], [0165]-[0187], and [0232] coordinates in the display region is requested and uses at least metadata from the mpd file and resolution/bandwidth of the pictures to generate the bitstream of the desired regions).
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the circuitry is further configured to select metadata from which a subpicture constituting a partial region, designated in the request among partial regions (See Di, [0012]-[0027], [0165]-[0187], and [0232]) defined as an adaptation set in a control file for controlling distribution of a content file, is extractable, extract the subpicture from the bitstream of the picture using the selected metadata (See Di, [0013]-[0023] adaption sets within the mpd file; Ramaswamy, [0054]-[0058]), and generates a bitstream of the designated partial region (See Di, [0012]-[0027], [0165]-[0187], and [0232]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the circuitry is configured to generate metadata for extracting a subpicture designated in the request to extract the subpicture from the bitstream of the picture, and generate a bitstream of the partial region constituted by the extracted subpicture (See Di, [0012]-[0027], [0165]-[0187], and [0232]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the circuitry is configured to merge bitstreams of the subpictures constituting the partial region based on the request and generate a bitstream of the partial region (See Di, [0012]-[0027], [0165]-[0187], and [0232]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the circuitry is configured to identify subpictures including a segmented region designated using a coordinate in the request (See Di, [0168]-[0173] coordinate in request), select metadata capable of merging the identified subpictures, merges the identified subpictures using the selected metadata, and generate a bitstream of the partial region constituted by the merged subpictures (See Di, [0012]-[0027], [0165]-[0187], and [0232] merging/multiplexing/combining the multiple region of interests).
Regarding claim 14, the claim has been analyzed and rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches image processing apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the circuitry is further configured to identify subpictures including a segmented region designated using information regarding a display region in the request (See Di, [0012]-[0027], [0165]-[0187], and [0232; Ramaswamy, [0005]-[0015], [0045]-[0054], [0061], and [0069]), select metadata capable of merging the identified subpictures, merge bitstreams of the identified subpictures using the selected metadata, and generate a bitstream of the partial region constituted by the merged subpictures (See Di, [0012]-[0027], [0165]-[0187], and [0232]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the circuitry is further configured to select metadata capable of merging subpictures constituting the partial region designated using identification information in the request, merge the subpictures using the selected metadata, and generate a bitstream of the partial region constituted by the merged subpictures (See Di, [0012]-[0027], [0165]-[0187], and [0232] coordinates in the display region is requested and uses at least metadata from the mpd file and resolution/bandwidth of the pictures to generate the bitstream of the desired regions; Ramaswamy, [0005]-[0015], [0045]-[0054], [0061], and [0069]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the circuitry is further configured to select metadata capable of merging subpictures constituting a partial region designated using identification information defined in a control file for controlling distribution of a content file, and merge the subpictures using the selected metadata, and generate a bitstream of the partial region (See analysis of claim 1; Di, [0012]-[0027], [0165]-[0187], and [0232]; Ramaswamy, [0005]-[0015], [0045]-[0054], [0061], and [0069]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the circuitry is further configured to select metadata capable of merging subpictures constituting a partial region, designated in the request among partial regions defined as an adaptation set in a control file for controlling distribution of a content file, merge the subpictures using the selected metadata, and generate a bitstream of the designated partial region (See analysis of claim 10; See Di, [0012]-[0027], [0165]-[0187], and [0232]; Ramaswamy, [0005]-[0015], [0045]-[0054], [0061], and [0069]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the circuitry is further configured to merge subpictures using metadata for merging the subpictures designated in the request, and generate a bitstream of the partial region constituted by the merged subpictures (See Di, [0012]-[0027], [0165]-[0187], and [0232]; Ramaswamy, [0005]-[0015], [0045]-[0054], [0061], and [0069]).
Regarding claim 32, the claim has been analyzed and rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 33, the combination teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 32, wherein the circuitry segments the segmented region based on partial region information that is included in the control file and indicates a position in the picture of a subpicture constituting the partial region (See Di, [0020]-[0024], Ramaswamy, [0009]-[0014] and [0066]-[0080]).
Regarding claim 34, the claim has been analyzed and rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
6. Claims 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di et al., US 2019/0238933 in view of Westerlund et al., WO 2018087311.
Regarding claim 28, Di the image processing apparatus according to
claim 27, wherein the circuitry is further configured to generate the content file, and store the information indicating the position of the subpicture in the partial region of the content file (See analysis of claim 20-22).
Di is silent with respect to the storing being in a sample entry of a movie box.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Westerlund teaches of storing being in a sample entry of a movie box (See [00131]-[00136).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Di to have incorporated the teachings of Westerlund for the mere benefit of compatibility with different types of formats and media files.
Regarding claim 30, the combination teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 29, wherein the circuitry is further configured to generate the content file, and store the partial region information as a sample group in a movie fragment box of the content file (See analysis of claim 28; Westerlund, [00131]-[00136]).
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/Ricky Chin/
Primary Examiner
AU 2424
(571) 270-3753
Ricky.Chin@uspto.gov