DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art , alone or in combination, does not disclose controlling the liquid conveying device such that the liquid does not enter the liquid interaction area until a critical temperature of the heat exchanger is below a predeterminable starting value or until at least a predeterminable cooling time period has elapsed after an end of the air mode.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation located in claim 1 are: heat transfer device, air conveying device, liquid conveying device, and energy unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The term, control unit, does not have any structural features enumerated in the written disclosure of the invention.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term, control unit, does not have any structural features enumerated in the written disclosure of the invention and so the Office unsure as to exactly what it is.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities: The term “the other mode” is used and should be “an other mode”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Botticella et al. (WO 2019/025634).
Regarding claim 1, Botticella (B) discloses a device for heating air and a liquid, comprising an air inlet (501, Figure 2), an air outlet (502), an air interaction area (6, Figure 1), an air conveying device (503), a liquid inlet (501A), a liquid outlet (502A), a liquid interaction area (6A), a liquid conveying device (503A), an energy unit (2,2A, i.e., burners Figure 1), a heat exchanger (6,6A), and a control unit (Pg. 12, Par. 8), wherein air to be heated enters the device via the air inlet (501, Pg. 7, Par. 4,Pg. 17, Par. 6), wherein heated air exits the device via the air outlet (502), wherein liquid to be heated enters the device via the liquid inlet (501A), wherein heated liquid exits the device via the liquid outlet (502A), wherein the energy unit (2,2A) generates thermal energy, wherein the heat exchanger (6, 6A) transfers the thermal energy generated by the energy unit to the air in the air interaction area (@6) and to the liquid in the liquid interaction area (@6A), wherein the air conveying device (503) conveys the air into the air interaction area (@6), wherein the liquid conveying device (503A) conveys the liquid into the liquid interaction area (@6A), wherein the control unit (Pg. 12, Par. 8-10 ) controls the air conveying device (503) and the liquid conveying device (503A) depending on whether the device heats only air in an air mode or liquid in a different mode (Pg. 12, Par 8,Pg. 18, Par. 3). As a clarification the control always controls the two in order to reach the desired temperatures within the system.
Regarding claim 2, Botticella (B) discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit (Pg. 12, Par. 8) controls the air conveying device (503) and the liquid conveying device (503A) depending on whether the device heats only air in an air mode or only liquid in a liquid mode (Pg. 12, Par 8,Pg. 18, Par. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Botticella (B) discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit (Pg. 12, Par. 8) controls the air conveying device (503) and the liquid conveying device (503A) depending on whether the device heats only air in an air mode, only liquid in a liquid mode, or air and liquid in a mixed mode (Pg. 12, Par 8,Pg. 18, Par. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Botticella (B) discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the energy unit (2,2A, i.e., burners Figure 1) generates thermal energy by burning a fuel-air mixture and/or by converting electrical energy (Pg. 6, Par.10)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Invent Botticella et al. (WO 2019/025634) in view of Jardine (US 4,441,902).
Regarding claim 4, Botticella (B) discloses the device according to claim 1, but not that the control unit controls the liquid conveying device prior to the air mode such that the liquid interaction area is substantially free from the liquid.
However, Jardine (J) discloses a heat reclaiming device wherein the device could control the liquid conveying device so prior to the air mode such that the liquid interaction area is substantially free from the liquid (C9, L41-48). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this application to modify invention so that the liquid in the liquid interaction area (B-@6A) if free from liquid when not in use in order to prevent overheating and steam formation during the transition to air heating.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Clawson (US 5,046,478) discloses a space and water heater relevant to the invention, see PTO-892.
/JOHN E BARGERO/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 ***
/VIVEK K SHIRSAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762