DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s submission of an Information Disclosure Statement on 3/15/2024 has been received and considered.
Preliminary Amendment
Applicant’s submission of a preliminary amendment on 3/15/2024 has been received. In the amendment, claims 1-18 were canceled and claims 19-38 were added.
Claim Objections
Claims 20-31, 37, and 38 objected to because of the following informalities: since these claims are dependent, in line of each noted claim, “A motion generator” should be “The motion generator”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 20 includes the recitation “and/or”. While not per se improper, if possible, the Examiner requests removing “and/or” language where alternative language is appropriate and possibly clearer.
Claim 21 is objected to for failing to further limit the claimed invention because it appears that ironless or iron core encompasses all options because it either has an iron core or it is ironless).
Claims 27 and 36 are objected to for awkward language: comprising one to four or more elongate rigid struts. Claim 27 could replace “one to four or more” with “one or more” or “at least one”.
Claim 30 is objected to for awkward language: “the intermediate first and second joints includes a universal, Cardan, or spherical joint, swivel, or flexure, while the other joint is a universal, spherical, or Cardan joint, swivel, or flexure” since the list includes multiple “or” coordinating conjunctions. Clarification of the list is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-23, 25-31, and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0302462 to Vatcher in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0069856 to Achkire (Vatcher, Figs. 1 and 2 are shown below for convenience, but entire reference is relevant).
With regard to claim 19, Vatcher discloses a motion generator (e.g., see Fig. 1, motion system 10, see also paragraph 45 for discussion of motion system) for applying forces, moments and movements to an effector (e.g., see Fig. 1, platform 18, see also paragraph 45 that discusses that platform 18 holds a flight simulator or amusement ride) of the motion generator and/or an effector payload relative to a surface (e.g., see Fig. 1, base 12; see also paragraph 45 for discussion of base 12), wherein the effector of the motion generator is operably connected to the free end(s) of rocker arm(s) provided by one or more rockers (e.g., see at least Fig. 2, cranks 40 equate to a rocker; see also paragraph 48 for discussion of crank 40), each rocker pivoting about a pivot axis (e.g., see at least Fig. 2 that shows axis for crank 40 to rotate; see also paragraph 48 for discussion of crank 40), such that the movement of the rocker(s) about the respective pivot axis leads to movement of the effector (e.g., see at least Figs. 4, 4A, and 5 that show rotation of the rockers 40 that move platform 18), wherein at least one of the rocker(s) is driven by an associated motor (e.g., see at least Figs. 1 and 2, which show actuators 16 that include a motor) which is concentric with an arc swept by a free end of the associated rocker (e.g., see at least Figs. 4, 4A, and 5 that show rotation of the rockers 40 that move platform 18), and wherein at least one of the rocker(s) carries, comprises or includes a coil, or a magnet way of the associated motor (e.g., motors include magnets/electromagnets and coils for operation, wherein the Vatcher’s actuator/motors 16 will include magnets/coils that are associated with the rocker/crank 40);
[claim 20] wherein the said at least one rocker (e.g., see Fig. 1, rocker/crank 40) carries or comprises the coil of the associated linear motor (e.g., motors include magnets/electromagnets and coils for operation, wherein the Vatcher’s actuator/motors 16 will include magnets/coils that are associated with the rocker/crank 40);
[claim 21] wherein the associated linear motor is an ironless or iron core linear motor (e.g., Vatcher’s actuator/motors likely have an iron core like many motors, but if actuators 40 do not have an iron core, then they are ironless and either option meets the recited claim);
[claim 22] wherein at least one of the coil or magnet way of the motor is arranged substantially or wholly below the pivot axis of an associated rocker (e.g., see Fig. 2, wherein actuator 16 appears to be concentric with the pivot axis of rocker/crank 40, wherein a substantially portion of any coil or magnet with actuator/crank 40 will be below the concentric pivot axis);
[claim 23] wherein a bearing for an associated shaft forming the pivot axis for a rocker, is above the corresponding coil or magnet way of the associated motor (e.g., see Fig. 2, wherein actuator 16 appears to be concentric with the pivot axis of rocker/crank 40, wherein a bearing associated with the concentric pivot axis is above at least a portion any coil or magnet with actuator/crank 40 will be below the concentric pivot axis);
[claim 25] wherein the pivot axis of each rocker is parallel with the surface (e.g., see Figs. 1 and 2 that show pivot axis of each rocker/crank 40 parallel to base surface 12);
[claim 26] wherein the effector is operably connected by one of a plurality of struts to a free end of a rocker arm (e.g., see Fig. 1 that shows a strut/connector rods 58 connected to each of the six rockers/cranks 40; see also paragraph 50 for discussion of struts/connector rods 58);
[claim 27] comprising one to four or more elongate rigid struts (e.g., see Fig. 1 that shows a strut/connector rods 58 connected to each of the six rockers/cranks 40; see also paragraph 50 for discussion of struts/connector rods 58);
[claim 28] wherein there are six struts arranged in three pairs, each of the struts being connected at one of their respective ends with an associated rocker, and the other respective end of the paired struts connecting to three mounting points or joints on or connected to the effector struts (e.g., see Fig. 1 that shows a strut/connector rods 58 connected to each of the six rockers/cranks 40 in three pairs; see also paragraph 50 for discussion of struts/connector rods 58);
[claim 29] wherein the effector and rocker are connected by intermediate first and second joints (e.g., see Fig. 1 that shows struts/connector rods 58 connected to platform 18 via joints/upper spherical bearings 62; also see paragraph 50 for discussion of joints/upper spherical bearings 62; the joint connecting the rocker/crank 40 to the strut/connecting rod 58 is best shown in Fig. 2);
[claim 30] wherein each of the intermediate first and second joints includes a universal, Cardan, or spherical joint, swivel, or flexure, while the other joint is a universal, spherical, or Cardan joint, swivel, or flexure (e.g., see Fig. 1 that shows struts/connector rods 58 connected to platform 18 via joints/upper spherical bearings 62; also see paragraph 50 for discussion of joints/upper spherical bearings 62);
[claim 31] wherein the or each rocker is symmetrical about its midplane (e.g., see at least Fig. 2 that shows rocker 40 that appears to be symmetrical about its midplane); and
[claim 37] comprising six elongate rigid struts (e.g., see Fig. 1 that shows a strut/connector rods 58 connected to each of the six rockers/cranks 40 in three pairs; see also paragraph 50 for discussion of struts/connector rods 58).
With regard to claim 19, Vatcher fails to disclose that actuator/motor 16 is a curved linear motor.
Reasonably pertinent to the problem faced, Achkire teaches an actuator for adjusting a platform to be a curved linear motor (e.g., see at least paragraph 51 that states rotation may be generated by a curved linear motor).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Vatcher with a curved linear motor as taught by Achkire in order to make a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. In this case, Achkire notes that a curve linear motor provides the “motion needed to accurately position” the platform payload (e.g., see Achkire at paragraph 51).
With regard to claim 35, Vatcher in combination with Achkire make obvious the driving simulator as set forth above. Further Vatcher discloses an environment simulation/display (e.g., see at least paragraphs 45, 79 and 106 for discussion of simulation/display), and audio device (e.g., see at least paragraph 7 that discusses “[r]ealistic sounds in the cockpit are required” in flight simulators), motion generator (discussed in detail above for claim 19 and corresponding dependent claims), and a control system (e.g., see at least Fig. 1, control system 300).
With regard to claim 36, Vatcher in combination with Achkire make obvious the method of producing a motion generator (discussed in detail above for claim 19 and corresponding dependent claims).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vatcher in view of Achkire as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0239610 to Lasher, III.
With regard to claim 24, Vatcher fails to disclose that rocker/crank (40) is composite, plastics, or metal construction.
Reasonably pertinent to the problem faced, Lasher, III teaches a rocker arm is composite, plastics, or metal construction (e.g., see paragraph 26 that states that “rocker arm 56 can be metal, metal alloy, polymer, fiberglass, carbon fiber, composite, or a natural material”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Vatcher with metal/plastic/composite rocker construction as taught by Lasher, III in order to make a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. In this case, constructing a structure component from metal, plastic, or a composite is widely known and the specific decision for the exact material of construction would be made by the engineer based on various engineering concerns, such as desired strength and weight.
Claims 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vatcher in view of Achkire as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0158719 to Warne.
With regard to claims 32-34, Vatcher fails to disclose a combination motion generator including first and second motion generators.
From the same field of endeavor, Warne teaches a combination motion generator including first and second motion generators (e.g., see at least paragraphs 77 and 78 for discussion of combination motion generators and the benefit of different frequencies).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Vatcher with a combination motion generator as taught by Warne in order to make a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. In this case, use of a combination motion generator would “provide additional movements” (e.g., see Warne at paragraph 58). With regard to additional details recited in claim 33, the Examiner notes that when a first and second motion generator are used in combination, one of the two will have a higher frequency than the other motion generator, by the nature that no to motion systems will produce exactly the same frequency due to construction and material tolerances.
Claims 30 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vatcher in view of Achkire as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0096622 to Glover.
With regard to claims 30 and 38, Vatcher fails to disclose a strut joint being a cardan joint. Claim 30 is included in this rejection, despite an earlier rejection by Vatcher/Achkire, if a reviewing authority disagrees with the Examiner’s interpretation of the claim in light of the claim objection for being awkwardly worded.
From the same field of endeavor, Glover teaches a strut joint being a cardan joint (e.g., see at least paragraph 43 for a cardan joint). Cardan joints include multiple axis rotation, which are necessarily offset from each other. That is, the axis of rotation in a cardan joint are separate from each other.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Vatcher with a cardan joint as taught by Glover in order to make a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. In this case, use of a cardan joint allows for a flexible joint to operate at significant angles.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, includes:
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0389054 to Zhao discusses a 3 DOF support system with arc shaped movement paths (e.g., see at least Fig. 1).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0028924 to Sawade discusses a mobile platform with multi-direction movement (e.g., see at least Fig. 2).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0379512 to Kirkman discusses a motion control apparatus including a hexapod, rocker, and a linear motor (e.g., see at least Fig. 1).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0018374 to Edelhauser discusses an external fixation system including arc shaped gears (e.g., see at least Fig. 3A).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0206081 to Sun discusses a partial arc curvilinear direct drive servomotor (e.g., see at least Fig. 1).
U.S. Patent No. 6,634,885 to Hodgetts discusses a flight simulator with actuated struts (e.g., see at least Fig. 2).
/James S. McClellan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715