DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites “transition the remote hub device from the premise communication mode to the community superframe mode”, where there is no prior mention of ‘a community superframe mode’. This is an antecedent basis issue, which makes the claim indefinite. Examiner requests that Applicant please correct this issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beema et al (US 20190197838 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Beema discloses
An apparatus for communication with a plurality of devices, the apparatus comprising processing circuity configured to ([0021] and [Fig. 1] control panel with control circuitry 32):
set the apparatus to a premise communication mode ([0024], [0026], and [Fig. 3] processor generates the first superframe to begin allocating the TDMA slots before a new sensor is added (premise communication mode));
while the apparatus is in the premise communication mode, output, to the plurality of devices, a first superframe configured in a premise communication superframe mode, the premise communication superframe mode allocating each slot of a plurality of slots for wireless communication to a first protocol at a first frequency band or a second protocol at the first frequency band, wherein the first protocol and the second protocol are different from each other ([0024], [0026], and [Fig. 3] first superframe includes 802.15.4 slots that are allocated to 802.15.4 communications with 802.15.4 devices, as well as 802.11 slots allocated to the 802.11 communications (first and second protocol different from each other), where the first superframe is generated to begin allocating the TDMA slots before a new sensor is added (premise communication mode));
transition the apparatus from the premise communication mode to a community communication mode ([0026] and [Fig. 3] the control panel processor waits until a new sensor is added at 306 to begin the next phase of the steps 308-312 (transition from premise communication mode to a community communication mode)); and
while the apparatus is in the community communication mode, output, to the plurality of devices, a second superframe configured in a community communication superframe mode, the community communication superframe mode allocating: i) at least one slot of a plurality of slots for wireless communication to the first protocol at the first frequency band or the second protocol at the first frequency band, and ii) at least one slot of the plurality of slots for wireless communication to a community beacon, the community beacon including data relating to a unique key recognizable by a remote apparatus ([0024], [0026], and [Fig. 3] second superframe slot can be allocated to a new sensor via 802.15.4 (second protocol) after it is determined that a new sensor is requesting to join the network (while in community communication mode), and the remaining slots are allocated to 802.11 (first protocol); [0016] and [0024] the second superframe includes a beacon that corresponds to the beginning of the superframe (community beacon is allocated), where synchronization header corresponding to timestamp that is assigned with the beginning of the TDMA superframe is used (information relating to a unique key recognizable by a remote apparatus)).
Regarding claim 2, Beema discloses
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to transition the apparatus from the premise communication mode to the community communication mode in response to the processing circuitry receiving a community communication mode command ([0026] and [Fig. 3] the control panel processor waits until a new sensor is added at 306 to begin the next phase of the steps 308-312, where the sensor sends a request to join the network (transition from premise communication mode to a community communication mode based on community communication mode command)).
Regarding claim 3, Beema discloses
The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive a dangerous event alarm notification with the community communication mode command ([0017]-[0018], [0025]-[0026], and [Fig. 3] the sensors communicate with the control panel via 802.15.4, where the sensors will alert the control panel when they are activated (dangerous event alarm notification) and the sensor sends a request to join the network).
Regarding claim 4, Beema discloses
The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the community communication mode command comprises a dangerous event alarm notification, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to ([0021] and [Fig. 1] control panel with control circuitry 32):
evaluate the dangerous event alarm notification to determine an alarm type ([0017]-[0018] the sensors can be triggered by different threats such as intrusion, camera, motion, fire, smoke, and gas (evaluate to determine an alarm type));
determine, based at least in part on the alarm type, whether a nearby premises that houses the remote apparatus is in danger ([0017]-[0018] the sensors can be triggered by different threats such as intrusion, camera, motion, fire, smoke, and gas (evaluate to determine an alarm type), and the control panel monitors for activation of the sensors (determination that the sensor is in danger based on it being activated)); and
in response to determining that the nearby premises that houses the remote apparatus is in danger, transition the apparatus from the premise communication mode to the community communication mode ([0017]-[0018], [0026], and [Fig. 3] when the sensor is activated, the control panel sends an alarm activation message which can trigger dispatches of help depending on the type of threat, and the control panel will also allocate the second superframe slot to a new sensor after it is determined that a new sensor is requesting to join the network (community communication mode after the sensor is activated)).
Regarding claim 5, Beema discloses
The apparatus of claim 4, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine whether to transition the apparatus from the premise communication mode to the community communication mode based on one or more of ([0021] and [Fig. 1] control panel with control circuitry 32):
one or more settings of the apparatus ([0026] and [Fig. 3] the control panel processor waits until a new sensor is added at 306 to begin the next phase of the steps 308-312 (transition from premise communication mode to a community communication mode based on predefined settings of the apparatus)),
one or more characteristics of a premises that houses the apparatus, and
one or more characteristics of the nearby premises that houses the remote apparatus.
Regarding claim 6, Beema discloses
The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the dangerous event alarm notification comprises one or more of a fire alarm notification, a carbon monoxide alarm notification, a panic alarm notification, a break-in alarm notification, or a critical alarm notification ([0017]-[0018], [0026], and [Fig. 3] the sensors can be triggered by different threats such as intrusion, camera, motion, fire, smoke, and gas (evaluate to determine an alarm type), and the control panel monitors for activation of the sensors so when the sensor is activated, the control panel sends an alarm activation message which can trigger dispatches of help depending on the type of threat).
Regarding claim 7, Beema discloses
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the community beacon is configured to cause the remote apparatus to output an alarm indication when the remote apparatus receives the community beacon alarm notification, a panic alarm notification, a break-in alarm notification, or a critical alarm notification ([0017]-[0018], [0026], and [Fig. 3] the sensors can be triggered by different threats such as intrusion, camera, motion, fire, smoke, and gas (evaluate to determine an alarm type), and the control panel monitors for activation of the sensors so when the sensor is activated, the control panel sends an alarm activation message).
Regarding claim 8, Beema discloses
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is configured for communication with the plurality of devices using time divisional multiple access (TDMA) ([0013] slots of a timer division multiple access TDMA superframe between one or more wireless protocols are used).
Regarding claim 9, Beema discloses
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to ([0021] and [Fig. 1] control panel with control circuitry 32):
prior to transitioning the apparatus from the premise communication mode to the community communication mode, receive an indication of user input enabling the community communication mode on the apparatus ([0017]-[0018], [0026], and [Fig. 3] upon activation of one of the wireless sensors (indication of user input enabling the community communication mode), the control panel will send an alarm message that will result in the summoning of the appropriate help for the situation, and the control panel will also allocate the second superframe slot to a new sensor after it is determined that a new sensor is requesting to join the network (community communication mode after the sensor is activated)).
Regarding claim 11, Beema discloses
A method comprising ([Fig. 3] shows a method):
setting, by one or more processors of an apparatus for communication with a plurality of devices, the apparatus to a premise communication mode ([0024], [0026], and [Fig. 3] processor generates the first superframe to begin allocating the TDMA slots before a new sensor is added (premise communication mode));
while the apparatus is in the premise communication mode, outputting, by the one or more processors, and to the plurality of devices, a first superframe configured in a premise communication superframe mode, the premise communication superframe mode allocating each slot of a plurality of slots for wireless communication to a first protocol at a first frequency band or a second protocol at the first frequency band, wherein the first protocol and the second protocol are different from each other ([0024], [0026], and [Fig. 3] first superframe includes 802.15.4 slots that are allocated to 802.15.4 communications with 802.15.4 devices, as well as 802.11 slots allocated to the 802.11 communications (first and second protocol different from each other), where the first superframe is generated to begin allocating the TDMA slots before a new sensor is added (premise communication mode));
transitioning, by the one or more processors, the apparatus from the premise communication mode to a community communication mode ([0026] and [Fig. 3] the control panel processor waits until a new sensor is added at 306 to begin the next phase of the steps 308-312 (transition from premise communication mode to a community communication mode)); and
while the apparatus is in the community communication superframe mode, outputting, by the one or more processors, and to the plurality of devices, a second superframe configured in a community communication superframe mode, the community communication superframe mode allocating: i) at least one slot of a plurality of slots for wireless communication to the first protocol at the first frequency band or the second protocol at the first frequency band, and ii) at least one slot of the plurality of slots for wireless communication to a community beacon, the community beacon including data relating to a unique key recognizable by a remote apparatus ([0024], [0026], and [Fig. 3] second superframe slot can be allocated to a new sensor via 802.15.4 (second protocol) after it is determined that a new sensor is requesting to join the network (while in community communication mode), and the remaining slots are allocated to 802.11 (first protocol); [0016] and [0024] the second superframe includes a beacon that corresponds to the beginning of the superframe (community beacon is allocated), where synchronization header corresponding to timestamp that is assigned with the beginning of the TDMA superframe is used (information relating to a unique key recognizable by a remote apparatus)).
Regarding claim 12, Beema discloses
The method of claim 11, wherein transitioning the apparatus from the premise communication mode to the community communication mode comprises transitioning, by the one or more processors, the apparatus from the premise communication mode to the community communication mode in response to the processing circuitry receiving a community communication mode command ([0026] and [Fig. 3] the control panel processor waits until a new sensor is added at 306 to begin the next phase of the steps 308-312, where the sensor sends a request to join the network (transition from premise communication mode to a community communication mode based on community communication mode command)).
Regarding claim 13, Beema discloses
The method of claim 12, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the one or more processors, a dangerous event alarm notification with the community communication mode command ([0017]-[0018], [0025]-[0026], and [Fig. 3] the sensors communicate with the control panel via 802.15.4, where the sensors will alert the control panel when they are activated (dangerous event alarm notification) and the sensor sends a request to join the network).
Regarding claim 14, Beema discloses
The method of claim 12, wherein the community communication mode command comprises a dangerous event alarm notification, wherein the method further comprises ([0017]-[0018], [0025]-[0026], and [Fig. 3] the sensors communicate with the control panel via 802.15.4, where the sensors will alert the control panel when they are activated (dangerous event alarm notification)):
evaluating, by the one or more processors, the dangerous event alarm notification to determine an alarm type ([0017]-[0018] the sensors can be triggered by different threats such as intrusion, camera, motion, fire, smoke, and gas (evaluate to determine an alarm type));
determining, by the one or more processors, based at least in part on the alarm type, whether a nearby premises that houses the remote apparatus is in danger ([0017]-[0018] the sensors can be triggered by different threats such as intrusion, camera, motion, fire, smoke, and gas (evaluate to determine an alarm type), and the control panel monitors for activation of the sensors (determination that the sensor is in danger based on it being activated)); and
in response to determining that the nearby premises that houses the remote apparatus is in danger, transitioning, by the one or more processors, the apparatus from the premise communication mode to the community communication mode ([0017]-[0018], [0026], and [Fig. 3] when the sensor is activated, the control panel sends an alarm activation message which can trigger dispatches of help depending on the type of threat, and the control panel will also allocate the second superframe slot to a new sensor after it is determined that a new sensor is requesting to join the network (community communication mode after the sensor is activated)).
Regarding claim 15, Beema discloses
The method of claim 14, wherein the method further comprises determining, by the one or more processors, whether to transition the apparatus from the premise communication mode to the community communication mode based on one or more of ([0021] and [Fig. 1] control panel with control circuitry 32):
one or more settings of the apparatus ([0026] and [Fig. 3] the control panel processor waits until a new sensor is added at 306 to begin the next phase of the steps 308-312 (transition from premise communication mode to a community communication mode based on predefined settings of the apparatus)),
one or more characteristics of a premises that houses the apparatus, and
one or more characteristics of the nearby premises that houses the remote apparatus.
Regarding claim 16, Beema discloses
The method of claim 12, wherein the dangerous event alarm notification comprises one or more of a fire alarm notification, a carbon monoxide alarm notification, a panic alarm notification, a break-in alarm notification, or a critical alarm notification ([0017]-[0018], [0026], and [Fig. 3] the sensors can be triggered by different threats such as intrusion, camera, motion, fire, smoke, and gas (evaluate to determine an alarm type), and the control panel monitors for activation of the sensors so when the sensor is activated, the control panel sends an alarm activation message which can trigger dispatches of help depending on the type of threat).
Regarding claim 17, Beema discloses
The method of claim 11, wherein the method further comprises ([Fig. 3] shows a method):
in response to the remote apparatus receiving the alarm indication, outputting, by one or more processors of the remote apparatus, an alarm indication ([0017]-[0018], [0026], and [Fig. 3] the sensors can be triggered by different threats such as intrusion, camera, motion, fire, smoke, and gas (evaluate to determine an alarm type), and the control panel monitors for activation of the sensors so when the sensor is activated, the control panel sends an alarm activation message which can trigger dispatches of help depending on the type of threat).
Regarding claim 18, Beema discloses
The method of claim 11, wherein the apparatus is configured for communication with the plurality of devices using time divisional multiple access (TDMA) ([0013] slots of a timer division multiple access TDMA superframe between one or more wireless protocols are used).
Regarding claim 20, Beema discloses
A system comprising ([0021] and [Fig. 1] control panel):
a hub device comprising a first set of one or more processors ([0021] and [Fig. 1] control panel with control circuitry 32);
a plurality of devices in communication with the hub device ([0026] and [Fig. 3] control panel is in communication with multiple sensors); and
a remote hub device comprising a second set of one or more processors ([0017]-[0019] and [Fig. 1] central monitoring station 20 and remote device 31),
wherein the first set of one or more processors of the hub device are configured to ([0021] and [Fig. 1] control panel with control circuitry 32):
set the hub device to a premise communication mode ([0024], [0026], and [Fig. 3] processor generates the first superframe to begin allocating the TDMA slots before a new sensor is added (premise communication mode));
while the hub device is in the premise communication mode, output, to the plurality of devices, a first superframe configured in a premise communication superframe mode, the premise communication superframe mode allocating each slot of a plurality of slots for wireless communication to a first protocol at a first frequency band or a second protocol at the first frequency band, wherein the first protocol and the second protocol are different from each other ([0024], [0026], and [Fig. 3] first superframe includes 802.15.4 slots that are allocated to 802.15.4 communications with 802.15.4 devices, as well as 802.11 slots allocated to the 802.11 communications (first and second protocol different from each other), where the first superframe is generated to begin allocating the TDMA slots before a new sensor is added (premise communication mode));
transition the hub device from the premise communication mode to a community communication mode ([0026] and [Fig. 3] the control panel processor waits until a new sensor is added at 306 to begin the next phase of the steps 308-312 (transition from premise communication mode to a community communication mode)); and
while the hub device is in the community communication mode, output, to the plurality of devices, a second superframe configured in a community communication superframe mode, the community communication superframe mode allocating: i) at least one slot of a plurality of slots for wireless communication to the first protocol at the first frequency band or the second protocol at the first frequency band, and ii) at least one slot of the plurality of slots for wireless communication to a community beacon, the community beacon including data relating to a unique key recognizable by a remote hub device ([0024], [0026], and [Fig. 3] second superframe slot can be allocated to a new sensor via 802.15.4 (second protocol) after it is determined that a new sensor is requesting to join the network (while in community communication mode), and the remaining slots are allocated to 802.11 (first protocol); [0016] and [0024] the second superframe includes a beacon that corresponds to the beginning of the superframe (community beacon is allocated), where synchronization header corresponding to timestamp that is assigned with the beginning of the TDMA superframe is used (information relating to a unique key recognizable by a remote apparatus)), and
wherein the second set of one or more processors of the remote hub device are configured to ([0017]-[0018] and [Fig. 1] central monitoring station 20 is configured to perform functions):
in response to receiving the community beacon, output an alarm condition ([0017]-[0019] and [Fig. 1] when the control panel determines that there is a threat at one of the sensors, it sends an alarm message to the central monitoring station and to the remote device);
transition the remote hub device from the premise communication mode to the community superframe mode ([0017]-[0019] and [Fig. 1] when the central monitoring station receives the alarm message, it may respond by summoning the appropriate help for the situation, and the remote device may communicate with the control panel to receive status updates such as live video (transition to the community superframe mode)); and
while the remote hub device is in the community communication mode, output a third superframe configured in the community communication superframe mode ([0027]-[0029] and [Fig. 3]-[Fig. 4] method 400 may be performed in addition to method 300, where additional slots from a superframe may be allocated after a certain amount of time after the 300 process has passed (while the remote hub device is in the community communication mode)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beema et al (US 20190197838 A1), and further in view of Fadell et al (US 20140266669 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Beema teaches
The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:
receive a second community communication mode command ([0024], [0026], and [Fig. 3] each time a new sensor is activated, it requests to join the network (sends community communication mode command));
output a third superframe configured in the premise communication superframe mode ([0026]-[0029] and [Fig. 3]-[Fig. 4] method 400 may be performed in addition to method 300, where additional slots from a superframe (leftover from the initial superframe, configured in the premise communication superframe mode) may be allocated after a certain amount of time after the 300 process has passed); and
refrain from outputting a fourth superframe configured in the community communication superframe mode ([0026]-[0029] and [Fig. 3]-[Fig. 4] the control panel does not send a fourth superframe after the new sensor is added (configured in community communication superframe mode)).
Beema does not explicitly teach receive an indication of user input disabling the community communication mode on the apparatus;
However, Fadell does teach receive an indication of user input disabling the community communication mode on the apparatus ([0160] the users can interact with a keypad to input user-set codes that disarm the alarm system (indication of a first user input disabling the community communication mode));
Beema and Fadell are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of home security system configuration. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Beema to include the teachings of Fadell where the user can interact with the keypad to arm or disarm the alarm system. The rationale behind this would be to provide users with a quick and easy way to operate the system ([0160] Fadell).
Regarding claim 19, Beema teaches
The method of claim 11, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the one or more processors, a second community communication mode command ([0024], [0026], and [Fig. 3] each time a new sensor is activated, it requests to join the network (sends community communication mode command));
outputting, by the one or more processors, a third superframe configured in the premise communication superframe mode ([0026]-[0029] and [Fig. 3]-[Fig. 4] method 400 may be performed in addition to method 300, where additional slots from a superframe (leftover from the initial superframe, configured in the premise communication superframe mode) may be allocated after a certain amount of time after the 300 process has passed); and
refraining, by the one or more processors, from outputting a fourth superframe configured in the community communication superframe mode ([0026]-[0029] and [Fig. 3]-[Fig. 4] the control panel does not send a fourth superframe after the new sensor is added (configured in community communication superframe mode)).
Beema does not explicitly teach prior to transitioning the apparatus from the premise communication mode to the community communication mode, receiving, by the one or more processors, an indication of first user input enabling the community communication mode on the apparatus;
receiving, by the one or more processors, an indication of second user input disabling the community communication mode on the apparatus;
However, Fadell does teach prior to transitioning the apparatus from the premise communication mode to the community communication mode, receiving, by the one or more processors, an indication of first user input enabling the community communication mode on the apparatus ([0160] the users can interact with a keypad to input user-set codes that arm the alarm system (indication of a first user input enabling the community communication mode));
receiving, by the one or more processors, an indication of second user input disabling the community communication mode on the apparatus ([0160] the users can interact with a keypad to input user-set codes that disarm the alarm system (indication of a first user input disabling the community communication mode));
Beema and Fadell are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of home security system configuration. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Beema to include the teachings of Fadell where the user can interact with the keypad to arm or disarm the alarm system. The rationale behind this would be to provide users with a quick and easy way to operate the system ([0160] Fadell).
Conclusion
The following is prior art made of record and not relied upon, but is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20210250197 A1 to Lakshminarayan et al teaches an apparatus that outputs superframes to a plurality of devices across multiple protocols ([Abstract] Lakshminarayan).
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478