DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to applicant’s initial filing of 3/15/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Priority
Applicant’s claim of priority as a national stage 371 application of application of PCT/US2022/079986 filed 11/16/2022 which claims priority to application 63/284232 filed 11/30/2021 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooyen et al. (US2012/0004770) in view of Mishra (9262681) wherein Ooyen et al. teaches:
A method comprising: switching, by at least one processor of a system associated with a vending machine in response to an input, the vending machine from an operational mode to a training mode (¶269- A state determination is made from sensors and product knowledge, determination of a state leads to a selection of behaviors, behaviors are executed in order of success and success of behaviors for particular states increases the intelligence (knowledge learned) of the apparatus and system);
detecting, by the at least one processor using at least one imaging sensor, an object within view of the at least one imaging sensor (¶268-“array of sensors 60, 70 enables the control system 100 to determine what state it is in at any given moment.” “A computer of the control system 100 knows the length of products so the module determines from the sensors 60, 70, being simple light beam sensors, where a product should be located”);
capturing, using the at least one imaging sensor, one or more images of the object (¶268- “control system 100 knows the length of products so the module determines from the sensors 60, 70, being simple light beam sensors, where a product should be located”);
providing, by the at least one processor, feedback based on the captured one or more captured images of the object regarding a different view to be included in a training set of images for the object (¶268-feedback from imaging-“ control system 100 knows that pick was a successful pick and a tractor of the assembly can then feed it off correctly”…”The control system 100 operates, for example, to pick a product out of the back end drug vault module 200, by using "state tables" of approximately 385 states, each state functioning as a rule”);
capturing, using the at least one imaging sensor, at least one next image of the object in the different view (¶268-plural images from differing cameras).
Mishra teaches any elements Ooyen et al. lacks including:
generating, by the at least one processor based on a determination that sufficient views of the object have been captured, the training set of images from at least a portion of the captured one or more images of the object (c5 L 62-c6 L 8-plural images checks adjusting camera position focus sufficient plural focal lengths -so that would be plural views; c10 L 45-c11 L 5-Baysian classifier identifies probability of a correct observation based on the plurality of images taken.).
and training, by the at least one processor, a machine learning model using the training set of images to update the machine learning model to recognize the object (c6 L 37-60-training images to recognize objects).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Ooyen et al. to perform generating, by the at least one processor based on a determination that sufficient views of the object have been captured, the training set of images from at least a portion of the captured one or more images of the object as training the imaging system to identify the objects will identify and keep track of the inventory in the machine and identifying a Baysian probability of sufficiency will identify when proper identification threshold has been reached as taught by Mishra.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Ooyen et al. to perform training, by the at least one processor, a machine learning model using the training set of images to update the machine learning model to recognize the object as training the imaging system to identify the objects will identify and keep track of the inventory in the machine as taught by Mishra.
Ooyen et al. further teaches:
(re: cl 2) wherein the object is a new product to be added to the vending machine, the method further comprising: adding information on the new product to the system associated with the vending machine (¶219-The stocker uses a handset to call the service provider's office and initiates an "Inventory Update" request to modify the-Dispense inventory to the new numbers.).
(re: cl 3) further comprising: receiving product identifying information and pricing information on the new product; and updating the system associated with the vending machine by associating the product identifying information and pricing information with the new product (¶32-The patient either accepts or rejects the transaction. If the transaction is accepted, the robotic prescription dispenser will interface with the server to transact a payment, for example, by prompting the patient for credit card information).
(re: cl 4) wherein the machine learning model is a product recognition model configured to recognize products included in the vending machine (¶358-“The package may have a number of parameters that can be recognized as a basis for determining the package identity. These include shape, size, and characterizing data previously applied to the package by the manufacture including, for example, the manufacturer's name and lot number. The characterizing data is usually sufficient to make an accurate identification of the package with relative certainty
(¶279-“state machine in effect learns to recognize conditions and acquires knowledge in the form of a recorded history of the result of various solutions, thereby adding to the collective operation knowledge base, to allow the robots of each of the networked dispensary apparatus 10 to learn from a successful outcome.”).
(re: cl 5) wherein, during the detecting of the object and the capturing of the one or more images of the object, the object is held by an operator of the vending machine or by a rotatable platform of the vending machine (¶302-“The robot's pick head 50 rotates the product away from the small diameter roller, rolling the label onto the product, and dislodging the remaining of the label from
the release liner.”).
(re: cl 6) wherein the vending machine does not include an automated dispensing system (¶273- not dispensed waste container; ¶174-dispensary door; ¶188-dispensary door where patient retrieves medication).
(re: cl 7) wherein the vending machine includes a door with an electronic lock, the method further comprising: receiving, by the at least one processor and when in the operational mode, an unlock command in response to a payment authorization (¶174-“ unlocks a dispensary door”,
¶188-payment and door unlocking).
(re: cl 9) wherein the machine learning model is updated in either a local electronic device or a remote electronic device (¶219-handset updates inventory; ¶172 local DD (doctors dispensary)
updates inventory dispensed).
(re: cl 10) wherein providing the feedback includes at least one of: displaying the feedback on a screen; and displaying one or more colors using an LED of the vending machine (¶175-beeps if left and displays a reminder to retrieve the left medicine ; ¶177-transaction cancelled display; ¶179-dispensing error displayed).
Ooyen et al. teaches:
(re: cl 11) A system comprising: at least one processor (¶373-processor);
a vending machine (CL 1) associated with the at least one processor, the vending machine including a cabinet to store objects (vending machine fig. 4);
at least one imaging sensor coupled to the vending machine (¶268-“array of sensors 60, 70 enables the control system 100 to determine what state it is in at any given moment.” “A computer of the control system 100 knows the length of products so the module determines from the sensors 60, 70, being simple light beam sensors, where a product should be located”);
and an active feedback system coupled to the vending machine, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: switch, in response to an input, the vending machine from an operational mode to a training mode (¶268-“array of sensors 60, 70 enables the control system 100 to determine what state it is in at any given moment.” “A computer of the control system 100 knows the length of products so the module determines from the sensors 60, 70, being simple light beam sensors, where a product should be located”);
detect, using the at least one imaging sensor, an object within view of the at least one imaging sensor (¶268- “control system 100 knows the length of products so the module determines from the sensors 60, 70, being simple light beam sensors, where a product should be located”);
capture, using the at least one imaging sensor, one or more images of the object (¶268- “control system 100 knows the length of products so the module determines from the sensors 60, 70, being simple light beam sensors, where a product should be located”);
provide, using the active feedback system, feedback based on the captured one or more captured images of the object regarding a different view to be included in a training set of images for the object (¶268-feedback from imaging-“ control system 100 knows that pick was a successful pick and a tractor of the assembly can then feed it off correctly”…”The control system 100 operates, for example, to pick a product out of the back end drug vault module 200, by using "state tables" of approximately 385 states, each state functioning as a rule”);
capture, using the at least one imaging sensor, at least one next image of the object in the different view (¶268-plural images from differing cameras).
Mishra teaches any elements Ooyen et al. lacks including:
at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor (c14 L15-33--memory for executing code in processor);
generate, based on a determination that sufficient views of the object have been captured, the training set of images from at least a portion of the captured one or more images of the object (c5 L 62-c6 L 8-plural images checks adjusting camera position focus sufficient plural focal lengths -so that would be plural views ; c10 L 45-c11 L 5-Baysian classifier identifies probability of a correct observation based on the plurality of images taken.);
and train a machine learning model using the training set of images to update the machine learning model to recognize the object (c6 L 37-60-training images to recognize objects).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Ooyen et al. to have at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor as the processor needs a source for reading the algorithm in the processor executable program control as taught by Mishra.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Ooyen et al. to implement generating, by the at least one processor based on a determination that sufficient views of the object have been captured, the training set of images from at least a portion of the captured one or more images of the object as training the imaging system to identify the objects will identify and keep track of the inventory in the machine and identifying a Baysian probability of sufficiency will identify when proper identification threshold has been reached as taught by Mishra.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Ooyen et al. to implement training, by the at least one processor, a machine learning model using the training set of images to update the machine learning model to recognize the object as training the imaging system to identify the objects will identify and keep track of the inventory in the machine as taught by Mishra.
Ooyen et al. further teaches:
(re: cl 12) wherein the object is a new product to be added to the vending machine, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to add information on the new product to the at least one memory (¶219-The stocker uses a handset to call the service provider's office and initiates an "Inventory Update" request to modify the-Dispense inventory to the new numbers.).
(re: cl 13) wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive product identifying information and pricing information on the new product; and update the at least one memory by associating the product identifying information and pricing information with the new product (¶32-The patient either accepts or rejects the transaction. If the transaction is accepted, the robotic prescription dispenser will interface with the server to transact a payment, for example, by prompting the patient for credit card information,).
(re: cl 14) wherein the machine learning model is a product recognition model configured to recognize products included in the vending machine (¶279-“state machine in effect learns to recognize conditions and acquires knowledge in the form of a recorded history of the result of various solutions, thereby adding to the collective operation knowledgebase, to allow the robots of each of the networked dispensary apparatus 10 to learn from a successful outcome.”).
(re: cl 15) wherein, during the detection of the object and the capture of the one or more images of the object, the object is held by an operator of the vending machine or by a rotatable platform of the vending machine (¶302-“The robot's pick head 50 rotates the product away from the small diameter roller, rolling the label onto the product, and dislodging the remaining of the label from the release liner.”).
(re: cl 16) wherein the vending machine does not include an automated dispensing system (¶273- not dispensed waste container; ¶174-dispensary door; ¶188-dispensary door where patient retrieves medication).
(re: cl 17) wherein the vending machine includes a door with an electronic lock, and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to receive, by the at least one processor and when in the operational mode, an unlock command in response to a payment authorization (¶174-“ unlocks a dispensary door”, ¶188-payment and door unlocking).
(re: cl 19) wherein the machine learning model is updated in either a local electronic device or a remote electronic device (¶219-handset updates inventory; ¶172 local DD (doctors dispensary) updates inventory dispensed).
(re: cl 20) wherein to provide the feedback, the at least one processor is further configured to instruct at least one of: display the feedback on a screen; and display one or more colors using an LED of the vending machine (¶175-beeps if left and displays a reminder to retrieve the left medicine ; ¶177-transaction cancelled display; ¶179-dispensing error displayed).
Claim(s) 8, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooyen et al. (US2012/0004770) in view of Mishra (9262681) in further view of Cella et al. (US20190339684) wherein Ooyen et al. in view of Mishra teaches the elements previously discussed and Cella et al. teaches any elements Ooyen et al. lacks including:
(re: cl 8) wherein the machine learning model is updated to recognize the object after a pre-determined delay (¶1028-“In embodiments, to account for time shifts in data, delays are added to one or more inputs, or between one or more nodes, so that multiple data points (from distinct points in time) are analyzed together. A time delay neural network may form part of a larger pattern recognition system, such as using a perceptron network. In embodiments, a TDNN may be trained with supervised learning, such as where connection weights are trained with back propagation or under feedback. In embodiments, a TDNN may be used to process sensor data from distinct streams,”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Ooyen et al. to delay update the machine learning model to recognize the object after a pre-determined delay as delaying the completion of the update till after all data has propagated will provide more data points of the image creating a more accurate recognition model as taught by Cella et al..
Cella et al. teaches any elements Ooyen et al. lacks including:
(re: cl 18) wherein the machine learning model is updated to recognize the object after a pre-determined delay (¶1028-“In embodiments, to account for time shifts in data, delays are added to one or more inputs, or between one or more nodes, so that multiple data points (from distinct points in time) are analyzed together. A time delay neural network may form part of a larger pattern recognition system, such as using a perceptron network. In embodiments, a TDNN may be trained with supervised learning, such as where connection weights are trained with back propagation or under feedback. In embodiments, a TDNN may be used to process sensor data from distinct streams,”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, for Ooyen et al. to delay update the machine learning model to recognize the object after a pre-determined delay as delaying the completion of the update till after all data has propagated will provide more data points of the image creating a more accurate recognition model as taught by Cella et al..
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
The examiner can normally be reached on Tuesday, Wednesday, or Thursday.
/M.E.B/Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655