DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8-3-2026.
Applicants’ election without traverse of group 1 (corresponding to claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 8-3-2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract should be between 50 and 150 words and the abstract is less than 50 words, which fails to meet MPEP 608.01(b). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stefani (US20210307381A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Stefani discloses an article (14) for use in a non-combustible aerosol provision system [0033], see also FIG 1, the article comprising:
a rod (14) comprising a column of aerosol-generating material (22) [0034],
the column of aerosol generating material being at least partially wrapped in a wrapper (26) (with low combustion characteristics in accordance with the present disclosure [0036]), wherein
at least a portion of a surface of the wrapper (base web wrapper [0041]) comprises
a coating comprising a combustion retarding salt (the burn control agent is deposited onto the base web wrapper [0051]-[0052]. The base web is treated with a burn control flame retardant that may comprise an alkali metal salt [0052], which meets combustion retarding salt as claimed).
Regarding Claim 3 Additionally Stefani teaches the combustion retarding coating comprises a binder and lists suitable binders for use [0067]-[0068], at least one of the binders from the list disclosed by Stefani is consistent with the instant specification list of ingredients considered binders in the instant specification, page 6 lines 5-10.
Regarding Claim 4, Stefani discloses the composition can include binder ingredients such as starch, Guar gum, polysaccharides (an ordinary artisan would appreciate starch and cellulose are polysaccharides), cellulose fibers, and cellulose derivatives [0068]. The instant specification on page 6 lines 5-10 discloses that suitable binders include ingredients such guar gums, starches, pectins, gelatin, polysaccharides, pectins, cellulose, etc. Therefore, these ingredients taught by Stefani meet the binder limitation as they are consistent with the instant specification on page 6 lines 5-10.
Regarding Claim 6, Stefani discloses alkaline earth metal salt [0052] but is silent to suitable examples of alkaline earth metal salts in the same paragraph. However, Stefani later discloses the composition includes calcium chloride that be included in the composition [0068] which is a metal halide salt. Although Stefani does not explicitly describe calcium chloride as a combustion retarding salt, the instant specification discloses ingredients considered suitable combustion retarding salts; to include calcium chloride (instant specification page 4 line 28). Accordingly, an ordinary artisan would appreciate Stefani discloses the combustion retarding salt is a metal halide salt.
The limitation optionally selected from the group consisting of: sodium chloride, potassium chloride, sodium bromide, potassium bromide, and combinations thereof is explicitly optional and is therefore not included in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stefani (US20210307381A1) as applied to claim 1, and in view of Zawadski (US 20020179105A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Stefani discloses the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Stefani fails to explicitly disclose the coating comprises comprising from about 3 wt% to about 70 wt% of at least one combustion retarding salt (dry weight basis).
However, Zawadski teaches a cigarette wrapper with a burn rate retarding substance coating applied thereto (see [0036] treated area 22) and teaches the substance has an example suitable composition of 18.17 wt% starch binder (Flokote), e.g., an ordinary artisan would appreciate the starch is the binder in the composition, 1.01 wt% monoammonium phosphate burn (combustion) rate retarding salt, and 80.81 wt% water [0102], after removal of water resulting with 19.19 parts, 1.01/19.19= 5.26 wt% burn rate retarding salt. Thus Zawadski teaches the dried wrapper coating comprises about 5.26 wt% combustion retarding salt, which falls within the claimed range that the coating comprises about 3 wt% to about 70 wt% of at least one combustion retarding salt. (see also [0105], starch and monoammonium phosphate at this percentage is an effective combustion retarding material (effective at reducing ignition propensity (IP))
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combustion retarding salt composition of Stefani with the ignition retarding salt wt% of Zawadski to reduce the ignition propensity of the smoking device of Stefani with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 5, Stefani discloses the claim limitations as set forth above. Stefani teaches a binder such as carboxymethyl cellulose or guar gum [0079], see also [0068], starch, etc, the instant specification on page 6 lines 5-10 discloses that suitable binders include ingredients such guar gums, starches, pectins, gelatin, polysaccharides, pectins, cellulose, etc.,
However, Stefani is silent to the specific suitable wt% of binder in the coating.
Zawadski teaches the coating comprises from about 30 wt% to about 97 wt% of at least one binder. E.g., example 7A’s dry coating contains 18.18 parts starch out of 19.19 total dry solids, 18.18/19.19 = 94.74 wt% starch which falls within the claimed range from about 30 wt% to about 97 wt% of at least one binder [0102].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use Zawadski’s known aqueous starch/burn retarding salt coating composition in Stefanis salt-wrapper treatment, because both Stefani and Zawadski are directed to smoking articles comprising wrappers treated/coated with combustion retarding salts, Stefani is silent in regards to suitable wt% binder compositions for use in wrapper coatings and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to a similar reference to find suitable wt% for binders for use for a similar wrapper composition. Zawadski teaches known wt% binder compositions for use and this merely involves applying suitable characteristics to a similar product with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/M.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755