DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. DE10 2022 107 293.2, filed on 03/15/2023.
Status of Claims
Claims 16-23 and 25-31 filed on 03/17/2026 are presently examined. Claims 1-15 and 24 are cancelled. Claims 16 and 29 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 112(f), the interpretation is maintained.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant's arguments filed 03/17/2026 have been fully considered but are unpersuasive.
Degree of synchronization is described in Applicant’s specification as [0080] “the degree of synchronization may comprise parameters such as timing and/or movement of the facial and/or body features (e.g. whether the mouth and lips move far enough apart for the given dynamics and volume of the music).”
In regards to taking the degree of synchronization of the lip movement as a basis for “controlling at least one vehicle function,” controlling a vehicle function is recited very broadly. Applicant’s specification describes an example function as [0006 and 0091] “assessing … the synchronization with the song text and/or the music. This can be used to facilitate an intelligent interaction of the assistance system with the vehicle occupant with regard to played-back media content, e.g. as part of a sing function or karaoke function.” A sing function or karaoke function is broad, and using lip synchronization to control said functions is widely claimed in the art.
Previously used reference Tatsuji teaches detecting the degree of synchronization between lip movement and the lyrical music output and controls functions based on said synchronization.
Tatsuji teaches take the detection data as a basis for determining … a degree of synchronization between lip movement and the music output ([0011] “image scoring information is calculated by comparing the recognized lip shape with singing reference information synchronized with the performance data” [0021] “by comparing the recognized lip shape with the lip information corresponding to the singing reference information synchronized with the performance data, it is possible to determine whether the shape of the mouth of the singer is appropriate at the time of performance”[0065] describes timing of lip shape synchronization).
Tatsuji teaches take … the degree of synchronization between lip movement and the music output as a basis for controlling at least one function in order to provide the at least one user with feedback in relation to the reaction in response to the music output (Per Applicant’s specification noted in the response to arguments above, the vehicle function controlled based on the synchronization was described to be controlling karaoke and media functions [Tatsuji [0002] “In this scoring function, an exemplary singing interval is compared with a singing interval of a singer, and a score is calculated based on the degree of matching.”).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“output module” in claims 16, 17 described in Applicant’s specification as [0008] “the output module may comprise the at least one loudspeaker.”, [0012] “output module may comprise the display apparatus”.
“storage module” in claim 18 described in Applicant’s specification as [0018] “a
storage module that stores, in particular permanently stores (as opposed to temporary buffer- storage in the case of streaming.”
“interface module” in claim 18 is described in Applicant’s specification as [0019] “The interface module can communicate with the external unit by means of a wireless connection (e.g., Bluetooth, WLAN, NFC, etc.).”
“artificial intelligence module configured to take” described in Applicant’s specification as [0081] “artificial intelligence module 130 comprises a trained algorithm”, [0065] “The system comprises one or more processors”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 20, 23, and 26-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al. (US 20200073478 A1) in view of Tin et al (US 20200083856 A1) and Tatsuji (JP 5574130 B2)., hereinafter referred to as An, Tin, and Tatsuji.
Regarding claims 16 and 29, An discloses an assistance system for a vehicle, comprising:
an output module designed for a music output based on musical acoustic data in a vehicle interior ([0059] “the vehicle … may include … speakers 250 configured to reproduce music”); and
an interior sensor system, including a camera and a microphone (microphone 222 and camera 36), configured to optically and/or acoustically detect at least one vehicle occupant and to provide corresponding detection data to the output module ([0079] “The sensing unit 210 may sense a user's emotional state during driving and acquire user emotion information indicating the user's emotional state.” [0059] “The controller 260 configured to control feedback devices provided in the vehicle 100 to control the user's emotional state based on the user emotion information received from the sensing unit 210”);
wherein the assistance system is configured to: take the detection data as a basis for determining a reaction of the at least one vehicle occupant in response to the music output ([0123] “sensing unit 210 may acquire the user emotion information indicating the user's emotional state using the sensors.” [0143] “when the determined user's current emotional state is anger, the controller 260 may control the speakers 250 to reproduce classical music.”); and
take the reaction of the at least one vehicle occupant in response to the music output as a basis for controlling at least one vehicle function in order to provide the at least one vehicle occupant with feedback in relation to the reaction in response to the music output ([0137] “When it is determined that the unit situation is not changed … acquire user emotion information indicating the user's emotional state again … the controller 260 may control the feedback devices again to reduce the negative emotion” [0145] “Referring to FIG. 6B, when it is determined that the emotional state of anger prior to control of the feedback devices is released based on the emotional state determined after control of the feedback devices, the display 270 may display an emotional state message 650 stating, ‘your emotional state of anger is released.’”);
An fails to explicitly disclose take the detection data as a basis for determining … a degree of synchronization between lip movement and the music output.
However, Tatsuji teaches take the detection data as a basis for determining … a degree of synchronization between lip movement and the music output ([0011] “image scoring information is calculated by comparing the recognized lip shape with singing reference information synchronized with the performance data” [0021] “by comparing the recognized lip shape with the lip information corresponding to the singing reference information synchronized with the performance data, it is possible to determine whether the shape of the mouth of the singer is appropriate at the time of performance”[0065] describes timing of lip shape synchronization).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify An with Tatsuji’s teaching of determining how synchronized the user’s lip shape is with the lyrics in musical output. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to determine said synchronization in order to calculate a singing score based on lip synchronization with lyrics (Tatsuji [0002] “In this scoring function, an exemplary singing interval is compared with a singing interval of a singer, and a score is calculated based on the degree of matching.”).
An fails to explicitly disclose the reaction including a lip movement obtained by lip reading of the at least one vehicle occupant via the camera; control an output parameter of the music output based on the reaction of the at least one vehicle occupant in response to the music output, wherein the at least one output parameter includes a volume.
However, Tin teaches the reaction including a lip movement obtained by lip reading of the at least one vehicle occupant via the camera; control an output parameter of the music output based on the reaction of the at least one vehicle occupant in response to the music output, wherein the at least one output parameter includes a volume ([0008] “the camera can detect human speech by monitoring facial and/or lip movements of individuals. The automatic loudness control unit adjusts audio output from the audio output device. Further, the automatic loudness control unit can respond to human speech that is detected in the area.” [0009] “detecting human speech by monitoring at least one of vocal sounds, facial movements and lip movements of an individual and (d) applying automatic loudness control to adjust audio output for human speech.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify An with Tin’s teaching of lip tracking the occupant of the vehicle and adjusting the volume of music in response to the lip movement. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to adjust volume in response to lip movement in order to improve sound conditions for conversation (Tin [0115] “the system can identify human speech and improve sound conditions for conversation.”).
An fails to explicitly disclose take … the degree of synchronization between lip movement and the music output as a basis for controlling at least one vehicle function in order to provide the at least one vehicle occupant with feedback in relation to the reaction in response to the music output.
However, Tatsuji teaches take … the degree of synchronization between lip movement and the music output as a basis for controlling at least one function in order to provide the at least one user with feedback in relation to the reaction in response to the music output (Per Applicant’s specification noted in the response to arguments above, the vehicle function controlled based on the synchronization was described to be controlling karaoke and media functions [Tatsuji [0002] “In this scoring function, an exemplary singing interval is compared with a singing interval of a singer, and a score is calculated based on the degree of matching.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify An with Tatsuji’s teaching of controlling the scoring function based on the degree of synchronization of lip shape to the lyrics of music output. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to score the karaoke performance based at least on lip synchronization in order to prevent singers from scoring high while “hamming” or not moving their mouse and not actually singing the lyrics (Tatsuji [0003] “In the conventional scoring function, singing of lyrics and singing by Hamming cannot be determined.” [0063] “when singing is performed by Hamming, there is little change in the lip shape of the singer.” [0068] “when it is determined that Hamming is being performed during the performance, it is also possible to notify a warning that the normal scoring is not performed”).
Regarding claim 20, An discloses The assistance system according to claim 16, wherein the reaction of the at least one vehicle occupant in response to the music output comprises at least one of the following elements:
a physical behavior of the at least one vehicle occupant, including a body expression, a body movement, a facial expression and/or a lip movement;
an acoustic performance of the at least one vehicle occupant with regard to the music output, including a volume, a rhythm and/or a register for singing along;
a synchronization between a singing along of the at least one vehicle occupant and the music output and/or the linguistic part of the music output; and
an emotional state of the at least one vehicle occupant ([0137] “When it is determined that the unit situation is not changed … acquire user emotion information indicating the user's emotional state again … the controller 260 may control the feedback devices again to reduce the negative emotion”).
Regarding claim 23, An discloses The assistance system according to claim 16, wherein the assistance system is configured to output the feedback to the at least one vehicle occupant audibly and/or visually and/or haptically ([0137] “display 270 may display an emotional state message 650 stating, ‘your emotional state of anger is released.’”).
Regarding claim 26, An discloses The assistance system according to claim 16, wherein the assistance system further comprises an intelligent personal assistant designed for an interaction with the at least one vehicle occupant, wherein the intelligent personal assistant is configured to determine the feedback in response to the music output ([at least FIG. 8A-B] the system takes in feedback according to the music output and interacts with the occupant. Intelligent personal assistant is broadly recited in this claim.).
Regarding claim 27, An discloses The assistance system according to claim 16, wherein the assistance system is configured to receive a music selection from the at least one vehicle occupant and/or to automatically make a music selection based on at least one circumstance parameter ([0008] “store situation information representing the numbers of expressions of respective emotional states in each unit situation” [0096] “a situation in which the vehicle 100 is driven during the morning rush hour, in the morning time, during the lunch hour, in the afternoon time, during the evening rush hour, at night, or in the middle of the night may become one unit situation.” Since the user emotional states are recorded according to situations, and the music output is selected based on user emotional data, the music selection is similarly based on the situation data, similar to circumstance parameters.).
Regarding claim 28, An discloses A motor vehicle comprising an assistance system according to claim 16 ([at least abstract] “a controller configured to control feedback devices provided in the vehicle”).
Regarding claim 30, An discloses A non-transitory storage medium storing instructions to be executed on one or more processors to perform an assistance method according to claim 29 ([0061] “The controller 260 may include at least one memory configured to store a program performing an operation, which is described below, and at least one processor configured to execute the stored program.”).
Regarding claim 31, An fails to disclose The assistance system according to claim 16, wherein the reaction further includes a synchronization between a singing along of the at least one vehicle occupant and the music output and the linguistic part of the music output.
However, Tatsuji teaches The assistance system according to claim 16, wherein the reaction further includes a synchronization between a singing along of the at least one vehicle occupant and the music output and the linguistic part of the music output ([0021] “comparing the recognized lip shape with the lip information corresponding to the singing reference information synchronized with the performance data”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify An with Tatsuji’s teaching of tracking lip shape in synchronization of lyrics. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to track lip shape in synchronization with lyrics in order to determine whether the singer’s mouth shape is correct at the right point in time (Tatsuji [0021] “it is possible to determine whether the shape of the mouth of the singer is appropriate at the time of performance”).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An in view of Tin as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Yasui et al. (US 20210150772 A1), hereinafter referred to as Yasui.
Regarding claim 18, An fails to explicitly disclose The assistance system according to claim 16, further comprising a storage module that has stored the musical acoustic data, wherein:
the storage module has further stored the lyrics data;
the storage module has permanently stored the musical acoustic data and/or the lyrics data;
and/or the storage module is integrated in the vehicle or an external unit connected to the vehicle, wherein the assistance system includes an interface module configured to receive the musical acoustic data and/or the lyrics data from the external unit.
However, Yasui teaches a storage module that has stored the musical acoustic data, wherein:
the storage module has further stored the lyrics data;
the storage module has permanently stored the musical acoustic data and/or the lyrics data;
and/or the storage module is integrated in the vehicle or an external unit connected to the vehicle, wherein the assistance system includes an interface module configured to receive the musical acoustic data and/or the lyrics data from the external unit ([0087] “The communicator 110 includes a network interface card (NIC), for example. The communicator 110 performs communication with the vehicle 200 via the network NW.” [0088] “content providing server 100 provides karaoke content to the passenger of the vehicle 200, karaoke content data 122 (for example, data of accompaniment music, lyrics, and the like) is stored in the storage 120.” External server storage is 120. [0063] “The storage 280 stores information received from the content providing server 100” Vehicle storage is 280.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify An with Yasui’s teaching of an external content providing server that transmits the music and lyric data to the vehicle. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to use an external content providing server in order to utilize the storage of an external server ([0086] “The content providing server 100 includes, for example, a communicator 110, a storage 120”).
Regarding claim 19, An fails to disclose The assistance system according to claim 16, wherein the assistance system is configured to receive the musical acoustic data and/or the lyrics data from an external unit and/or a streaming service.
However, Yasui teaches the assistance system is configured to receive the musical acoustic data and/or the lyrics data from an external unit and/or a streaming service ([0116] “The content providing server 100 transmits data such as an accompanying music, lyrics, and the like of the karaoke content to the vehicle 200.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify An with Yasui’s teaching of an external content providing server that transmits the music and lyric data to the vehicle. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to use an external content providing server in order to utilize the storage of an external server ([0086] “The content providing server 100 includes, for example, a communicator 110, a storage 120”).
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An in view of Tin as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Sobhany (US 20200242421 A1), hereinafter referred to as Sobhany.
Regarding claim 21, An fails to disclose The assistance system according to claim 16, further comprising an artificial intelligence module configured to take the detection data as a basis for determining the reaction of the at least one vehicle occupant in response to the music output.
However, Sobhany teaches an artificial intelligence module configured to take the detection data as a basis for determining the reaction of the at least one vehicle occupant in response to the music output ([0067] “machine learning adaptation module 328 continuously learns about the user of the vehicle”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify An with Sobhany’s teaching of a machine learning adaptation model. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to use a machine learning adaptation model in order to continuously improve the ability of the vehicle to respond or anticipate a user’s needs (Sobhany [0027] “utilize personalized models that learn a person's emotional states, habits, and reactions over time to improve the ability of the vehicle to respond to or anticipate a person's needs.”).
Regarding claim 22, An fails to disclose The assistance system according to claim 21, wherein the artificial intelligence module comprises a trained algorithm, wherein the trained algorithm is trained based on at least one of the following aspects:
video data from single and multiple persons singing to different songs;
musical acoustic data and/or lyrics data corresponding to the music output;
musical acoustic data and/or lyrics data similar to the music output; and
historical data with regard to earlier music outputs and reactions of vehicle occupants in response thereto.
However, Sobhany teaches the artificial intelligence module comprises a trained algorithm wherein the trained algorithm is trained based on at least one of the following aspects: musical acoustic data and/or lyrics data similar to the music output; musical acoustic data and/or lyrics data corresponding to the music output; historical data with regard to earlier music outputs and reactions of vehicle occupants in response thereto ([0090] “if … the driver is happy because she enjoys the music that is playing in the vehicle, the vehicle experience system 310 can select additional songs similar to the song that the driver enjoyed … the driver is currently frustrated due to heavy traffic but the vehicle experience system 310 has determined (based on historical data) that the driver will become happier if certain music is played”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify An with Sobhany’s teaching of a machine learning adaptation model which uses historical data of past reactions to music, as well as the current and similar music that the occupant has enjoyed. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to use historical data of past music and occupant reactions in order to improve a poor or maintain a good driver’s emotional state (Sobhany [0090] “the vehicle experience system 310 can select additional songs similar to the song that the driver enjoyed to ensure that the driver remains happy … the vehicle experience system 310 can play this music to change the driver's emotional state from frustration to happiness.”).
Claims 17 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An in view of Tin as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Sofra (DE 102015014652 A1).
Regarding claim 17, An fails to disclose The assistance system according to claim 16, wherein the output module is further configured to visually output a linguistic part of the music output based on lyrics data.
However, Sofra teaches the output module is further configured to visually output a linguistic part of the music output based on lyrics data ([0019] “the user of the vehicle can listen to the radio and automatically have the lyrics of the piece of music displayed.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify An with Sofra’s teaching of displaying lyrics along with the music. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to display lyric of the outputted music in order to enable the occupants to sing along, providing karaoke functionality to the vehicle (Sofra [0034] “A driver 12 and/or another passenger 13 of the motor vehicle 1 now reads the text of the piece of music and sings the text 11 to the output melody of the piece of music. This provides a karaoke functionality of the motor vehicle 1”).
Regarding claim 25, An discloses The assistance system according to claim 16, wherein the at least one vehicle occupant is a single vehicle occupant ([0008] “a vehicle includes a sensing unit using at least one sensor and configured to acquire user emotion information”), or wherein the at least one vehicle occupant is two or more vehicle occupants.
An fails to disclose wherein a respective reaction in response to the music output is determined, and corresponding feedback is output, for each of the two or more vehicle occupants.
However, Sofra teaches a respective reaction in response to the music output is determined, and corresponding feedback is output, for each of the two or more vehicle occupants ([0038] “The noise atmosphere, in particular the voice, is then used, for example, to determine a current mood of the driver 12 and/or the other occupant 13” [0014] “The tonal agreement describes in particular how well a tone is hit by the occupants. Based on the degree of agreement, evaluation points can then be awarded” [0039] “Based on the sound atmosphere, in particular a degree of rhythmic and/or tonal agreement of the voice with the melody of the piece of music, or the degree of emotional mood, the current piece of music can then be recognized and stored, for example, as a favorite by the driver 12 and/or the other occupant 13.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify An with Sofra’s teaching of using the mood and tonal agreement of the occupants in response to the music output. One would be motivated with reasonable expectation of success to detect occupants’ mood and tonal agreement with the music output in order to adapt the media content to suit the occupant and situation (Sofra [0040] “adapt the media content there to suit the occupant and the situation.”).
Conclusion
/M.R.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668