DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 3-16 and 18-21 are pending and under review. Claims 1-2 and 17 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 3-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural phenomenon and to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite measuring a naturally occurring product (butyrate) collected from physiological sample(s) wherein an increased butyrate level compared to a reference indicates improvement, and is a natural correlation and cannot therefore be a determinate biomarker as the biological response is a natural response and the correlation is a natural phenomenon; secondly, a method for quantifying butyrate from cohorts of patients to further quantify mood disorder by comparing levels of butyrate from the physiological sample(s) is an abstract idea in which correlations can be performed in the human mind.
With regards to Step 1, claim 3 and 4-14 are within the statutory category of a process.
With regards to Step 2A, prong one: claim 3 and 4-14, the claim(s) recite a natural correlation of comparing increased butyrate levels to a reference value as an indication of improvement in mood which is a natural phenomenon and the abstract idea of determining improvement of mood disorder(s) by comparing levels of butyrate and assessing changes. The limitation constitutes natural phenomenon and evaluations and judgments that can practically be performed in the human mind and therefore falls within the mental process grouping of abstract ideas—as further discussed under the 2019 Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (PEG).
With regards to Step 2A, prong 2, regarding claim(s) 3 and 4-14, the claim(s) are directed to an abstract idea and natural phenomenon. The method step of “comparing” the subject’s butyrate level to a predetermined reference value is an abstract idea. The claims also recite a natural correlation: An increased butyrate level in a sample indicates improvement of mood disorder status and/or excessive emotional reaction. The steps do not provide a meaningful limitation on the judicial exception. The conventional methods are generally used to collect data on a naturally occurring short-chain fatty acid (SCFA) that is butyrate, and to use said data to examine correlations.
With regards to Step 2B: in claims 3 and 4-14, the additional elements beyond the natural phenomenon and abstract idea (mental processes) of collecting body sample(s) from subjects with a mood disorder and assessing extracted natural butyrate levels from said subject samples, using mass spectrometry methods as required in instant claim 7, are routine and conventional in the prior arts. Mueller et al teaches proton NMR has been used as an analytical technique for detecting SCFAs (page 6, 'Analysis of short chain fatty acids (SCFA); Fu et al., further describes, developing a method to analyze SCFAs, from feces, using UPLC (page 3, ‘2.5 UPLC/MS/MS conditions’).
Claims 5-11 and 14, recites at a high level of generality additional steps of sample collection of reference values from a subject ( human), average butyrate levels to which a reference value is based upon from control samples/populations, and further generalized steps of data-acquisition, data analysis, and performing mass spectrometry methods to create data sets with additional analysis/parameters to characterize the data, without further integration of the judicial exception. These additional data limitations merely recite obtaining butyrate levels (i.e. data) and analyzing the information for purposes of measuring, analysis, and/or comparison of patients with mood-disorder(s)—which are routine and conventional in the prior art as taught by Muller et al and Fu et al. Accordingly, the claims do not recite additional elements that alone or together amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 12 recites that the method is used to monitor progress of an intervention to treat or ameliorate a mood disorder status. The claim does not require modifying the intervention based on the measurements of butyrate levels and merely states the purpose, in general terms, but does not indicate a limitation, regarding a specified treatment.
Claim 13 recites administering to the subject a probiotic. However, the limitations of the claim do not recite the administration is according to a measured butyrate level, a specific dosage, and/or regimen in relation to a result effective outcome. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, the application of the probiotic can occur without regard to a determination of a subject’s butyrate level status. Accordingly, the administration of the probiotic does not meaningfully rely on the identified relationship between a butyrate level and a mood disorder status, to effectively apply a treatment over the juridical exception.
Summarily, claims 3-14 do not further apply the determination-- to assess a naturally occurring compound (butyrate) and its natural levels in a subject cohort with mood disorders-- to affect a treatment, modify scientific instruments and/or a technological process, otherwise they do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claims as a whole do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself, and does not integrate the exception into a practical application. Well-understood, routine and conventional limitations are not meaningful limitations and are not enough to qualify the claimed method as reciting something “significantly more” than the judicial exception(s) (see Part I.B.1 of the interim Guidance).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8 and 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 (line 2) and claim 8 (lines 2-3) recite, “the same body fluid”, the limitation lacks antecedent basis—it is not clear as to what encompasses body fluid, as there is no evidence in the claims regarding the limitation.
Claim 7 (line 2) recites, “the biomarkers”, the limitation lacks antecedent basis—it is not clear as to what encompasses biomarkers, as there is no evidence in the claims regarding the limitation.
Claim 10 (line 4) recites “before the body sample is obtained from the subject”, the limitation lacks clear antecedent basis. Claim 3 recites a body sample obtained from the subject to be tested, while claim 10 separately introduces a body sample from which the predetermined reference value was obtained. Therefore, it is unclear whether “the body sample” introduced in claim 10 refers to the reference body sample as identified in claim 10, or the body sample of claim 3. The relationship between said samples is unclear and is not defined, and one of ordinary skill in art would not reasonably be apprised of the scope of the invention. For purposes of examination, the examiner is interpreting “before the body sample is obtained from the subject” to refer to the body sample used to obtain the predetermined reference value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 3-6, 8, 11, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muller, B et al., Fecal Short Chain Fatty Acid ratios are related to both Depressive and Gastrointestinal Symptoms in Young Adults. medRxiv preprint April 29, 2020 (online); pp. 1-19.
Regarding claims 3-6, 8,11, 12 and 14:
Muller et al., discloses quantifying mood disorder improvement by measuring short-chain fatty acids (SCFA), including butyrate (page 1, Abstract). Assessment of patient diagnoses and symptoms were by psychiatric personnel and assessment of depressive symptoms were self-rated using a Montogmery-Asberg Depression Rating Scale (page 5, Participants’ and ‘Depressive symptoms (MADRS-S)’) and the Gastrointestinal Symptom Rating Scale for IBS (GSRS-IBS) to evaluate gastro-intestinal symptoms (page 5, ‘Gastro intestinal symptoms’) in, young adults.
Regarding claim 4, Analysis of patient data illustrated improvements of mood disorder in cohorts with higher butyrate: “Cluster II includes patients with high depressive scores and lower scores on other gut symptoms and shows lower butyrate and propionate ratios. Group 3 (III) describes a small group of individuals with both low gut and depressive symptoms. Interestingly, this small group has very low acetate ratios and higher butyrate and propionate ratios” (page 8, ‘Results’-cont, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 5, a reference value of butyrate was calculated as a ratio, compared to the total SCFAs in a subject’s fecal sample (page 7, Statistical Analysis’-cont) and correlation analysis was performed to analyze butyrate ratios related to depressive symptoms severity (page 7, Statistical Analysis’-cont., paragraph 2)— results from patients (n= 137) were compared with separate control populations and the data for each individual patient, within a specified cohort, are profiled in a heat map (Figure 1, page 15).
Regarding claim 6,8, 11, and 14 Mueller et al., discloses average butyrate levels from fecal samples that illustrate the population controls compared with patients (page 12, Table 1) and describes that fecal samples from 164 individuals, of which 125 were young adult patients with psychiatric disorders, analyzed for SCFAs (page 2, Abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Mueller discloses the method for monitoring the progress of medical treatment intervention(s) for mood disorder(s) (page 12, Table 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller, B et al., Fecal Short Chain Fatty Acid ratios are related to both Depressive and Gastrointestinal Symptoms in Young Adults. medRxiv preprint April 29, 2020 (online); pp. 1-19.
Muller et al., previously discusses reference values obtained from fecal samples collected from the same subject(s) (page 7, Statistical Analysis’-cont) during application of treatments(s) (page 12, Table 1) for further comparison to subject samples over the course of the study.
Mueller et al., does not teach a specified timepoint, of at least one week, before the body sample is obtained from the subject.
However, regarding claim 10, Muller et al teaches “the management of samples during collection may have varied between individuals, however [their] previous data show that the use of SCFA ratios instead of absolute values reduced the influence of time and temperature on the results” (page 10, ‘Discussion’, paragraph 1) ; further Muller et al., collects samples from patients with multiple disorders who are provided with different therapeutics which naturally requires different regimens for said treatment(s) (page 12, Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious through routine optimization to a person of ordinary skill in art at the effective date of filing regarding Mueller et al., to perform sample collection at different time points, including at least one week before the body sample collection, and/or along with treatment regimen-associated sample collection, relative to:
(1) optimization of therapeutic agent metabolism, dosage optimization, and/or relative to a chemical half-life of a therapeutic(s) which are provided to
(2) a multitude of patients with mild to severe mental disorder(s)
(3) in accordance with the end-goal of evaluating butyrate concentration measurements.
The motivation to do so, is to assess butyrate concentrations and establish reference value(s) in comparison to subjects receiving treatment, synchronized to a fixed time point (i.e. at least one week before), in the alternative relative to the half-life of a therapeutic(s), treatment regimen, and/or dosage of treatment to attain result effective optimization of comparative data sets, to appropriately draw conclusions regarding the correlation between a therapy and/or butyrate levels from said patients.
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller, B et al., Fecal Short Chain Fatty Acid ratios are related to both Depressive and Gastrointestinal Symptoms in Young Adults. medRxiv preprint April 29, 2020 (online); pp. 1-19 as applied to claims 3-6, 8, 11, 12, and 14 above, and further in view of Chen, W. et al., WO2020037533A1 (published 02-27-2020) for purposes of citation, (US20220288137A1) is referenced herein as an English language equivalent.
The teachings of Muller et al. are discussed previously.
Muller et al., does not teach a method of administering to a subject a probiotic.
However, regarding claim 13, Chen et al., teaches the administration of Bifidobacterium longum strain CCFM687 as a probiotic (page 1, paragraph 0013) to improve depression and behavioral performance in an animal model for human depressive conditions, in a depressed subject (page 8, claims 9 and 10) and results in increased intestinal butyrate (Sheet 5 of 7, Figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to modify the teachings of Muller et al., with Chen et al., to administer the probiotic, Bifidobacterium longum strain CCFM687 to subjects that were experiencing depression/mood disorder(s). The motivation to do so is to introduce a gut microorganism that produces butyrate, as butyrate synthesis in a human gut requires microbes, like Bifidobacterium longum strain CCFM687 which results in increased intestinal butyrate; and resultingly increases the physiological availability of butyrate which alleviates symptoms of depression. An ordinary artisan would have expected success, as the combined art teaches a probiotic that produces butyrate, which then contributes to alleviating depression in a subject and improves mood disorder. Resultingly, the combined prior art prescribes the same methods and is therefore prima facie obvious.
Claims 15,16,18,19 and 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller, B et al., Fecal Short Chain Fatty Acid ratios are related to both Depressive and Gastrointestinal Symptoms in Young Adults. medRxiv preprint April 29, 2020 (online); pp. 1-19 as applied to claims 3-6, 8, 11, 12, and 14 above, and Chen, W. et al., WO2020037533A1 (published 02-27-2020) for purposes of citation, the published U.S. version of the application (US20220288137A1) is referenced herein as an English language equivalent, and further in view of Qiu, J et al., Lipopolysaccharide-Induced Depression-Like Behaviors Is Ameliorated by Sodium Butyrate via Inhibiting Neuroinflammation and Oxido-Nitrosative Stress. Pharmacology. 2020; (105); pp 550-560.
The teachings of Muller et al. and Chen et al. are previously discussed.
Muller et al., modified by Chen et al., does not teach the administration of butyrate to ameliorate a mood disorder.
However, regarding claim 15 Qiu et al., teaches administering sodium-butyrate to a subject produces antidepressant-like effects (page 556, paragraph 1- as a continuation of ‘Discussion’).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to combine Muller et al., modified by Chen et al., with Qiu J et al., to administer to a subject with mood disorder(s) and experiencing low butyrate, the probiotic Bifidobacterium longum CCFM687 and sodium butyrate to ameliorate the disorder. The motivation to do so would be the therapeutic potential of the combination, to enhance the antidepressant like effects, Muller et al modified by Chen et al., demonstrates a probiotic resulting in increased intestinal butyrate which ameliorates depression, and further combined with sodium butyrate as taught by Qui et al., introduces an endogenous form of butyrate which is found to suppress depression-like behavior in a subject. Accordingly, an artisan would have reasonably expected success as both treatments were independently known to suppress depression.
Regarding claim 16, Muller et al., previously teaches mood disorders that are mild to severe (page 8, Results’-cont, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 18 and 19, Muller et al., modified by Chen et al., further teaches administration orally (page 4, paragraph 0067), and in food products (page 8, claims 13 and 14).
Regarding claim 21, Muller et al., previously teaches a subject that is human (page 2, Abstract and page 5, Gastro intestinal symptoms’).
Therefore, regarding claims 16, 18, 19, and 21, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to combine Muller et al., modified by Chen et al., with Qiu J et al., to administer to human subjects with mood disorder(s) (mild to severe) and experiencing low butyrate, the probiotic Bifidobacterium longum strain CCFM687 and sodium butyrate, for oral consumption in a food product. An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so, since the combined prior art teaches:
low butyrate associated with mild to severe mood disorders compared with patients demonstrating normal to high butyrate levels who did not demonstrate the same severity of disorder;
treated with a probiotic, Bifidobacterium longum CCFM687, which produces butyrate in the gut and fosters microbial diversity in the gut that further promotes, and is associated with improving mood disorders;
include sodium butyrate in the formulation, which has a long-standing demonstrated history of reducing depression-like symptoms in humans and animal models for human depression.
Therefore, one would have reasonably expected success, since the combined prior art teaches the same methods and/or therapeutic formulation(s) to reduce mood disorders.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller, B et al., Fecal Short Chain Fatty Acid ratios are related to both Depressive and Gastrointestinal Symptoms in Young Adults. medRxiv preprint April 29, 2020 (online); pp. 1-19 as applied to claims 3-6, 8, 11, 12, and 14 above, and Chen, W. et al., WO2020037533A1 (published 02-27-2020) the published U.S. version of the application (US20220288137A1) is referenced herein as an English language equivalent and Qiu, J et al., Lipopolysaccharide-Induced Depression-Like Behaviors Is Ameliorated by Sodium Butyrate via Inhibiting Neuroinflammation and Oxido-Nitrosative Stress. Pharmacology. 2020; (105); pp 550-560 and further in view of Wong et al., Beneficial effects of Bifidobacterium longum subsp. longum BB536 on human health: Modulation of gut microbiome as the principal action. Journal of Functional Foods.2019;(54); pp.506-519. as evidenced by Bergonzelli, G. et al., (US8343482B2, 2013-01-01) along with Bifidobacterium longum Reuter - BAA-999 | ATCC (public website).
The teaching of Muller et al., modified by Chen et al., and Qiu et al., are previously discussed.
Muller et al., modified by Chen et al., and Qiu et al., teaches a Bifidobacterium longum strain CCFM687, however the modified combination does not teach Bifidobacterium longum NCC3001 (also known as commercially available strain ATCC® Bifidobacterium longum Reuter BAA-999 ™ and Bifidobacterium longum BB536), as evidenced by Holvoet, S. et al., Characterization of Candidate Anti-Allergic Probiotic Strains in a Model of Th2-Skewed Human Peripheral Blood Mononuclear Cells. Int Arch Allergy Immunol. 2013; (161); pp. 142–154.
However, regarding claim 20, Wong et al., teaches the human isolate and probiotic strain Bifidobacterium longum BB536 (i.e. Bifidobacterium longum NCC3001) (page 1, paragraph 3) which produced increased butyrate levels in the gut and were further detected in feces (page 514, 4.1 ‘Microbial crosstalk on gut microbial metabolism’, paragraph 2); the same strain is able to modify mood disorders as evidenced by Bergonzelli et al.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to further modify the teaching of Muller et al., modified by Chen et al and Qiu et al., with Wong et al., by substituting in Bifidobacterium longum BB536 (i.e. strain number NCC3001) as the probiotic. The motivation to do so is a simple substitution of functional equivalents, wherein Bifidobacterium longum BB536 is also a probiotic strain, of the same species, that produces butyrate, as taught by the combined art of Muller et al., modified by Chen et al., and Qiu et al. An ordinary artisan would have reasonably expected success, as the combined art produces the same outcome, substituting the same functionally equivalent probiotic strain for another, that are Bifidobacterium longum.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller, B et al., Fecal Short Chain Fatty Acid ratios are related to both Depressive and Gastrointestinal Symptoms in Young Adults. medRxiv preprint April 29, 2020 (online); pp. 1-19 as applied to claims 3-6, 8, 11, 12, and 14 above, and further in view of Fu, H et al., “A rapid and convenient derivatization method for quantitation of short-chain fatty acids in human feces by ultra-performance liquid chromatography/tandem mass spectrometry”. Rapid Communications in Mass Spectrometry. 2020; (34: e8730); pp. 1-11.
The teachings of Muller et al. are previously discussed.
Muller et al., further teaches detecting SCFAs, including butyrate, from human feces samples that include patients and controls, using nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy methods, where level(s) of each biomarker and reference are measured, integral regions corresponding to short chain fatty acids were adjusted for milligrams of stool samples extracted and used for further statistical analysis, relative to ratios of SCFAs used for statistical analysis as these were less dependent on time or temperature differences during sample handling (page 6, ‘Analysis of short chain fatty acids (SCFA)’).
Muller et al., does not teach SCFA detection using the specified instrumentation of ultra-performance liquid chromatography (UPLC).
However, regarding claim 7, Fu et al., teaches proton NMR has been used as an analytical technique for detecting SCFAs, and notably due to the complexity of fecal composition, methods were limited to NMR and HPLC-UV (pages 1-2, paragraph 2-cont.). Fu et al., further describes, developing a method to analyze SCFAs, from feces, using: “… Waters ACQUITY UPLC I-Class system (Waters, Milford, MA, USA) coupled to a triple quadrupole 5500 mass spectrometer, equipped with an electrospray ionization (ESI) source…” (page 3, ‘2.5 UPLC/MS/MS conditions’). Fu et al., further provides that recovery analysis include samples spiked with SCFAs, a reference to detect recovery (page 8, ‘3.4.3 Recovery’), and representative human fecal samples were further assessed for recovery (page 9, Table 4) and compared with results from the literature (page 9, ‘3.5 Method Application’).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to have combined the teachings of Muller et al., with Fu et al., to measure the levels of SCFA biomarkers in patient fecal samples and in reference control samples, using the methods and/or instrumentation taught by Fu et al. The motivation to do so is a functionally equivalent method that accurately detects SCFAs and is comparative to the standards for SCFA detection in fecal samples from humans, via NMR and/or HPLC-UV analysis. An artisan would have expected success, as the modification of Muller et al., with Fu et al., provides an alternative known method for biomarker detection and analysis, relative to reference samples, using instrumentation/methods that are compatible with the same type of samples, from human patients, and to detect the same SCFAs.
Conclusion
No claims are currently deemed patentable.
Correspondence Information
/ENUSHA KARUNASENA/Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/JULIE WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1643