Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/15/2024, 5/30/2025 and 1/9/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, lines 2-3, “the different initial DL BWPs” should read “the different DL BWPs”.
In claim 2, line 5, “different BWPs” should read “the different DL BWPs”.
In claim 2, lines 5-6, “the different units of the different initial DL BWPs” should read “the different time units of the different DL BWPs”.
In claim 2, lines 8, “the different BWPs” should read “the different DL BWPs”.
In claim 3, lines 5, “the different initial DL BWPs” should read “the different DL BWPs”.
In claim 3, lines 7, “the different initial DL BWPs” should read “the different DL BWPs”.
In claim 5, line 3, “different BWPs” should read “the different DL BWPs”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 16-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20240292328 A1 (hereinafter Chen) (priority document: us-provisional-application US 63213831 20210623, hereinafter prov3831).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches
A downlink transmission configuration method, performed by
an access device, and comprising (Chen Fig. 1(a), base station 20. [0039] The communication controlling system 1 includes a user equipment 10 and a base station 20. The user equipment 10 and the base station 20 may communicate with each other either wirelessly or in a wired way.):
configuring a small data transmission (SDT) and a paging message, for a preset type of user equipment (UE), on a same initial downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) (Chen [0042]When the NR system supports SDT with BWP operation, the SDT resources (i.e., the resources for configured grant based small data transmission, CG-SDT and random access based small data transmission, RA-SDT) can be configured on either an initial BWP and/or the separate SDT BWPs.
[0043] the following types of BWP associated with SDT resources are defined: (prov3831 page 3)
[0044] (a) Initial BWP: The RA-SDT and CG-SDT resources can be configured on the initial BWP. For each power saving UE and serving cell, the network should at least configure the separate preamble groups and configured grant resources for transmitting/receiving small data on an initial UL/DL BWP. The UEs should monitor PDCCH scrambled by Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI) or Inactive-RNTI (I-RNTI) or Paging-RNTI (P-RNTI) or Configured Scheduling-RNTI (CS-RNTI) in the provided common search space, including SearchSpaceZero, SearchSpaceSIB1, SearchSpaceOtherSystemInformation, ra-SearchSpace, pagingSearchSpace (e.g., Type0, 0A, 1, 2, and so on) during RA-SDT or CG-SDT within the initial BWP for receiving system information (SI) change indication/public warning system (PWS) indication (prov3831 page 3). Note: SDT and paging are configured on the same initial BWP.), or
on different time units of different DL bandwidth parts (BWPs) (Chen [0046] (c) Active SDT BWP: In general, the CG-SDT resources can be configured on the UE-specific active SDT BWP. There is a SDT TAT can be started or restarted for keeping UL time alignment during CG-SDT in power saving state. Upon the reception of SDT configuration from the network, i.e., RRCRelease with suspendConfig, the SDT TAT is started. Based on the SDT configuration, the power saving UE may switch to the associated SDT BWP for performing SDT. Upon the reception of SDT Timing Advance Command MAC CE, the SDT TAT is restarted. The power saving UE should release the CG-SDT resources on the active SDT BWP and may fallback to RA-SDT or perform normal random access on initial BWP when SDT TAT expires in power saving state (prov 3831 page 4). Note: SDT is configured on the active SDT BWP. Paging is configured on the initial BWP. Initial BWP and active SDT BWP are on different time units.).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches
A downlink transmission receiving method, performed by a
preset type of user equipment (UE), and comprising (Chen Fig. 1(a), UE 10. [0039] The communication controlling system 1 includes a user equipment 10 and a base station 20. The user equipment 10 and the base station 20 may communicate with each other either wirelessly or in a wired way.):
receiving a small data transmission (SDT) and a paging message on a same initial downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) (Chen [0042]When the NR system supports SDT with BWP operation, the SDT resources (i.e., the resources for configured grant based small data transmission, CG-SDT and random access based small data transmission, RA-SDT) can be configured on either an initial BWP and/or the separate SDT BWPs.
[0043] the following types of BWP associated with SDT resources are defined: (prov3831 page 3)
[0044] (a) Initial BWP: The RA-SDT and CG-SDT resources can be configured on the initial BWP. For each power saving UE and serving cell, the network should at least configure the separate preamble groups and configured grant resources for transmitting/receiving small data on an initial UL/DL BWP. The UEs should monitor PDCCH scrambled by Cell-RNTI (C-RNTI) or Inactive-RNTI (I-RNTI) or Paging-RNTI (P-RNTI) or Configured Scheduling-RNTI (CS-RNTI) in the provided common search space, including SearchSpaceZero, SearchSpaceSIB1, SearchSpaceOtherSystemInformation, ra-SearchSpace, pagingSearchSpace (e.g., Type0, 0A, 1, 2, and so on) during RA-SDT or CG-SDT within the initial BWP for receiving system information (SI) change indication/public warning system (PWS) indication (prov3831 page 3). Note: SDT and paging are configured on the same initial BWP), or
on different time units of different DL bandwidth parts (BWPs) (Chen [0046] (c) Active SDT BWP: In general, the CG-SDT resources can be configured on the UE-specific active SDT BWP. There is a SDT TAT can be started or restarted for keeping UL time alignment during CG-SDT in power saving state. Upon the reception of SDT configuration from the network, i.e., RRCRelease with suspendConfig, the SDT TAT is started. Based on the SDT configuration, the power saving UE may switch to the associated SDT BWP for performing SDT. Upon the reception of SDT Timing Advance Command MAC CE, the SDT TAT is restarted. The power saving UE should release the CG-SDT resources on the active SDT BWP and may fallback to RA-SDT or perform normal random access on initial BWP when SDT TAT expires in power saving state (prov 3831 page 4). Note: SDT is on the active SDT BWP. Paging is on the initial BWP. Initial BWP and active SDT BWP are on different time units.).
Regarding claim 16, Chen teaches
A communication device, comprising a processor, a
transceiver, and a memory storing programs, wherein the programs, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 1 (Chen Fig. 1(a), base station 20; Fig. 1 (b), processor 24, transceiver 22.
[0010] a base station includes a memory, a transceiver and a processor coupled to the memory and the transceiver, the processor cooperates with the transceiver to call and run program instructions stored in a memory, to execute the above method.
[0042-0044] and [0046] cited above for rejection of claim 1.).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium, storing
programs thereon, wherein the programs, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 1 (Chen [0011] a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium has stored thereon instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform the above method.
[0042-0044] and [0046] cited above for rejection of claim 1.).
Regarding claim 18, Chen teaches
A communication device, comprising a processor, a
transceiver, and a memory storing programs, wherein the programs, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 4 (Chen Fig. 1(a) UE 10; Fig. 1(b) processor 14, transceiver 12.
[0009] a user equipment includes a memory, a transceiver and a processor coupled to the memory and the transceiver, the processor cooperates with the transceiver to call and run program instructions stored in a memory, to execute the above method.
[0042-0044] and [0046] cited above for rejection of claim 4.).
Regarding claim 20, Chen teaches
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium, storing
programs thereon, wherein the programs, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 4 (Chen [0011] a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium has stored thereon instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform the above method.
[0042-0044] and [0046] cited above for rejection of claim 4.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of US 20210243793 A1 (hereinafter Ang).
Regarding claim 2,
Chen teaches
The method of claim 1.
Although Chen teaches wherein configuring the SDT and the paging message, for the preset type
of UE, on the different time units of the different DL BWPs comprises:
configuring, the SDT and the paging message on the different units of the different DL BWPs (Chen [0042-0044] cited in rejection of claim 1 above. Chen [0046] (c) Active SDT BWP: In general, the CG-SDT resources can be configured on the UE-specific active SDT BWP. There is a SDT TAT can be started or restarted for keeping UL time alignment during CG-SDT in power saving state. Upon the reception of SDT configuration from the network, i.e., RRCRelease with suspendConfig, the SDT TAT is started. Based on the SDT configuration, the power saving UE may switch to the associated SDT BWP for performing SDT. Upon the reception of SDT Timing Advance Command MAC CE, the SDT TAT is restarted. The power saving UE should release the CG-SDT resources on the active SDT BWP and may fallback to RA-SDT or perform normal random access on initial BWP when SDT TAT expires in power saving state (prov 3831 page 4). Note: SDT is configured on the active SDT BWP. Paging is configured on the initial BWP. Initial BWP and active SDT BWP are on different time units.), Chen does not explicitly teach configuring, based on a duration required for the preset type of UE to switch between the first and the second BWPs, wherein a time interval between a time unit for the first BWP and a time unit for the second BWP is greater than or equal to the duration required for the preset type of UE to switch between the first and the second BWPs.
Ang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches
configuring, based on a duration required for the preset type of UE to switch between the first and the second BWPs, wherein a time interval between a time unit for the first BWP and a time unit for the second BWP is greater than or equal to the duration required for the preset type of UE to switch between the first and the second BWPs (Ang Fig. 4A 400-a; [0124] In the example of downlink transmission timeline 400-a, a first slot (e.g., slot.sub.n) may include DCI 405-a, and because of the k0=0 delay, the PDSCH 410-a may be immediately scheduled in slot.sub.n following DCI 405-a. The first slot, slot.sub.n, may be of a first BWP format (e.g., a narrow BWP format). In some cases, following slot.sub.n, slot.sub.n+1, may provide a transition period from the first BWP format to the second BWP format. Then, at slot.sub.n+2, having transitioned to the second BWP format, and due to the k0=0 delay, DCI 405-b may immediately schedule a data transmission in PDSCH 410-b in the same slot.sub.n+2.
Note: The transition period (slot_ n+1 in the Fig. 4A 400-a; duration: one slot) from the first BWP to the second BWP is the duration required for the preset type of UE to switch between the first and the second BWPs. The time unit for the first BWP is slot n; the time units for the second BWP are slots n+2, n+3 and n+4. As shown in the Fig. 4A 400-a, the time interval between a time unit for the first BWP and a time unit for the second BWP is more than or equal to one slot, i.e. greater than or equal to the transition period (i.e. duration required for the preset type of UE to switch between the first and the second BWPs).).
By modifying Chen’s teachings of wherein configuring the SDT and the paging message, for the preset type of UE, on the different time units of the different DL BWPs comprises: configuring, the SDT and the paging message on the different units of the different DL BWPs, and the first BWP is SDT BWP and the second BWP is the paging BWP with Ang’s teachings of configuring, based on a duration required for the preset type of UE to switch between the first and the second BWPs, wherein a time interval between a time unit for the first BWP and a time unit for the second BWP is greater than or equal to the duration required for the preset type of UE to switch between the first and the second BWPs, the modification results in
wherein configuring the SDT and the paging message, for the preset type of UE, on the different
time units of the different initial DL BWPs comprises: configuring, based on a duration required for the preset type of UE to switch between different BWPs, the SDT and the paging message on the different units of the different initial DL BWPs, wherein a time interval between a time unit for the SDT and a time unit for the paging message is greater than or equal to the duration required for the preset type of UE to switch between the different BWPs.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen with Ang’s above teachings. The motivation is improving efficiency in switching between BWPs (Ang [0103]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Ang prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Chen prior art) based on design incentives (improving efficiency in switching between BWPs) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5,
Chen teaches
The method of claim 4.
Although Chen teaches a time unit for the first BWP and a time unit for the second BWP and the first BWP is a SDT BWP and the second BWP is the paging BWP (Chen [0042-0044] cited in rejection of claim 4 above. Chen [0046] (c) Active SDT BWP: In general, the CG-SDT resources can be configured on the UE-specific active SDT BWP. There is a SDT TAT can be started or restarted for keeping UL time alignment during CG-SDT in power saving state. Upon the reception of SDT configuration from the network, i.e., RRCRelease with suspendConfig, the SDT TAT is started. Based on the SDT configuration, the power saving UE may switch to the associated SDT BWP for performing SDT. Upon the reception of SDT Timing Advance Command MAC CE, the SDT TAT is restarted. The power saving UE should release the CG-SDT resources on the active SDT BWP and may fallback to RA-SDT or perform normal random access on initial BWP when SDT TAT expires in power saving state (prov 3831 page 4). Note: SDT is on the active SDT BWP. Paging is on the initial BWP. Initial BWP and active SDT BWP are on different time units.), Chen does not explicitly teach where a time interval between a time unit for the first BWP and a time unit for the second BWP is greater than or equal to the duration required for the preset type of UE to switch between the first and the second BWPs.
Ang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches
where a time interval between a time unit for the first BWP and a time unit for the second BWP is greater than or equal to the duration required for the preset type of UE to switch between the first and the second BWPs (Ang Fig. 4A 400-a; [0124] In the example of downlink transmission timeline 400-a, a first slot (e.g., slot.sub.n) may include DCI 405-a, and because of the k0=0 delay, the PDSCH 410-a may be immediately scheduled in slot.sub.n following DCI 405-a. The first slot, slot.sub.n, may be of a first BWP format (e.g., a narrow BWP format). In some cases, following slot.sub.n, slot.sub.n+1, may provide a transition period from the first BWP format to the second BWP format. Then, at slot.sub.n+2, having transitioned to the second BWP format, and due to the k0=0 delay, DCI 405-b may immediately schedule a data transmission in PDSCH 410-b in the same slot.sub.n+2.
Note: The transition period (slot_ n+1 in the Fig. 4A 400-a; duration: one slot) from the first BWP to the second BWP is the duration required for the preset type of UE to switch between the first and the second BWPs. The time unit for the first BWP is slot n; the time units for the second BWP are slots n+2, n+3 and n+4. As shown in the Fig. 4A 400-a, the time interval between a time unit for the first BWP and a time unit for the second BWP is more than or equal to one slot, i.e. greater than or equal to the transition period (i.e. duration required for the preset type of UE to switch between the first and the second BWPs).).
By modifying Chen’s teachings of a time unit for the first BWP and a time unit for the second BWP and the first BWP is a SDT BWP and the second BWP is the paging BWP with Ang’s teachings of where a time interval between a time unit for the first BWP and a time unit for the second BWP is greater than or equal to the duration required for the preset type of UE to switch between the first and the second BWPs, the modification results in
wherein a time interval between a time unit for the SDT and a time unit for the paging message is greater than or equal to a duration required for the preset type of UE to switch between different BWPs.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen with Ang’s above teachings. The motivation is improving efficiency in switching between BWPs (Ang [0103]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Ang prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Chen prior art) based on design incentives (improving efficiency in switching between BWPs) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20220022276 A1 (hereinafter Shih).
Regarding claim 3,
Chen teaches
The method of claim 1.
Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the preset type of UE comprises at least one of: a
reduced capability UE; a UE which is prohibited from configuring the SDT and the paging message on a same time unit of the different initial DL BWPs; or a UE which does not expect to configure the SDT and the paging message on a same time unit of the different initial DL BWPs.
Shih in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches
wherein the preset type of UE comprises at least one of:
a reduced capability UE (Shih Fig. 1, An access network 100, Access terminal 116 (AT) and 122.
[0033] An access network (AN) may be a fixed station or base station used for communicating with the terminals and may also be referred to as an access point, a Node B, a base station, an enhanced base station, an eNodeB (eNB), a Next Generation NodeB (gNB), or some other terminology. An access terminal (AT) may also be called user equipment (UE), a wireless communication device, terminal, access terminal or some other terminology.
[0589] One or more techniques and/or systems of the present disclosure may be applicable for (and/or implemented using and/or supported by) a Reduced Capability NR Device.);
a UE which is prohibited from configuring the SDT and the paging message on a same time unit of the different initial DL BWPs; or a UE which does not expect to configure the SDT and the paging message on a same time unit of the different initial DL BWPs.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen with Shih’s above teachings. The motivation is increasing efficiency of communication between devices (Shih [0651]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Shih prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Chen prior art) based on design incentives (increasing efficiency of communication between devices) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 6-9, 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of US 20220408403 A1 (hereinafter Tseng) (priority document us-provisional-application US 63213046 20210621, hereinafter prov3046).
Regarding claim 6,
Chen teaches
A downlink transmission receiving method, performed by a
preset type of user equipment (UE), and comprising (Chen Fig. 1(a), UE 10. [0039] The communication controlling system 1 includes a user equipment 10 and a base station 20. The user equipment 10 and the base station 20 may communicate with each other either wirelessly or in a wired way.):
Although Chen teaches a time unit for receiving a small data transmission (SDT) and a time unit for listening to a paging message (Chen [0042-0044] cited in rejection of claim 4 above. Chen [0046] (c) Active SDT BWP: In general, the CG-SDT resources can be configured on the UE-specific active SDT BWP. There is a SDT TAT can be started or restarted for keeping UL time alignment during CG-SDT in power saving state. Upon the reception of SDT configuration from the network, i.e., RRCRelease with suspendConfig, the SDT TAT is started. Based on the SDT configuration, the power saving UE may switch to the associated SDT BWP for performing SDT. Upon the reception of SDT Timing Advance Command MAC CE, the SDT TAT is restarted. The power saving UE should release the CG-SDT resources on the active SDT BWP and may fallback to RA-SDT or perform normal random access on initial BWP when SDT TAT expires in power saving state (prov 3831 page 4). Note: SDT is on the active SDT BWP. Paging is on the initial BWP. Initial BWP and active SDT BWP are on different time units), Chen does not explicitly teach determining a conflict between receiving a small data transmission (SDT) and listening to a paging message; and receiving the SDT or listening to the paging message based on a priority.
Tseng in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches
determining a conflict between receiving a small data transmission (SDT) and listening to a paging message; and receiving the SDT or listening to the paging message based on a priority (Tseng [0064] UE Monitoring CN Paging Messages During an SDT Procedure:
[0065] In some implementations, a UE may monitor a paging occasion or a paging channel for receiving paging messages. The UE may receive a paging DCI message and a paging record indicated by the paging DCI during an SDT procedure (e.g., based on the paging occasion calculated by the UE during a DRX cycle) or while the UE is configured to perform an SDT procedure. In some such implementations, the paging message may include any combination of a short message indication, a short message, and/or scheduling information of the following paging message(s) (prov3046 page 3).
[0071] the UE may terminate, stop, release, or abort an SDT procedure/configurations if the UE receives the CN paging message (e.g., when the ue-Identity that is included in the PagingRecord matches the UE identity allocated by the upper layers) during the SDT procedure (prov3046 page 4).
[0092] the UE may interrupt the active SDT procedure (e.g., an RA-SDT procedure or a CG-SDT procedure) if the paging cause has a higher priority than the SDT procedure (prov3046 page 8).).
By modifying Chen’s teachings of a time unit for receiving a small data transmission (SDT) and a time unit for listening to a paging message with Tseng’s teachings of determining a conflict between receiving a small data transmission (SDT) and listening to a paging message; and receiving the SDT or listening to the paging message based on a priority, the modification results in
determining a conflict between a time unit for receiving a small data transmission (SDT) and a
time unit for listening to a paging message; and receiving the SDT or listening to the paging message based on a priority.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen to incorporate the teachings of conflict handling of receiving SDT and paging as taught by Tseng, in order to monitor paging message(s) when the UE is configured for small data transmission (SDT) (Tseng [0004] (prov3046, page 1)).
Regarding claim 7,
Chen in view of Tseng (hereinafter combination) teaches The method of
claim 6.
Tseng teaches
wherein the priority comprises at least one of:
a priority configured by a network side (Tseng [0092] the UE may be configured or
preconfigured with a priority (e.g., a priority value of an SDT procedure and/or a priority value of a target service) or be configured with a priority by a serving cell/NW via dedicated signaling (e.g., NAS signaling, RRC signaling) or broadcasting system information (prov3046 page 8).); or
a predefined priority.
The motivation for modification set forth above (Tseng) regarding claim 6 is applicable to claim
7.
Regarding claim 8,
the combination teaches The method of claim 6.
Tseng teaches
wherein the priority comprises at least one of:
a priority for BWP;
a priority for service type (Tseng [0092] the UE may be configured or
preconfigured with a priority (e.g., a priority value of an SDT procedure and/or a priority value of a target service) or be configured with a priority by a serving cell/NW via dedicated signaling (e.g., NAS signaling, RRC signaling) or broadcasting system information (prov3046 page 8).);
a priority for channel;
a priority for arrival time, wherein an arrival time is positively related to a priority; or
a priority for service and channel.
The motivation for modification set forth above (Tseng) regarding claim 6 is applicable to claim
8.
Regarding claim 9,
the combination teaches The method of claim 8.
Tseng teaches
wherein the priority for service type of the SDT is higher than the priority for
service type of the paging message (Tseng [0092] if the paging cause have a lower priority than the ongoing SDT procedure, the UE may continue performing the active SDT procedure and may respond to the paging cause after the SDT procedure completes (prov3046 page 8).).
The motivation for modification set forth above (Tseng) regarding claim 6 is applicable to claim
9.
Regarding claim 19,
Chen teaches
A communication device, comprising a
processor, a transceiver, and a memory storing programs, wherein the programs, when executed by the processor (Chen Fig. 1(a) UE 10; Fig. 1(b) processor 14, transceiver 12.
[0009] a user equipment includes a memory, a transceiver and a processor coupled to the memory and the transceiver, the processor cooperates with the transceiver to call and run program instructions stored in a memory, to execute the above method.
), cause the processor to perform the method of claim 6 (See the rejection of claim 6 above.).
Regarding claim 21,
Chen teaches
A non-transitory computer storage medium,
storing programs thereon, wherein the programs, when executed by a processor (Chen [0011] a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium has stored thereon instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform the above method.
), cause the processor to perform the method of claim 6 (See the rejection of claim 6 above.).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Tseng as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of US 20190199496 A1 (hereinafter Qin).
Regarding claim 10,
the combination teaches The method of claim 8.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the priority for channel of a physical
downlink shared channel is higher than the priority for channel of a physical downlink control channel; or the priority for channel of a physical downlink shared channel is lower than the priority for channel of a physical downlink control channel.
Qin in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches
wherein the priority for channel of a physical downlink shared channel is higher than the priority for channel of a physical downlink control channel; or
the priority for channel of a physical downlink shared channel is lower than the priority for channel of a physical downlink control channel (Qin [0503] The UE determines, based on a predefined priority, that one of the target channel and/or signal and the third channel and/or signal is received on the symbols or mapped to the symbols. For example, the predefined priority may be that a priority of a PDSCH is lower than that of a CSI-RS, and that a priority of a PDCCH is higher than that of the CSI-RS.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Qin’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing signaling overheads (Qin [0270]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Qin prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Chen and Tseng prior art) based on design incentives (reducing signaling overheads) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Tseng as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of US 20230413379 A1 (hereinafter Jeon) (priority document us-provisional-application US 63156050 20210303, hereinafter prov6050).
Regarding claim 11,
the combination teaches The method of claim 8.
Although Tseng teaches
wherein regarding the priority for service and channel, at least one of:
for the transmission of the SDT, the priority of the SDT is higher than a priority of the PDCCH transmission of the paging message (Tseng [0054] the paging messages may include any combinations of paging Downlink Control Information (DCI), short messages, and/or paging records.
[0055] a short message may be transmitted by a base station (or a cell) via downlink control information (DCI) (e.g., via DCI format 1_0 with Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) scrambled by P-RNTI (Paging-Radio Network Temporary Identifier)), in one or more configured Physical Downlink Control Channel(s) (PDCCH(s)), or in a PDCCH monitoring occasion (prov3046 page 1).
[0092] if the paging cause have a lower priority than the ongoing SDT procedure, the UE may continue performing the active SDT procedure and may respond to the paging cause after the SDT procedure completes (prov3046 page 8).).
The motivation for modification set forth above (Tseng) regarding claim 6 is applicable to claim 11.
Tseng does not explicitly teach PDCCH transmission of the SDT.
Jeon in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches
PDCCH transmission of the SDT (Jeon [0235] For example, a wireless device may perform (and/or initiate) a CG-based SDT for uplink transmission of uplink data in the Non-RRC_CONNECTED state. The wireless device may monitor, based on the CG-based SDT, a PDCCH in the Non-RRC CONNECTED state. For example, the CG-based SDT may require the wireless device to monitor the PDCCH, e.g., to receive a response to the uplink transmission and/or to receive uplink grant(s) and/or downlink assignment(s) (prov6050 page 55).).
By modifying Tseng’s teachings of wherein regarding the priority for service and channel, at least one of: for the transmission of the SDT, the priority of the SDT is higher than a priority of the PDCCH transmission of the paging message with Jeon’s teachings of PDCCH transmission of the SDT, the modification results in
wherein regarding the priority for service and channel, at least one of:
for the PDCCH transmission of the SDT, the priority of the SDT is higher than a priority of the PDCCH transmission of the paging message;
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with Jeon’s above teachings. The motivation is improving the battery performance of the wireless device (Jeon [0226]). Known work in one field of endeavor (Jeon prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Chen and Tseng prior art) based on design incentives (improving the battery performance of the wireless device) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418