This action is in response to the amendment and remarks received on December 2, 2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 2, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8 of pending remarks (most recently filed), Applicant has argued that DeTORRE discloses a cutting portion having a crosssection defined by the diameter of the cutting blade; thus, fails to disclose a cutting portion that “extends linearly parallel to the separation line”. However, as shown in Diagram I below of DeTORRE figure 3, the cutting blade has a central portion that extends linearly parallel to the separation line formed by the cutting blade. Furthermore, column 3 lines 66-68 of DeTORRE specifically references a linearly extending portion of the cutting blade 32, wherein only the edges of the cutting blade have a curvature based on the diameter of the cutting tool. Thus, Examiner maintains the rejection of claim 16 as anticipated by DeTORRE.
Diagram I
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “the axis of revolution" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 17, 19, 21, 22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DeTORRE (US 5,423,240).
In reference to claim 16, DeTORRE discloses a device comprising: at least one cutting tool 31 having a cutting portion (see Diagram I above) extending along a longitudinal axis that extends linearly parallel to the separation line and configured to make a precut groove along the separating line; wherein, viewed in a front view (figure 3) in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, the cutting portion comprises a convex profile.
Regarding claim 17, figure 3 of DeTORRE further discloses the convex profile to be symmetrical relative to a transverse axis (parallel to 33 & 34) of the cutting tool.
With respect to claim 19, figure 3 of DeTORRE further discloses the cutting portion 32 of the cutting tool 31 having an inclined face (see Diagram II below)
Diagram II
In reference to claim 21,figure 4 of DeTORRE further discloses the cutting tool 31 to have a cylindrical (rotating) portion extending in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis.
Regarding claim 22, figures 1 and 2 of DeTORRE further disclose the knowledge in the art to provided threaded holes that extend along (parallel to) an axis of revolution of the cutting tool (12, 31), the threaded holes retaining a screw 15 that secures the cutting tool (12, 31) to a support plate 14.
With respect to claim 25, figures 1-4 of DeTORRE disclose a the cutting tool 12, 31 opposing a secondary cutting tool 16, 35, wherein at least the cutting tool 31 has a convex profile from the front view (figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeTORRE (US 5,423,240).
In reference to claim 20, figure 3 of DeTORRE discloses an inclined face of the cutting tool 31, but does not disclose whether the incline of the surface extends between 10° and 60°. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incline the surface of the cutting tool to an angle between 10° and 60°, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.1
Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NICHOLS (US 4,012,888) in view of DeTORRE (US 5,423,240).
Regarding claims 29 and 30, figure 1 of NICHOLS discloses a system (figures 9 and 14) configured to form packaging for an digestible product (column 1 line 5) comprising: a precut device 900 downstream of a lid sealing device 600. However, NICHOLS does not disclose whether the precut device is configured as claimed.
DeTORRE teaches a device comprising: at least one cutting tool 31 having a cutting portion (see Diagram I above) extending along a longitudinal axis that extends linearly parallel to the separation line and configured to make a precut groove along the separating line; wherein, viewed in a front view (figure 3) in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, the cutting portion comprises a convex profile. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have provided the precut device of NICHOLS with a cutting tool configured as taught by DeTORRE since the technical field of DeTORRE is that of cutting blades. The selection of the cutting device disclosed by NICHOLS or that of DeTORRE are equally effective in the art of severing a desired material.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18, 24 and 26-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 23 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to the attached PTO-892 for a notice of references cited and recommended for consideration based on their disclosure of limitations related to the claimed invention.
Other helpful telephone numbers are listed for applicant's benefit:
Allowed Files & Publication (888) 786-0101
Assignment Branch (800) 972-6382
Certificates of Correction (703) 305-8309
Fee Questions (571) 272-6400
Inventor Assistance Center (800) PTO-9199
Petitions/special Programs (571) 272-3282
Information Help line 1-800-786-9199
/GLORIA R WEEKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
January 10, 2026
1 In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 198C).