DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicant’s communication filed on 3/15/24, wherein:
Claims 1-15, 17 are currently pending;
Claims 1-15, 17 have been amended;
Claim 16 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SUMMER ET AL (US 2012/0239195). Herein after SUMMER.
As for claim 1, SUMMER discloses a control system configured for a gripper assembly of a robotic manipulator {see at least figure 1, abstract}, which gripper assembly includes a finger element {see at least finger gripper 20 and 30 in figure 1; and finger gripper 25, 35 in figure 2A, abstract and par. 0019} ; an actuator {see at least figure 1, 2A, actuator 40, abstract, pars. 0019-0021} ; a linkage assembly including a plurality of arms connecting the finger element to the actuator {see at least figure 2A, elements 24, 34 and par. 0019-0020}; and a sensor assembly configured to output signals indicative of force components applied to the plurality of arms {see at least figure 2A, sensors 28 and 38, par. 0022-0026}, the control system comprising a controller configured to:
determine, based on signals received from the sensor assembly, values indicative of force components applied to each of the plurality of arms as a result of a force being applied to the finger element {see at least figures 2A, 3 and par. 0025-0026};
determine, based on the values indicative of the force components, a value indicative of a resultant force vector applied to each of the plurality of arms {see at least figures 2A, 3, pars. 0005-0007, 0026-0030}; and
determine, based on the values indicative of the resultant force vectors, a value indicative of an applied force vector indicative of a magnitude and a direction of the force applied to the finger element {see at least figures 2A, 3, pars. 0026-0030}.
As for claim 2, which discloses wherein the controller is configured to: determine the values indicative of the resultant force vectors with respect to a reference coordinate frame {see SUMMER at least in figure 3, reference frame 29, 30 and pars. 0026-0030}.
As for claim 3, which discloses wherein the controller is configured to: determine, within the reference coordinate frame, a line of action for each of the values indicative of the resultant force vectors; and determine a point of intersection, within the reference coordinate frame, at which the lines of action intersect {see SUMMER at least in figure 3 and pars. 0026-0030}.
As for claim 4, which discloses wherein the controller is configured to: determine the value indicative of the applied force vector based on a sum of the values indicative of the resultant force vectors; and modify the value indicative of the applied force vector such that an origin of the applied force vector has the same coordinates within the reference coordinate system as the point of intersection {see SUMMER at least in figure 3 and pars. 0026-0030}.
As for claim 5 which discloses wherein the controller is configured to: determine, within the reference coordinate frame, a line of action for the value indicative of the applied force vector; and determine a point of intersection within the reference coordinate frame, at which the line of action for the applied force vector and the finger element intersect {see SUMMER at least in figure 3 and pars. 0026-0030}.
As for claim 6, which discloses wherein the controller is configured to: determine the reference coordinate system with respect to characteristics of the linkage assembly {see SUMMER at least figure 3, pars. 0026-0027}.
As for claims 7-12, 15 and 17, the limitations of these claims have been noted in the rejection above, therefore they are rejected for the same reason sets forth above.
As for claim 13, SUMMER discloses a gripper assembly for a robotic manipulator {see at least figure 1, 2A}, the gripper assembly comprising: a finger element {see at least finger gripper 20 and 30 in figure 1; and finger gripper 25, 35 in figure 2A, abstract and par. 0019}; an actuator {see at least figure 1, 2A, actuator 40, abstract, pars. 0019-0021}; a linkage assembly including a plurality of arms connecting the finger element to the actuator {see at least figure 2A, elements 24, 34 and par. 0019-0020;and a sensor assembly configured to, in use, output signals indicative of force components applied to the plurality of arms as a result of a force being applied to the finger element during a manipulation of an object {see at least figure 2A, 3, sensors 28 and 38, par. 0022-0026}.
As for claim 14, which discloses wherein the sensor assembly is configured to output signals indicative of a force component applied directly to the linkage assembly during a manipulation of an object {see at least figure 3, pars. 0025-0026}.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Menon et al (US 2021/0122056): A plurality of sensors are configured to provide respective outputs that reflect a sensed value associated with engagement of a robotic arm end effector with an item.
Schaible et al (US 2013/0197697): A force feedback system and method are provided. The force feedback system includes a communication module, a processor and a motor drive module. The processor is for receiving and processing mechanical arm signals corresponding to a movement of the plurality of mechanical arms and the motor drive module is for activating the plurality of actuators.
Farnioli et al (US 2023/0072770): A force sensing device for use in a robotic finger including: a first segment, the first segment having a first joint at a first end thereof.
Strauss (US 2019/0168393): A robotic finger with a stiffening member is provided that includes a front facing member for gripping and a back end member that supports the front facing member.
Strauss (US 2020/0056950): Overload protection for force/torque flexure design.
Maeda (US 2023/0264365): a grip information analysis unit that analyzes an object and generates generalized grip shape information; and a generalized grip shape information accumulation unit that accumulates the generalized grip shape information.
Kozlowski et al (US 8,936,289): Robotic finger assemblies.
Asano et al (US 2018/0333858): Force sensors capable of measuring only forces in xyz coordinate axis directions are installed in fingertips, respectively, and forces and moment forces acting on a robot hand are calculated based on positional information about each fingertip.
/KIRA NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656