DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16, 17, 20, 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The rejected claims cover a recombinant polypeptide, comprising a chimeric secretory component (cSC) protein, wherein the D2 domain of the cSC comprises at least one modification that confers specific binding to a target molecule or enables fluorometric or colorimetric detection of the recombinant polypeptide.
The at least one modification of the D2 domain comprises: substitution of complementarity determining region (CDR)-like loops of the D2 domain with CDRs of a single-domain antibody, a variable heavy (VH) domain or a variable light (VL) domain; substitution of the D2 domain with a single-domain antibody, a VH domain or a VL domain; substitution of the D2 domain with a first member of a specific binding pair; or substitution of the D2 domain with a fluorescent protein.
To satisfy the written-description requirement, the specification must describe every element of the claimed invention in sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the inventor possessed the claimed invention at the time of filing. Vas-Cath, 935 F.3d at 1563; see also Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that “the inventor invented the claimed invention”); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“the description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed”).
With regard to the recited genus of recombinant polypeptides, the following applies:
Ariad Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 94 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed. Cir. 2010) states that “...a generic claim may define the boundaries of a vast genus of chemical compounds...the question may still remain whether the specification, including the original claim language, demonstrates that the applicant invented species sufficient to support a claim to a genus”. See page 1171.
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
See also Fujikawa v. Wattanasin, 93 F.3d 1559, 1571, 39 USPQ2d 1895, 1905 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (a “laundry list” disclosure of every possible moiety does not constitute a written description of every species in a genus because it would not “reasonably lead” those skilled in the art to any particular species.
Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd., 927 F.2d 1200, 1206, 18 USPQ2d 1016, 1021 (Fed. Cir. 1991) states that “it is well established in our law that conception of a chemical compound requires that the inventor be able to define it so as to distinguish it from other materials, and to describe how to obtain it”.
A description of a genus may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus, so that one of skill in the art can “visualize or recognize” the members of the genus (Emphasis added). Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F3d 1559, 1569, 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure “indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].” See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004)(“[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated.”). “A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when ... the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed.” In re Curtis, 354 F.3d 1347, 1358, 69 USPQ2d 1274, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
In Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly (43 USPQ2d 1398-1412), the court held that a generic statement which defines a genus of nucleic acids by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. The court indicated that, while applicants are not required to disclose every species encompassed by a genus, the description of the genus is achieved by the recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the claimed genus. At section B(i), the court states, "An adequate written description of a DNA ... requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties, not a mere wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention."
Courts have stated that “[i]n claims involving [non-genetic] chemical materials, generic formulae usually indicate with specificity what the generic claims encompass. One skilled in the art can distinguish such a formula from others and can identify many of the species that the claims encompass. Accordingly, such a formula is normally an adequate description of the claimed genus.” Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 523 U.S. 1089 (1998). (emphasis added).
There is no such specificity here, nor could one skilled in the art identify recombinant polypeptides encompassed by the claims. Specifically, Applicant fails to disclose any other recombinant polypeptides, besides those covered by the specific sequences (i.e., SEQ ID’s) in the specification and claims, and in relation to the above, these disclosed species do not represent the substantial variety covered by the genus of recombinant polypeptides.
With regard to the functional definition in the claims, e.g., confers specific binding to a target molecule or enables fluorometric or colorimetric detection of the recombinant polypeptide, the specification does not clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed (see Vas-Cath at page 1116) because the specification contains almost no information by which a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the inventors possessed the all of the recited compounds. At best, it simply indicates that one should test an inordinate number of groups or moieties to see if the compounds can perform the required function. In this connection, the specification contains no generic structural characteristics of those groups which confer specific binding to a target molecule or enables fluorometric or colorimetric detection of the recombinant polypeptide, besides those peptides instantly disclosed. See In re ’318 Patent Infringement Litigation, 583 F.3d 1317, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2009) (“[A]t the end of the day, the specification, even read in light of the knowledge of those skilled in the art, does no more than state a hypothesis and propose testing to determine the accuracy of that hypothesis. That is not sufficient.”).
The Examiner acknowledges that a working example or exemplified embodiment is not necessarily a requirement for description. However, where a generic claim term is present in a claim, as in the present application, and defined only by functional characteristics, the specification must convey enough information, e.g., via sufficient representative examples, to indicate invention of species sufficient to constitute the genus. Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 967 2 (Fed. Cir. 2002). The written description requirement “requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention.” Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997); see also Novozymes A/S v. DuPont Nutrition Biosciences APS, 723 F.3d 1336, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2013) (“A patent...‘is not a reward for the search, but compensation for its successful conclusion.’ ... For that reason, the written description requirement prohibits a patentee from ‘leaving it to the ... industry to complete an unfinished invention.’” (citations omitted)).
Accordingly, the specification lacks adequate written description for the recited recombinant polypeptides.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The rejected claim covers a recombinant polypeptide wherein the amino acid sequence of the polypeptide is at least 90% identical to any one of SEQ ID NOs: 2-29, 114 and 115.
To satisfy the written-description requirement, the specification must describe every element of the claimed invention in sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the inventor possessed the claimed invention at the time of filing. Vas-Cath, 935 F.3d at 1563; see also Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that “the inventor invented the claimed invention”); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“the description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed”).
With regard to the recited genus of recombinant polypeptides wherein the amino acid sequence of the polypeptides is at least 90% identical to any one of SEQ ID NOs: 2-29, 114 and 11, the following applies:
Ariad Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 94 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed. Cir. 2010) states that “...a generic claim may define the boundaries of a vast genus of chemical compounds...the question may still remain whether the specification, including the original claim language, demonstrates that the applicant invented species sufficient to support a claim to a genus”. See page 1171.
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
See also Fujikawa v. Wattanasin, 93 F.3d 1559, 1571, 39 USPQ2d 1895, 1905 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (a “laundry list” disclosure of every possible moiety does not constitute a written description of every species in a genus because it would not “reasonably lead” those skilled in the art to any particular species.
Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd., 927 F.2d 1200, 1206, 18 USPQ2d 1016, 1021 (Fed. Cir. 1991) states that “it is well established in our law that conception of a chemical compound requires that the inventor be able to define it so as to distinguish it from other materials, and to describe how to obtain it”.
A description of a genus may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus, so that one of skill in the art can “visualize or recognize” the members of the genus (Emphasis added). Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F3d 1559, 1569, 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure “indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].” See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004)(“[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated.”). “A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when ... the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed.” In re Curtis, 354 F.3d 1347, 1358, 69 USPQ2d 1274, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
In Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly (43 USPQ2d 1398-1412), the court held that a generic statement which defines a genus of nucleic acids by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. The court indicated that, while applicants are not required to disclose every species encompassed by a genus, the description of the genus is achieved by the recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the claimed genus. At section B(i), the court states, "An adequate written description of a DNA ... requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties, not a mere wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention."
Courts have stated that “[i]n claims involving [non-genetic] chemical materials, generic formulae usually indicate with specificity what the generic claims encompass. One skilled in the art can distinguish such a formula from others and can identify many of the species that the claims encompass. Accordingly, such a formula is normally an adequate description of the claimed genus.” Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 523 U.S. 1089 (1998). (emphasis added).
However, there is no such specificity here, nor could one skilled in the art identify polypeptides encompassed by the claims. Specifically, Applicant fails to disclose any other polypeptides, besides those covered by the specific SEQ ID NO’s in the specification and claims, and in relation to the above, these disclosed species or subgenre do not represent the substantial variety covered by the genus recombinant polypeptide with an amino acid sequence of the polypeptide is at least 90% identical to any one of SEQ ID NOs: 2-29, 114 and 115.
With regard to the functional definition of the polypeptides, the specification does not clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed (see Vas-Cath at page 1116) because the specification contains almost no information by which a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the inventors possessed the all of the recited compounds. At best, it simply indicates that one should test an inordinate number of gene products to see if the proteins can perform the required functions.
How much homology is required to claim a variant of a known nucleic acid sequence when the function of the nucleic acid is recited in the claims was directly answered by Ex parte Livshits (Appeal 2013-001807; US Patent Application 11/106,455):
https://www.bradley.com/insights/publications/2016/02/how-much-homology-is-enough-under--112
The answer in this case was no. The PTAB agreed with the Examiner that a PHOSITA could envision sequences that met the percent identity requirement and hybridized under the recited conditions to SEQ ID NO:3.
Further, the Examiner admitted that by using conservative substitutions, a PHOSITA could likely envision a DNA sequence that encoded a polypeptide having the same tertiary structure as the polypeptide encoded by SEQ ID NO:3.
However, the PTAB found there was no teaching that the conservation of structure (whether in the DNA or encoded polypeptide) would be a surrogate for conservation of the function claimed (over-expression of L-amino acids in the culture medium).
In other words, PTAB wanted some teaching as to which of the 5 pent of residues of the in the recited single domain antibody could be altered while still conserving the function of the encoded polypeptide.
The specification demonstrated the recited function for the polypeptide encoded by SEQ ID NO:3, but offered no teaching as to what regions of the recited protein were critical for conservation of the recited function and which regions could be modified.
The PTAB stated that the specification “leaves it to others to discover the nature and scope of substitutions, deletions, and insertions that can be made to arrive at a 95% homology sequence that additionally allows for recited activity.”
The applicants attempted to use BLAST homology data to argue that a PHOSITA would be able to address the issue, but the evidence was accorded little weight and characterized as an “invitation to experiment” by the PTAB.
The PTAB also noted that even though the DNA/polypeptides that could be envisioned by the PHOSTIA could be easily tested as set forth in the specification for conservation of the recited function, this was not enough to describe the structure so that a PHOSITA could determine “beforehand whether or not a particular structure meets the functional requirements.” As such, the PTAB held that for a nucleic acid variant which is claimed by homology and function of the expressed protein, the PHOSITA must be able to determine if the nucleic acids claimed produce a protein that accomplished the recited function from the specification itself in order to meet the written description requirement.
Therefore, in the instant case, a PHOSITA must be able to determine if the nucleic acids claimed produce a protein that accomplished the recited polypeptide function from the specification itself in order to meet the written description requirement.
However, the specification here leaves it to others to discover the nature and scope of substitutions, deletions, and insertions that can be made to arrive at a 90% identity sequence that additionally allows for intended activity since the specification offered no teaching as to what regions of the recited protein were critical for conservation of the recited function and which regions could be modified, see In re ’318 Patent Infringement Litigation, 583 F.3d 1317, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2009) (“[A]t the end of the day, the specification, even read in light of the knowledge of those skilled in the art, does no more than state a hypothesis and propose testing to determine the accuracy of that hypothesis. That is not sufficient.”).
Even though the DNA/polypeptides that could be envisioned by the PHOSTIA could be easily tested as set forth in the specification for conservation of the recited CYBB function, this is not enough to describe the structure so that a PHOSITA could determine beforehand whether or not a particular structure meets the functional requirements.
The Examiner acknowledges that a working example or exemplified embodiment is not necessarily a requirement for description. However, where a generic claim term is present in a claim, as in the present application, and defined only by functional characteristics, the specification must convey enough information, e.g., via sufficient representative examples, to indicate invention of species sufficient to constitute the genus. Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 967 2 (Fed. Cir. 2002). The written description requirement “requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention.” Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997); see also Novozymes A/S v. DuPont Nutrition Biosciences APS, 723 F.3d 1336, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2013) (“A patent...‘is not a reward for the search, but compensation for its successful conclusion.’ ... For that reason, the written description requirement prohibits a patentee from ‘leaving it to the ... industry to complete an unfinished invention.’” (citations omitted)).
Accordingly, the specification lacks adequate written description for the recited a recombinant polypeptide of claim 1, wherein the amino acid sequence of the polypeptide is at least 90% identical to any one of SEQ ID NOs: 2-29, 114 and 115.
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16, 17, 20, 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “the D2 domain” in claim 1 lacks antecedent basis,
The structural criteria of the following is uncelar: “CDR-like” loops, CDRs of a single-domain antibody, a VH domain or a VL domain, D2 domain with a single-domain antibody, a VH domain or a VL domain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-14, 16, 17, 20, 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over each of US 2019/0359679, WO 2020/173928 or US 2017/0340732 all in view of WO 2021/193553, as evidenced by GenCore version 6.5.3 Copyright (c) 1993 - 2026 Biocceleration Ltd., citation BKA79039, WO 2021/193553, (TOKO-) TOKO YAKUHIN KOGYO CO LTD.; (NINA-) JAPAN NAT INST INFECTIOUS DISEASES, SEQ ID NO. 5.
Specifically, US 2019/0359679 to The Macfarlane Burnet Institute For Medical Research And Public Health Ltd teaches a recombinant polypeptide (recombinant plgR, Para. [0012]), comprising a chimeric secretory component (cSC) protein, wherein the D2 domain of the cSC comprises at least one modification that confers specific binding to a target molecule (a recombinant plgR molecule or dlgA-binding variant thereof, a portion comprising an antigen of interest, Para. [0029]; The associated Secretory component portion of plgR, Para. [0038]; substitution of any one or more of 02 ... may also be substituted with the rabbit sequence to give a molecule that preferentially binds to dlgA and these variants are also encompassed. Accordingly, in some embodiments, any one or more of... 02, ... is substituted with rabbit, mouse or rat homologs, Para. [0094]).
WO 2020/173928 to Previpharma Consulting Gmbh teaches a method of treating or inhibiting a Clostridium difficile, Salmonella enterica, Salmonella Tm, Streptococcus pneumoniae, Staphylococcus aureus or Campylobacter Jejuni infection in a subject, comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically or prophylactically effective amount of the recombinant polypeptide, thereby treating or inhibiting the infection (a method for preventing an individual from developing a Clostridium difficile infection in a patient, wherein said patient is administered with a sufficient amount of the vaccine of the present invention, Pg. 20, Lns. 17-20; The immunoglobulin may be lgA, where lgA... comprises a secretory component, is administered orally as tablet or capsule or via inhalation, Pg. 25, Lns. 23-25).
US 2017/0340732 to Japan As Represented By Director General Of National Institute Of Infectious Diseases et al. teaches a method of treating or inhibiting an HIV-1, SARS-CoV-2, influenza virus or norovirus infection in a subject, comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically or prophylactically effective amount of the recombinant polypeptide, thereby treating or inhibiting the infection (Provided are: a polymeric lgA-type recombinant antibody, Abstract; The polymeric lgA-type recombinant antibody according to this embodiment preferably includes a secretory component (SC) protein in a molecule thereof, Para. [0101]; the polymeric lgA-type recombinant antibody may bind to and neutralize influenza virus,... Therefore, the medicine according to this embodiment could be an antibody medicine for respiratory administration that may be applied as a prophylactic or therapeutic agent against the infections, Paras. [0120]-[0121]).
The primary references may not explicitly teach the recited polypeptides that are at least 90% identical to any one of SEQ ID NOs: 2-29, 114 and 115. However, WO 2021/193553 teaches these peptides, see WO 2021/193553, SEQ ID NO. 5, as evidenced by GenCore version 6.5.3 Copyright (c) 1993 - 2026 Biocceleration Ltd., citation BKA79039, WO 2021/193553, (TOKO-) TOKO YAKUHIN KOGYO CO LTD.; (NINA-) JAPAN NAT INST INFECTIOUS DISEASES, SEQ ID NO. 5.:
In this manner, the difference between the applied references and the claimed peptides is that the references may not teach the invention with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, based on the above, the references teach the structural and functional elements of the claimed recombinant polypeptides with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
The claims may recite functional language that is not specifically taught by the references. However, the references substantially teach the instant peptides. In this manner, any observed functionality is an invariable aspect of the disclosed peptides, see MPEP 2112.01 (“Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id.”).
Conclusion
/KARL J PUTTLITZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646