DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claim(s) 1-11 in the reply filed on March 26, 2026 is acknowledged. Claim(s) 12-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim(s) 1-11 are examined on the merits.
Withdrawn Objections
Applicants arguments filed August 07, 2026 have been fully considered. In regard to the objection of the abstract being more than one paragraph, applicant has amended the specification and therefore, the objection of the specification has been withdrawn.
Withdrawn Rejections
Applicants’ arguments filed August 07, 2026 have been fully considered.
In regard to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for indefiniteness for claims 2-4 and 8-11, applicant has amended the claims to remove said offending language and therefore, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for indefiniteness has been withdrawn.
In regard to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 for natural products for claims 1-11, applicants’ arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. A “liposomally encapsulated form” is considered a structural change which involves human intervention and therefore, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 for natural products has been withdrawn.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is not a single paragraph preferably within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract of the disclosure is roughly 42 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure within the preferred ranges disclosed is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Pending Rejections:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goluke (EP 2752183 A1 – English translation provided)
Goluke teaches auxiliaries and concomitants according to the invention may be those which are conventionally used in cosmetic compositions, such as, for example, water, mono- or polyhydric alcohols (pg. 3). Goluke teaches [that] it is advantageous if the proportion of fern extracts in the natural product complex is present [in] liposomally encapsulated form (pg. 2). Goluke teaches [that the] cosmetic product with organic natural product complex comprises: the natural product complex consisting of an extract from one or more ferns [such as] Osmunda regalis ([e.g. royal fern]) (abstract). Goluke teaches the cosmetic according to any one of claims 1-6, characterized in that the proportion of ferns in the range of 0.1 - wt -% is 8 with respect to the total weight of the cosmetic (claim 7). Goluke teaches that an additive such as glycerol can be added to the composition (pg. 4). Goluke teaches that preferred species of ferns are Osmunda regalis (pg. 3). Goluke teaches that the [present] invention has for its object to largely avoid skin irritation in a permanently applied cosmetic product and thereby to achieve a significantly improved skin moisture in addition to antiradical, light-protecting and other efficacies (pg. 2).
The Goluke reference does not specifically teach that all of the three ingredients (e.g. the royal fern, water and polyhydric alcohols) are a first ingredient and that as a second ingredient, all of the first ingredients are liposomally encapsulated. In addition, although Goluke teaches the extract of royal fern, that does not negate the fact that in order to acquire the desired components from the royal fern plant to use within a first ingredient, there would have to be a form of extraction present. Lastly, the Goluke reference does teach that the composition containing the royal fern can be within a liposomal form, therefore, the addition of water and polyhydric alcohols would naturally occur in order to achieve a more efficient form of encapsulation.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed August 07, 2026 have been fully considered. The arguments regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 for anticipation are found to be non-persuasive.
For the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 for anticipation, a summary of what applicant argues across pgs. 15-20 of applicants arguments is that applicant refers to MPEP 2131 and then proceeds to explain that the prior art reference by Goluke does not teach a first ingredient and a second ingredient as stated within claim 1 of the present invention, proceeds to state that one or more ferns from the Goluke reference can be selected from the few plant names listed, in addition, applicant insists that Goluke expressly teaches that the fern extracts are obtained from the whole plant including the rhizome while claim 1 of the present invention requires a first ingredient comprising the aerial plant parts of the royal fern. Moreover, applicant also discusses that the Goluke reference does not teach a liposmally encapsulated form of the first ingredient and then proceeds to infer that examiners statement that the addition of water and polyhydric alcohols would naturally occur “appears to rely on inherency” and refers to MPEP 2112 to further define the purpose of inherency. Lastly, applicant believes that “Golüke fails to disclose, expressly or inherently, at least a first ingredient comprising aerial plant parts of royal fern, water, and polyhydric alcohols; and a second ingredient comprising a liposomally encapsulated form of that first ingredient, arranged as required by claim 1” (pg. 20 of applicants’ arguments). Within MPEP 2131, it explicitly states, “To reject a claim as anticipated by a reference, the disclosure must teach every element required by the claim under its broadest reasonable interpretation… [and also that] "A claim is anticipated only if each and every element as set forth in the claim is found, either expressly or inherently described, in a single prior art reference." Verdegaal Bros. v. Union Oil Co. of California, 814 F.2d 628, 631, 2 USPQ2d 1051, 1053 (Fed. Cir. 1987).” The Goluke reference mentioned above in the 35 U.S.C. 102 reference does disclose the claim limitations that are recited within claim 1 of the present invention. It is noted that even if the Goluke reference does not expressly teach a “first ingredient” and a “second ingredient”, that does not mean that one skilled in the art would not understand that to make a liposomal encapsulation, a number of steps must be taken in order to achieve an efficient form of encapsulation. One skilled in the art would not treat the creation of a liposomal encapsulation the same way he or she would treat the creation of a capsule – a liposomal encapsulation has a focus on encapsulating nutrients within liposomes whereas a traditional capsule is an outer shell that can hold the raw material within it. Given the example of distinction between a liposomal encapsulation versus a capsule by the examiner, one skilled in the art does understand what is required in terms of a liposomal encapsulation given the structure and delivery capabilities. Thus, applicants’ rebuttal that includes the use of MPEP 2112 inherency in that “whether practicing Goluke necessarily results in a second ingredient comprising a liposomally encapsulated form of the particular first ingredient required by claim 1… Goluke does not establish such necessity (pg. 18 of applicants’ arguments)”. As stated above within the response to arguments, it is expected for someone skilled in the art to take precaution and additional preparation steps when constructing a liposomal encapsulation. Moreover, the Goluke reference does teach the use of the fern extracts; it should be noted too that extraction serves to concentrate on the set of naturally occurring compounds that are already found within the naturally occurring plant, thus, whether there is an extraction or no extraction, in either scenario, the end result would not yield a different product that would lead to a change in intended effects. To add on, within lines 10-12 of pg. 1 of the present specification, applicant does state that “the invention pertains to the technical field of industrially manufactured cosmetic compositions, in particular those cosmetic compositions for the manufacture of which natural substances in the form of plant extracts are used”. Thus, the extracted form of the royal fern is acceptable. Furthermore, given that claim 1 of the present invention uses the term “comprising” this means that any additional ingredients and/or plant parts can be included within the composition. MPEP 2111.03 explicitly states: “The transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g., Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004) ("[L]ike the term ‘comprising,’ the terms ‘containing’ and ‘mixture’ are open-ended."). Invitrogen Corp. v. Biocrest Manufacturing, L.P., 327 F.3d 1364, 1368, 66 USPQ2d 1631, 1634 (Fed. Cir. 2003) ("The transition ‘comprising’ in a method claim indicates that the claim is open-ended and allows for additional steps.")”. Thus, within Goluke’s reference, the royal fern can include additional plant parts such as the aerial parts and the rhizome and so, this is in line with the claim 1 limitations. Applicants’ arguments regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 are not persuasive and the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 for anticipation is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goluke (EP 2752183 A1 - English translation provided) in view of Berthon (FR 2876032 A1 - English translation provided) and Fernandez (EP 2536815 B1).
The teachings of Goluke are above.
Goluke does not teach that the second ingredient contains a content of 1 to 10% by weight of lecithin (as stated in claim 2 of the present invention). Goluke does not teach that the lecithin is a sunflower lecithin (as stated in claim 3 of the present invention). Goluke does not specifically teach a proportion of 20% by weight of the first ingredient is present liposomally encapsulated in the lecithin of the second ingredient (as claimed within claim 4 of the present invention). Goluke does not teach that the polyhydric alcohols comprise pentylene glycol (as stated within claim 5 of the present invention). Goluke does not teach the aerial plant parts of the royal fern comprise the stalk and the leaves of the plant and does not teach that the first ingredient is prepared in a maceration process (as stated within claims 6 and 7 of the present invention, respectively). Goluke does not teach [that the] first ingredient comprises a range from 0.01 to 1.0% by weight (as stated within claim 8 of the present invention). Goluke does not teach the content of the second ingredient comprises a range from 0.01 to 1.0% by weight (as stated within claim 9 of the present invention). Goluke does not teach the particle size of the second ingredient is in a range from 50 to 300nm (as stated within claim 10 of the present invention). Goluke does not teach the content of lecithin comprises a range from 0.01 to 0.5% by weight (as stated within claim 11 of the present invention).
Berthon teaches a cosmetic or dermatological product that contains the extract of [the] aerial parts of ferns (claim(s) 1 and 2). Berthon teaches [that] these properties are due to the presence of active molecules extracted either from the roots and/or the rhizome for the underground parts, or for the aerial parts of the stem and/or leaf (page 2). Berthon teaches the use of Osmunda regalis (page 3). Berthon teaches the cosmetic or dermatological compositions according to the invention may also take the form of a lotion or solution in which the extract is in encapsulated form. The microspheres according to the invention may for example consist of fatty substances, agar and water. The extract can be incorporated into liposome, glycosphere-type vectors in chylomicrons, macro, micro, nano-particles as well as macro-, micro- and nanocapsules (page 5). Berthon teaches [to] grind the dry plant material to a particle size of less than 1 mm (page 3). Berthon teaches a maceration process of the plant prior to extraction (pg. 2).
Fernandez teaches a composition of ingredients [that contains 10% in weight of lecithin] (pages 16-17, under 'example 1'). Fernandez teaches in a particular embodiment, the phospholipid of the liposomes of this invention is a natural or synthetic phosphoglyceride [such as] natural lecithins [from] sunflower (page 3, paragraph 0012). Fernandez teaches that the composition can include pentylene glycol (page 5, line 19).
The cosmetic composition as taught by Goluke can be modified to include that the royal fern (e.g. Osmunda regalis) portion that can be used are portions from the aerial parts of the stem and/or leaf as taught by Berthon, in which, the royal fern plant can be subjected to maceration also taught by Berthon. In addition, the glycerol as taught by Goluke can also include pentylene glycol as taught by Fernandez that would comprise the two polyhydric alcohols used within the first ingredient. In addition, Goluke's composition can be modified to further include that the liposomal encapsulation is a natural lecithin, such as a sunflower lecithin as taught by Fernandez. One of ordinary skill in analytical chemistry would reasonably expect that maceration is another form of an extraction that can be used in order to retrieve the desired compounds necessary to create Goluke's cosmetic composition. Furthermore, one would reasonably expect to use the combination of references in order to create the ideal cosmetic composition that would include a first ingredient and a second ingredient for liposomal encapsulation.
Regarding claim(s) 4 and 8-11, the combined aforementioned reference does not teach the amounts as claimed by the applicant. However, as discussed in MPEP section 2144.05(II)(A), "Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. '[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)." The references teach the use of each of the ingredients in a cosmetic composition. Varying the concentration of ingredients within a cosmetic composition is not considered to be inventive unless the concentration is demonstrated as critical. In this particular case, there is no evidence that the claimed concentration of the ingredients produces an unexpected result. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameter, this optimization of ingredient concentration would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to experiment with the content percentages of the first and second ingredients along with optimizing the particle size of the second ingredient in order to create the ideal liposomal encapsulation of the cosmetic composition for use on the skin.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed August 07, 2026 have been fully considered. The arguments regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 for obviousness are found to be non-persuasive.
For the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 for obviousness, a summary of what applicant argues across pgs. 20-27 of applicants arguments is that applicant recites MPEP 2141 in regard to a proper obviousness determination and MPEP 2143 in regard to a sufficient reason on why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have modified or combined the prior art teachings. In addition, applicant goes on to further explain the issue that the invention is addressing particularly focuses on using particular portions of the royal fern plant that would lead to improved moisturization of the skin and further states that the Goluke reference is directed to the entire plant rather than the aerial portions of the royal fern. Applicant goes on to further state that the Berthon reference broadly discusses extracts from various fern species but also emphasizes that Berthon teaches aerial parts for certain fern species such as royal fern (Osmunda regalis) and further asserts that neither reference supplies an apparent reason for making that particular sequence of selections. Applicant reiterates throughout the 35 U.S.C. 103 arguments towards the examiner on why a person of ordinary skill would specifically use the aerial stalk and leaves of Osmunda regalis within Goluke’s composition and then also discusses MPEP 2145 and impermissible hindsight and the importance of the obviousness rationale. Furthermore, applicant delves into the use of the Fernando reference and states that there hasn’t been given an explanation on why a person of ordinary skill in the art would select pentylene glycol and sunflower lecithin. Lastly, applicant states that the office action presented has not identified a teaching or other technically reasoned basis that would have led a person of ordinary skill to make this particular collection of modifications. To begin, the use of the additional references combined with the base reference, Goluke, is sufficient because the Goluke and Berthon references both teach that the ingredients (particularly the royal fern) are known to be used within a cosmetic composition for application to the skin; this justification itself provides sufficient motivation. In addition, the Goluke reference does mention that of the preferred ferns, Osmunda regalis (royal fern) is one of the preferred species ferns to use within a cosmetic composition (see pg. 3 of NPL reference translation and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection above). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art who is interested in avoiding skin irritations, is interested in improved skin moisture in addition to antiradical, light protecting effects and other efficacies could select the royal fern because Goluke teaches that the royal fern is a preferred plant to use in order to achieve the overall strengthening of a subjects skin after application. Thus, the inclusion of the reference from Berthon is sufficient; in addition, the Fernandez reference teaches the agents that are known to be used within cosmetic compositions (i.e. pentylene glycol and sunflower lecithin). There does not need to be a specific motivation to use the additional ingredients (i.e. sunflower lecithin and pentylene glycol) because these ingredients are immensely known in the art, especially within cosmetics for their properties that aid in the optimal formulation of a cosmetic product. The general purpose of the addition of the Fernandez reference is to prove that pentylene glycol and sunflower lecithins are known to be used within cosmetic compositions which would fit seamlessly into Goluke’s composition. In addition, applicant does discuss certain portions of the royal fern part is used as presently claimed within claim 1 but as stated in the 35 U.S.C. 102 response to arguments above, the applicant uses the term “comprising”; the term “comprising” means that any additional ingredients and/or plant parts can be included within the composition. MPEP 2111.03 explicitly states: “The transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g., Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004) ("[L]ike the term ‘comprising,’ the terms ‘containing’ and ‘mixture’ are open-ended."). Invitrogen Corp. v. Biocrest Manufacturing, L.P., 327 F.3d 1364, 1368, 66 USPQ2d 1631, 1634 (Fed. Cir. 2003) ("The transition ‘comprising’ in a method claim indicates that the claim is open-ended and allows for additional steps.")”. Thus, within Goluke’s reference, the royal fern can include additional plant parts such as the aerial parts (e.g. the stalk and the leaves) and/or the rhizome and so, this is in line with the claim 1 limitations. Lastly, applicant delves into detail about the use of particular portions of the plant parts specifically the protected rootstock of royal fern and further discusses why the claimed composition would rather use the stalk and leaves of the aerial plant parts. It should be noted that applicants’ arguments are not commensurate in scope, in other words, the arguments are more specific than what is presently claimed. Applicants’ arguments regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 are not persuasive and the rejection of claims 1-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 for obviousness are maintained.
No claims are allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NASHARA L MOREAU
Examiner, Art Unit 1655
/ANAND U DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655