DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 5-7, 11, 23, 27, 29-34, 36 and 75-92, submitted 14 August 2026, are pending in the application. Claims 75-92 are new. Claims 2-4 and 15-20 have been canceled by the applicant. Claims 1, 5-7, 11, 23, 27, 29-34, 36 and 75-92 are subject to examination in the instant Office Action.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-7, 11, 23, 27, 29-34 and 36, in the reply filed on 14 August 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 11, 23, 27, 29-34, 36, and 75-92 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garmise et al. (WO 2020/210629 A1) as evidenced by Mainbourg et al. ("Twice-or once-daily dosing of direct oral anticoagulants, a systematic review and meta-analysis." Thrombosis Research 197 (2021): 24-32.).
Garmise teaches a method for the treatment and prevention of a thromboembolic disorder by orally administering compound (I) to a human patient in a dose preferably ranging from 100 to about 500 mg (paragraphs 25 and 72). Additionally, it’s taught that compound (I) has the same chemical structure as the milvexian of the instant application (paragraph 4). Therefore, Garmise teaches all of the limitations of instant claim 1. Consequently, claim 87 is also rejected as it recites the limitation “wherein the milvexian, or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is milvexian”. Claims 88 and 89 are also rejected for the above reasons as these claims recite the limitations “for preventing a venous thromboembolic disorder” and “for treating a venous thromboembolic disorder”, respectively.
Claims 5-7 are rejected for the reasons above as they recite the limitation wherein the total daily dose is 100 mg, 150 mg, and 200 mg, respectively. These dosage amounts are encompassed by the range taught by Garmise in paragraph 72.
Claim 11 recites the limitation wherein the venous thromboembolic disorder is proximal and/or distal deep vein thrombosis, nonfatal pulmonary embolism, or death. This claim is rejected as Garmise teaches wherein the thromboembolic disorder is selected from venous thrombosis, deep vein thrombosis, pulmonary embolism or ischemic sudden death (paragraphs 94-95). This reference does not explicitly recite wherein the venous thromboembolic disorder is proximal and/or distal deep vein thrombosis, however it would have been prima facie obvious for one skilled in the art to at least try to prevent or treat these specific types of venous thromboembolic disorders with milvexian through routine experimentation. Consequently, this also reads on the limitations of instant claims 78-80 which recite the limitations “wherein the venous thromboembolic disorder is proximal and/or distal deep vein thrombosis”, wherein the venous thromboembolic disorder is nonfatal pulmonary embolism” and “wherein the venous thromboembolic disorder is death”, respectively.
Regarding claim 23, Garmise teaches a method for the treatment and prevention of a thromboembolic disorder by orally administering compound (I) to a human patient in a dose preferably ranging from 100 to about 500 mg (paragraphs 25 and 72). Garmise does not explicitly teach wherein “orally administering a total daily dose of 100 mg milvexian, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof once or twice daily”. However, it's known in the art, as evidenced by Mainbourg et al. that administration of anticoagulants in the treatment or prevention of thrombosis varies between once or twice daily according to molecule and indication chosen (pg. 25, Section “Introduction”, Left Col., 1st paragraph). Based on this fact, it can be assumed that the practitioner would administer the anticoagulant, milvexian, once or twice daily. Consequently, this also reads on the limitations of instant claims 34 and 83 which recites the limitations ”wherein milvexian is administered twice daily” and “wherein the milvexian, or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is administered once daily”, respectively. Garmise also does not explicitly state wherein “an incidence rate of total venous thromboembolism events in the human patient treated with the milvexian, or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof is less than 25%”. However, this is merely a result of the administration of milvexian at a daily dose of 100 mg. Garmise teaches the capsules containing the preferred range of about 100 to about 500 mg of milvexian in paragraph 72. With the lower range of 100 mg being identical to the claimed dose in the instant claim, it would follow that the human patient of Garmise would also teach an incidence rate of less than 25%. Therefore, Garmise teaches all of the limitations of instant claim 23. This also reads on the limitations of instant claim 82 which recites wherein the milvexian or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof is administered at a total daily dose ranging from 100 mg to 400 mg. Claim 90 is also rejected for the above reasons as it recites the limitation “wherein the milvexian, or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, is milvexian”. Garmise teaches the chemical structure of compound (I) is identical to that of milvexian (paragraph 4). Claims 91 and 92 are also rejected for the above reasons as these claims recite the limitations “for preventing a venous thromboembolic disorder” and “for treating a venous thromboembolic disorder”, respectively.
Claim 27 is rejected for the same reason as detailed above. Garmise teaches a dosage range which encompasses the claimed dosage amount. Therefore, it would follow that the incidence rate of total venous thromboembolic events would also be less than 20%. This same logic is applied to instant claims 29 which recites the limitation wherein the incidence rate of total venous thromboembolic events is less than 15%. Claim 81 is rejected for this same reason as it recites the limitation wherein the incidence rate of total venous thromboembolism events is less than 10%.
Claims 30-33 are rejected for the reasons above as they recite the limitation wherein the total daily dose is 100 mg, 150 mg, 200 mg and 400 mg, respectively. These dosage amounts are encompassed by the range taught by Garmise in paragraph 72.
Claim 36 is rejected on the basis that it does not add an additional step to the method described in independent claim 23 but instead recites an observed inherent feature as a result of the comparison study between milvexian and enoxaparin provided by the Applicant. As Garmise teaches all of the limitations of the independent claim from which claim 36 is dependent of, it would follow that this inherent feature is also present within the Garmise reference whether it was known at the time or not. Thus, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112(I).
Claim 36 is rejected on the basis that it does not add an additional step to the method described in independent claim 23 but instead recites an observed inherent feature as a result of the comparison study between milvexian and enoxaparin provided by the Applicant. As Garmise teaches all of the limitations of the independent claim from which claim 36 is dependent, it would follow that this inherent feature is also present within the Garmise reference whether it was known at the time or not. Thus, the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112(I).
Regarding claim 75, while Garmise does not explicitly teach wherein the total daily dose is administered in a single dose, it can be reasoned that one skilled in the art would administer milvexian in a single dose or in two doses based on the teachings of Mainbourg which states that administration of anticoagulants in the treatment or prevention of thrombosis varies between once or twice daily according to molecule and indication chosen (pg. 25, Section “Introduction”, Left Col., 1st paragraph). Consequently, this also reads on the limitations of instant claims 76 and 77.
Claim 84 is rejected because the recited limitation only narrows independent claim 23 to being “clinically proven effective”, while maintaining the limitation of less than 25% of the incidence rate of total venous thromboembolism events in a patient treated with milvexian between both claims. As with claim 23, this recitation is merely a result of the administration of milvexian at a daily dose of 100 mg. Garmise teaches the capsules containing the preferred range of about 100 to about 500 mg of milvexian in paragraph 72. With the lower range of 100 mg being identical to the claimed dose in the instant claim, it would follow that the human patient of Garmise would also reach an incidence rate of less than 25%.
Claim 85 is rejected on the basis that, while Garmise does not teach wherein the total daily dose is administered as 50 mg of milvexian twice per day, it would have been prima facie obvious to one skilled in the art, as evidenced by the teachings of Mainbourg, to divide the total daily dose into two smaller equal dosages to maintain the continuity of drug action. Consequently, claim 86 is also rejected as the compound taught by Garmise is structurally identical to that of milvexian.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
JUSTIN CHRISTOPHER SANCHEZ
Examiner
Art Unit 1622
/J.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622