Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted and was filed after the mailing date of the 03/15/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 11, 13, 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nam et al. (US 2021/0037503 A1)(“Nam”).
Regarding claim 1, A method of wireless communication operable at a first device, the method comprising: receiving, from at least one scheduling entity, an indication configured to indicate that the first device is to monitor at least one first radio link and at least one second radio link for at least one data flow from the at least one scheduling entity;
Nam [0082]; In another example, a joint QCL indication may be transmitted to the destination UE (UE1). Specifically, transmission configuration indication (TCI) state/spatial relation can be configured as a combination of one or more QCL source reference signals on different links, such as access link reference signals (AL-RS(s)) and sidelink reference signals (SL-RS(s)). The base station (e.g., BE 802), along with the access link and sidelink grant, may send joint access link-sidelink QCL information to destination UE (e.g., UE1 804). For example, the joint QCL information may indicate the transmission and/or reception beams that the UE may use for access link (first radio link) and sidelink transmission and/or reception (second radio link).
Nam, Fig. 7 [0073]; In a first case, such as in the sidelink relay communication scenarios 500 and 652, the sidelink-assisted multi-link UE 104a directly communicates with the base station 102a via a first access link (AL) 120a, and indirectly communicates with the base station 102a via a sidelink 158a with the relay UE 104b, which has a second access link 120b with the base station 102a.
receiving at least one of: a first portion of at least one data flow via at least one first radio link, the first portion comprising downlink (DL) data for the first device,
Nam, Fig. 7 [0038]; The destination UE 104a may have a first access link 120a directly with the base station 102a,
Nam, Fig. 7 [0044]; The communication links 120, including access links 120a and 120b, between the base stations 102 and the UEs 104 may include uplink (UL) (also referred to as reverse link) transmissions from a UE 104 to a base station 102 and/or downlink (DL) (also referred to as forward link) transmissions from a base station 102 to a UE 104.
or a second portion of the at least one data flow via at least one second radio link, the second portion comprising relay data for the first device;
and transmitting an indication corresponding to at least one of: the DL data, or the relay data.
Nam [0121] One or more of the above examples can further include transmitting a failure indication within sidelink control information (the relay data) to at least one of the UE or the base station.
Nam [0045] Certain UEs 104, such as relay UE 104b and destination UE 104a, may communicate with each other using device-to-device (D2D) communication link 158, one example of which includes sidelink 158a. The D2D communication link 158 may use the DL/UL WWAN spectrum. The D2D communication link 158 may use one or more sidelink channels, such as a physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH), a physical sidelink discovery channel (PSDCH), a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), and a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH).
Regarding claim 2, The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one first radio link comprises a communication path between the first device and the at least one scheduling entity,
Nam [0073]; In a first case, such as in the sidelink relay communication scenarios 500 and 652, the sidelink-assisted multi-link UE 104a directly communicates with the base station 102a via a first access link (AL) 120a, and indirectly communicates with the base station 102a via a sidelink 158a with the relay UE 104b, which has a second access link 120b with the base station 102a.
and the at least one second radio link comprises a communication path between the first device and the at least one second device.
Nam [0073]; In a first case, such as in the sidelink relay communication scenarios 500 and 652, the sidelink-assisted multi-link UE 104a directly communicates with the base station 102a via a first access link (AL) 120a, and indirectly communicates with the base station 102a via a sidelink 158a with the relay UE 104b (second device), which has a second access link 120b with the base station 102a.
Regarding claim 3, The method of claim 1, wherein the receiving of the indication comprises:
communicating the second portion of the at least one data flow to the first device;
Nam, Fig. 8 [0080]; A processing offset 814 between the access link slots and the sidelink slots may provide processing time at the relay UEs such as UE2. The slots for sidelink may contain resource SCI (e.g., via PSCCH 816). The aggregated slots for both PDSCH 812 and PSSCH 818 may be used to transmit data according to the allocated resources on the access link or sidelink, respectively.
receiving a control message indicating the at least one second device comprises a relay for;
Nam, Fig. 8 [0080]; The slots for sidelink may contain resource SCI (e.g., via PSCCH 816). The aggregated slots for both PDSCH 812 and PSSCH 818 may be used to transmit data according to the allocated resources on the access link or sidelink, respectively.
Nam, Fig. 8 [0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804).
or receiving a request, from the scheduling entity, for channel state information (CSI) corresponding to the at least one second radio link.
Regarding claim 4, The method of claim 3, wherein the receiving of the indication comprises: determining, via a medium access control (MAC) entity, an activation of the at least one second device as the relay; determining, via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), DL control information (DCI) identifying the at least one second device as the relay;
or determining, via a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), sidelink (SL) control information (SCI) identifying the at least one second device as the relay,
Nam, Fig. 8 [0080]; The grant 808 may be a semi-persistent and/or configured grant, or a dynamic grant given by a control channel (PDCCH 810). A processing offset 814 between the access link slots and the sidelink slots may provide processing time at the relay UEs such as UE2. The slots for sidelink may contain resource SCI (e.g., via PSCCH 816). The aggregated slots for both PDSCH 812 and PSSCH 818 may be used to transmit data according to the allocated resources on the access link or sidelink, respectively (transmitting data according to the allocated resource= identify at least one second device as the relay).
wherein the second portion of the at least one data flow is received, via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), in tandem with the first portion of the at least one data flow.
Nam, Fig. 8 [0080]; The aggregated slots for both PDSCH 812 and PSSCH 818 may be used to transmit data according to the allocated resources on the access link or sidelink (second portion= relay data), respectively. The grant 808 may be a semi-persistent and/or configured grant, or a dynamic grant given by a control channel (PDCCH 810) (tandem with the first portion of the at least one data flow= downlink=PDCCH)
Regarding claim 6, The method of claim 1, wherein the receiving of the second portion of the at least one data flow comprises: identifying scheduling information for the first device, to utilize to receive the relay data of the at least one data flow;
Nam, Fig. 8 [0079]; Referring to FIG. 8, a resource allocation scheme 800 may support sidelink-assisted virtual multi-link. For example, base station (BS) 802 may be the same as or similar to base station 102. The second UE (UE2) may be the same as or similar to relay UE 104b, and the first UE (UE1) may correspond to sidelink-assisted multi-link UE 104a. For example, UE1 may have one or more sidelinks established with one or more relay UEs such as UE2. For the DL/UL data transmission between BS 802 and UE1 804, slot-aggregation and/or multi-slot scheduling grant 808, which allocates at least one slot 806 in the access link and at least one slot 818 in the side link, may be used.
Nam [0081]; In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804). Relaying may be contingent on the relay UE's (UE2) successful decoding of the access link.
and receiving the relay data according to the scheduling information.
Nam [0079]; For the DL/UL data transmission between BS 802 and UE1 804, slot-aggregation and/or multi-slot scheduling grant 808, which allocates at least one slot 806 in the access link and at least one slot 818 in the side link, may be used.
Nam [0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804). Relaying may be contingent on the relay UE's (UE2) successful decoding of the access link.
Regarding claim 7, The method of claim 6, wherein the receiving of the indication comprises: receiving a control channel from at least one of: the at least one second device or the at least one scheduling entity,
Nam [0079]; For the DL/UL data transmission between BS 802 and UE1 804, slot-aggregation and/or multi-slot scheduling grant 808, which allocates at least one slot 806 in the access link and at least one slot 818 in the side link, may be used.
Nam [0080];The grant 808 may be a semi-persistent and/or configured grant, or a dynamic grant given by a control channel (PDCCH 810).
the control channel comprising the scheduling information for the first device to utilize to receive the relay data.
Nam [0079] Referring to FIG. 8, a resource allocation scheme 800 may support sidelink-assisted virtual multi-link.
Nam [0080] The grant 808 may be a semi-persistent and/or configured grant, or a dynamic grant given by a control channel (PDCCH 810). A processing offset 814 between the access link slots and the sidelink slots may provide processing time at the relay UEs such as UE2. The slots for sidelink may contain resource SCI (e.g., via PSCCH 816). The aggregated slots for both PDSCH 812 and PSSCH 818 may be used to transmit data according to the allocated resources on the access link or sidelink, respectively.
Nam [0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804). Relaying may be contingent on the relay UE's (UE2) successful decoding of the access link (scheduling information for the first device to utilize to receive the relay data).
Regarding claim 11, A method of wireless communication operable at a relay device, the method comprising: receiving, over a first radio link, a first portion of at least one data flow from a scheduling entity, the first portion of the at least one data flow comprising relay data;
Nam, Fig. 8 [0079] Referring to FIG. 8, a resource allocation scheme 800 may support sidelink-assisted virtual multi-link. For example, base station (BS) 802 may be the same as or similar to base station 102. The second UE (UE2) may be the same as or similar to relay UE 104b, and the first UE (UE1) may correspond to sidelink-assisted multi-link UE 104a.
[0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit = first radio link) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802 (first portion of the at least one data flow comprising relay data). On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying).
determining an allocation of communication resources relative to a physical layer associated with the relay device, the relay device configured to utilize the physical layer for communicating the relay data to at least one destination device;
Nam [0080]; The grant 808 may be a semi-persistent and/or configured grant, or a dynamic grant given by a control channel (PDCCH 810). A processing offset 814 between the access link slots and the sidelink slots may provide processing time at the relay UEs such as UE2. The slots for sidelink may contain resource SCI (e.g., via PSCCH 816) (communication resources relative to a physical layer associated). The aggregated slots for both PDSCH 812 and PSSCH 818 may be used to transmit data according to the allocated resources on the access link or sidelink, respectively.
Nam [0081]; In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804). Relaying may be contingent on the relay UE's (UE2) successful decoding of the access link. If the relay UE (UE2) fails in decoding data on the access link, the relay UE may skip relaying. If the SCI can be delivered to the destination node, the relay UE may notify the destination node of the decoding failure event.
Nam [0057]; FIG. 2B illustrates an example of various DL channels within a subframe of a frame. The physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carries DCI within one or more control channel elements (CCEs), each CCE including nine RE groups (REGs), each REG including four consecutive REs in an OFDM symbol. A primary synchronization signal (PSS) may be within symbol 2 of particular subframes of a frame. The PSS is used by a UE 104 (104b= relay) to determine subframe/symbol timing and a physical layer identity. A secondary synchronization signal (SSS) may be within symbol 4 of particular subframes of a frame. The SSS is used by a UE to determine a physical layer cell identity group number and radio frame timing. Based on the physical layer identity and the physical layer cell identity group number, the UE can determine a physical cell identifier (PCI). Based on the PCI, the UE can determine the locations of the aforementioned DM-RS. The physical broadcast channel (PBCH), which carries a master information block (MIB), may be logically grouped with the PSS and SSS to form a synchronization signal (SS)/PBCH block. The MIB provides a number of RBs in the system bandwidth and a system frame number (SFN). The physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) carries user data, broadcast system information not transmitted through the PBCH such as system information blocks (SIBs), and paging messages (the relay device configured to utilize the physical layer).
and transmitting, via the allocation of communication resources of the physical layer, the relay data to the at least one destination device over a second radio link,
Nam [0080]; The grant 808 may be a semi-persistent and/or configured grant, or a dynamic grant given by a control channel (PDCCH 810).
Nam [0081]; In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802 (via the allocation of communication resources). On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804). Relaying may be contingent on the relay UE's (UE2) successful decoding of the access link. If the relay UE (UE2) fails in decoding data on the access link, the relay UE may skip relaying. If the SCI can be delivered to the destination node, the relay UE may notify the destination node of the decoding failure event.
Nam [0057] FIG. 2B illustrates an example of various DL channels within a subframe of a frame. The physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carries DCI within one or more control channel elements (CCEs), each CCE including nine RE groups (REGs), each REG including four consecutive REs in an OFDM symbol. A primary synchronization signal (PSS) may be within symbol 2 of particular subframes of a frame. The PSS is used by a UE 104 (104b= relay) to determine subframe/symbol timing and a physical layer identity. The SSS is used by a UE to determine a physical layer cell identity group number and radio frame timing.
Nam Fig. 1 [0038]; The relay communication component 121 of the relay UE 104b may include a virtual multi-link component 123, which may be selectively configured to serve as an additional virtual antenna panel for the destination UE 104a by receiving downlink data from the base station 102a via the second access link 120b, or uplink data from the sidelink-assisted multi-link UE 104a via the sidelink 158a, and forwarding the downlink data to the destination UE 104a via the sidelink 158a (second radio link), or the uplink data to the base station 102a via the access link 120b.
the relay data associated with downlink (DL) data destined for the at least one destination device over a third radio link between the at least one device and the scheduling entity.
Nam, Fig. 1 [0038]; The relay communication component 121 of the relay UE 104b may include a virtual multi-link component 123, which may be selectively configured to serve as an additional virtual antenna panel for the destination UE 104a by receiving downlink data from the base station 102a via the second access link 120b, or uplink data from the sidelink-assisted multi-link UE 104a via the sidelink 158a, and forwarding the downlink data to the destination UE 104a via the sidelink 158a, or the uplink data to the base station 102a via the access link 120b.
[0044]; The communication links 120, including access links 120a and 120b, between the base stations 102 and the UEs 104 may include uplink (UL) (also referred to as reverse link) transmissions from a UE 104 to a base station 102 and/or downlink (DL) (DL= third radio link between the at least one device and the scheduling entity ) (also referred to as forward link) transmissions from a base station 102 to a UE 104.
Regarding claim 13, The method of claim 12, wherein the transmitting of the relay data comprises: transmitting, via a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), sidelink (SL) control information (SCI) to the at least one destination device identifying the relay device as the relay.
Nam, Fig. 8 [0080]; The grant 808 may be a semi-persistent and/or configured grant, or a dynamic grant given by a control channel (PDCCH 810). A processing offset 814 between the access link slots and the sidelink slots may provide processing time at the relay UEs such as UE2. The slots for sidelink may contain resource SCI (e.g., via PSCCH 816). The aggregated slots for both PDSCH 812 and PSSCH 818 may be used to transmit data according to the allocated resources on the access link or sidelink, respectively (transmitting data according to the allocated resource= identify at least one second device as the relay).
Regarding claim 15, The method of claim 11, wherein the transmitting of the relay data comprises: identifying scheduling information for the relay device to utilize to transmit the relay data;
[0079] Referring to FIG. 8, a resource allocation scheme 800 may support sidelink-assisted virtual multi-link. For the DL/UL data transmission between BS 802 and UE1 804, slot-aggregation and/or multi-slot scheduling grant 808, which allocates at least one slot 806 in the access link and at least one slot 818 in the side link, may be used.
Nam, Fig. 8 [0081]; In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received (to utilize to transmit the relay data) on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804). Relaying may be contingent on the relay UE's (UE2) successful decoding of the access link.
and transmitting, to the at least one destination device, the relay data according to the scheduling information.
Nam, Fig. 8 [0081]; In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804).
Regarding claim 16, The method of claim 15, wherein the identifying of the scheduling information comprises: receiving, as the scheduling information, a data transmission setting defining a set of semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) parameters for the relay device to utilize to transmit the relay data.
Nam [0079]; For the DL/UL data transmission between BS 802 and UE1 804, slot-aggregation and/or multi-slot scheduling grant 808, which allocates at least one slot 806 in the access link and at least one slot 818 in the side link, may be used.
Nam [0080] The grant 808 (scheduling information) may be a semi-persistent and/or configured grant (semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) parameters), or a dynamic grant given by a control channel (PDCCH 810). A processing offset 814 between the access link slots and the sidelink slots may provide processing time at the relay UEs such as UE2. The slots for sidelink may contain resource SCI (e.g., via PSCCH 816). The aggregated slots for both PDSCH 812 and PSSCH 818 may be used to transmit data according to the allocated resources on the access link or sidelink, respectively.
Nam [0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802 (utilize to transmit the relay data). On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804).
Regarding claim 17, The method of claim 11, wherein the transmitting of the relay data comprises: transmitting the relay data according to a predefined rule, the predefined rule indicating a data resource allocation for transmitting the first portion of the at least one data flow.
Nam [0080]; The grant 808 may be a semi-persistent and/or configured grant, or a dynamic grant given by a control channel (PDCCH 810). A processing offset 814 between the access link slots and the sidelink slots may provide processing time at the relay UEs such as UE2. The slots for sidelink may contain resource SCI (e.g., via PSCCH 816). The aggregated slots for both PDSCH 812 and PSSCH 818 may be used to transmit data according to the allocated resources on the access link or sidelink, respectively (the predefined rule indicating a data resource allocation for transmitting the first portion of the at least one data flow).
Nam [0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Kaur et al. (US 2015/0131536 A1)(“Kaur”).
Regarding claim 5, The method of claim 3, further comprising:
The at least one second radio link ;
Nam [0073]; In a first case, such as in the sidelink relay communication scenarios 500 and 652, the sidelink-assisted multi-link UE 104a directly communicates with the base station 102a via a first access link (AL) 120a, and indirectly communicates with the base station 102a via a sidelink 158a with the relay UE 104b (second device), which has a second access link 120b with the base station 102
and determining to monitor the at least one second radio link for the second portion of the at least one data flow.
Nam, Fig. 8 [0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data (relay data= second portion of the at least one data flow) received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804 = first device). Relaying may be contingent on the relay UE's (UE2) successful decoding of the access link. If the relay UE (UE2) fails in decoding data on the access link, the relay UE may skip relaying. If the SCI can be delivered to the destination node, the relay UE may notify the destination node of the decoding failure event.
Nam does not teach obtaining the channel state information (CSI); transmitting a CSI report to the at least one second device,
Kaur teaches obtaining the channel state information (CSI);
Kaur [0058]; Wireless devices may use licensed exempt spectrum as new bands in addition to the existing bands to transmit to a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (obtaining licensed exempt) in the downlink direction. The wireless devices may access license exempt spectrum for bandwidth aggregation or relaying using a carrier aggregation framework.
Kaur [0122] The supplementary component carrier(second radio link) in the license exempt spectrum may be used for the PDSCH, and the reference signals necessary for CSI estimation and PDSCH demodulation.
transmitting a CSI report to the at least one second device,
Kaur [0058]; Wireless devices may use licensed exempt spectrum as new bands in addition to the existing bands to transmit to a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) in the downlink direction. The wireless devices may access license exempt spectrum for bandwidth aggregation or relaying using a carrier aggregation framework.
Kaur [0122] The supplementary component carrier(second radio link) in the license exempt spectrum may be used for the PDSCH, and the reference signals necessary for CSI estimation and PDSCH demodulation.
the CSI report including the CSI corresponding to the at least one second radio link;
Kaur [0058]; Wireless devices may use licensed exempt spectrum as new bands in addition to the existing bands to transmit to a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (transmitting licensed exempt) in the downlink direction. The wireless devices may access license exempt spectrum for bandwidth aggregation or relaying using a carrier aggregation framework.
Kaur [0122] The supplementary component carrier in the license exempt spectrum (= corresponding to the at least one second radio link ) may be used for the PDSCH, and the reference signals necessary for CSI estimation and PDSCH demodulation.
In view of Kaur, Nam is modified such that the CSI report is transmitted to the at least one second device.
Nam and Zhou are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, multi-link transmission of data.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Nam in the manner described above to transmit the CSI report to the second user via the sidelink transmission to determine the quality of sidelink channel to adjust the timing and frequency of the channel (Kaur [0122]).
Claim 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Kang et al. (US 2018/0035276 A1)( “Kang”).
Regarding Claim 8, The method of claim 1, wherein the receiving of the second portion of the at least one data flow comprises:
receiving, the relay data according;
Nam [0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804).
Nam does not teach physical layer associated with the at least one second device, the predefined rule indicating an allocation of communication resources relative to a physical layer associated with the first device.
Kang teaches physical layer associated with the at least one second device, the predefined rule indicating an allocation of communication resources relative to a physical layer associated with the first device.
Kang [0135]; The transmission resource may be selected from a preconfigured resource pool in order to discover device to device communication.
In operation 715, the relay UE transmits the L2 signaling through the selected transmission resource. The L2 signaling is generated such that the PDCP layer includes a relay UE discovery indicator or the MAC layer includes a relay UE discovery indicator. Alternatively, the physical layer of the relay UE may mask a resource allocation indicator (Scheduling Assignment: SA) indicating a transmission resource used for transmitting the L2 signaling with the relay UE discovery indicator, and transmit the same. When the SA indicator is masked with the relay UE discovery indicator, a relay UE request message configured by a service layer signaling format may be transmitted through the transmission resource.
In view of Kang, Nam is modified such the predefined rule indicating an allocation of communication resources relative to a physical layer associated with the first device.
Nam and Kang are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, the relay transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Nam in the manner described above to provide the efficient relay discovery transmission (Kang [0015]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Zhou et al. (US 2021/0050950 A1) (“Zhou”) in view Chen et al. (US 2010/0238823 A1)(“Chen”).
Regarding claim 9, The method of claim 1 wherein the receiving of the first portion of the at least one data flow comprises:
receive the DL data;
Nam, Fig. 7 [0038]; The destination UE 104a may have a first access link 120a directly with the base station 102a,
Nam, Fig. 7 [0044]; The communication links 120, including access links 120a and 120b, between the base stations 102 and the UEs 104 may include uplink (UL) (also referred to as reverse link) transmissions from a UE 104 to a base station 102 and/or downlink (DL) (also referred to as forward link) transmissions from a base station 102 to a UE 104.
and wherein the receiving of the second portion of the at least one data flow comprises: to receive the relay data,
Nam [0081]; In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804). Relaying may be contingent on the relay UE's (UE2) successful decoding of the access link.
DL data of the first portion of the at least one data flow;
Nam, Fig. 7 [0044]; The communication links 120, including access links 120a and 120b, between the base stations 102 and the UEs 104 may include uplink (UL) (also referred to as reverse link) transmissions from a UE 104 to a base station 102 and/or downlink (DL) (also referred to as forward link) transmissions from a base station 102 to a UE 104.
Nam does not teach utilizing a first transport block size; second transport block size;
Zhou teaches utilizing a first transport block size; second transport block size;
Zhou [0018]; information of TB-based downlink transmission and/or second HARQ-ACK feedback information of TB-based sidelink transmission,
In view of Zhou, Nam is modified such that the first transport block size and second transport block size are utilized.
Nam and Zhou are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, the relay and downlink transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Nam in the manner described above to utilize two TBS for the DL and SL transmission to describe the differences of transmission of the data in sidelink and downlink links more specifically.
Nam in view Zhou does not teach the second transport block size differing from the first transport block size.
Chen teaches the second transport block size differing from the first transport block size.
Chen [0031]; However, the TB sizes for the three PDCCH grants in FIG. 3 are inconsistent. In particular, the first PDCCH grant indicates a TB size of TBS1 whereas the two subsequent PDCCH grants indicate a TB size of TBS2, which is not equal to TBS1.
In view of Chen, Nam is modified such that the first transport block size and second transport block size are in different sizes.
Nam and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of data within the transport blocks.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Nam in the manner described above to utilize two TBS for the DL and SL transmission to describe the differences of transmission of the data in sidelink and downlink links more specifically.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of He (WO
2014/146462 A1).
Regarding claim 10, The method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting of the indication corresponding to the DL data comprises: transmitting, over the at least one first radio link, an acknowledgment message corresponding to the DL data when the first device receives the DL data during a first timeframe of a first predetermined feedback timeline;
He, Page 4, [0012]; if the decoding is successful, according to the feedback rule, in the first time slot or the second In the time slot, the acknowledgement ACK information is sent to the base station by using the DPCCH (first radio link), so that the base station stops sending downlink data to the user equipment according to the ACK information.
a negative acknowledgment in instances where the first device fails to receive the DL during the first timeframe and during a second timeframe of a second predetermined feedback timeline.
He Page 2, [0007]; The user equipment decodes the received downlink data, and if the decoding is unsuccessful, sends a negative to the base station by using the DPCCH in the first time slot or the second time slot according to a feedback rule (predetermined feedback timeline).
Page 5, [0006]; In a second possible implementation manner of the fourth aspect, the user equipment passes the DPCCH in a second preset number of second time slots according to the decoding situation of the downlink data by the user equipment. The sending the NACK information or the ACK information to the base station includes: if the user equipment does not successfully decode the downlink data before the end of the second preset number of second time slots, the user equipment is in each In the second preset number of second slots, the NACK information is sent to the base station by using the DPCCH.
In view of He, Nam is modified such that to transmit the ACK message upon decoding the downlink and NACK when the decoding fails.
Nam and He are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of downlink data.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Nam in the manner described above for the first UE to transmit the acknowledgment message to show the receipt of downlink and NACK to show the failure of data transmission to improve the flexibility of data transmission (He, page 2 [0002]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Damnjanovic et al. (US 20210328643 A1)(“Damnjanovi”).
Regarding claim 12, The method of claim 11, wherein the receiving of the first portion of the at least one data flow from the scheduling entity comprises: communicating the relay data to the at least one destination device;
Nam, Fig. 8 [0080]; The grant 808 may be a semi-persistent and/or configured grant, or a dynamic grant given by a control channel (PDCCH 810). A processing offset 814 between the access link slots and the sidelink slots may provide processing time at the relay UEs such as UE2. The slots for sidelink may contain resource SCI (e.g., via PSCCH 816). The aggregated slots for both PDSCH 812 and PSSCH 818 may be used to transmit data according to the allocated resources on the access link or sidelink, respectively (transmitting data according to the allocated resource= identify at least one second device as the relay).
or receiving a request from the scheduling entity for channel state information (CSI) corresponding to the second radio link.
Nam does not teach determining an indicator identifying the relay device as a relay.
determining an indicator identifying the relay device as a relay.
Damnjanovic [0107]; In some aspects, based at least in part on receiving the indication of one or more MCSs from the base station 110, the relay UE 810 may transmit sidelink control information (SCI) to the UE 805 to schedule sidelink communication (determining an indicator identifying the relay device as a relay). In this case, the relay UE 810 may indicate the identified MCS, to be used for the sidelink communication, in the SCI. In some aspects, the relay UE 810 may not transmit the SCI, in which case the UE 805 may use blind demodulation and/or blind decoding for the sidelink communication (e.g., by testing multiple MCS hypotheses).
In view of Damnjanovic, Nam is modified such that an indicator identifying the relay device as a relay is determined.
Nam and Damnjanovic are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, relay data transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Nam in the manner described above to identify the device as the relay device by sending the indicator.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Damnjanovic in further view of Xiao et al. (US 2017/0366243 A1)(“Xiao”).
Regarding claim 14, The method of claim 12, further comprising: the first radio link and the second radio link;
Nam, Fig. 1 [0038]; The relay communication component 121 of the relay UE 104b may include a virtual multi-link component 123, which may be selectively configured to serve as an additional virtual antenna panel for the destination UE 104a by receiving downlink data from the base station 102a via the second access link 120b (first radio link), or uplink data from the sidelink-assisted multi-link UE 104a via the sidelink 158a, and forwarding the downlink data to the destination UE 104a via the sidelink 158a (second radio link), or the uplink data to the base station 102a via the access link 120b.
Nam does not teach obtaining the channel state information (CSI); and transmitting, to the scheduling entity, at least one CSI report over the first radio link, the at least one CSI report including the CSI corresponding to at least one of: the first radio link or the second radio link.
Xia teaches obtaining the channel state information (CSI);
Xiao [0171]; An eNB sends a CSI-RS to the relay.
and transmitting, to the scheduling entity, at least one CSI report over the first radio link, the at least one CSI report including the CSI corresponding to at least one of: the first radio link or the second radio link.
Xiao [0171]; An eNB sends a CSI-RS to the relay (the first radio link).
Xiao [0172] The relay receives the CSI-RS, and calculates to obtain a channel between the eNB and the receiving ports P1 and P4. If the relay has other receiving ports, no consideration is taken for the other receiving ports herein, and only a channel H corresponding to the receiving ports constituting the virtual port node is calculated. CRI is calculated by using the channel H. The CRI is fed back to the eNB (corresponding to at least one of: the first radio link).
In view of Xia, Nam is modified such that the CSI report over the first radio link is sent.
Nam and Xia are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, the first radio link transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Nam in the manner described above to transmit the CSI report over the first radio link to determine the quality of the channel the data is transmitted to utilize data transmission (Xia [0008]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Yoon (US 2016/0044669 A1).
Regarding claim 18, The method of claim 11 wherein the receiving of the first portion of the at least one data flow comprises: to receive the relay data;
Nam [0081]; In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802.
and wherein the transmitting of the relay data comprises: size to transmit the relay data to the at least one device.
Nam [0081]; On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804).
Nam does not teach utilizing a first transport block size; utilizing a second transport block;
utilizing a first transport block size; utilizing a second transport block;
Yoon [0098]; The basic pattern may be defined based on various X and Y values. Referring to FIG. 7, T-RPT 0 for a first D2D data transmission unit (first MAC PDU in MAC layer, first data TB in physical layer) may be formed of two basic patterns based on X=4 and Y=2 (or a single basic pattern based on X=8 and Y=4), and T-RPT 1 for a second D2D data transmission unit (second MAC PDU in MAC layer, second data TB in physical layer) may be formed of two basic patterns based on X=4 and Y=2 (a single basic pattern based on X=8 and Y=4).
In view of Yoon, Nam is modified such that the first transport block size and second transport block size are utilized.
Nam and Yoon are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, the relay transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Nam in the manner described above to utilize two TBS for sending and receiving of sidelink in TBs to describe the differences between the transmission of the data in sidelink and receipt of the sidelink data.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Yoon in further view of Ji et al. (US 20220400490 A1)(“Ji”).
Regarding claim 19, The method of claim 18, wherein the first transport block size and the second transport block size are different sizes.
Ji [0046] According to some embodiments, when SL grant of mode 1 (e.g., it can be either dynamic or semi-persistent resource(s)) is allocated to the UE, the NW may configure multiple MCSs (i.e., which can accommodate different maximal TB sizes) for using the assigned resource for the UE among single-mode and dual-mode SL LCHs.
In view of Ji, Nam is modified such that the first transport block size and second transport block size are in different sizes.
Nam and Ji are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of data within the transport blocks.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Nam in the manner described above to utilize two TBS for the DL and SL transmission to describe the differences of transmission of the data in sidelink and downlink links more specifically.
Claims 20- 22, 24-26, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Zhou et al. (US 2018/0206174 A1)(“Zhou”).
Regarding claim 20, A method of wireless communication operable at a first device, the method comprising: transmitting at least one indication to at least one second device, the at least one indication configured to indicate that the at least one second device is to monitor for at least one data flow over: at least one first radio link, and at least one second radio link;
Nam [0082]; In another example, a joint QCL indication may be transmitted to the destination UE (UE1) (UE1= second device). The base station (e.g., BE 802), along with the access link and sidelink grant, may send joint access link-sidelink QCL information to destination UE (e.g., UE1 804). For example, the joint QCL information may indicate the transmission and/or reception beams that the UE may use for access link and sidelink transmission and/or reception.
Nam [0038]; The destination UE 104a may have a first access link 120a directly with the base station 102a (one first radio link), and a second communication link with the base station 102a via a sidelink 158a with the relay UE 104 (and at least one second radio link), which has a second access link 120b to the base station 102a.
transmitting, to the at least one second device a first portion of the at least one data flow over the at least one first radio link, the first portion of the at least one data flow comprising downlink (DL) data for the at least one second device;
Nam [0044]; The communication links 120, including access links 120a and 120b, between the base stations 102 and the UEs 104 may include uplink (UL) (also referred to as reverse link) transmissions from a UE 104 to a base station 102 and/or downlink (DL) (DL= first portion of the at least one data flow comprising downlink (DL) data )(also referred to as forward link) transmissions from a base station 102 to a UE 104.
transmitting, to at least one third device, a second portion of the at least one data flow over the at least one second radio link, the second portion of the at least one data flow comprising relay data for the at least one second device;
Nam [0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) (UE2= third device) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received (the second portion of the at least one data flow comprising relay data ) on the access link (sidelink= second radio link) (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804 (UE1= Second device)).
Nam Fig. 7 [0045]; Certain UEs 104, such as relay UE 104b and destination UE 104a, may communicate with each other using device-to-device (D2D) communication link 158, one example of which includes sidelink 158a.
and receiving an indication corresponding to at least one of: the DL data or the relay data.
Nam Fig. 7 [0038]; The relay communication component 121 of the relay UE 104b may include a virtual multi-link component 123, which may be selectively configured to serve as an additional virtual antenna panel for the destination UE 104a by receiving downlink data from the base station 102a via the second access link 120b, or uplink data from the sidelink-assisted multi-link UE 104a via the sidelink 158a, and forwarding the downlink data to the destination UE 104a via the sidelink 158a, or the uplink data to the base station 102a via the access link 120b (UL data= receiving the indication corresponding to the relay data)
Nam does not teach physical layer associated with the first device.
Zhou teaches physical layer associated with the first device.
Zhou [0073]; FIG. 4 illustrates an example layer configuration 400 that supports packet-based link aggregation architectures in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. Layer configuration 400 may apply to a STA 115 or an AP 105, and be for a transmitting wireless device or a receiving wireless device.
Zhou [0074]; As illustrated, layer configuration 400 may include upper layers 405, a MAC layer 410, and one or more PHY layers 435 (e.g., where each PHY layer 435 may in some cases be associated with a respective link or channel).
In view of Zhou, Nam is modified such that the data is transmitted via the physical layer associated with the first device.
Nam and Zhou are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, multi-link transmission of data.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Nam in the manner described above to utilize data transmitting via the physical layer associated with the first device to determine the characteristic of transmission and improve the flexibility of the system (Zhou [0300]).
Regarding claim 21, The method of claim 20, wherein the transmitting of the at least one indication comprises: transmitting a control message indicating the at least one third device comprises a relay for communicating the second portion of the at least one data flow to the first device;
Nam, Fig. 8 [0080]; The grant 808 may be a semi-persistent and/or configured grant, or a dynamic grant given by a control channel (PDCCH 810). A processing offset 814 between the access link slots and the sidelink slots may provide processing time at the relay UEs such as UE2. The slots for sidelink may contain resource SCI (e.g., via PSCCH 816). The aggregated slots for both PDSCH 812 and PSSCH 818 may be used to transmit data according to the allocated resources on the access link or sidelink, respectively (transmitting data according to the allocated resource= one third device comprises a relay for communicating the second portion of the at least one data flow to the first device).
or transmitting a request for channel state information (CSI) corresponding to the at least one second radio link.
Regarding claim 22, The method of claim 21, wherein the transmitting of the indication comprises: indicating, via a medium access control (MAC) entity, an activation of the at least one third device as the relay;
Nam, Fig. 8 [0080]; The grant 808 may be a semi-persistent and/or configured grant, or a dynamic grant given by a control channel (PDCCH 810). A processing offset 814 between the access link slots and the sidelink slots may provide processing time at the relay UEs such as UE2. The slots for sidelink may contain resource SCI (e.g., via PSCCH 816). The aggregated slots for both PDSCH 812 and PSSCH 818 may be used to transmit data according to the allocated resources on the access link or sidelink, respectively (transmitting data according to the allocated resource= activation of the at least one third device as the relay).
or transmitting, via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), DL control information (DCI) identifying the at least one third device as the relay.
Regarding claim 24, The method of claim 20, further comprising: transmitting, to the at least one second device, a control channel comprising scheduling information for the at least one second device to utilize to receive the DL data.
Nam, Fig. 8 [0080]; The grant 808 may be a semi-persistent and/or configured grant, or a dynamic grant given by a control channel (PDCCH 810). A processing offset 814 between the access link slots and the sidelink slots may provide processing time at the relay UEs such as UE2. The slots for sidelink may contain resource SCI (e.g., via PSCCH 816). The aggregated slots for both PDSCH 812 and PSSCH 818 may be used to transmit data according to the allocated resources on the access link or sidelink, respectively.
Regarding claim 25, The method of claim 24, wherein the scheduling information further comprises scheduling information for the at least one second device to utilize to receive the relay data from the at least one third device.
Nam [0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804= second device).
Regarding claim 26, The method of wherein the transmitting of the second portion of the at least one data flow comprises: transmitting, via the second portion of the at least one data flow, a data transmission setting for the at least one third device to utilize to transmit the relay data to the at least one second device,
Nam [0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2= third device) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804= second device).
and wherein the transmitting of the first portion of the at least one data flow comprises: transmitting, via the first portion of the at least one data flow, the data transmission setting for the at least one second device to receive the relay data from the at least one third device.
Nam [0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit = transmitting, via the first portion of the at least one data flow,) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) (UE2= third device) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804= second device).
Regarding claim 28, The method of claim 20, wherein the transmitting of the first portion of the data flow and the transmitting of the second portion of the data flow comprises: transmitting the first portion of the at least one data flow contemporaneously with the second portion of the at least one data flow to provide the at least one second device with the at least one data flow via at least one of: the DL data or the relay data.
Nam [0079]; For example, UE1 may have one or more sidelinks established with one or more relay UEs such as UE2. For the DL/UL data transmission between BS 802 and UE1 804, slot-aggregation and/or multi-slot scheduling grant 808, which allocates at least one slot 806 in the access link and at least one slot 818 in the side link, may be used.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Zhou in further view of Chiu et al. (US 20170289845 A1)(“Chiu”).
Regarding claim 23, The method of claim 21, further comprising:
and determining to transmit the second portion of the at least one data flow over the at least one second radio link.
Nam [0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) (UE2= third device) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received (the second portion of the at least one data flow comprising relay data ) on the access link (sidelink= second radio link) (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804).
Nam Fig. 7 [0045]; Certain UEs 104, such as relay UE 104b and destination UE 104a, may communicate with each other using device-to-device (D2D) communication link 158, one example of which includes sidelink 158a.
Nam does not teach receiving a CSI report from the at least one second device, the CSI report including the CSI corresponding to the at least one second radio link;
Chiu teaches receiving a CSI report from the at least one second device, the CSI report including the CSI corresponding to the at least one second radio link;
Chiu [0016]; The base station receives channel state information (CSI) reported by the source UE, the destination UE, and the relay UE. The base station estimates link qualities of all D2D communication pairs according to the CSI, and determines a suitable D2D communication mode from the source UE to the destination UE according to the link qualities, and transmits a resource grant to the source UE to instruct the source UE to transmit data packets to the destination UE in the suitable D2D communication mode.
In view of Chiu Nam is modified such that the device is receiving a CSI report from the at least one second device, the CSI report including the CSI corresponding to the at least one second radio link;
Nam and Chiu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, sidelink transmission of data.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Nam in the manner described above to receive the CSI report via the sidelink transmission to determine the quality of sidelink channel to adjust the timing and frequency of the channel.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Zhou in further view of Fan et al. (US 20150271804 A1)(“Fan”).
Regarding claim 27, The method of claim 20, wherein the receiving of the indication comprises
over the at least one first radio link,
Nam [0038]; The destination UE 104a may have a first access link 120a directly with the base station 102a (one first radio link),
Nam does not teach receiving, an acknowledgment message during a first timeframe of a first predetermined feedback timeline;
Fan teaches receiving, an acknowledgment message during a first timeframe of a first predetermined feedback timeline;
Fan [0056]; In this embodiment, the sending unit 107 sends the code of the HARQ-ACK information of the feedback information and the code of the CQI information of the feedback information to the second base station 104 through the HS-DPCCH channel, and when the second base station 104 receives the feedback information, the second base station 104 needs to separately process the two pieces of HARQ-ACK information carried on the first time slot, in order to avoid that the second base station 104 obtains no HARQ-ACK information within an appointed duration due to time delay.
In view of Fan, Nam is modified such an acknowledgment message is received during a first timeframe of a first predetermined feedback timeline;
Nam and Fan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of data.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Nam in the manner described above to receive the acknowledgment message in the first and second time frame to improve the flexibility of data transmission.
Conclusion
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with telephone
number of 703-756-1834.
Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478