Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments: On page 10 of Remarks, applicant argues that none of the previous references cited such as Nam, and He does not teach the amended claim 1 as recited “ A method of wireless communication operable at a first device, the method comprising: receiving, from at least one scheduling entity, an indication configured to indicate that the first device is to monitor at least one first radio link and at least one second radio link for at least one data flow from the at least one scheduling entity; receiving at least one of: a first portion of at least one data flow via at least one first radio link, the first portion comprising downlink (DL) data for the first device, or a second portion of the at least one data flow via at least one second radio link, the second portion comprising relay data for the first device; and transmitting an indication a feedback message corresponding to at least one of: the DL data, or the relay data, wherein the feedback message is based on whether the DL data is received during a first feedback timeframe and based on whether the relay data is received during a second feedback timeframe that extends beyond the first feedback timeframe.”
Examiner’s response: Applicant’s argument with respect to claim(s) 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection is found that does not rely on any reference applied in prior art rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments. An updated search was conducted, and a new reference was found as shown in the rejection below.
Please note in rejecting claim 1, and similar claims the limitation “and based on whether the relay
data is received during a second feedback timeframe that extends beyond the first feedback
timeframe" has no patentable weight because the transmitting of feedback message according to the
relay data was not selected for the rejection. As claim 1 recites “a feedback message corresponding to at
least one of: the DL data, or the relay data”, the feedback message corresponding to the DL data was
selected for the rejection. Thus, the feedback timeframe corresponds to the relay data has no
patentable weight.
Similarly, in rejection of claim 10 and similar dependent claims, the limitation “and transmitting, over
the at least one first radio link, a negative acknowledgment in instances where the first device fails to
the relay data during the first feedback timeframe and during the second feedback timeframe” has no
patentable weight because the transmitting of feedback message according to the relay data was not
selected for the rejection of dependent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable in over Nam et al. (US 2021/0037503 A1)(“Nam”) in view of Sano et al. (US 20200195399 A1)(“Sano”).
Regarding claim 1, A method of wireless communication operable at a first device, the method comprising: receiving, from at least one scheduling entity, an indication configured to indicate that the first device is to monitor at least one first radio link and at least one second radio link for at least one data flow from the at least one scheduling entity;
Nam [0082]; In another example, a joint QCL indication may be transmitted to the destination UE (UE1). Specifically, transmission configuration indication (TCI) state/spatial relation can be configured as a combination of one or more QCL source reference signals on different links, such as access link reference signals (AL-RS(s)) and sidelink reference signals (SL-RS(s)). The base station (e.g., BE 802), along with the access link and sidelink grant, may send joint access link-sidelink QCL information to destination UE (e.g., UE1 804). For example, the joint QCL information may indicate the transmission and/or reception beams that the UE may use for access link (first radio link) and sidelink transmission and/or reception (second radio link).
Nam, Fig. 7 [0073]; In a first case, such as in the sidelink relay communication scenarios 500 and 652, the sidelink-assisted multi-link UE 104a directly communicates with the base station 102a via a first access link (AL) 120a, and indirectly communicates with the base station 102a via a sidelink 158a with the relay UE 104b, which has a second access link 120b with the base station 102a.
receiving at least one of: a first portion of at least one data flow via at least one first radio link, the first portion comprising downlink (DL) data for the first device, and
Nam, Fig. 7 [0038]; The destination UE 104a may have a first access link 120a directly with the base station 102a,
Nam, Fig. 7 [0044]; The communication links 120, including access links 120a and 120b, between the base stations 102 and the UEs 104 may include uplink (UL) (also referred to as reverse link) transmissions from a UE 104 to a base station 102 and/or downlink (DL) (also referred to as forward link) transmissions from a base station 102 to a UE 104.
or a second portion of the at least one data flow via at least one second radio link, the second portion comprising relay data for the first device;
Nam does not teach transmitting a feedback message corresponding to at least one of: the DL data, or the relay data, wherein the feedback message is based on whether the DL data is received during a first feedback timeframe and based on whether the relay data is received during a second feedback timeframe that extends beyond the first feedback timeframe.
Sano teaches transmitting a feedback message corresponding to at least one of: the DL data, or the relay data,
Sano [0068] When the data section of the unit time frame is DL as represented by A, the user equipment 100 transmits, for example, ACK/NACK for DL data in the UL control CH section of the unit time frame.
wherein the feedback message is based on whether the DL data is received during a first feedback timeframe and based on whether the relay data is received during a second feedback timeframe that extends beyond the first feedback timeframe.
Sano [0068] When the data section of the unit time frame is DL as represented by A, the user equipment 100 transmits, for example, ACK/NACK for DL data in the UL control CH section of the unit time frame.
[0064]; Hereinafter, for convenience of explanation, the “time slot” is referred to as a “unit time frame”. As illustrated in FIG. 5, the “unit time frame” may be a subframe, may be a slot, or may be a time frame other than the subframe and the slot. The “unit time frame” may be referred to as a transmission time interval (TTI). In addition, the time length of the unit time frame may be a fixed time length that does not change over time or a time length that varies depending on, for example, a packet size.
In view of Sano, Nam is modified such that a feedback message is transmitted corresponding to the DL data.
Nam and Sano are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, receiving feedback based on data transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in
the art to modify Nam in the manner described above for the UE to send feedback when receiving
the DL in the first time frame to form the pattern in the time frames units according to whether the DL
or relay data was received to independently control the data traffic (Sano [0066], and [0004]).
Note: The limitation “and based on whether the relay data is received during a second feedback
timeframe that extends beyond the first feedback timeframe" has no patentable weight as an
alternative limitation “transmitting an indication a feedback message corresponding to at least one
of: relay data” was not selected for rejection in independent claim 1. The same reasoning applies to
other independent claims.
Regarding claim 2, The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one first radio link comprises a communication path between the first device and the at least one scheduling entity,
Nam [0073]; In a first case, such as in the sidelink relay communication scenarios 500 and 652, the sidelink-assisted multi-link UE 104a directly communicates with the base station 102a via a first access link (AL) 120a, and indirectly communicates with the base station 102a via a sidelink 158a with the relay UE 104b, which has a second access link 120b with the base station 102a.
and the at least one second radio link comprises a communication path between the first device and at least one second device.
Nam [0073]; In a first case, such as in the sidelink relay communication scenarios 500 and 652, the sidelink-assisted multi-link UE 104a directly communicates with the base station 102a via a first access link (AL) 120a, and indirectly communicates with the base station 102a via a sidelink 158a with the relay UE 104b (second device), which has a second access link 120b with the base station 102a.
Regarding claim 3, The method of claim 1, wherein the receiving of the indication comprises:
communicating the second portion of at least one data flow to the first device;
Nam, Fig. 8 [0080]; A processing offset 814 between the access link slots and the sidelink slots may provide processing time at the relay UEs such as UE2. The slots for sidelink may contain resource SCI (e.g., via PSCCH 816). The aggregated slots for both PDSCH 812 and PSSCH 818 may be used to transmit data according to the allocated resources on the access link or sidelink, respectively.
receiving a control message indicating the at least one second device comprises a relay for;
Nam, Fig. 8 [0080]; The slots for sidelink may contain resource SCI (e.g., via PSCCH 816). The aggregated slots for both PDSCH 812 and PSSCH 818 may be used to transmit data according to the allocated resources on the access link or sidelink, respectively.
Nam, Fig. 8 [0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804).
or receiving a request, from the scheduling entity, for channel state information (CSI) corresponding to the at least one second radio link.
Regarding claim 4, The method of claim 3, wherein the receiving of the indication comprises: determining, via a medium access control (MAC) entity, an activation of the at least one second device as the relay; determining, via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), DL control information (DCI) identifying the at least one second device as the relay;
or determining, via a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), sidelink (SL) control information (SCI) identifying the at least one second device as the relay,
Nam, Fig. 8 [0080]; The grant 808 may be a semi-persistent and/or configured grant, or a dynamic grant given by a control channel (PDCCH 810). A processing offset 814 between the access link slots and the sidelink slots may provide processing time at the relay UEs such as UE2. The slots for sidelink may contain resource SCI (e.g., via PSCCH 816). The aggregated slots for both PDSCH 812 and PSSCH 818 may be used to transmit data according to the allocated resources on the access link or sidelink, respectively (transmitting data according to the allocated resource= identify at least one second device as the relay).
wherein the second portion of the at least one data flow is received, via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), in tandem with the first portion of the at least one data flow.
Nam, Fig. 8 [0080]; The aggregated slots for both PDSCH 812 and PSSCH 818 may be used to transmit data according to the allocated resources on the access link or sidelink (second portion= relay data), respectively. The grant 808 may be a semi-persistent and/or configured grant, or a dynamic grant given by a control channel (PDCCH 810) (tandem with the first portion of the at least one data flow= downlink=PDCCH)
Regarding claim 6, The method of claim 1, wherein the receiving of the second portion of the at least one data flow comprises: identifying scheduling information for the first device, to utilize to receive the relay data of the at least one data flow;
Nam, Fig. 8 [0079]; Referring to FIG. 8, a resource allocation scheme 800 may support sidelink-assisted virtual multi-link. For example, base station (BS) 802 may be the same as or similar to base station 102. The second UE (UE2) may be the same as or similar to relay UE 104b, and the first UE (UE1) may correspond to sidelink-assisted multi-link UE 104a. For example, UE1 may have one or more sidelinks established with one or more relay UEs such as UE2. For the DL/UL data transmission between BS 802 and UE1 804, slot-aggregation and/or multi-slot scheduling grant 808, which allocates at least one slot 806 in the access link and at least one slot 818 in the side link, may be used.
Nam [0081]; In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804). Relaying may be contingent on the relay UE's (UE2) successful decoding of the access link.
and receiving the relay data according to the scheduling information.
Nam [0079]; For the DL/UL data transmission between BS 802 and UE1 804, slot-aggregation and/or multi-slot scheduling grant 808, which allocates at least one slot 806 in the access link and at least one slot 818 in the side link, may be used.
Nam [0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804). Relaying may be contingent on the relay UE's (UE2) successful decoding of the access link.
Regarding claim 7, The method of claim 6, wherein the receiving of the indication comprises: receiving a control channel from at least one of: at least one second device or the at least one scheduling entity,
Nam [0079]; For the DL/UL data transmission between BS 802 and UE1 804, slot-aggregation and/or multi-slot scheduling grant 808, which allocates at least one slot 806 in the access link and at least one slot 818 in the side link, may be used.
Nam [0080];The grant 808 may be a semi-persistent and/or configured grant, or a dynamic grant given by a control channel (PDCCH 810).
the control channel comprising the scheduling information for the first device to utilize to receive the relay data.
Nam [0079] Referring to FIG. 8, a resource allocation scheme 800 may support sidelink-assisted virtual multi-link.
Nam [0080] The grant 808 may be a semi-persistent and/or configured grant, or a dynamic grant given by a control channel (PDCCH 810). A processing offset 814 between the access link slots and the sidelink slots may provide processing time at the relay UEs such as UE2. The slots for sidelink may contain resource SCI (e.g., via PSCCH 816). The aggregated slots for both PDSCH 812 and PSSCH 818 may be used to transmit data according to the allocated resources on the access link or sidelink, respectively.
Nam [0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804). Relaying may be contingent on the relay UE's (UE2) successful decoding of the access link (scheduling information for the first device to utilize to receive the relay data).
Regarding claim 48, A device for wireless communication (Nam, Fig. 11, Ref. 102) comprising: one or more memories (Nam, Fig. 11, Ref. 1216); and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories , the one or more processors (Nam, Fig. 11, Ref. 1212) individually or collectively configured to cause the device to:
receive, from at least one scheduling entity, an indication configured to indicate that the device is to monitor at least one first radio link and at least one second radio link for at least one data flow from the at least one scheduling entity;
Nam [0082]; In another example, a joint QCL indication may be transmitted to the destination UE (UE1). Specifically, transmission configuration indication (TCI) state/spatial relation can be configured as a combination of one or more QCL source reference signals on different links, such as access link reference signals (AL-RS(s)) and sidelink reference signals (SL-RS(s)). The base station (e.g., BE 802), along with the access link and sidelink grant, may send joint access link-sidelink QCL information to destination UE (e.g., UE1 804). For example, the joint QCL information may indicate the transmission and/or reception beams that the UE may use for access link (first radio link) and sidelink transmission and/or reception (second radio link).
Nam, Fig. 7 [0073]; In a first case, such as in the sidelink relay communication scenarios 500 and 652, the sidelink-assisted multi-link UE 104a directly communicates with the base station 102a via a first access link (AL) 120a, and indirectly communicates with the base station 102a via a sidelink 158a with the relay UE 104b, which has a second access link 120b with the base station 102a.
receive at least one of: a first portion of at least one data flow via at least one first radio link, the first portion comprising downlink (DL) data for the first device,
Nam, Fig. 7 [0038]; The destination UE 104a may have a first access link 120a directly with the base station 102a,
Nam, Fig. 7 [0044]; The communication links 120, including access links 120a and 120b, between the base stations 102 and the UEs 104 may include uplink (UL) (also referred to as reverse link) transmissions from a UE 104 to a base station 102 and/or downlink (DL) (also referred to as forward link) transmissions from a base station 102 to a UE 104.
or a second portion of the at least one data flow via at least one second radio link, the second portion comprising relay data for the first device; and
Nam does not teach transmitting a feedback message corresponding to at least one of: the DL data, or the relay data, wherein the feedback message is based on whether the DL data is received during a first feedback timeframe and based on whether the relay data is received during a second feedback timeframe that extends beyond the first feedback timeframe.
Sano teaches transmitting a feedback message corresponding to at least one of: the DL data, or the relay data,
Sano [0068] When the data section of the unit time frame is DL as represented by A, the user equipment 100 transmits, for example, ACK/NACK for DL data in the UL control CH section of the unit time frame.
wherein the feedback message is based on whether the DL data is received during a first feedback timeframe and based on whether the relay data is received during a second feedback timeframe that extends beyond the first feedback timeframe.
Sano [0068] When the data section of the unit time frame is DL as represented by A, the user equipment 100 transmits, for example, ACK/NACK for DL data in the UL control CH section of the unit time frame.
[0064]; Hereinafter, for convenience of explanation, the “time slot” is referred to as a “unit time frame”. As illustrated in FIG. 5, the “unit time frame” may be a subframe, may be a slot, or may be a time frame other than the subframe and the slot. The “unit time frame” may be referred to as a transmission time interval (TTI). In addition, the time length of the unit time frame may be a fixed time length that does not change over time or a time length that varies depending on, for example, a packet size.
In view of Sano, Nam is modified such that a feedback message is transmitted corresponding to the DL data.
Nam and Sano are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, receiving feedback based on data transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in
the art to modify Nam in the manner described above for the UE to send feedback when receiving
the DL in the first time frame to form the pattern in the time frames units according to whether the DL
or relay data was received to independently control the data traffic (Sano [0066], and [0004]).
Claims 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Sano in further view of Kaur et al. (US 2015/0131536 A1)(“Kaur”).
Regarding claim 5, The method of claim 3, further comprising:
The at least one second radio link ;
Nam [0073]; In a first case, such as in the sidelink relay communication scenarios 500 and 652, the sidelink-assisted multi-link UE 104a directly communicates with the base station 102a via a first access link (AL) 120a, and indirectly communicates with the base station 102a via a sidelink 158a with the relay UE 104b (second device), which has a second access link 120b with the base station 102
and determining to monitor the at least one second radio link for the second portion of the at least one data flow.
Nam, Fig. 8 [0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data (relay data= second portion of the at least one data flow) received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804 = first device). Relaying may be contingent on the relay UE's (UE2) successful decoding of the access link. If the relay UE (UE2) fails in decoding data on the access link, the relay UE may skip relaying. If the SCI can be delivered to the destination node, the relay UE may notify the destination node of the decoding failure event.
Nam does not teach obtaining the channel state information (CSI); transmitting a CSI report to the at least one second device,
Kaur teaches obtaining the channel state information (CSI);
Kaur [0058]; Wireless devices may use licensed exempt spectrum as new bands in addition to the existing bands to transmit to a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (obtaining licensed exempt) in the downlink direction. The wireless devices may access license exempt spectrum for bandwidth aggregation or relaying using a carrier aggregation framework.
Kaur [0122] The supplementary component carrier(second radio link) in the license exempt spectrum may be used for the PDSCH, and the reference signals necessary for CSI estimation and PDSCH demodulation.
transmitting a CSI report to the at least one second device,
Kaur [0058]; Wireless devices may use licensed exempt spectrum as new bands in addition to the existing bands to transmit to a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) in the downlink direction. The wireless devices may access license exempt spectrum for bandwidth aggregation or relaying using a carrier aggregation framework.
Kaur [0122] The supplementary component carrier(second radio link) in the license exempt spectrum may be used for the PDSCH, and the reference signals necessary for CSI estimation and PDSCH demodulation.
the CSI report including the CSI corresponding to the at least one second radio link;
Kaur [0058]; Wireless devices may use licensed exempt spectrum as new bands in addition to the existing bands to transmit to a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (transmitting licensed exempt) in the downlink direction. The wireless devices may access license exempt spectrum for bandwidth aggregation or relaying using a carrier aggregation framework.
Kaur [0122] The supplementary component carrier in the license exempt spectrum (= corresponding to the at least one second radio link ) may be used for the PDSCH, and the reference signals necessary for CSI estimation and PDSCH demodulation.
In view of Kaur, Nam is modified such that the CSI report is transmitted to the at least one second device.
Nam and Zhou are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, multi-link transmission of data.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Nam in the manner described above to transmit the CSI report to the second user via the sidelink transmission to determine the quality of sidelink channel to adjust the timing and frequency of the channel (Kaur [0122]).
Claim 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Sano in further view of Kang et al. (US 2018/0035276 A1)( “Kang”).
Regarding Claim 8, The method of claim 1, wherein the receiving of the second portion of the at least one data flow comprises:
receiving, the relay data according;
Nam [0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804).
Nam does not teach physical layer associated with at least one second device, the predefined rule indicating an allocation of communication resources relative to a physical layer associated with the first device.
Kang teaches physical layer associated with the at least one second device, the predefined rule indicating an allocation of communication resources relative to a physical layer associated with the first device.
Kang [0135]; The transmission resource may be selected from a preconfigured resource pool in order to discover device to device communication.
In operation 715, the relay UE transmits the L2 signaling through the selected transmission resource. The L2 signaling is generated such that the PDCP layer includes a relay UE discovery indicator or the MAC layer includes a relay UE discovery indicator. Alternatively, the physical layer of the relay UE may mask a resource allocation indicator (Scheduling Assignment: SA) indicating a transmission resource used for transmitting the L2 signaling with the relay UE discovery indicator, and transmit the same. When the SA indicator is masked with the relay UE discovery indicator, a relay UE request message configured by a service layer signaling format may be transmitted through the transmission resource.
In view of Kang, Nam is modified such the predefined rule indicating an allocation of communication resources relative to a physical layer associated with the first device.
Nam and Kang are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, the relay transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Nam in the manner described above to provide the efficient relay discovery transmission (Kang [0015]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Sano in further view of Zhou et al. (US 2021/0050950 A1) (“Zhou”) in view Chen et al. (US 2010/0238823 A1)(“Chen”).
Regarding claim 9, The method of claim 1 wherein the receiving of the first portion of the at least one data flow comprises:
receive the DL data;
Nam, Fig. 7 [0038]; The destination UE 104a may have a first access link 120a directly with the base station 102a,
Nam, Fig. 7 [0044]; The communication links 120, including access links 120a and 120b, between the base stations 102 and the UEs 104 may include uplink (UL) (also referred to as reverse link) transmissions from a UE 104 to a base station 102 and/or downlink (DL) (also referred to as forward link) transmissions from a base station 102 to a UE 104.
and wherein the receiving of the second portion of the at least one data flow comprises: to receive the relay data,
Nam [0081]; In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804). Relaying may be contingent on the relay UE's (UE2) successful decoding of the access link.
DL data of the first portion of the at least one data flow;
Nam, Fig. 7 [0044]; The communication links 120, including access links 120a and 120b, between the base stations 102 and the UEs 104 may include uplink (UL) (also referred to as reverse link) transmissions from a UE 104 to a base station 102 and/or downlink (DL) (also referred to as forward link) transmissions from a base station 102 to a UE 104.
Nam does not teach utilizing a first transport block size; second transport block size;
Zhou teaches utilizing a first transport block size; second transport block size;
Zhou [0018]; information of TB-based downlink transmission and/or second HARQ-ACK feedback information of TB-based sidelink transmission,
In view of Zhou, Nam is modified such that the first transport block size and second transport block size are utilized.
Nam and Zhou are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, the relay and downlink transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Nam in the manner described above to utilize two TBS for the DL and SL transmission to describe the differences of transmission of the data in sidelink and downlink links more specifically.
Nam in view Zhou does not teach the second transport block size differing from the first transport block size.
Chen teaches the second transport block size differing from the first transport block size.
Chen [0031]; However, the TB sizes for the three PDCCH grants in FIG. 3 are inconsistent. In particular, the first PDCCH grant indicates a TB size of TBS1 whereas the two subsequent PDCCH grants indicate a TB size of TBS2, which is not equal to TBS1.
In view of Chen, Nam is modified such that the first transport block size and second transport block size are in different sizes.
Nam and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of data within the transport blocks.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Nam in the manner described above to utilize two TBS for the DL and SL transmission to describe the differences of transmission of the data in sidelink and downlink links more specifically.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Sano in
further view of He (WO 2014/146462 A1).
Regarding claim 10, The method of claim 1, wherein the transmitting of the indication corresponding to the DL data comprises: transmitting, over the at least one first radio link, an acknowledgment message corresponding to the DL data when the first device receives the DL data during a first timeframe of a first predetermined feedback timeline;
He, Page 4, [0012]; if the decoding is successful, according to the feedback rule, in the first time slot or the second In the time slot, the acknowledgement ACK information is sent to the base station by using the DPCCH (first radio link), so that the base station stops sending downlink data to the user equipment according to the ACK information.
And transmitting, over the at least one first radio link, a negative acknowledgment in instances where the first device fails to receive the DL data and the relay data during the first feedback timeframe and during [[a]]the second feedback timeframe.
He Page 2, [0007]; The user equipment decodes the received downlink data, and if the decoding is unsuccessful, sends a negative to the base station by using the DPCCH in the first time slot or the second time slot according to a feedback rule (predetermined feedback timeline).
Page 5, [0006]; In a second possible implementation manner of the fourth aspect, the user equipment passes the DPCCH in a second preset number of second time slots according to the decoding situation of the downlink data by the user equipment. The sending the NACK information or the ACK information to the base station includes: if the user equipment does not successfully decode the downlink data before the end of the second preset number of second time slots, the user equipment is in each In the second preset number of second slots, the NACK information is sent to the base station by using the DPCCH.
In view of He, Nam is modified such that to transmit the ACK message upon decoding the downlink and NACK when the decoding fails.
Nam and He are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, transmission of downlink data.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Nam in the manner described above for the first UE to transmit the acknowledgment message to show the receipt of downlink and NACK to show the failure of data transmission to improve the flexibility of data transmission (He, page 2 [0002]).
Note: The limitation “where the first device fails to receive the relay data during the first feedback timeframe and during the second feedback timeframe” has no patentable weight as it depends on an alternative limitation that was not selected for rejection in independent claim 1."
Claims 20- 22, 24-26, 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Zhou et al. (US 2018/0206174 A1)(“Zhou”) in further view of Sano.
Regarding claim 20, A method of wireless communication operable at a first device, the method comprising: transmitting at least one indication to at least one second device, the at least one indication configured to indicate that the at least one second device is to monitor for at least one data flow over: at least one first radio link, and at least one second radio link;
Nam [0082]; In another example, a joint QCL indication may be transmitted to the destination UE (UE1) (UE1= second device). The base station (e.g., BE 802), along with the access link and sidelink grant, may send joint access link-sidelink QCL information to destination UE (e.g., UE1 804). For example, the joint QCL information may indicate the transmission and/or reception beams that the UE may use for access link and sidelink transmission and/or reception.
Nam [0038]; The destination UE 104a may have a first access link 120a directly with the base station 102a (one first radio link), and a second communication link with the base station 102a via a sidelink 158a with the relay UE 104 (and at least one second radio link), which has a second access link 120b to the base station 102a.
transmitting, to the at least one second device a first portion of the at least one data flow over the at least one first radio link, the first portion of the at least one data flow comprising downlink (DL) data for the at least one second device;
Nam [0044]; The communication links 120, including access links 120a and 120b, between the base stations 102 and the UEs 104 may include uplink (UL) (also referred to as reverse link) transmissions from a UE 104 to a base station 102 and/or downlink (DL) (DL= first portion of the at least one data flow comprising downlink (DL) data )(also referred to as forward link) transmissions from a base station 102 to a UE 104.
transmitting, to at least one third device, a second portion of the at least one data flow over the at least one second radio link, the second portion of the at least one data flow comprising relay data for the at least one second device;
Nam [0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) (UE2= third device) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received (the second portion of the at least one data flow comprising relay data ) on the access link (sidelink= second radio link) (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804 (UE1= Second device)).
Nam Fig. 7 [0045]; Certain UEs 104, such as relay UE 104b and destination UE 104a, may communicate with each other using device-to-device (D2D) communication link 158, one example of which includes sidelink 158a.
Nam does not teach physical layer associated with the first device.
Zhou teaches physical layer associated with the first device.
Zhou [0073]; FIG. 4 illustrates an example layer configuration 400 that supports packet-based link aggregation architectures in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. Layer configuration 400 may apply to a STA 115 or an AP 105, and be for a transmitting wireless device or a receiving wireless device.
Zhou [0074]; As illustrated, layer configuration 400 may include upper layers 405, a MAC layer 410, and one or more PHY layers 435 (e.g., where each PHY layer 435 may in some cases be associated with a respective link or channel).
In view of Zhou, Nam is modified such that the data is transmitted via the physical layer associated with the first device.
Nam and Zhou are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, multi-link transmission of data.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Nam in the manner described above to utilize data transmitting via the physical layer associated with the first device to determine the characteristic of transmission and improve the flexibility of the system (Zhou [0300]).
Nam does not teach transmitting a feedback message corresponding to at least one of: the DL data, or the relay data, wherein the feedback message is based on whether the DL data is received during a first feedback timeframe and based on whether the relay data is received during a second feedback timeframe that extends beyond the first feedback timeframe.
Sano teaches transmitting a feedback message corresponding to at least one of: the DL data, or the relay data,
Sano [0068] When the data section of the unit time frame is DL as represented by A, the user equipment 100 transmits, for example, ACK/NACK for DL data in the UL control CH section of the unit time frame.
wherein the feedback message is based on whether the DL data is received during a first feedback timeframe and based on whether the relay data is received during a second feedback timeframe that extends beyond the first feedback timeframe.
Sano [0068] When the data section of the unit time frame is DL as represented by A, the user equipment 100 transmits, for example, ACK/NACK for DL data in the UL control CH section of the unit time frame.
[0064]; Hereinafter, for convenience of explanation, the “time slot” is referred to as a “unit time frame”. As illustrated in FIG. 5, the “unit time frame” may be a subframe, may be a slot, or may be a time frame other than the subframe and the slot. The “unit time frame” may be referred to as a transmission time interval (TTI). In addition, the time length of the unit time frame may be a fixed time length that does not change over time or a time length that varies depending on, for example, a packet size.
In view of Sano, Nam is modified such that a feedback message is transmitted corresponding to the DL data.
Nam and Sano are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, receiving feedback based on data transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in
the art to modify Nam in the manner described above for the UE to send feedback when receiving
the DL in the first time frame to form the pattern in the time frames units according to whether the DL
or relay data was received to independently control the data traffic (Sano [0066], and [0004])
Regarding claim 21, The method of claim 20, wherein the transmitting of the at least one indication comprises: transmitting a control message indicating the at least one third device comprises a relay for communicating the second portion of the at least one data flow to the first device;
Nam, Fig. 8 [0080]; The grant 808 may be a semi-persistent and/or configured grant, or a dynamic grant given by a control channel (PDCCH 810). A processing offset 814 between the access link slots and the sidelink slots may provide processing time at the relay UEs such as UE2. The slots for sidelink may contain resource SCI (e.g., via PSCCH 816). The aggregated slots for both PDSCH 812 and PSSCH 818 may be used to transmit data according to the allocated resources on the access link or sidelink, respectively (transmitting data according to the allocated resource= one third device comprises a relay for communicating the second portion of the at least one data flow to the first device).
or transmitting a request for channel state information (CSI) corresponding to the at least one second radio link.
Regarding claim 22, The method of claim 21, wherein the transmitting of the indication comprises: indicating, via a medium access control (MAC) entity, an activation of the at least one third device as the relay;
Nam, Fig. 8 [0080]; The grant 808 may be a semi-persistent and/or configured grant, or a dynamic grant given by a control channel (PDCCH 810). A processing offset 814 between the access link slots and the sidelink slots may provide processing time at the relay UEs such as UE2. The slots for sidelink may contain resource SCI (e.g., via PSCCH 816). The aggregated slots for both PDSCH 812 and PSSCH 818 may be used to transmit data according to the allocated resources on the access link or sidelink, respectively (transmitting data according to the allocated resource= activation of the at least one third device as the relay).
or transmitting, via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), DL control information (DCI) identifying the at least one third device as the relay.
Regarding claim 24, The method of claim 20, further comprising: transmitting, to the at least one second device, a control channel comprising scheduling information for the at least one second device to utilize to receive the DL data.
Nam, Fig. 8 [0080]; The grant 808 may be a semi-persistent and/or configured grant, or a dynamic grant given by a control channel (PDCCH 810). A processing offset 814 between the access link slots and the sidelink slots may provide processing time at the relay UEs such as UE2. The slots for sidelink may contain resource SCI (e.g., via PSCCH 816). The aggregated slots for both PDSCH 812 and PSSCH 818 may be used to transmit data according to the allocated resources on the access link or sidelink, respectively.
Regarding claim 25, The method of claim 24, wherein the scheduling information further comprises scheduling information for the at least one second device to utilize to receive the relay data from the at least one third device.
Nam [0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804= second device).
Regarding claim 26, The method of wherein the transmitting of the second portion of the at least one data flow comprises: transmitting, via the second portion of the at least one data flow, a data transmission setting for the at least one third device to utilize to transmit the relay data to the at least one second device,
Nam [0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2= third device) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804= second device).
and wherein the transmitting of the first portion of the at least one data flow comprises: transmitting, via the first portion of the at least one data flow, the data transmission setting for the at least one second device to receive the relay data from the at least one third device.
Nam [0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit = transmitting, via the first portion of the at least one data flow,) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) (UE2= third device) may forward the data received on the access link (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804= second device).
Regarding claim 27, The method of claim 20, wherein the transmitting of the feedback message corresponding to the DL data comprises: transmitting, over the at least one first radio link, an acknowledgment message corresponding to the DL data when the first device receives the DL data during the first feedback time frame;
Sano [0068] When the data section of the unit time frame is DL as represented by A, the user equipment 100 transmits, for example, ACK/NACK for DL data in the UL control CH section of the unit time frame.
Sano [0064]; Hereinafter, for convenience of explanation, the “time slot” is referred to as a “unit time frame”. As illustrated in FIG. 5, the “unit time frame” may be a subframe, may be a slot, or may be a time frame other than the subframe and the slot. The “unit time frame” may be referred to as a transmission time interval (TTI). In addition, the time length of the unit time frame may be a fixed time length that does not change over time or a time length that varies depending on, for example, a packet size.
And transmitting, over the at least one first radio link, a negative acknowledgment in instances where the first device fails to receive the DL data and the relay data during the first feedback timeframe and during the second feedback timeframe.
Sano [0068] When the data section of the unit time frame is DL as represented by A, the user equipment 100 transmits, for example, ACK/NACK for DL data in the UL control CH section of the unit time frame.
Sano [0064]; Hereinafter, for convenience of explanation, the “time slot” is referred to as a “unit time frame”. As illustrated in FIG. 5, the “unit time frame” may be a subframe, may be a slot, or may be a time frame other than the subframe and the slot. The “unit time frame” may be referred to as a transmission time interval (TTI). In addition, the time length of the unit time frame may be a fixed time length that does not change over time or a time length that varies depending on, for example, a packet size.
Note: The limitation “where the first device fails to receive the relay data during the first feedback timeframe and during the second feedback timeframe” has no patentable weight as it depends on an alternative limitation that was not selected for rejection in independent claim 1."
In view of Sano, Nam is modified such that a feedback message is transmitted corresponding to the DL data.
Nam and Sano are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, receiving feedback based on data transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in
the art to modify Nam in the manner described above for the UE to send feedback when receiving
the DL in the first time frame to form the pattern in the time frames units according to whether the DL
or relay data was received to independently control the data traffic (Sano [0066], and [0004])
Regarding claim 28, The method of claim 20, wherein the transmitting of the first portion of the data flow and the transmitting of the second portion of the data flow comprises: transmitting the first portion of the at least one data flow contemporaneously with the second portion of the at least one data flow to provide the at least one second device with the at least one data flow via at least one of: the DL data or the relay data.
Nam [0079]; For example, UE1 may have one or more sidelinks established with one or more relay UEs such as UE2. For the DL/UL data transmission between BS 802 and UE1 804, slot-aggregation and/or multi-slot scheduling grant 808, which allocates at least one slot 806 in the access link and at least one slot 818 in the side link, may be used.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam in view of Zhou in further view of Sano in further view of Chiu et al. (US 20170289845 A1)(“Chiu”).
Regarding claim 23, The method of claim 21, further comprising:
and determining to transmit the second portion of the at least one data flow over the at least one second radio link.
Nam [0081] In one example, a relay UE or node (e.g., UE2 804) (UE2= third device) may receive a grant (e.g., either implicit or explicit) for access link and sidelink resources from BS 802. On the access link resource, relay UE (e.g., UE2) may receive data from the BS (BS 802) or UE (UE1) (UL relaying). On the sidelink resources, relay UE (UE2) may forward the data received (the second portion of the at least one data flow comprising relay data ) on the access link (sidelink= second radio link) (e.g., potentially in a modified format) to the destination node (e.g., BS 802 or UE1 804).
Nam Fig. 7 [0045]; Certain UEs 104, such as relay UE 104b and destination UE 104a, may communicate with each other using device-to-device (D2D) communication link 158, one example of which includes sidelink 158a.
Nam does not teach receiving a CSI report from the at least one second device, the CSI report including the CSI corresponding to the at least one second radio link;
Chiu teaches receiving a CSI report from the at least one second device, the CSI report including the CSI corresponding to the at least one second radio link;
Chiu [0016]; The base station receives channel state information (CSI) reported by the source UE, the destination UE, and the relay UE. The base station estimates link qualities of all D2D communication pairs according to the CSI, and determines a suitable D2D communication mode from the source UE to the destination UE according to the link qualities, and transmits a resource grant to the source UE to instruct the source UE to transmit data packets to the destination UE in the suitable D2D communication mode.
In view of Chiu Nam is modified such that the device is receiving a CSI report from the at least one second device, the CSI report including the CSI corresponding to the at least one second radio link;
Nam and Chiu are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, sidelink transmission of data.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Nam in the manner described above to receive the CSI report via the sidelink transmission to determine the quality of sidelink channel to adjust the timing and frequency of the channel.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with telephone
number of 703-756-1834.
Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478