DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-29, 31-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Austrheim (US12286294) in view of Aono (JP201630685).
Referring to claim 24. Austrheim discloses a “Expansion Joint, System, and Method For Connecting Regions of a Rail-Based Grid Storage System”. See Figs. 1-8 and respective portions of specification. Austrheim further discloses a grid framework structure for supporting a load handling device operative to move one or more containers, the grid framework structure (100) comprising: a plurality of upright members (102) interconnected by grid members forming a track system with grid cells, rail system (108) comprising a first set of rails (110) in a first direction and a second set of rails (111) in a second direction, transverse to the first, forming grid cells (122) (See at least Sects. 0003-0004, 0007-0009). Thus, the reference discloses a grid frameworks structure comprising a plurality of upright members arranged to form vertical locations for one or more containers to be guided by an upright member in a vertical direction. Austrheim further discloses the grid structure including a track system positioned on the plurality of grid members, the track system including a plurality of tracks arranged in the grid pattern (See Sect. 007, 0017). Further, Austrheim discloses the grid structure including a first region and a second region connected by a bridging joint assembly and wherein the grid arrangement of rails defines a plurality of grid cells (See Sect. 0037, 0050-0051, 0089, 0099-0103) and an expansion joint (10) comprising first rail element (122) and second rail element (11) configured to slide relative to one another in a junction area, connecting the two regions. Thus, Austrheim teaches a bridging joint assembly arranged as a connection between a first region and a second region of the grid structure. Austrheim does not disclose explicitly that the bridging joint assembly includes at least one mechanical fuse arranged to break under an applied load greater than or equal to a predetermined load, said predetermined load being lower than the load for breaking interconnections between the upright members and grid members, so as to allow the first region to separate from the second region when the applied load exceeds the predetermined load. Aono discloses a “Base Isolation Structure of Automated Warehouse Rack”. See Figs. 1-9 and respective portions of the specification. Aono further discloses a seismic isolation structure for an automatic rack comprising a trigger mechanism with a frangible element that fails at a predetermined, adjustable load threshold to permit controlled relative displacement under excess seismic load while preventing displacement during normal operation and further discloses a lock pin (30) fixed between a rack foundation (1) and a warehouse floor (4), the lock pin having a notch (30a) of predetermined depth such that the strength at the notched portion is a strength that can withstand the load in the horizontal direction acting on the rack floor from the rack foundation by the inertia force at the time of traveling and stopping of the stacker crane (2) at normal times, and at time sheared by the horizontal load acting on the rack foundation from the warehouse floor during a seismic event (Sect. 0041). Aono further discloses when a horizontal load exceeding the shear strength at the notch of the lock pin acts in the X direction during an event, the lock pin breaks at the notch, whereby the relative displacement of the rack foundation occurs (Sect. 0044). Thus, Aono discloses a mechanical fuse (lock pin with shear notch) arranged to break under an applied load exceeding a predetermined threshold so as to permit controlled relative separation/displacement between two connected structural regions, while remaining intact under operational loads. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bridging joint assembly of Ausrheim to incorporate a mechanical fuse of the type taught by Aono, configured with a predetermined breaking load lower than the load required to break the upright/grid member interconnections, in order to provide a controlled, damage isolating failure point that protects the overall grid structure from cascading structural failure.
Referring to claim 25. Austrheim in view of Aono disclose the combination set forth above as applied to claim 24. Austrheim discloses the bridging joint assembly and grid architecture but does not disclose a mechanical fuse that comprises at least one shear pin that is configured to break when the applied load in a direction parallel to the first or the second direction exceeds the predetermined load. Aono discloses a mechanical fuse comprising a shear pin that includes a lock pin fitted between an upper jig, the lock pin having a notch of predetermined depth formed around its circumference (See Sect. 0038-0041) and likewise discloses that the notch’s strength is calibrated so that the pin withstands the horizontal load generated by ordinary stacker crane travel stopping in the X direction, but is cut (sheared) by the horizontal load acting on the rack foundation from the warehouse floor, when a load exceeding that threshold is applied in the X direction during a stress event (Sect. 0041, 0044), and moreover discloses that the shearing action occurs for loads acting in the X direction, parallel to the direction of relative displacement the joint is designed to permit, while the loads in the orthogonal Y direction are accommodated by the joint’s normal sliding (rolling) action without engaging the shear mechanism (See Sect. 0042-0043). Thus, Aono teaches a shear pin configured to break when the applied load in a direction parallel to a defined direction of the joint exceeds a predetermined threshold. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the mechanical fuse of Austrheim as a shear pin of the type taught by Aono, in order to provide a controlled, damage isolating failure point that protects the overall grid structure from cascading structural failure while providing a low cost, easily calibrated element that reliably remains intact during operations while breaking under excess load.
Referring to claim 26. Austrheim in view of Aono disclose the combination set forth above as applied to claim 24. Austrheim further discloses wherein the bridging joint assembly is configured for connecting ends of adjacent grid members in the grid structure. More, specifically Austrheim discloses an bridging joint (expansion joint 10) connects first set of rails to second set of rails at their ends (See Sect. 0099-0103).
Referring to claim 27. Austrheim in view of Aono disclose the combination set forth above as applied to claim 24. Austrheim doesn’t disclose a bracket including a plurality of fasteners, wherein at least one of the fasteners includes at least one mechanical fuse such that bracket is arranged to separate from at least one end of the adjacent grid members when an applied load exceeds the predetermined load. It should be noted that Austrheim discloses a bracket-like connection element (14) fastened by a screw/bolt (15). Anon as discussed above discloses a mechanical fuse in the form of a shear pin that is configured to break/separate when an applied load exceeds the predetermined load. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure at least one of the fastening means (screw/bolt) used in Austrheim’s bracket connection element joint as a predetermined load frangible fastener of the type taught by Aono such as a shear notched lock pin, rather than the standard fixed fastener, as the bracket joint is a mechanically efficient location to incorporate a load triggered release function, and locating a shear calibrated fastener directly within an existing structural connection allows the set load to be easily adjusted and for avoidance with the normal system operation, and incorporating the fuse into a fastener is simpler and leads to a lower part count implementation.
Referring to claim 28. Austrheim in view of Aono disclose the combination set forth above as applied to claim 24. Austrheim discloses wherein the bridging joint assembly comprises: at least one slide bearing that is arranged to cooperate with a slot in the bracket and/or the at least one end of the adjacent grid members in a junction area where the at least one bracket is configured and arranged to overlap the at least one end of the adjacent grid member so as to enable the at least one bracket and the at least one end of the adjacent grid members to slide relative to each other (See Sects. 0103-0106).
Referring to claim 29. Austrheim in view of Aono disclose the combination set forth above as applied to claim 24. Austrheim discloses wherein the at least one bracket comprises a first bracket (30’) and a second bracket (30’’) arranged on opposing sides of the at least one end of the adjacent grid members (See Sects. 0107-0117).
Referring to claim 31. Austrheim in view of Aono disclose the combination set forth above as applied to claim 24. Austrheim discloses wherein the bridging joint assembly comprises an expansion joint including a first track element and a second track element, a bridging member extending across ends of the first and second track elements so as to provide a continuous track surface extending longitudinally in the first or second direction across the ends of the first and second track elements (See Sect. 0037, 0099-0106).
Referring to claim 32. Austrheim in view of Aono disclose the combination set forth above as applied to claim 24. Austrheim discloses wherein the bridging member comprises a first end attached to the first track element and a second end moveable relative to the second track element (See Sect. 0103).
Referring to claim 33. Austrheim in view of Aono disclose the combination set forth above as applied to claim 24. Austrheim discloses wherein the second end of the bridging member is configured to be received in a correspondingly shaped recess (17) in the second track element (See Sect. 0103-0106).
Referring to claim 34. Austrheim in view of Aono disclose the combination set forth above as applied to claim 24. Austrheim discloses wherein the bridging member comprises a guide member constrained to slide along a groove in the second track element (See Sect. 0107-0117)
Referring to claim 35. Austrheim in view of Aono disclose the combination set forth above as applied to claim 24. Austrheim discloses wherein the bridging joint assembly comprises a support arranged to support the bridging member in a junction area between the ends of the first and second track elements (See Sect. 0099-0106).
Referring to claim 36. Austrheim in view of Aono disclose the combination set forth above as applied to claim 24. Austrheim in view of Aono does not disclose that the combination teaches a grid framework structure including a first region of the grid structure is arranged on a mezzanine level. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the first region of the Austrheim and Aono combination grid structure on a mezzanine level, since doing so amounts to nothing more than applying a well-known conventional facility layout practice to the known two region grid structure of the combination, in order to accommodate personnel work areas, pick stations or conveyor access at an elevated level.
Referring to claim 37. Austrheim in view of Aono disclose the combination set forth above as applied to claim 24. Austrheim discloses wherein at least a portion of the plurality of upright members are configured and arranged to form a plurality of vertical storage columns for one or more storage containers to be stacked between the at least portion of the plurality of the upright members. More specifically, Austrheim discloses that the grid framework structure includes storage columns arranged in rows, in which storage columns storage containers are stacked to form stacks and that the container handling vehicle is configured for lowering a storage container into, and lifting a storage container from, a storage column (See Sect. 0004) and further that the storage columns are located between and guided by the upright members of eh framework.
Claim(s) 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Austrheim (US12286294) in view of Aono (JP201630685) and in further view of Fjeldheim (US11360465).
Referring to claim 43. Austrheim in view of Aono disclose the combination set forth above as applied to claim 24. Austrheim discloses a grid framework structure; including storage columns located below the grid, each vertically below a grid cell (Sect. 0004), storage columns arranged in rows, storage containers (106) stacked to form stacks (107) (Sect. 0007) and a container handling vehicle rail system (108) arranged in a grid pattern across the top of the storage. Austrheim does not disclose a plurality of load handling devices configured to be remotely operated to move laterally on the grid. Fjeldheim et al (herein “Fjeldheim”) discloses a “Automated Storage and Retrieval System”. See Figs. 1-19 and respective portions of the specification. Fjeldheim discloses a plurality of container handling vehicles configured for lifting and moving storage containers, remotely operated to move laterally on the grid above storage columns (Sect. 0056), each including a wheel assembly (18) for guiding the vehicle on the grid, a container receiving space located above the grid (Sect. 0067); and a lifting device arranged to lift a single container from a stack into the container receiving space (Sect. 0068). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the grid/bridging joint structure with Fjeldheim’s container handling vehicle architecture, as the vehicle is designed to operate on a rail/track system and for the load handling devices to be controlled remotely as a more efficient and automated means for lifting, moving, and retrieving containers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 30, 38-42 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TERRELL H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653