Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shengli (CN105860756A).
Regarding claim 1, Shengli discloses the following:
A thermally conductive composition in a liquid form at 25C comprising (Shengli, [0002])
an organopolysiloxane, (Shengli, [0010])
a thermally conductive filler, (Shengli, [0010])
and an ester compound having 12 to 28 carbon atoms. (Shengli, [0010])
Regarding claim 2, Shengli discloses all of claim 1 as shown above. Shengli also discloses the following:
The thermally conductive composition according to claim 1, wherein the ester compound is a monoester in a liquid form at 25C. (Shengli, [0010])
Regarding claim 3, Shengli discloses all of claim 1 as shown above. Shengli also discloses the following:
The thermally conductive composition according to claim 1, wherein the ester compound if represented by the following Formula (1):
Wherein R1 and R2 are alkyl groups, and at least one of R1 and R2 is an alkyl group having 10 or more carbon atoms. (Shengli, [0010])
Regarding claim 6, Shengli discloses all of claim 1 as shown above. Shengli also disclose sthe following:
The thermally conductive composition accorig to claim 1, wherein the thermally conductive composition has a viscosity of 1 to 500 Pa * s. (Shengli, [0022])
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al (KR101956371B1, hereinafter Choi).
Regarding claim 7, Choi discloses the following:
A thermally conductive member comprising (Choi, [0001])
a silicone matrix, (Choi, [0031])
a thermally conductive filler (Choi, [0019])
and an ester compound having 12 to 28 carbon atoms. (Choi, [0017])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shengli (CN105860756A) in view of Akihiro et al (JP2008038137A, hereinafter Akihiro).
Regarding claim 4 and 5, Shengli disclose all of claim 1 as shown above. However, Shengli does not disclose the thermally conductive composition of claim 1 wherein the organopolysiloxane is an organopolysiloxane containing a reactive group and that this is an addition reaction-curable silicone. Akihiro discloses “The inventors have found that a thermally conductive silicone grease composition comprising an organopolysiloxane having two or more alkenyl groups bonded to silicon atoms in one molecule, an organopolysiloxane having a specific structure and a kinematic viscosity of 10 to 10,000 mmNER1/s at 25°C, an alkoxysilane having a specific substituent, an organohydrogenpolysiloxane having two or more hydrogen atoms bonded to silicon atoms in one molecule, a thermally conductive filler, a platinum-based catalyst, and an addition reaction inhibitor exhibits excellent thermal conductivity, good fluidity before curing, resulting in excellent workability and heat dissipation.” (Akihiro, [0015]). The instant specifications states that the organopolysiloxane containing a reactive group is preferably an addition reaction curable silicone and that the preferable addition reaction-curable silicone is one including an alkenyl group-containing oragnopolysiloxane and a hydrogenorganopolysiloxane.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the thermally conductive composition of Shengli with the thermally conductive composition of Umetani to improve the flow characteristics of the composition of Shengli.
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (KR101956371B1, hereinafter Choi) in view of Podkaminer et al (WO2021176290A1, hereinafter Podkaminer).
Regarding claim 8, Choi discloses all of claim 7 as shown above. Choi discloses that the invention might be used with a power source such as a battery to dissipate heat generated by the power source (Choi, [0050]). But does not directly disclose the battery module having a plurality of cells, a module housing for the cells, and that the heat dissipation member is arranged inside the housing. Podkaminer discloses thermally conductive materials such as silicones can be used as gap fillers (Podkaminer, [0025]). And that these gap fillers can be between a plurality of battery cells and a cooling system (Podkaminer, [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the heat dissipation member of Choi in the manner disclosed by Podkaminer to better cool a battery module and the cells inside.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA P BISTANY-RIEBMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721