CTNF 18/692,586 CTNF 85353 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by MORI (US – 2018/0266514 A1) . As per claim 1 , MORI discloses Damping Force Adjustable Shock Absorber comprising: a unit in (17, Fig: 1-3) which at least a part of a first tubular structure (36, Fig: 2-3) enters at least a part of a second tubular structure (19, Fig: 2-3), crimping is applied from outside the second tubular structure (at 19B, [0046], Fig: 2-3), and a recessed portion recessed toward a central portion of the first tubular structure and partially facing a crimped portion of the second tubular structure is formed (an engagement caulking portion between the inner-peripheral-side engagement part 19B of the valve case 19, [0046], Fig: 2-3); and a cover (coupling ring 37, Fig: 1-3) including a tubular portion covering at least a part of the first tubular structure (The coupling ring 37 is fixed through engagement of the outer-peripheral-side engagement part 37A with the inner-peripheral-side engagement part 19B, [0046], Fig: 2-3) and the second tubular structure (37B, [0046], Fig: 2-3), and a fixation portion provided on an inner peripheral side of the tubular portion and fixed by entering a remaining portion of the recessed portion from outside the unit (at 19B, Fig: 2-3) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3-4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAEDA et al. (US – 2020/0141468 A1) and further in view of MORI (US – 2018/0266514 A1) . As per claim 3 , MAEDA discloses Damping Force Adjustable Shock Absorber comprising: a valve unit (25, A damping force generation unit 25, [0021], Fig: 2) in which at least a part of a tube-shaped solenoid tubular structure (42, a solenoid case 42, [0023], Fig: 2) containing a coil (121, a coil 121 wound around a bobbin 120, [0031], Fig: 2) enters at least a part of a tube-shaped valve tubular structure containing a valve (Fig: 2), crimping is applied from outside the valve tubular structure (valve case 41, Fig: 2), and a recessed portion recessed toward a central portion of the solenoid tubular structure and partially facing a crimped portion of the valve tubular structure is formed ([0032], Fig: 2, 3a-3b). MAEDA discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose a cover including a first tube covering at least a part of the solenoid tubular structure, a second tube covering at least a part of the valve tubular structure, and a fixation portion provided between the first tube and the second tube and fixed by entering a remaining portion of the recessed portion. MORI discloses Damping Force Adjustable Shock Absorber comprising: a cover (coupling ring 37, Fig: 1-3) including a first tube covering at least a part of the solenoid tubular structure (Fig: 2, showed that 37 cover part of coil 39, Fig: 2-3), a second tube covering at least a part of the valve tubular structure (37B, [0046], Fig: 2-3), and a fixation portion provided between the first tube and the second tube and fixed by entering a remaining portion of the recessed portion (The coupling ring 37 is fixed through engagement of the outer-peripheral-side engagement part 37A with the inner-peripheral-side engagement part 19B, [0046], Fig: 2-3).. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Damping Force Adjustable Shock Absorber of the MAEDA to make the cover including a first tube covering at least a part of the solenoid tubular structure, a second tube covering at least a part of the valve tubular structure, and a fixation portion provided between the first tube and the second tube and fixed by entering a remaining portion of the recessed portion as taught by MORI in order to provide positive assemble of valve and coil and prevent from misaligned. As per claim 4 , MAEDA a space is formed discloses between the valve tubular structure and the second tube (Attached figure and Fig: 2) and MORI further discloses wherein a space is formed between the solenoid tubular structure and the first tube and between the valve tubular structure and the second tube (Attached figure and Fig: 2-3). PNG media_image1.png 600 722 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 618 702 media_image2.png Greyscale As per claim 8 , MAEDA discloses Damping Force Adjustable Shock Absorber comprising: a method for assembling a valve apparatus, the valve apparatus including a valve unit (25, [0021], Fig: 2) in which at least a part of a tube-shaped solenoid tubular structure (42, a solenoid case 42, [0023], Fig: 2) containing a coil enters at least a part of a tube-shaped valve tubular structure containing a valve (121, a coil 121 wound around a bobbin 120, [0031], Fig: 2), and the method for assembling the valve apparatus comprising: inserting the valve into the valve tubular structure ([0031], Fig: 2); inserting the coil into the solenoid case-tubular structure; pressing and crimping the valve tubular structure toward the recessed portion of the solenoid tubular structure ([0031], Fig: 2); and teaching reference MORI discloses Damping Force Adjustable Shock Absorber comprising: crimping is applied from outside the valve tubular structure (at 19B, [0046], Fig: 2-3), and a recessed portion recessed toward a central portion of the solenoid tubular structure and partially facing a crimped portion of the valve tubular structure is formed, and a recessed portion recessed toward a central portion of the first tubular structure and partially facing a crimped portion of the second tubular structure is formed (an engagement caulking portion between the inner-peripheral-side engagement part 19B of the valve case 19, [0046], Fig: 2-3); and a cover (coupling ring 37, Fig: 1-3) ) including a first tube covering at least a part of the solenoid tubular structure (The coupling ring 37 is fixed through engagement of the outer-peripheral-side engagement part 37A with the inner-peripheral-side engagement part 19B, [0046], Fig: 2-3), a second tube covering at least a part of the valve tubular structure (37B, [0046], Fig: 2-3), and a fixation portion provided between the first tube and the second tube and fixed by entering a remaining portion of the recessed portion (at 19B, Fig: 2-3), and inserting a cover (37, Fig: 2-3) outside the solenoid tubular structure and the valve tubular structure (Fig: 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to assembling the damping force adjustable shock absorber of the MAEDA with combination of MORI in order to provide a damping force adjustable shock absorber including a crimp portion capable of securely fixing the solenoid case and the valve case by crimping while reducing a load to a solenoid block and a valve block due to the crimping fixation to a minimum load . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2, 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art and teaching reference fail to disclose wherein the fixation portion is provided between the first tubular portion and the second tubular portion and partially in a circumferential direction of the tubular portion, and wherein an abutment portion in abutment with the second tubular structure is provided partially in a circumferential direction of the second tubular portion on an inner periphery of the second tubular portion (Claim 2), and wherein a first seal portion and a second seal portion are formed between the solenoid tubular structure and the first tube, and between the valve tubular structure and the second tube (Claim 5). Claims 6 and 7 depend on claim 5. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure A: Katayama (US – 9,285,006 B2), B: HASE et al. (US – 2018/0094692 A1), C: MANGER et l. (US – 2018/0003259 A1), D: MORI et al. (US – 2016/0195152 A1), E: Murakami (US – 2011/007424 A1), and F: Nakadate et l. (US – 2009/024339 A1). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SAN M AUNG whose telephone number is (571)270-5792. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert Siconolfi can be reached at 571-272-7124. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SAN M AUNG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3616 /Robert A. Siconolfi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/692,586 Page 2 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/692,586 Page 3 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/692,586 Page 4 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/692,586 Page 5 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/692,586 Page 6 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/692,586 Page 7 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/692,586 Page 8 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/692,586 Page 9 Art Unit: 3616 Application/Control Number: 18/692,586 Page 10 Art Unit: 3616