DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the mechanical connection of the first and second elements and the retainer with the flexible holding element configured to enclose the jaw and shape the second element must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5-10, 13, 17-20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 2 is rejected because the specification, as originally filed, fails to support the dental coil having a flexible holding element now claimed in Claim 1 (e.g. Fig. 8) and where the second element is configured to be positioned independently of the first element. Examiner notes Fig. 8 depicts the flexible holding element 46 on top of the first and second elements and any adjustment to one element would appear to adjust the other. Claim 5 is rejected because the specification, as originally filed, fails to disclose the combined embodiment of Claim 1 (e.g. Fig. 8) with a flexible holding element and a retainer mechanically connected to the first and second elements. Claims 6-10 inherent this same issue and Claims 13 and 17-20 appear to have the same issue and/or inherent the written description rejection. Claim 23 is rejected because the specification, as originally filed, fails to disclose the combined embodiment of a dental coil with a retainer mechanically connected to the first element or second element and a flexible holding element as now claimed.
Claims 3, 5-10, 18-20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 3 is rejected because it is unclear if “an adjustment mechanism” to adjust the shape of the first flexible element is the flexible holding element as now claimed. Claim 16 appears to have the same issue. Claim 5 is rejected because it is unclear how the retainer is also connected to first element or the second element in addition to the flexible holding element. Claims 17-20 and 23 appear to have the same issue and Claims 6-10 inherent Claim 5’s rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 3489704 to Wundrak et al. “Wundrak” (translation provided by Examiner).
As for Claim 21, Wundrak discloses dental coil comprising a first element (see annotated Fig. 2 below) including a recess for a mouth or nose when the dental coil is positioned for use (Fig. 1) and a second element (see annotated Fig. 2 below) having a first flexible element configured to allow the second element to be shaped to conform to the user’s jaw region in its broadest reasonable interpretation. Each of the first and second elements including an MRI coil (e.g. coils 42, 43, 44 in Fig. 2) configured to receive radiofrequency signals for MRI imaging. Examiner also notes Wundrak’s first element is connected to the second element in the same manner depicted in Applicant’s Fig. 2. Thus, the element are considered to be “mechanically” connected to each other in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wundrak in view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0256937 to Iwasawa et al. “Iwasawa”.
As for Claims 1-2 and 15, Wundrak discloses dental coil comprising a first element (see annotated Fig. 2 below) including a recess for a mouth or nose when the dental coil is positioned for use (Fig. 1) and a second element (see annotated Fig. 2 above) having a first flexible element configured to allow the second element to be shaped to conform to the user’s jaw region in its broadest reasonable interpretation. Each of the first and second elements including an MRI coil (e.g. coils 42, 43, 44 in Fig. 2) configured to receive radiofrequency signals for MRI imaging. Examiner also notes Wundrak’s first element is connected to the second element in the same manner depicted in Applicant’s Fig. 2. Thus, the element are considered to be “mechanically” connected to each other in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
However, Wundrak does not expressly disclose a flexible holding element as now claimed.
Iwasawa teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to MRI flexible coil units (Abstract) where a belt (e.g. 520 in Figs. 3A, 5 and corresponding descriptions) is used to bring the coils in close contact with the head shape by deformation (Paragraph [0059]). Examiner notes that the belt configured to be tightened and fixed is considered to read on a flexible holding element as claimed in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have modified Wundrak’s dental coil to include Iwasawa’s flexible holding element in order to better conform the coil to the user’s individual head/face contours and thus, enhance imaging. Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claims 3, 11, 13-14, 16 Examiner notes that the belt means would include an adjustment mechanism in its broadest reasonable interpretation with a fixing element and safety element in order to fasten (fix) and unfasten (open position) in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
As for Claim 12, Wundrak’s Fig. 2 above depicts a third coil for use on the other side of the patient’s head.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wundrak and Iwasawa as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0292641 to Greiser.
As for Claim 4, Wundrak and Iwasawa discloses a flexible dental coil for MRI imaging as described above but does not specify that the phased array coil includes a smart material as claimed.
Greiser teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to MRI body coils (Abstract) where the coil includes a smart material configured to adjust the stiffness of the coil via an excitation signal (Abstract; Paragraphs [0016] and [0019]).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motived to have modified the wings of the phased array coil described by Wundrak and Iwasawa to include a smart material as described by Greiser in order to customize the stiffness of the dental coil to conform to a variety of patients. Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 5-10, 13 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wundrak and Iwasawa as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of NPL “Optimized 14+1 receive coil array and position system for 3D high-resolution MRI of dental and maxillomandibular structures” to Sedlacik et al. “Sedlacik” evidenced by NPL “Mandibula 15-Channel Dental Coil”, hereinafter “NORAS” (Cited by Applicant).
As for Claim 5-8 and 17-20, Wundrak and Iwasawa discloses a flexible dental coil for MRI imaging as described above but do not disclose a retainer to also hold the jaw coils.
Sedlacik teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to dental coil systems and methods where a dental coil optimized for 3D dental and maxillomandibular MRI with high patient comfort (Abstract) comprising a 14 element phased array coil mounted between two pillars (e.g. “retainer”, Fig. 1 and corresponding descriptions). Sedlacik discloses where the retainer includes fasteners to facilitate head-foot positioning and anterioposterior positioning (e.g. guide mechanisms “Materials and Methods”; Page 2). Sedlacik depicts where the “retainer” is mechanically connected to the dental coils and configured to hold the coils onto the appropriate region of the patient with a position unit and guide configured to tilt toward the patient as evidenced by NORAS.
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have used a retainer to hold the dental coil described by Wundrak and Iwasawa in order to prevent the coil from shifting during use. Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Regarding Claim 9, Sedlacik’s coil depicts a “swan neck mechanism” and joint hose in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding Claim 10, Sedlacik’s coil depicts fastener (e.g. damping elements) which can control the pivot range of motion in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Alternatively regarding Claim 13, Sedlacik’s coil assembly includes a head rest which is considered to fix the head of the patient in place in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wundrak and NPL “Optimized 14+1 receive coil array and position system for 3D high-resolution MRI of dental and maxillomandibular structures” to Sedlacik et al. “Sedlacik” evidenced by NPL “Mandibula 15-Channel Dental Coil”, hereinafter “NORAS” (Cited by Applicant).
As for Claim 22, Wundrak discloses dental coil comprising a first element (see annotated Fig. 2 below) including a recess for a mouth or nose when the dental coil is positioned for use (Fig. 1) and a second element (see annotated Fig. 2 above) having a first flexible element configured to allow the second element to be shaped to conform to the user’s jaw region in its broadest reasonable interpretation. Each of the first and second elements including an MRI coil (e.g. coils 42, 43, 44 in Fig. 2) configured to receive radiofrequency signals for MRI imaging. Examiner also notes Wundrak’s first element is connected to the second element in the same manner depicted in Applicant’s Fig. 2. Thus, the element are considered to be “mechanically” connected to each other in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
However, Wundrak does not disclose a retainer to hold the jaw coils.
Sedlacik teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to dental coil systems and methods where a dental coil optimized for 3D dental and maxillomandibular MRI with high patient comfort (Abstract) comprising a 14 element phased array coil mounted between two pillars (e.g. “retainer”, Fig. 1 and corresponding descriptions). Sedlacik depicts where the “retainer” is mechanically connected to the dental coils and configured to hold the coils onto the appropriate region of the patient with a position unit and guide configured to tilt toward the patient as evidenced by NORAS. Examiner notes Sedlacik’s coil depicts a “swan neck mechanism” which is embodied to maintain a curved shape in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have used a retainer to hold the dental coil described by Wundrak order to prevent the coil from shifting during use. Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wundrak, Iwasawa and NPL “Optimized 14+1 receive coil array and position system for 3D high-resolution MRI of dental and maxillomandibular structures” to Sedlacik et al. “Sedlacik” evidenced by NPL “Mandibula 15-Channel Dental Coil”, hereinafter “NORAS” (Cited by Applicant).
As for Claim 23, Wundrak discloses dental coil comprising a first element (see annotated Fig. 2 below) including a recess for a mouth or nose when the dental coil is positioned for use (Fig. 1) and a second element (see annotated Fig. 2 above) having a first flexible element configured to allow the second element to be shaped to conform to the user’s jaw region in its broadest reasonable interpretation. Each of the first and second elements including an MRI coil (e.g. coils 42, 43, 44 in Fig. 2) configured to receive radiofrequency signals for MRI imaging. Examiner also notes Wundrak’s first element is connected to the second element in the same manner depicted in Applicant’s Fig. 2. Thus, the element are considered to be “mechanically” connected to each other in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
However, Wundrak does not expressly disclose a flexible holding element as claimed.
Iwasawa teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to MRI flexible coil units (Abstract) where a belt (e.g. 520 in Figs. 3A, 5 and corresponding descriptions) is used to bring the coils in close contact with the head shape by deformation (Paragraph [0059]). Examiner notes that the belt configured to be tightened and fixed is considered to read on a flexible holding element as claimed in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have modified Wundrak’s dental coil to include Iwasawa’s flexible holding element in order to better conform the coil to the user’s individual head/face contours and thus, enhance imaging. Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results.
However, Wundrak and Iwasawa does not disclose a retainer to hold the jaw coils.
Sedlacik teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to dental coil systems and methods where a dental coil optimized for 3D dental and maxillomandibular MRI with high patient comfort (Abstract) comprising a 14 element phased array coil mounted between two pillars (e.g. “retainer”, Fig. 1 and corresponding descriptions). Sedlacik discloses where the retainer includes fasteners to facilitate head-foot positioning and anterioposterior positioning (e.g. guide mechanisms “Materials and Methods”; Page 2).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have used a retainer to hold the dental coil described by Wundrak order to prevent the coil from shifting during use. Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-23 have been considered but are moot in view of the updated grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment. New 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and (b) rejections necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Publication No. 2013/0190608 to Schmidt which depicts jaw coil with various layers (see Fig. 2).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER L COOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797