Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. GERMANY 10 2021 210 298.0, filed on September 16, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 15, 2024, February 14, 2025, and December 8, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Christophersen (US 2021/0215628 A1) (herein after Christophersen).
Regarding Claim 1, Christophersen discloses, 1. (Previously presented) A battery cell measuring unit (Fig. 3A, ¶ 38 Impedance measurement devices ("IMD"), inline rapid impedance spectroscopy ("iRIS") “ FIGS. 1 through 12 which provide illustrative examples of IMD (1) and iRIS (1')”), wherein the measuring unit is configured to detect measured variables of a battery cell unit in a cell string (Fig. 6, measurements (2) on a cell string (CS), or on each cell (C1, C2, ... Cn) of the plurality of cells (Cn) independent of the other cells (C1, C2, ... Cn) in a plurality of cells (Cn)) with a plurality of battery cell units of a battery (Fig. 3A, module ("M") or pack ("P")), wherein the measuring unit is furthermore configured to detect measured variables for determining a state of the battery cell unit (Fig. 3A, ¶ 46 battery state-of-health (SOH) and state-of-stability (SOS)) during operation of the battery (Fig. 3B, ¶ 67 battery load conditions (7b)) and to provide the determined measured variables as a set of measurement data (Fig. 3B, ¶ 54 upload various impedance measurement data (33)) to a battery control unit (Fig. 3A, processor (19)); wherein the measuring unit is configured to detect the measured variables for determining a state of the battery cell unit (Fig. 3A, ¶ 46 battery state-of-health (SOH) and state-of-stability (SOS)) and to provide the determined measured variables as a measurement data set (Fig. 3B, ¶ 54 upload various impedance measurement data (33)) to a battery control unit (Fig. 3A, processor (19)) only when the cell string is disconnected from other cell strings of the battery during operation of the battery (Fig. 6, ¶ 77 IMD (1)(1') measurements, can be conducted by operation of the switch circuit (8) without interrupting power to the load (7)).
Regarding Claim 2, Christophersen discloses the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Christophersen further discloses, 2. (Previously presented) The battery cell measuring unit according to claim 1, wherein the measuring unit is furthermore configured to detect the following measured variables: an alternating current of different frequencies (Fig. 3A, ¶ 46 inject an excitation signal consisting of a sum of sinusoids over a broad frequency range) injected into the battery cell unit as an excitation for determining an impedance spectrum (Fig. 3A, ¶ 49 impedance spectrum (15) displayed); and a voltage and a phase (Fig. 3A, ¶ 65 the magnitude and phase) relative to the injected alternating current as a voltage response (Fig. 3A, ¶ 45 stimulus signal (10) a voltage stimulus signal (10b)) for a determination of the impedance spectrum; wherein the measuring unit is furthermore configured to provide values of the measured variables and/or values of the impedance spectrum with a time stamp (Fig. 3A, ¶ 65 impedance spectrum (15) may further include one or more of: a time stamp (55)) and to make them available to the battery control unit as a measurement data set.
Regarding Claim 3, Christophersen discloses the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Christophersen further discloses, 3. (Previously presented) The battery cell measuring unit according to claim 1, wherein the measuring unit is furthermore configured to additionally detect one or more of the following measured variables: temperature, pressure in the battery cell unit, chemical and physical parameters (Fig. 3A, ¶ 62 acquire a measurement of the, battery temperature (T)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 – 7, 9, 14 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christophersen (US 2021/0215628 A1) (herein after Christophersen) in view of Berger et al. (US 2021/0223327 A1) (herein after Berger).
Regarding Claim 4, Christophersen discloses the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Christophersen further discloses, 4. (Previously presented) A measuring unit arrangement comprising a plurality of measuring units according to claim 1 for a plurality of battery cell units in the battery (Fig. 6, module ("M") or pack ("P")), wherein the battery has a DC bus connection with a plurality of cell strings arranged in parallel thereon, each with one or more battery cell units connected in series (Fig. 6, ¶ 81 other combinations of strings or cells whether electrically interconnected in series and/or parallel can be measured by various combinations of open and closed switches in the switching algorithm (70)); —
Christophersen fails to disclose, — wherein at least some of the cell strings each have one or more measuring units which each detect measured variables of a battery cell unit, wherein the one or more measuring units of a cell string are configured to simultaneously detect measured variables of a battery cell unit in the cell string and to organize the detected measured variables for provision to the battery control unit as a measurement data set.
In analogous art, Berger discloses, — wherein at least some of the cell strings each have one or more measuring units (Fig. 3, ¶ 44 Multi-cell impedance ICs 314B, 314C, 314D and 314E) which each detect measured variables of a battery cell unit, wherein the one or more measuring units of a cell string are configured to simultaneously (Fig. 13, ¶ 68 host computer 1500 is a microcontroller that is in charge of battery management of the entire battery pack) detect measured variables of a battery cell unit in the cell string and to organize (Fig. 13, ¶ 68 communicated to host computer 1500; “data is organized in packets before being communicated”) the detected measured variables for provision to the battery control unit (Fig. 13, host computer 1500) as a measurement data set.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christophersen by combining the battery cell measuring unit disclosed by Christophersen with a battery cell measuring unit, wherein at least some of the cell strings each have one or more measuring units which each detect measured variables of a battery cell unit, wherein the one or more measuring units of a cell string are configured to simultaneously detect measured variables of a battery cell unit in the cell string and to organize the detected measured variables for provision to the battery control unit as a measurement data set; disclosed by Berger for the benefit of measuring the impedance spectrum of a battery efficiently in a fast time [Berger: ¶ 28 Advantages of embodiments include the ability to efficiently implement Electrochemical Impedance Spectroscopy (EIS) for battery packs. These efficiencies may include, but are not limited to, faster measurement time].
Regarding Claim 5, Christophersen in view of Berger discloses the limitations of claim 4, which this claim depends on.
Christophersen fails to disclose, 5. (Currently amended) A battery measurement system, comprising: the measuring unit arrangement according to claim 4, comprising a plurality of measuring units arranged in at least one cell string; a battery control unit; and a current source for each measuring unit, which can also work as a sink; wherein each of the measuring units is associated with at least one battery cell unit and each of the measuring units is configured to send measurement data sets to the battery control unit; the battery control unit is configured to receive measurement data sets from measurement units of at least one cell string; and the current sources are each configured to inject a current at a frequency into the battery cell unit of the associated measuring unit.
Berger further discloses, 5. (Currently amended) A battery measurement system (Fig. 1, multi-cell AC impedance measurement system 10), comprising: the measuring unit arrangement according to claim 4, comprising a plurality of measuring units (Fig. 3, ¶ 44 Multi-cell impedance ICs 314B, 314C, 314D and 314E) arranged in at least one cell string (Fig. 3, ¶ 25 series or parallel combination of physical battery cells); a battery control unit (Fig. 13, host computer 1500); and a current source for each measuring unit, which can also work as a sink (Fig. 11, ¶ 65 an excitation current 1318, sinking a sinusoidal current 1318); wherein each of the measuring units is associated with at least one battery cell unit (Fig. 3, ¶ 25 series or parallel combination of physical battery cells) and each of the measuring units is configured to send measurement data sets to the battery control unit (Fig. 13, ¶ 68 communicated to host computer 1500); the battery control unit is configured to receive measurement data sets from measurement units (Fig. 13, ¶ 68 communicated to host computer 1500) of at least one cell string; and the current sources are each configured to inject a current at a frequency (Fig. 11, ¶ 65 sinking a sinusoidal current 1318 at the desired frequency) into the battery cell unit of the associated measuring unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christophersen in view of Berger by combining the battery cell measuring unit disclosed by Christophersen in view of Berger with a battery measurement system, comprising: a measuring unit, a plurality of measuring units arranged in at least one cell string; a battery control unit; and a current source for each measuring unit, which can also work as a sink; wherein each of the measuring units is associated with at least one battery cell unit and each of the measuring units is configured to send measurement data sets to the battery control unit; the battery control unit is configured to receive measurement data sets from measurement units of at least one cell string; and the current sources are each configured to inject a current at a frequency into the battery cell unit of the associated measuring unit; disclosed by Berger for the benefit of measuring the impedance spectrum of a battery efficiently in a fast time [Berger: ¶ 28 Advantages of embodiments include the ability to efficiently implement Electrochemical Impedance Spectroscopy (EIS) for battery packs. These efficiencies may include, but are not limited to, faster measurement time].
Regarding Claim 6, Christophersen in view of Berger discloses the limitations of claim 5, which this claim depends on.
Christophersen further discloses, 6. (Previously presented) The battery measurement system according to claim 5, wherein each cell string has a switch or a switchable converter (Fig. 6, switching network (8)) for isolating the cell string from the other cell strings (Fig. 6, ¶ 82 setting the switching network (8) to measure a portion of, or one of the individual cells (C)), wherein only those measurement units (Fig. 6, ¶ 81 provides isolated impedance measurement (14)) are configured to provide measurement variables and measurement data sets which are assigned to this cell string.
Regarding Claim 7, Christophersen in view of Berger discloses the limitations of claim 5, which this claim depends on.
Christophersen further discloses, 7. (Previously presented) The battery measurement system according to claim 5, wherein the battery control unit is configured to generate a respective characteristic data set from the measurement data sets (Fig. 3B, ¶ 54 upload various impedance measurement data (33)) of the measurement units, to apply a time stamp (Fig. 3A, ¶ 65 impedance spectrum (15) may further include one or more of: a time stamp (55)) to the characteristic data set and to temporarily store (Fig. 3B, ¶ 54 adequate buffer memory (34) to measurement until processed) the characteristic data set including the time stamp.
Regarding Claim 9, Christophersen in view of Berger discloses the limitations of claim 6, which this claim depends on.
Christophersen further discloses, 9. (Previously presented) The battery measurement system according to claim 6, wherein the battery measurement system is configured to disconnect the disconnected cell string for a short time for measurement (Fig. 6, ¶ 77 IMD (1)(1') measurements of the series string of cell (CS) can be conducted by operation of the switch circuit (8)) while the other cell strings continue to operate according to a regular operation of the battery (Fig. 6, ¶ 77 without interrupting power to the load (7)).
Regarding Claim 15, Christophersen in view of Berger discloses the limitations of claim 5, which this claim depends on.
Christophersen further discloses, 15. (Previously presented) Use of a battery measurement system (Fig. 3A, interface ("GUI") on the remote computer (30)) according to claim 5 in an electrically powered means of transportation or a stationary storage of electrical energy (Fig. 3a, ¶ 64 an object or vehicle (54)).
Regarding Claim 16, Christophersen in view of Berger discloses the limitations of claim 5, which this claim depends on.
Christophersen further discloses, 16. (Previously presented) Electrically powered means of transportation or stationary storage of electrical energy (Fig. 3a, ¶ 64 an object or vehicle (54)), comprising a battery measurement system according to claim 5 (Fig. 3A, interface ("GUI") on the remote computer (30)).
Claim(s) 8, 10 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christophersen (US 2021/0215628 A1) (herein after Christophersen) in view of Berger et al. (US 2021/0223327 A1) (herein after Berger), and further in view of SHOA HASSANI LASHIDANI et al. (US 2023/0122362 A1) (herein after Shoa).
Regarding Claim 8, Christophersen in view of Berger discloses the limitations of claim 5, which this claim depends on.
Christophersen and Berger fail to disclose, 8. (Previously presented) The battery measurement system according to claim 5, further comprising a computing unit and a communication interface, which are configured to transmit the temporarily stored feature data records to the computing unit (102), wherein the computing unit is configured to receive the temporarily stored feature data records and to cyclically calculate a model of a machine learning system, wherein the model provides diagnostic functions and/or a battery status for each measuring unit on the basis of current feature data records, and the computing unit is furthermore configured to transmit the model via the communication interface to the battery control unit.
In analogous art, Shoa discloses, 8. (Previously presented) The battery measurement system according to claim 5, further comprising a computing unit and a communication interface (Fig. 1, a wired or wireless network interface 8), which are configured to transmit the temporarily stored feature data records to the computing unit (102) (Fig. 1, ¶ 191 communicate with AI module 6 (and cloud-based system 7)), wherein the computing unit is configured to receive the temporarily stored feature data records and to cyclically calculate a model of a machine learning system (Fig. 5, ¶ 300 machine learning module (e.g. AI module 6) trained to classify the battery based on model parameters; “Note: Fig 5 is method performed by Fig 1; ¶ 292 FIG. 5 is a block diagram of an example method 40 for testing a battery 3”), wherein the model provides diagnostic functions and/or a battery status (Fig. 1, ¶ 300 Block 52 classifies a state of health of the battery being tested based on the impedance data and/or the model parameters) for each measuring unit on the basis of current feature data records, and the computing unit is furthermore configured to transmit the model via the communication interface (Fig. 1, ¶ 191 communicate with AI module 6 (and cloud-based system 7)) to the battery control unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christophersen in view of Berger by combining the battery cell measuring unit disclosed by Christophersen in view of Berger with a battery measurement system further comprising, a computing unit and a communication interface, which are configured to transmit the temporarily stored feature data records to the computing unit (102), wherein the computing unit is configured to receive the temporarily stored feature data records and to cyclically calculate a model of a machine learning system, wherein the model provides diagnostic functions and/or a battery status for each measuring unit on the basis of current feature data records, and the computing unit is furthermore configured to transmit the model via the communication interface to the battery control unit; disclosed by Shoa for the benefit of measuring the impedance spectrum of a battery without needing to charge the battery [Shoa: ¶ 0147, 151 measuring impedances of the systems at different frequencies. Advantageously, and in distinction to many existing battery testing technologies, testing module 4 need not charge battery 3].
Regarding Claim 10, Christophersen in view of Berger discloses the limitations of claim 5, which this claim depends on.
Christophersen and Berger fail to disclose, 10. (Previously presented) The battery measurement system according to claim 5, further comprising: sensors that are configured to detect other environmental variables, and a local memory configured to store the feature data records and the other measured environmental variables recorded.
In analogous art, Shoa discloses, 10. (Previously presented) The battery measurement system according to claim 5, further comprising: sensors that are configured to detect other environmental variables (Fig. 3, ¶ 460 performance of different batteries in the fleet used in different environmental conditions), and a local memory configured to store the feature data records and the other measured environmental variables recorded (Fig. 3, ¶ 280 computed impedance data may, for example, be stored in data store 25.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christophersen in view of Berger by combining the battery cell measuring unit disclosed by Christophersen in view of Berger with a battery measurement system, further comprising: sensors that are configured to detect other environmental variables, and a local memory configured to store the feature data records and the other measured environmental variables recorded; disclosed by Shoa for the benefit of measuring the impedance spectrum of a battery without needing to charge the battery [Shoa: ¶ 0147, 151 measuring impedances of the systems at different frequencies. Advantageously, and in distinction to many existing battery testing technologies, testing module 4 need not charge battery 3].
Regarding Claim 11, Christophersen in view of Berger in view of Shoa discloses the limitations of claim 8, which this claim depends on.
Christophersen and Berger fail to disclose, 11. (Previously presented) The battery measurement system according to claim 8, wherein the model is an artificial intelligence model (neural network) that is configured to generate a diagnostic model from the feature data sets using the time stamps, respectively.
Shoa further discloses, 11. (Previously presented) The battery measurement system according to claim 8, wherein the model is an artificial intelligence model (neural network) (Fig. 3, ¶ 50, 52 artificial intelligence (AI), trained neural network) that is configured to generate a diagnostic model (Fig. 3, ¶ 189 parameters of the model) from the feature data sets using the time stamps (Fig. 3, ¶ 193 parameters for one or more electrical circuit models), respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christophersen in view of Berger in view of Shoa by combining the battery cell measuring unit disclosed by Christophersen in view of Berger in view of Shoa with a battery measurement system, wherein the model is an artificial intelligence model (neural network) that is configured to generate a diagnostic model from the feature data sets using the time stamps, respectively; disclosed by Shoa for the benefit of measuring the impedance spectrum of a battery without needing to charge the battery [Shoa: ¶ 0147, 151 measuring impedances of the systems at different frequencies. Advantageously, and in distinction to many existing battery testing technologies, testing module 4 need not charge battery 3].
Regarding Claim 12, Christophersen in view of Berger in view of Shoa discloses the limitations of claim 8, which this claim depends on.
Christophersen in view of Berger fail to disclose, 12. (Previously presented) The battery measurement system according to claim 8, wherein the model is a model according to a recurrent neural network method, a reinforcement learning method and/or an actor/critic method, wherein the reinforcement learning method uses a reward for learning within an environment model.
Shoa further discloses, 12. (Previously presented) The battery measurement system according to claim 8, wherein the model is a model according to a recurrent neural network method, a reinforcement learning method and/or an actor/critic method (Fig. 3, ¶ 216 – 228 Linear Regression; K-Means; Logistic Regression; Naive Bayes; kNN; Random Forest; Dimensionality Reduction Algorithms; Gradient Boosting Algorithms; Artificial Neural Networks; Deep Neural Networks; Recurrent Neural Networks; Convolutional Neural Networks; Support Vector Machines), wherein the reinforcement learning method uses a reward for learning within an environment model.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christophersen in view of Berger in view of Shoa by combining the battery cell measuring unit disclosed by Christophersen in view of Berger in view of Shoa with a battery measurement system, wherein the model is a model according to a recurrent neural network method, a reinforcement learning method and/or an actor/critic method, wherein the reinforcement learning method uses a reward for learning within an environment model; disclosed by Shoa for the benefit of measuring the impedance spectrum of a battery without needing to charge the battery [Shoa: ¶ 0147, 151 measuring impedances of the systems at different frequencies. Advantageously, and in distinction to many existing battery testing technologies, testing module 4 need not charge battery 3].
Regarding Claim 13, Christophersen in view of Berger in view of Shoa discloses the limitations of claim 12, which this claim depends on.
Christophersen in view of Berger fail to disclose, 13. (Previously presented) The battery measurement system according to claim 8, wherein the model is an artificial intelligence (neural network) model further configured to estimate a state of charge (SoC) state value, a state of health (SoH) state value, a state value with respect to a temperature, a chemical and/or a physical property.
Shoa further discloses, 13. (Previously presented) The battery measurement system according to claim 8, wherein the model is an artificial intelligence (neural network) model further configured to estimate a state of charge (SoC) state value, a state of health (SoH) state value (Fig. 3, ¶ 502 SoC estimation, assess SoH of the battery.), a state value with respect to a temperature, a chemical and/or a physical property (Fig. 3, ¶ 208 one or more parameters related to a state of the battery (e.g. temperature, open circuit voltage, rest time, state of charge, etc.)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christophersen in view of Berger in view of Shoa by combining the battery cell measuring unit disclosed by Christophersen in view of Berger in view of Shoa with a battery measurement system, wherein the model is an artificial intelligence (neural network) model further configured to estimate a state of charge (SoC) state value, a state of health (SoH) state value, a state value with respect to a temperature, a chemical and/or a physical property; disclosed by Shoa for the benefit of measuring the impedance spectrum of a battery without needing to charge the battery [Shoa: ¶ 0147, 151 measuring impedances of the systems at different frequencies. Advantageously, and in distinction to many existing battery testing technologies, testing module 4 need not charge battery 3].
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christophersen (US 2021/0215628 A1) (herein after Christophersen) in view of SHOA HASSANI LASHIDANI et al. (US 2023/0122362 A1) (herein after Shoa).
Regarding Claim 14, Christophersen discloses, 14. (Previously presented) A method for providing a measurement data set (Fig. 3A, ¶ 38 Impedance measurement devices ("IMD"), inline rapid impedance spectroscopy ("iRIS"), methods for using impedance measurement devices (1)(1') “ FIGS. 1 through 12 which provide illustrative examples of IMD (1) and iRIS (1')”) of a battery cell unit in a cell string (Fig. 6, measurements (2) on a cell string (CS), or on each cell (C1, C2, ... Cn) of the plurality of cells (Cn) independent of the other cells (C1, C2, ... Cn) in a plurality of cells (Cn)) of a battery (Fig. 3A, module ("M") or pack ("P")) for a determination of a state of the battery cell unit (Fig. 3A, ¶ 46 battery state-of-health (SOH) and state-of-stability (SOS)), comprising the steps of: separating the cell string for the measurement (Fig. 6, ¶ 81 provides isolated impedance measurement (14)); acquiring measured variables of the battery cell unit during operation of the battery (Fig. 3B, ¶ 67 battery load conditions (7b)); — so that the measured variables for determining a state of the battery cell unit (Fig. 3A, ¶ 46 battery state-of-health (SOH) and state-of-stability (SOS)) are detected and the determined measured variables are only provided as a measurement data set (Fig. 3B, ¶ 54 upload various impedance measurement data (33)) of a battery control unit (Fig. 3A, processor (19)) only when the cell string is disconnected from other cell strings of the battery during operation of the battery (Fig. 6, ¶ 77 IMD (1)(1') measurements, can be conducted by operation of the switch circuit (8) without interrupting power to the load (7)).
Christophersen fails to disclose, — and provisioning the acquired measured variables as measurement data for a battery control unit for determining a state of the battery cell unit by a previously trained artificial intelligence model; —
In analogous art, Shoa discloses, — and provisioning the acquired measured variables as measurement data (Fig. 1, ¶ 300 Block 52 classifies a state of health of the battery being tested based on the impedance data and/or the model parameters) for a battery control unit (Fig. 1, ¶ 191 communicate with AI module 6 (and cloud-based system 7)) for determining a state of the battery cell unit by a previously trained artificial intelligence model (Fig. 5, ¶ 300 machine learning module (e.g. AI module 6) trained to classify the battery based on model parameters; “Note: Fig 5 is method performed by Fig 1; ¶ 292 FIG. 5 is a block diagram of an example method 40 for testing a battery 3”); —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christophersen by combining the battery cell measuring unit disclosed by Christophersen with a method of providing a measurement data set by, provisioning acquired measured variables as measurement data for a battery control unit for determining a state of the battery cell unit by a previously trained artificial intelligence model; disclosed by Shoa for the benefit of measuring the impedance spectrum of a battery without needing to charge the battery [Shoa: ¶ 0147, 151 measuring impedances of the systems at different frequencies. Advantageously, and in distinction to many existing battery testing technologies, testing module 4 need not charge battery 3].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. GARCIA et al. (US 2018/0143257 A1) teaches, a battery cell measuring unit (Fig. 1, ¶ 58 Battery Condition Monitoring (BCM)), detect measured variables for determining a state of the battery cell unit (Fig. 1, ¶ 52 estimate and predict battery condition metrics (e.g., SOC/SOH/RUL/EOL), state-of-charge (SOC), state-of-health (SOH), remaining-useful-life (RUL), and end-of-life (EOL)).
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858