DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 have been canceled.
Claims 15-28 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed 03/15/2024 has been received and considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all of part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the vehicle (6)” should read as “each vehicle (6)”. This is found multiple times in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the vehicle (6)” should read as “each vehicle (6)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the virtual strip (20)” should read as “the virtual computer strip (20)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the vehicle (6)” should read as “each vehicle (6)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the virtual strip (20)” should read as “the virtual computer strip (20)”. This is found multiple times in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the vehicle (6)” should read as “each vehicle (6)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 28 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the seats” should read as “the front seats”. This is found multiple times in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 28 is objected to because of the following informalities: “this rotating function” should read as “perform a rotating function”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 23 and 24 recites “..augmented intelligence algorithms..”. According to MPEP 2161.01, I., "If the specification does not provide a disclosure of the computer and algorithm in sufficient detail to demonstrate to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor possessed the invention a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, for lack of written description must be made." The specification lacks detailed description of the portable device. It is not obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art what the algorithm may be, what the advantages of using a specific algorithm therefore the specification lacks written description to support this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “wherein the frequency of identification of the points on the route by the inertial unit (1) is calculated in relation to speed, so that the distance between two consecutive points on any segment of the path is the same length” is not clear, as the frequency of an inertial unit’s position calculation is constant and determined by the system’s design, not in relation to a speed. Also, its unclear what relation to speed is consisting of. Is this due to the relation of speed of the vehicle? The speed of how quickly the calculation is completed? It’s very unclear to the Examiner. The specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “all the information relating to the passenger of possible situations” and “informed human” is not clear. The specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “wherein the number of inertial units operating simultaneously is multiplied in order to obtain a high level of reliability”. What is operating simultaneously? Multiple inertial units on a vehicle operating simultaneously? Or multiple vehicles within a fleet that each have an inertial unit? The specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“means for recharging said vehicles” in claim 15
“communication means” in claim 15
“means for reading said chips” in claim 15
The following are the interpreted corresponding structures found within the specification for some of the above limitations:
“means for recharging said vehicles” – recharging terminal
“communication means” – centralized computer system connected to onboard vehicle computer
“means for reading said chips” – antenna
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17 and 19-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parienti (US 20110125345) in view of CHUNJAO (JP 6492469).
Regarding Claim 1, Parienti discloses An automatic private public transport system comprising a plurality of vehicles (6) and means (19) for recharging said vehicles, (Parienti, see at least [0036] and Fig. 17 in which discloses a town fitted with rails that are vehicles can travel on, in which vehicles are changing directions at an intersection and vehicles (46) being reloaded (“charged”))
each vehicle (6) being provided with an on-board computer (2) and communications means (8), in particular for communicating with a computer system (7), (Parienti, see at least [0021] wherein each vehicle is equipped with an onboard computer which analyses the data exchanges from the communication links between the vehicle and the central computer unit)
each vehicle (6) is provided with a set of safety sensors, the vehicle (6) is configured to follow a colored strip (10) by opto-guidance, said colored strip incorporates RFID-type chips (9) or transponders, (Parienti, see at least [0023] wherein detection sensors of the optical strips are located under the vehicle body. Also see [0015] and Fig. 1 in which discloses a rail or guiding string that is composed of road signaling strip that has specific optical characteristics. Also see [0019] wherein the guiding system is equipped with RFID or transponders in which are integrated in the strips.)
each vehicle comprises means (13) for reading said chips RFID, wherein when a vehicle (6) follows the colored strip (10) by opto-guidance, (Parienti, see at least [0023] wherein detection sensors of the optical strips are located under the vehicle body. Also see [0015] and Fig. 1 in which discloses a rail or guiding string that is composed of road signaling strip that has specific optical characteristics.)
a starting point, (Parienti, see [0018] wherein the central unit knows the starting point, destination point and computes a path)
an initial speed, a direction, (Parienti, see [0018] wherein the central unit knows the starting point, destination point and computes a path) accelerations, durations and all the successive variations of said parameters; (Parienti, see [0031] hyper frequency sensors allow for anticipated braking, speed control, and function of the map data bases.)
the processing of the aforementioned data enables the inertial unit (1) equipped with the calculation unit (18), and assisted by the on-board computer (2), to calculate and define a succession of points on the vehicle's route: (Parienti, see [0018] wherein each vehicle is connected to a central unit in which the central unit computes the most appropriate path (assesses that the vehicle follows a first rail until point A, then a second rail until point B, etc.) for the vehicle.)
the concatenation of the segments defined by the consecutive points of the path identified by the inertial unit (1), defines a virtual computer strip (20) of the colored strip (10), i.e. a digitization of the path travelled, the data of which is stored in a memory (41) of the on-board computer (2), enabling the vehicle (6) to continue the programmed path by following the virtual computer strip (20) stored in a memory (41) of the on-board computer (2), if the colored band (10) is no longer visible. (Parienti, see at least [0024] “In case of damage or degradation of the ground guiding string, the vehicle, thanks to its reference system, is able to proceed with the trajectory, to anticipate turns, until it can find the guiding string again thanks to the accurate localization provided by the contactless devices on the ground below the guiding string and able to achieve remote communication thanks to accelerometers integrated in the vehicle that enable the accurate identification of any motion, and hence the permanent localization even without the guiding string in case of degradation of the strip, and through the correlation with other localization data.”)
Parienti does not explicitly disclose an inertial unit (1), equipped with a three-axis accelerometer (4), a three-axis gyroscope (5) and a compass, is capable, with the assistance of the computer (2), provided with a computing unit (18), dedicated to the inertial unit, and ad hoc software, of processing the data received by the inertial unit (1) parameters of the vehicle's movements (6), namely:
However, CHUNJAO discloses an inertial unit (1), equipped with a three-axis accelerometer (4), a three-axis gyroscope (5) and a compass, is capable, with the assistance of the computer (2), provided with a computing unit (18), dedicated to the inertial unit, and ad hoc software, of processing the data received by the inertial unit (1) parameters of the vehicle's movements (6), namely: (CHUNJAO, see at least [0044] wherein the absolute position of the vehicle is calculated based on acquired data from INS sensors, which the inertial navigation system would use a compass, would include three-axis accelerometer and three-axis gyroscope)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in modified Parienti with the teachings of CHUNJAO to include the utilizing INS sensors, wherein the data could include information such as vehicle speed, position, and more. This would further improve the managing or controlling of vehicles utilizing a rail guidance system.
Regarding Claim 16, Parienti in view of Chunjao discloses The automatic private public transport system according to claim 1, (see rejection above)
Parienti further discloses wherein when the vehicle (6) recharges its battery (38) at a recharging station (19), all the data on the journeys made by the vehicle, reproducing the virtual computer images (20) of the with colored strip (10) of the journeys made, is transmitted to the computer system (7), then the computer system (7) retransmits all said data corresponding to the journeys of each vehicle to all the vehicles (6) via the recharging point (19). (Parienti, see at least [0021] and [Fig. 1] in which shows that data can be communicated from each vehicle to a central computer (14) and in which the central computer can also communication information back to the vehicles (data related to the motion, monitoring, and the reference system).)
Regarding Claim 17, Parienti in view of Chunjao discloses The automatic private public transport system according to claim 1, (see rejection above)
Parienti further discloses wherein the frequency of identification of the points on the route by the inertial unit (1) is calculated in relation to speed, so that the distance between two consecutive points on any segment of the path is the same length. (Parienti, see at least [0019] wherein the distance between two contactless RFID chips or transponders could be 50 m)
Regarding Claim 19, Parienti in view of Chunjao discloses The automatic private public transport system according to claim 1, (see rejection above)
Parienti further discloses wherein whenever the vehicle (6), identified by the on-board computer (2), drifts from the precise location provided by the RFID chip integrated into the colored strip (10), the on-board computer (2) triggers an action on a control unit (3), which acts on a steering device (40) to make an appropriate correction, then the on-board computer sets the inertial unit to the precise coordinates provided by the RFID chip. (Parienti, see at least [0022-0023] “The data related to the motion are provided by several communication means and are therefore redundant, their perfect correlation allowing a fully secured operation. The data related to the motion are sent to the command and control center (26) which actives the brakes when necessary, the accelerator or the steering. These driving orders are managed by the computer (24)… each vehicle (10) includes a system (18) for detection of the guiding string (12). The polymer or rubber guiding string with specific optical properties is sensed by the detector (18), right under the longitudinal axis of the vehicle. Any drift on the right or left side induces a compensating action of the steering in order to perfectly put the vehicle back on the axis. Moreover, the detector of guiding strings (18) is fitted with an appropriate antenna that allows transmission of radiofrequency signals that in return receives the localization data saved in the contactless devices located at regular spacing on the guiding string. The detection sensors of the optical strip are CCD type sensors, located under the vehicle body.”)
Regarding Claim 20, Parienti in view of Chunjao discloses The automatic private collective transport system according to claim 1, (see rejection above)
Parienti further discloses wherein a unique identifying code (11) is stored in a memory of each chip RFID (9), to each unique identifying code of each RFID chip corresponds the precise coordinates (x, y, z) of said RFID chip, the coordinates (x, y, z) of all the RFID chips are stored in the on-board computer (2) of the vehicles (6). (Parienti, see at least [0019] wherein the guiding system is equipped with contactless devices such as RFID chips that can save their location with great accuracy. This is integrated into the strips in order to make them indestructible and allow for them to operate in powerless modes as well. ** RFID tags are designed to use unique codes and can be programmed to do so. Each RFID chip saves its location (therefore, since each chip is spaced apart (Fig. 2, element 20), there would be some identifier to disguish each chips location.)
Regarding Claim 21, Parienti in view of Chunjao discloses The automatic private collective transport system according to claim 1, (see rejection above)
Parienti further discloses wherein when the vehicles (6) organize themselves in train, following the colored strip (10) or the corresponding virtual computer strip (20), the lead vehicle (36) stores in its on-board computer (2) all the destinations of each vehicle, via a secure link (33), said lead vehicle will coordinate, via the same secure link (33), the accelerations, braking, obstacle avoidance and direction changes of one or more vehicles of the train, and by causing the vehicle or vehicles immediately following the vehicle or vehicles to slow down and change direction, in order to allow the vehicle or vehicles to change lanes to join another colored strip (10) or the corresponding virtual computer strip (20). (Parienti, see at least [0032-0037] wherein lead vehicles of a train manage data exchanges between the other vehicles of the train, detect obstacles and can communicate instructions to other vehicles to slow down or stop (to avoid obstacles), stores destinations for all the vehicles, orders the vehicles within the train to function at specific speeds, and can order vehicles to follow different paths to change directions.)
Regarding Claim 22, Parienti in view of Chunjao discloses The automatic private public transport system according to claim 1, (see rejection above)
Parienti further discloses wherein outside built-up areas, the RFID chips (9) are spaced further apart, every 100 to 1000 meters, fixed to short but clearly visible colored discontinuous strips (10), of 3 meters for instance, so that an authorized driver, driving on said colored discontinuous strip (10), the inertial unit reconstitutes the virtual strip of the route taken and sets the inertial unit back to the virtual strip of the route taken the coordinates (x,y,z) of any chip crossed by the vehicle. (Parienti, see at least [0008] “Each vehicle is mounted on tyres and the rail is composed of a rubber strip or equivalent, mounted on the pavement, with continuous optical characteristics and including contactless chip devices such as RFID or transmitters located at regular spacing's. Each vehicle includes localisation and detection means with an antenna suited for transmission of radiofrequency signals towards transponders, these localization and detection means being used to identify the optical characteristics in order to follow the strip during the vehicle motion and to detect the localisation signals received from the transponders reacting to the radiofrequency signals in order to locate the vehicle.”)
Regarding Claim 23, Parienti in view of Chunjao discloses The automatic private public transport system according to claim 1, (see rejection above)
Parienti further discloses wherein the on-board computer (2) and the computer system (7) are provided with an expert system associated with software and augmented intelligence algorithms (AI), which make it possible to store all the information relating to the journeys and to all the information relating to the passenger of possible situations in order to incorporate the experience acquired during use, enabling the AI to make the same decision as an informed human. (Parienti, see at least [0024] “In case of damage or degradation of the ground guiding string, the vehicle, thanks to its reference system, is able to proceed with the trajectory, to anticipate turns, until it can find the guiding string again thanks to the accurate localization provided by the contactless devices on the ground below the guiding string and able to achieve remote communication thanks to accelerometers integrated in the vehicle that enable the accurate identification of any motion, and hence the permanent localization even without the guiding string in case of degradation of the strip, and through the correlation with other localization data. When the guiding string is not visible after a few meters (for instance, as a function of its location on mapping), the vehicle stops.” ** any processer that executes an algorithm augments the intelligence would have existed without the algorithm)
Regarding Claim 24, Parienti in view of Chunjao discloses The automatic private public transport system according to claim 1, (see rejection above)
Parienti further discloses wherein the number of inertial units operating simultaneously is multiplied in order to obtain a high level of reliability, to which end the on-board computer (2) monitors the coherence of the data supplied by each of said inertial units (1), in combination with the AI, which store decision theory algorithms, so that the AI makes the best decision in all possible situations. (Parienti, see at least [0024] “In case of damage or degradation of the ground guiding string, the vehicle, thanks to its reference system, is able to proceed with the trajectory, to anticipate turns, until it can find the guiding string again thanks to the accurate localization provided by the contactless devices on the ground below the guiding string and able to achieve remote communication thanks to accelerometers integrated in the vehicle that enable the accurate identification of any motion, and hence the permanent localization even without the guiding string in case of degradation of the strip, and through the correlation with other localization data. When the guiding string is not visible after a few meters (for instance, as a function of its location on mapping), the vehicle stops.” ** any processer that executes an algorithm augments the intelligence would have existed without the algorithm *** if multiple vehicles are being utilized, such as in a fleet, then there would be multiple inertial units operating simultaneously.)
Regarding Claim 26, Parienti in view of Chunjao discloses The automatic private public transport system according to claim 1, (see rejection above)
Parienti further discloses characterized in that a network of colored strips on the roadway provided with RFID chips allows precise geo-positioning that can be used by any type of operator or application, particularly in the field of transport, autonomous shuttle, or any type of vehicle, or authorized operator, having an RFID antenna (13) cooperating with a computer capable of reading any unique identifier (11) of the RFID chips (13), and determining its coordinates (x, y, z). (Parienti, see at least Claim 13 “said strip exhibiting continuous optical characteristics and including RFID contactless chip devices or regularly spaced transponders, wherein said vehicle comprises localization and detection means and an antenna suited for transmission of radiofrequency signals to said transponders, said localization and detection systems being designed to identify said optical characteristics in order to follow said strip during the motion of the vehicle and to detect localization signals received from said transponders that are reacting to radiofrequency signals so as to localize the said vehicle.”)
Regarding Claim 27, Parienti in view of Chunjao discloses The automatic private public transport system according to claim 1, (see rejection above)
Parienti further discloses wherein at, if the colored stripe (10) is not visible, for atmospheric reasons, snow, ice, sand, or for any other reason, the inertial unit (1) in combination with the computer (2) provided with a dedicated calculation unit (18), and adapted servomotors, connected to a control unit (3), acting on the steering unit (40), enables the vehicle to continue the programmed route, following the stripe virtual computer (20), stored in the memory (41) of the computer (2). (Parienti, see at least [0024] “In case of damage or degradation of the ground guiding string, the vehicle, thanks to its reference system, is able to proceed with the trajectory, to anticipate turns, until it can find the guiding string again thanks to the accurate localization provided by the contactless devices on the ground below the guiding string and able to achieve remote communication thanks to accelerometers integrated in the vehicle that enable the accurate identification of any motion, and hence the permanent localization even without the guiding string in case of degradation of the strip, and through the correlation with other localization data.”)
Regarding Claim 28, Parienti in view of Chunjao discloses The automatic private public transport system according to claim 1, (see rejection above)
Parienti further discloses wherein said system is dual-mode, in that it has two modes of operation: electric and automatic in town, or thermal and manual driving outside town; (Parienti, see at least [0016] “an automated mode without driver, guided by the guiding string, according to the invention, and a manual mode as required (conventional driving).”)
in manual driving mode, the seats of the automatic public transport system are in manual driving mode, and in with manual driving mode, the seats of the automatic public transport system are in manual driving mode, said front seats are designed to perform this rotating function. (Parienti, see at least [0042] wherein in manual mode, the user drives the vehicle in a regular fashion after rotation of the driver seat)
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parienti (US 20110125345) in view of CHUNJAO (JP 6492469) in further view of Papantoniou (US 20220284432)
Regarding Claim 18, Parienti in view of Chunjao discloses The automatic private public transport system according to claim 1, (see rejection above)
Parienti does not explicitly disclose wherein the virtual strip (20) resulting from the concatenation of the segments of the journey is certified by a block chain, since each segment which constitutes it is certified by ln a blockchain, every segment added is subject to a cryptographic transaction check, verified by a set of servers.
However, Papantoniou discloses wherein the virtual strip (20) resulting from the concatenation of the segments of the journey is certified by a block chain, since each segment which constitutes it is certified by ln a blockchain, every segment added is subject to a cryptographic transaction check, verified by a set of servers. (Papantoniou, see at least [0048-0049] wherein blockchain ledgers can be used to authenticate data in which the data includes information about condition of an object and attributes attached to the feature, and pertain to the quality and accuracy of the location of the object.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in modified Parienti with the teachings of Papantoniou to include the utilizing a blockchain, wherein the data can be verified by the blockchain to ensure that segments of a route are authenticated. This would further improve the managing or controlling of vehicles utilizing a rail guidance system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 25 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20130336537 – A method, apparatus and system for guiding a number of mobile devices. An image of a portion of an environment around a mobile device in the number of mobile devices is received from a sensor system associated with the mobile device. A set of pixels in the image that meets a standard is identified. A centroid for the set of pixels that meets the standard is identified. A number of commands for guiding the mobile device within the environment is generated based on the centroid.
US 9014902 – A system and method of automatic guided vehicles (AGVs) that is capable of providing synchronized travel along a line or path while maintaining a desired takt time such that regular manufacturing operations may be performed to material or workpieces on the vehicle without the need for a traditional conveyor system.
Conclusion
/NADA MAHYOOB ALQADERI/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664