DETAILED ACTION
Claims 20-39 are pending in the application.
Examiner’s Note: The examiner has cited particular passages including column and line numbers, paragraphs as designated numerically and/or figures as designated numerically in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claims, other passages, paragraphs and figures of any and all cited prior art references may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing an eventual response, to fully consider the context of the passages, paragraphs and figures as taught by the prior art and/or cited by the examiner while including in such consideration the cited prior art references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. MPEP 2141.02 VI: “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20, 32-36, 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni et al. US Pub. No. 2018/0293981 in view of Kholaif US Pub. No. 2020/0036592.
Regarding claim 20, Ni teaches a first electronic [Assistant system 160 or Computing 110], comprising:
one or more processors and one or more memories, wherein the one or more memories are coupled to the one or more processors, the one or more memories store computer program code, and the computer program code comprises computer instructions, and when the one or more processors invoke the computer instructions, the first electronic device is enabled to perform:
receiving a first instruction of a first user [See par. 33 – multiple users], and controlling a second electronic device [fans, smoke and/or carbon monoxide detectors, kitchen appliances, speakers, thermostats or other climate control devices,…light] to operate by using a first operating parameter; and
receiving a second instruction of a second user, and controlling the second electronic device to operate by using a second operating parameter, or controlling a third electronic device to operate by using a third operating parameter [fans, smoke and/or carbon monoxide detectors, kitchen appliances, speakers, thermostats or other climate control devices,…light],
[0017] Automation devices 106 represent any suitable automation devices, such as locks, lights, powered blinds or other window coverings, garage door openers, lawn sprinklers, fans, smoke and/or carbon monoxide detectors, kitchen appliances, speakers, thermostats or other climate control devices, security cameras, alarm systems, doorbells, chargers, pet food dispensers, leak and/or flood sensors, energy monitoring devices, televisions or other audio/video devices, powered mattresses, etc. capable of sending and receiving information both to and from a network, such as network 130. In some examples, automation devices 106 may be referred to as so called smart devices or internet-of-things (IoT) devices. In some examples, automation devices 106 may home automation devices in that automation devices 106 may be located in, on, or around a residence. However, in general, automation devices 106 may be located in, on, or around any setting including commercial (e.g., retail, office, and the like), residential, industrial, governmental (e.g., airport, municipal, military, and the like), or other settings.
[0019] Automation devices 106 may perform automation actions in response to receiving requests from other devices, such as computing device 110 or digital assistant system 160. For instance, a pet food dispenser of automation devices 106 may perform a dispense-food action in response to receiving a request from computing device 110 (e.g., via network 130) to perform the dispense-food action.
[0032] The respective assistant provided by assistant modules 122 may be configured to trigger or otherwise initiate performance of automation actions in the course of executing operations to satisfy verbal or spoken requests of users of computing device 110. For instance, the assistant provided by assistant modules 122 may receive, with one or more microphones of computing device 110, acoustic input (e.g., audio data) that corresponds to an utterance a user of computing device 110 requesting performance of a particular automation action (e.g., “unlock the front door”). The assistant provided by assistant modules 122 may analyze the audio data to identify an automation action and associated automation devices of automation devices 106 that corresponds to the spoken utterance. For instance, the assistant provided by assistant modules 122 may utilize speech recognition to determine that the spoken utterance of “unlock the front door” corresponds to an unlock action performed by a lock of automation devices 106 associated with a front door. The assistant provided by assistant modules 122 may cause the identified automation devices of automation devices 106 to perform the identified automation action. For instance, the assistant provided by assistant modules 122 may output a request to perform an unlock action to the lock of automation devices 106 associated with the front door. In this way, the assistant provided by assistant modules 122 may facilitate performance of automation actions to satisfy verbal or spoken requests of users of computing device 110.
[0033] Computing device 110 may be utilized by multiple users (e.g., multiple different users may provide spoken utterances to computing device 110). As one example, where computing device 110 is located in a residential setting, computing device 110 may be utilized by family members, roommates, guests, etc. As another example, where computing device 110 is located in a commercial or industrial setting, computing device 110 may be utilized by various managers, workers, security guards, visitors, etc.
[0034] In some examples, it may not be desirable for every user of computing device 110 to be able to trigger every available automation action. For instance, it may not be desirable for every user of computing device 110 to be able to trigger an unlock action performed by a lock of automation devices 106 associated with a front door. On the other hand, it may be desirable for every user of computing device 110 to be able to trigger a dimming action of a light of automation devices 106.
[0036] The assistant provided by assistant modules 122 may identify the requesting user. For instance, the assistant provided by assistant modules 122 may perform speaker recognition by comparing the audio data with a voice prints of one or more users configured to utilize computing device 110. As discussed in further detail below, the voice prints of one or more users configured to utilize computing device 110 may be stored in user information store 124A and/or user information store 124B. If the performance of speaker recognition yields a matching voice print, the assistant provided by assistant modules 122 may determine that the requesting user is the user that corresponds to the matching voice print. If the performance of speaker recognition does not yield a matching voice print, the assistant provided by assistant modules 122 may determine that the requesting user is a guest user.
wherein semantic content of the first instruction [“turn on the light”] is the same as that of the second instruction, See par 96], the second electronic device is different from the third electronic device [See par. 17], and
the second electronic device is different from the third electronic device, and the first electronic device distinguishes the first user from the second user based on identity information obtained from the first instruction and the second instruction [spoken utterance – See par. 32, 36, and Fig. 3], such that the same semantic content results in the first operating
[0096] As discussed in further detail below, in some examples, digital assistant system 160 may identify the automation based on one or more preferences of the identified user. For example, a profile of a first user registered with computing device 110 may indicate that the first user prefers the utterance “turn on the light” to correspond to an automation action of turning on a first light, and a profile of a second user registered with computing device 110 may indicate that the first user prefers the utterance “turn on the light” to correspond to an automation action of turning on a second light. As such, digital assistant system 160 may identify different automations for identical utterances that are provided by different users to the same computing device (e.g., should profiles for the different users indicate different preferences).
Ni specifically teaches the digital assistant system 160 may identify different automations for identical utterances that are provided by different users to the same computing device (e.g., should profiles for the different users indicate different preferences). However, Ni does not expressly teach that different operating parameters are applied to the controlled an electronic device for different users. In other words, Ni does not expressly teach the first operating parameter is different from the second operating parameter.
Kholaif teaches systems, methods, and/or techniques for dynamically and adaptively control setting for different electronic devices based on user profiles. Specifically, Kholaif teaches different operating parameters are applied to the controlled an electronic device for different users (first operating parameter is different from the second operating parameter).
[0013] As used herein, an environment-automation device may include a computing device that automates the control and/or modification of an environment. For example, an environmental-automation device may include a device that automates the control and/or modification of environmental conditions such as heating, ventilation, air conditioning, lighting, ambiance, sounds, announcements, security, entertainment, food preparation, household tasks, etc. An environment-automation device may perform actions associated with controlling or modifying the environmental conditions based on user commands or data received via a computing network that the environment-automation device is in communication with.
[0035] A user profile may include a preference of a condition of an environment, such as the temperature, the volume of sounds played, the sounds played, the lighting, the ambiance, the enabled/disabled features of the environment, etc. A user profile may specify settings, a sequence of settings, actions, a sequence of actions, etc. of an environment-automation device 106. For example, a profile may specify that a smart lighting system should be set to a particular brightness, a temperature of a smart thermostat should be set to seventy degrees Fahrenheit, a voice greeting stating “Welcome home, John Smith!” should be played on a smart audio/visual system, and relaxing music should be played on the smart audio/visual system after the greeting.
[0040] For example, an owner of a home network may create and configure a user profile for himself, one for each of his children, and one for his spouse. In another example, a network administrator for a business network may create and configure a user profile for individuals in the company and for categories of users such as employee and customer. In another example, the profile for an owner of a home network may be created from an analysis of the historical temperature settings he has entered to a smart thermostat.
[0060] The environment-automation manager 216 may reference the data from the management frame 214 about the client device 212 against a user profile repository 218. A user profile repository 218 may include a profile of settings to be adjusted or actions to be performed in an environment corresponding to the computing network to which the network device 210 is connected. Each user profile in the user profile repository 218 may be configured and stored in advance of the network device 210 receiving the management frame 214. For example, a user may configure his profile or the profile of another.
[0100] Determining the sequence of setting configurations may include prioritizing setting configurations that correspond to different user profiles and/or different client devices simultaneously detected in the environment. For example, determining the sequence of setting configurations may include prioritizing settings configurations corresponding to a first user profile detected in the environment over settings configurations corresponding to a second user profile detected in the environment. For example, a parent in a home, a manager in a business, a senior employee in a business, etc. whose user profile is determined to correspond to a client device detected in the environment may have their setting configurations from their user profile executed in advance of or in place of a child in a home, an employee in a business, a junior employee in a business, etc. whose user profile is determined to correspond to a client device simultaneously detected in the environment.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the digital assistant system of Ni to incorporate the user-specific operating parameter techniques taught by Kholaif so that, after identifying a user, the system would not only select the appropriate automation or target device but would also automatically apply that user’s preferred operating parameters. Such a modification merely combines known personalization techniques to improve user convenience, reduce repeated manual adjustments, and provide a more personalized user experience.
Regarding claim 32, Ni teaches receiving the first instruction of the first user, and controlling the second electronic device to operate by using the first operating parameter comprises: receiving the first instruction of the first user; obtaining identity information of the first user based on the first instruction, wherein the identity information comprises one or more of a fingerprint feature, a voiceprint feature, a facial feature, or a body action type; and determining the second electronic device and the first operating parameter based on the identity information of the first user [See fig. 3].
Regarding claim 33, Ni teaches the first instruction comprises one or more of the following: a speech signal, face image information, fingerprint image information, an identifier, or a scene mode identifier [See fig. 3].
Regarding claim 34, Ni teaches receiving the first speech signal of the first user; and performing the following: performing semantic analysis on the first speech signal to obtain the first instruction; or determining the first instruction based on an audio feature of the first speech signal, wherein the audio feature comprises one or more of the following: a tempo, a rhythm, a pitch, or a melody [See par. 36, 72-73, 76-77].
Regarding claim 35, Ni teaches the first electronic device is any one of the following: a smart speaker, a robot manager, a large screen electronic device, a smart door, a mobile phone, a tablet, a smartwatch, a smart band, or a server; the fifth electronic device is any one of the following: a smart air conditioner, a smart fan, an air purifier, and a floor sweeping robot; the second electronic device is a smart lamp; and the sixth electronic device is any one of the following: a smart television or a projector [See par. 17-18].
Regarding claim 36, it is directed to the method of steps to implement the system as set forth in claim 20. Therefore, it is rejected on the same basis as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claim 39, it is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising instructions, wherein when the instructions are run on a first electronic device to implement the system as set forth in claim 20. Therefore, it is rejected on the same basis as set forth hereinabove.
Claim(s) 21-25, 27-28, 31, 37-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni/Kholaif as applied to claim 20 or 36 above, and further in view of Richardson.
Regarding claim 21, Ni teaches controlling, by the first electronic device, a fifth electronic device [fans, smoke and/or carbon monoxide detectors, kitchen appliances, speakers, thermostats or other climate control devices,…light] to operate by using a fourth operating parameter, wherein the second electronic device is different from the fifth electronic device.
Ni/Kholaif does not teach before receiving the first instruction of the first user, when the first electronic device detects that a spatial distance between a geographical location of a fourth electronic device of the first user and a geographical location of the second electronic device is within a preset distance,
Richardson teaches another smart home control system. Specifically, Richardson teaches before receiving the first instruction [See fig. 10 – preset instructions] of the first user [340 – See fig. 1-4], when the first electronic device [102 or 202] detects that a spatial distance between a geographical location of a fourth electronic device [102 or 202] of the first user and a geographical location of the second electronic device [heating/cooling] is within a preset distance.
[0003] In some contemporary systems, a mobile device can track its location via an on-board global positioning system (GPS). The mobile device can send a notification to a smart home system when the GPS detects that the mobile device has traversed a preset geo-fence, which may trigger the action in the smart home, as noted above. Mobile devices typically include smart phones, smart watches, wearable technology, laptop computers, and the like.
[0005] In a typical smart home system, resident accessory devices (e.g., lights, heating/cooling, locks, etc.) that implement aspects of home automation can be turned on or off based on a location of the user's mobile device. For example, the user's location can be determined based on the user's phone. When the user is close to home (e.g., as determined by a boundary of a geo-fence being crossed), a specified device (e.g., lights) can be configured to automatically turn on. Similarly, when a user leaves their home (e.g., as determined by the geo-fence boundary being crossed in the opposite direction), the specified device can be turned off.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Ni/Kholaif with the step of before receiving the first instruction of the first user, when the first electronic device detects that a spatial distance between a geographical location of a fourth electronic device of the first user and a geographical location of the second electronic device is within a preset distance of Richardson. The motivation for doing so would have been to make home safer and more energy efficient by only activate/deactivate resident accessory devices based on user’s location as suggested by Richardson in paragraph 0004-0005.
Regarding claim 22, Richardson teaches wherein the fourth electronic device and the first electronic device are a same electronic device [See fig. 1].
Regarding claim 23, Richardson teaches the first electronic device is further enabled to perform: after controlling the second electronic device to operate by using the first operating parameter, and after the first electronic device controls the second electronic device to operate, for a first time period, by using the first operating parameter [See par. 0007-0008, 0055], controlling, by the first electronic device, a sixth electronic device [light] to operate by using a fifth operating parameter [See par. 0008, fig. 10 – on/off light], wherein the sixth electronic device is different from the second electronic device, and the sixth electronic device is different from the fifth electronic device [television – par. 0084].
Regarding claim 24, Richardson teaches wherein receiving the first instruction of the first user, and controlling the second electronic device to operate by using the first operating parameter comprises: receiving, by the first electronic device, the first instruction of the first user [See fig. 10], detecting a first operation of the first user, and controlling the second electronic device to operate by using the first operating parameter [par. 0008, 0032].
Regarding claim 25, Richardson teaches after receiving the first instruction of the first user, detecting a second operation of the first user, and controlling a seventh electronic device [locks] to operate using a sixth operating parameter [See par. 0008].
Regarding claim 27, Richardson teaches wherein the first electronic device is further enabled to perform: after controlling the second electronic device to operate by using the first operating parameter, when the first electronic device detects that the first operating parameter does not meet a second condition, controlling the second electronic device to operate by using an eighth operating parameter [par. 0008, 0052, 0071, 0083].
Regarding claim 28, Richardson teaches wherein the first electronic device is further enabled to perform: after controlling the second electronic device to operate by using the first operating parameter, when the first electronic device detects that the first electronic device is about to switch from a first scene mode to a second scene mode, controlling an eighth electronic device to operate by using the eighth operating parameter corresponding to the second scene mode [par. 0008, 0052, 0071, 0083].
Regarding claim 31, Richardson teaches wherein the first electronic device is further enabled to perform: before receiving the first instruction of a first user, receiving an eighth operating parameter that is of the second electronic device and that is entered by the first user; outputting third prompt information when the eighth operating parameter does not meet the second condition; and receiving and storing the first operating parameter that is of the second electronic device and that is entered by the first user [See fig. 10, par. 0101].
Regarding claim 37, See discussion in claim 21.
Regarding claim 38, See discussion in claim 22.
Claim(s) 26, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni/Kholaif as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view Yang.
Regarding claim 26, Ni teaches receiving the first instruction of the first user, and controlling the second electronic device to operate by using the first operating parameter [See par. 32]. Ni/Kholaif does not teach receiving, by the first electronic device, the first instruction of the first user, and determining a seventh operating parameter that is of the second electronic device and that is indicated by the first instruction; outputting, by the first electronic device, first prompt information when the seventh operating parameter does not meet a first condition and receiving the first operating parameter entered by the first user, and controlling the second electronic device to operate by using the first operating parameter.
Yang teaches another system configured to control home’s appliance based on user instruction [See page 6]. Specifically, Yang teaches receiving, by the first electronic device, the first instruction of the first user, and determining a seventh operating parameter that is of the second electronic device and that is indicated by the first instruction; outputting, by the first electronic device, first prompt information when the seventh operating parameter does not meet a first condition and receiving the first operating parameter entered by the first user, and controlling the second electronic device to operate by using the first operating parameter.
step S202: receiving intelligent device to upload the voice command, the voice command into text instruction. [See page 6 and fig. 2]
when the voice instruction input by the user cannot be complete identification, checking and matching the keywords in the voice command by transferring the configuration file to detect
the voice instruction input by the user is complete. when detecting there is instruction parameter cannot be matched, the server generates a prompting information corresponding to the instruction parameter, sending to the user corresponding to the intelligent terminal, sending the prompt information corresponding to the query statement to the user by the intelligent terminal. to the user according to the inquiring sentence corresponding to the input voice command, according to the new voice command, repeating the voice command step of converting character instruction, until all instruction parameters are capable of matching the corresponding keywords. [page 8-9]
until all instruction parameters are matching the corresponding keywords. a plurality of instruction parameter to generate an operation instruction by using the matching keywords, sending the operation instruction to the intelligent household appliance so that the intelligent home device executing the operating instruction [page 12].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Ni/Kholaif with the feature discussed above of Yang. The motivation for doing so would be, as suggested by Yang, to improve human-computer interaction friendliness, and improves the expandability of intelligent home system.
Regarding claim 29, Ni/Kholaif in view Yang teaches the first electronic device is further enabled to perform: after receiving the first instruction of the second user, and before controlling the second electronic device to operate by using the second operating parameter, outputting second prompt information, wherein the second prompt information prompts a user whether to modify an operating parameter of the second electronic device; and receiving a third instruction entered by the first user or the second user, and controlling the second electronic device to operate by using the second operating parameter [See page 6, 8-9, 12 of Yang].
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni/Kholaif as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view Burg.
Regarding claim 30, Ni/Kholaif does not teach outputting third prompt information when the eighth operating parameter does not meet the second condition; and receiving and storing the first operating parameter that is of the second electronic device and that is entered by the first user.
Burge teaches a method and system to automatically control energy consumption of a properties, including adjusting a thermostat in accordance with a schedule occupied. Specifically, Burge teaches before receiving the first instruction of a first user, receiving an eighth operating parameter that is of the second electronic device and that is entered by the first user; outputting third prompt information when the eighth operating parameter does not meet the second condition; and receiving and storing the first operating parameter that is of the second electronic device and that is entered by the first user [See fig. 3].
The thermostat report 320 indicates that energy usage of the thermostat has been properly managed in that its temperature setting 324 has remained within the range bound by limits 322a and 322b. The thermostat report 320 may also include a message 326 to present information, such as operating status and parameters. These reports also may be augmented with other information, such as suggestion 328, which provides an energy-saving tip to the owner. In this example, suggestion 328 presents analytical data regarding energy usage trends in similar rental properties and suggests that it might benefit to lower the temperature setting of the thermostat. Suggestion 328 also may be accompanied by an interface to allow the owner to act on the advice and modify the thermostat temperature setting. In some implementations, report 300 may provide owners with one or more interfaces to edit any desired energy management setting. [col. 12 line 56 col. 13 line 4]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Ni/Kholaif with the feature discussed above of Burge. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption. Thus, reduce operation cost.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Pub. No. 2019/0221215 to Mixter et al. teach a method at an electronic device with one or more microphones and a speaker includes receiving a first voice input; comparing the first voice input to one or more voice models; based on the comparing, determining whether the first voice input corresponds to any of a plurality of occupants, and according to the determination, authenticating an occupant and presenting a response, or restricting functionality of the electronic device. Specifically, Mixter et al. teach the electronic device 190 receives a second voice input, compares the second voice input to the set of voice models, based on the comparing, determines that the second voice input corresponds to a second user of the plurality of users, and presents a response in accordance with the determination that the second voice input corresponds to the second user. In some implementations, the electronic device generates the response in accordance with the determination and with the second voice input. If a different user associated with the electronic device 190 speaks a voice input to the electronic device 190, the electronic device 190 identifies the different user in a similar manner as the identification of the first user—comparing the different user's voice input to the voice models and finding a best match. With the identification of the different user, the electronic device 190 is able to generate a response based on this new identification. Thus, the electronic device 190 is able to switch between associated users by comparing the voice inputs to the voice models and identifying the speaking user based on the comparing, negating a need for the users to explicitly speak a command to switch the focus of the electronic device 190 from one user to another user.
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
VINCENT H TRAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2115
/VINCENT H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115