DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2007/0036596 to Takahashi.
Takahashi teaches:
(claim 1) An image forming apparatus (1, Fig.1) comprising:
an image forming part (3);
a paper feeding part (7) to transfer a printing paper to the image forming part;
a scanning part (2); and
a processor (Fig.5, [0068]),
wherein the processor is to, based on a copying instruction of a document being input (Fig.8: S101), control the scanning part to initiate scanning for the document to be copied, at the same time, control the paper feeding part to initiate transfer of the printing paper for printing the document to be copied, and complete the transfer of the printing paper before the scanning of the document is completed (Fig.8: S103, Fig.9A, [0101] and/or Fig.8: S111, Fig.9C, [0107]).
(claim 8) Takashi teaches the claimed method, since it has been held that when the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
(claim 15) A non-transitory recording medium (42, Fig.3) storing instructions for performing a processing method (Fig.8) of a document of an image forming apparatus, the non-transitory recording medium comprising: instructions to, based on a copying instruction of a document being input, initiate scanning of a document; instructions to initiate transfer of the printing paper for printing the document to be copied before the scanning of the document is completed; and instructions to perform at least one process among processes of an image forming job while the scanning of the document is in progress, wherein the processes of the image forming job include at least one of a charging process of charging a photosensitive body, an exposure process of forming a latent image on the photosensitive body, a developing process of developing the latent image into an image, a transfer process of transferring the image to the printing paper, or a fixing process of fixing the image transferred to the printing paper.
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-11, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0099596 to Shigeoka.
Shigeoka teaches:
(claim 1) An image forming apparatus (10, Fig.1) comprising:
an image forming part (4);
a paper feeding part (3) to transfer a printing paper (92) to the image forming part;
a scanning part (1); and
a processor (8, Fig.2),
wherein the processor is to, based on a copying instruction of a document being input (Fig.3: START), control the scanning part to initiate scanning for the document to be copied (Fig.3: S101), at the same time, control the paper feeding part to initiate transfer of the printing paper for printing the document to be copied (Fig.4:S202), and complete the transfer of the printing paper (Fig.4:S204) before the scanning of the document is completed [0086, 0130].
(claim 2) The image forming apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is to control the image forming part to perform at least one process among processes of an image forming job performed by the image forming part while the scanning of the document is in progress, and wherein the processes of the image forming job include at least one of a charging process of charging a photosensitive body, an exposure process of forming a latent image on the photosensitive body, a developing process of developing the latent image into an image, a transfer process of transferring the image to the printing paper, or a fixing process of fixing the image transferred to the printing paper (band data printing, [0053-0061, [0147]).
(claim 3) The image forming apparatus of claim 2, further comprising: a memory (81,82) to store a minimum number of scan strips (Ld1), wherein the processor is to: control the paper feeding part to initiate the transfer of the printing paper before scanning is performed in the scanning part as much as the minimum number of scan strips stored in the memory, and based on the scanning being performed as much as the minimum number of scan strips in the scanning part, control the image forming part to perform the at least one process (Fig.3).
(claim 4) The image forming apparatus of claim 2, further comprising: a memory (81/82, Fig.2) to store a standard scanning time which is a time spent until scanning a part of a document, wherein the processor is to: control the paper feeding part to initiate the transfer of the printing paper before the standard scanning time stored in the memory passes after the scanning was initiated in the scanning part [0157-0169]; and based on the standard scanning time passing, control the image forming part to perform the at least one process [0147, 0171].
(claims 8-11) Shigeoka teaches the claimed method, since it has been held that when the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
(claim 15) A non-transitory recording medium (81, 82, Fig.2) storing instructions for performing a processing method (Figs.3 & 4) of a document of an image forming apparatus, the non-transitory recording medium comprising: instructions to, based on a copying instruction of a document being input, initiate scanning of a document; instructions to initiate transfer of the printing paper for printing the document to be copied before the scanning of the document is completed; and instructions to perform at least one process among processes of an image forming job while the scanning of the document is in progress, wherein the processes of the image forming job include at least one of a charging process of charging a photosensitive body, an exposure process of forming a latent image on the photosensitive body, a developing process of developing the latent image into an image, a transfer process of transferring the image to the printing paper, or a fixing process of fixing the image transferred to the printing paper [0049, 0073-0075].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0099596 to Shigeoka, as applied to claims 2 and 9 above, and further in view of US 2023/0056964 to Mayer et al.
Regarding claim 5, Shigeoka teaches an image forming apparatus of claim 2, further comprising: a memory (81/82, Fig.2) that stores an entire scanning time [0154]. Shigeoka appears silent about a preparation time of a developing unit to perform the developing process. Mayer discloses an image forming apparatus (100, Fig.1) comprising: a memory (208, Fig.2) to store information on a predetermined scan engine time period (308), wherein a processor (112) may subtract a determined time period for initialization of the print engine from the predetermined time period that the scan engine takes to perform a scan, to generally align the scan end time, the print engine ready time, and the print start time [0010, 0048, 0055]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shigeoka and Mayer such that in an image forming apparatus according to claim 2, the memory stores information on a preparation time of a developing unit to perform the developing process and an entire scanning time, wherein the processor is to, based on a stand-by time passing after the scanning was initiated in the scanning part, control the image forming part to initiate a preparing operation of the developing unit, and wherein the stand-by time includes a time in which the preparation time was subtracted from the entire scanning time, for at least the purpose of avoiding delays in printing a job.
Regarding claim 12, Shigeoka in view of Mayer teaches the claimed method, since it has been held that when the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0099596 to Shigeoka, as applied to claims 2 and 9 above, and further in view of US 2023/0056964 to Mayer et al.
Regarding claim 6, Shigeoka teaches the image forming apparatus of claim 2, further comprising: a memory (81/82, Fig.2) to store information on a fixing temperature of a fixing unit performing the fixing process (inherent to control of apparatus). Shigeoka appears silent about a timing for the processor is to control the image forming part to initiate a preparing operation of the developing unit. Mayer discloses an image forming apparatus (100, Fig.1) comprising: a memory (108, Fig.1) to store information on a fixing temperature of a fixing unit performing the fixing process [0026], wherein a processor (112) may subtract a determined time period (e.g., for the fuser 104 to heat to the fusing temperature) from a scan end time so that, when the scan engine has completed scanning (e.g., a document), the fuser has just reached the fusing temperature, and hence there is no delay in printing the print job from the scan engine [0031]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the image forming apparatus of Shigeoka such that the processor is to, based on the temperature of the fixing unit reaching the fixing temperature after the scanning was initiated in the scanning part, control the image forming part to initiate a preparing operation of the developing unit, for at least the purpose of avoiding delays in printing a job.
Regarding claim 13, Shigeoka in view of Mayer, as combined above regarding claim 6, teach the claimed method, since it has been held that when the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0099596 to Shigeoka, as respectively applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of US 2014/0061995 to Shimazu.
Regarding claim 7, Shigeoka teaches an image forming apparatus of claim 1, but appears silent about an additional paper discharging part distinguished from a paper discharging part for normal printing output. Shimazu teaches a paper sheet conveyance apparatus and image forming apparatus comprising a jam sheet discharge tray 47, different from sheet discharge trays 45 and 46 for sheet having an image, as the discharge destination of a paper sheet when jam has occurred on the paper sheet conveyance path 40 before image transfer. A CPU determines discharge to the jam sheet discharge tray 47 according to an error determination (Figs 1-3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shigeoka and Shimazu to arrive at an image forming apparatus according to claim 1 further comprising an additional paper discharging part distinguished from a paper discharging part for normal printing output, wherein the processor is to, based on the scanning of the document failing after the transfer of the printing paper was initiated, discharge the printing paper to the additional paper discharging part, for at least the purpose of recovering materials and preventing printing defects in the apparatus.
Regarding claim 14, Shigeoka in view of Shimazu teaches the claimed method, since it has been held that when the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Arlene Heredia Ocasio/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852