DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II, claims 7-13 and 19 in the reply filed on 06/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7, 11-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Plessing (US 20170095868).
Regarding claim 7, Plessing discloses a device 200 for machining a gear using a rotating machining tool 72/73 having a first end and a second end (see e.g. Fig. 3A). The device comprises a motor spindle 40 having a drive motor and a motor spindle shaft drivable by the drive motor, the motor spindle shaft being configured to be connected to the machining tool at the first end thereof (e.g. by way of mandrel 75) to drive the machining tool to rotate about a tool axis B1. A counter bearing 30 is configured to rotatably support the machining tool at its second end. The counter bearing comprises a hollow shaft being rotatable about the tool axis and a mandrel 75 defining a longitudinal axis. The mandrel comprises first and second clamping regions arranged at different positions along the longitudinal axis of the mandrel (see e.g. Fig. 3A, wherein one region is inserted into the hollow shaft of the counter bearing while the other region is inside of the machining tool 72/73). The mandrel is insertable through the hollow shaft along the tool axis into a longitudinal bore of the machining tool such that the first clamping region is capable of making a clamping connection with the hollow shaft of the counter bearing and the second clamping region is capable of making a clamping connection with the machining tool so as to support the machining tool in the counter bearing (see e.g. Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 11, Plessing discloses the device comprising an actuator (not labeled, but capable of relatively moving the spindle/counter bearing in the V1 direction) configured to automatically insert the mandrel into the longitudinal bore of the machining tool along the tool axis in a state in which the first and second clamping regions are released, and to remove the mandrel out of the longitudinal bore again (e.g. by separating the spindle and counter bearing such that the arbor is inserted into the longitudinal bore).
Regarding claim 12, Plessing discloses the first end of the machining tool being connected to the motor spindle shaft to drive the machining tool for rotation about the tool axis (see e.g. Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 13, Plessing discloses the machining tool comprising a grinding worm (Paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 19, Plessing discloses a gear cutting machine comprising the device according to claim 7 as discussed above, at least one workpiece spindle (inherent) for driving a workpiece 90 to rotate about a workpiece axis and a machine controller 100 configured to establish a rolling coupling between the rotation of the machining tool and the rotation of the workpiece.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plessing (US 20170095868) in view of Raaphorst et al. (EP 0186838, hereinafter ‘Raaphorst’).
Regarding claims 8-10, Plessing does not explicitly disclose the construction of the mandrel and/or the connection means by which the tool and counter bearing are secured thereto.
Raaphorst discloses a similar clamping arrangement, wherein a hydraulic expansion mandrel 48 is provided with different clamping regions 53/49 configured to be inserted into different coaxial pieces, such as tools/workpieces and/or hollow shafts 54 of support bearings and have radially outwardly directed clamping connections to secure the mandrel to these components. Fluid is introduced through a hydraulic rotary inlet (central shaft bore visible in e.g. Figs. 14 & 17) in the region of the counter bearing for applying an external hydraulic pressure to the hydraulic expansion mandrel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute the structure of the hydraulic expansion mandrel of Raaphorst for the undisclosed structure of the first and/or second clamping regions of the mandrel of Plessing in order to securely secure the mandrel to both the tool and hollow shaft of the counter bearing. See MPEP 2143, I, B.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Adell et al. (DE 2902919), Cameron (US 4317577) and Retzbach (DE 19531211) disclose similar hydraulic expansion mandrels with separate regions clamping different parts.
/Alan Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722