DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "”wherein the T-DAI value is indicated independently of the T-DAI value." The claim language indicates that both of the T-DAI values are the same by using ‘the’ for both. It is impossible to indicate a value independent of itself, and so examiner is interpreting the claim to read: "wherein the T-DAI value is indicated separately of a T-DAI value for the HARQ-ACK codebook for unicast.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Papasakellariou (US 2022/0279454 A1).
Papasakellariou teaches scheduling a multicast PDSCH using DCI comprising T-DAI and G-RNTI fields. See Fig. 8 and 16 recreated below for exemplary scheduling procedures in which HARQ-ACK feedback is requested via multicast DCI.
Regarding Claim 1, Papasakellariou teaches the below limitation(s):
receiving, from a base station, multicast physical downlink shared channels (multicast PDSCHs) based on a plurality of Group-Radio Network Temporary Identifiers (G-RNTIs) (Papasakellariou [0111] for multicast PDSCH receptions, the RNTI can be one or more G-RNTIs; [0114] DCI format scheduling a multicast PDSCH reception uses a G-RNTI);
receiving, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), wherein the DCI includes information on a Total-Downlink Assignment Index (T-DAI) value for a hybrid automatic repeat ([0100] if the UE detects at least one DCI format that includes a total DAI (i.e. T-DAI) in a last PDCCH monitoring occasion where the UE detects at least one DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception; [0222] DCI format scheduling the PUSCH includes N(subG) DAI fields for respective N(subG) G-RNTIs, providing a total DAI value for each of the respective Nsub(G) multicast Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebooks) and request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook for multicast ([0116] When UE is configured to receive both unicast PDSCH and multicast PDSCH, a HARQ process for a corresponding TB can be associated with either a unicast PDSCH or with a multicast PDSCH for a corresponding Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook … UE enables HARQ-ACK information report based on an indication in a DCI format scheduling a corresponding PDSCH reception);
determining a plurality of HARQ-ACK codebooks for the multicast PDSCHs by applying the T-DAI value for each G-RNTI to the plurality of G-RNTIs ([0222] UE has one or more multicast Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebooks for respective one or more G-RNTIs and UE multiplexes Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebooks for a DCI format to include N(subG) DAI fields for respective N(subG) G-RNTIs, providing a total DAI); and
transmitting, to the base station, HARQ-ACK information determined by concatenating the plurality of HARQ-ACK codebooks (Fig 10 block 1010 UE is configured to provide HARQ-ACK information based on a concatenation of first and second Type-2 (multicast) HARQ-ACK codebooks and block 1050 UE multiplexes concatenation of first and second Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebooks in a PUCCH and transmits; see also [0188] UE provides HARQ-ACK information by concatenating a Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to PDSCH receptions associated first RNTIs (e.g. G-RNTI) and a Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to receptions of DCI formats or PDSCH associated with first RNTIs (e.g. G-RNTI), and the UE multiplexes HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH).
Regarding Claim 2, Papasakellariou teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Papasakellariou further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the T-DAI value is indicated independently of the T-DAI value for the HARQ- ACK codebook for unicast (Papasakellariou [0112] UE can be configured to receive both unicast PDSCH and multicast PDSCH based on the DCI format scheduling the PDSCH reception … DCI format indicating a unicast PDSCH can be used to schedule a unicast PDSCH reception while a DCI format indicating a multicast PDSCH can be used to schedule a multicast PDSCH reception, wherein examiner is interpreting this section as being "T-DAI value indicated independently" in light of [0100] and [0222] which teach that a DCI format used for scheduling PDSCH may comprise a T-DAI field).
Regarding Claim 3, Papasakellariou teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Papasakellariou further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the plurality of HARQ-ACK codebooks are concatenated according to an ascending order of G-RNTI values (Papasakellariou [0186] UE provides HARQ-ACK by concatenating codebooks corresponding to DCI formats or G-RNTIs; [0223] multicast Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebooks with a corresponding field in the DCI format can be determined according to an ascending order to the G-RNTI index; see also [0163] teaching that G-RNTIs are indexed in ascending order).
Regarding Claim 4, Papasakellariou teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Papasakellariou further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the HARQ-ACK information is transmitted through the PUSCH scheduled by the DCI (Papasakellariou Fig 10 block 1050 UE multiplexes concatenation of first and second Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebooks in a PUCCH and transmits).
Regarding Claim 5, Papasakellariou teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 4.
Papasakellariou further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the HARQ-ACK information is generated based on a Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook scheme transmitted through the PUSCH (Papasakellariou [0222] UE has one or more multicast Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebooks for respective one or more G-RNTIs; see also Fig 16 and associated [0026] wherein UE multiplexes unicast Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook and multicast Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebooks in a PUSCH).
Regarding Claim 8, Papasakellariou teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Papasakellariou further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein, based on the deactivation of transmission of HARQ-ACK information for a specific G-RNTI, the DCI does not include a T-DAI value corresponding to the specific G- RNTI (Papasakellariou [0115] more than one DCI formats can be used to schedule multicast PDSCH receptions or activation/deactivation of multicast SPS PDSCH receptions; [0099] teaches a DCI format that does not include a total DAI).
Regarding Claim 9, Papasakellariou teaches the limitation(s) of Claim 8.
Papasakellariou further teaches the below limitation(s):
wherein the deactivation of transmission of HARQ-ACK information for the specific G- RNTI is performed based on at least one of group common DCI or a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration (Papasakellariou [0074] "higher layers" is used to denote control information provided via RRC; [0127] HARQ-ACK information reports from a UE can be enabled or disabled by higher layer signaling .. Indication for disabling a HARQ-ACK information report can also be per RNTI, including per G-RNTI in case of multi G-RNTI(s)).
Regarding Claim 10, Papasakellariou teaches the below limitation(s):
at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal; and at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver (Papasakellariou Fig 2 wireless device 102 comprising transceiver(s) 210, controller/processor 225 and memory 230), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, from a base station, multicast physical downlink shared channels (multicast PDSCHs) based on a plurality of Group-Radio Network Temporary Identifiers (G-RNTIs) ([0111] for multicast PDSCH receptions, the RNTI can be one or more G-RNTIs; [0114] DCI format scheduling a multicast PDSCH reception uses a G-RNTI);
receive, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), wherein the DCI includes information on a Total-Downlink Assignment Index (T-DAI) value for a hybrid automatic repeat ([0100] if the UE detects at least one DCI format that includes a total DAI (i.e. T-DAI) in a last PDCCH monitoring occasion where the UE detects at least one DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception; [0222] DCI format scheduling the PUSCH includes N(subG) DAI fields for respective N(subG) G-RNTIs, providing a total DAI value for each of the respective Nsub(G) multicast Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebooks) and request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook for multicast ([0116] When UE is configured to receive both unicast PDSCH and multicast PDSCH, a HARQ process for a corresponding TB can be associated with either a unicast PDSCH or with a multicast PDSCH for a corresponding Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook … UE enables HARQ-ACK information report based on an indication in a DCI format scheduling a corresponding PDSCH reception);
determine a plurality of HARQ-ACK codebooks for the multicast PDSCHs by applying the T-DAI value for each G-RNTI to the plurality of G-RNTIs ([0222] UE has one or more multicast Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebooks for respective one or more G-RNTIs and UE multiplexes Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebooks for a DCI format to include N(subG) DAI fields for respective N(subG) G-RNTIs, providing a total DAI); and
transmit, to the base station, HARQ-ACK information determined by concatenating the plurality of HARQ-ACK codebooks (Fig 10 block 1010 UE is configured to provide HARQ-ACK information based on a concatenation of first and second Type-2 (multicast) HARQ-ACK codebooks and block 1050 UE multiplexes concatenation of first and second Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebooks in a PUCCH and transmits; see also [0188] UE provides HARQ-ACK information by concatenating a Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to PDSCH receptions associated first RNTIs (e.g. G-RNTI) and a Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to receptions of DCI formats or PDSCH associated with first RNTIs (e.g. G-RNTI), and the UE multiplexes HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH).
Regarding Claim 12, Papasakellariou teaches the below limitation(s):
at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal; and at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver (Papasakellariou Fig 2 wireless device 102 comprising transceiver(s) 210, controller/processor 225 and memory 230), wherein the at least one processor configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), multicast physical downlink shared channels (multicast PDSCHs) based on a plurality of Group-Radio Network Temporary Identifiers (G-RNTIs) ([0111] for multicast PDSCH receptions, the RNTI can be one or more G-RNTIs; [0114] DCI format scheduling a multicast PDSCH reception uses a G-RNTI);
transmit, to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), wherein the DCI includes information on a Total-Downlink Assignment Index (T-DAI) value for a hybrid automatic repeat ([0100] if the UE detects at least one DCI format that includes a total DAI (i.e. T-DAI) in a last PDCCH monitoring occasion where the UE detects at least one DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception; [0222] DCI format scheduling the PUSCH includes N(subG) DAI fields for respective N(subG) G-RNTIs, providing a total DAI value for each of the respective Nsub(G) multicast Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebooks) and request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook for multicast ([0116] When UE is configured to receive both unicast PDSCH and multicast PDSCH, a HARQ process for a corresponding TB can be associated with either a unicast PDSCH or with a multicast PDSCH for a corresponding Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook … UE enables HARQ-ACK information report based on an indication in a DCI format scheduling a corresponding PDSCH reception); and
receive HARQ-ACK information from the UE ([0222] UE has one or more multicast Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebooks for respective one or more G-RNTIs and UE multiplexes Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebooks for a DCI format to include N(subG) DAI fields for respective N(subG) G-RNTIs, providing a total DAI),
wherein the HARQ-ACK information is determined by concatenating a plurality of HARQ-ACK codebooks for the multicast PDSCHs determined by applying the T-DAI value for each G-RNTI to the plurality of G-RNTIs (Fig 10 block 1010 UE is configured to provide HARQ-ACK information based on a concatenation of first and second Type-2 (multicast) HARQ-ACK codebooks and block 1050 UE multiplexes concatenation of first and second Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebooks in a PUCCH and transmits; see also [0188] UE provides HARQ-ACK information by concatenating a Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to PDSCH receptions associated first RNTIs (e.g. G-RNTI) and a Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to receptions of DCI formats or PDSCH associated with first RNTIs (e.g. G-RNTI), and the UE multiplexes HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou (US 2022/0279454 A1) in view of Hu (US 2023/0049911 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Papasakellariou discloses the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Papasakellariou does not disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the T-DAI value corresponds to a T-DAI value having the highest value among T- DAI values for each of the plurality of G-RNTIs
In the same field of endeavor of scheduling PDSCH with DCI, Hu does disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the T-DAI value corresponds to a T-DAI value having the highest value among T- DAI values for each of the plurality of G-RNTIs (Hu [0012] dynamic codebook includes HARQ-ACK information for X PDSCHs, where X is a value of a largest T-DAI in T-DAIs of a plurality of pieces of DCI that are for scheduling transmission of PDSCH)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method for performing uplink transmission by a UE to include setting T-DAI according to the highest/largest value among a plurality of T-DAIs as taught by Hu. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to set size to the largest size of T-DAI to prevent errors caused by indexes that are too small for the associated PDSCH. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Papasakellariou and Hu to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 7, Papasakellariou and Hu disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 5.
Papasakellariou further discloses the below limitation(s): wherein the DCI includes information indicating a G-RNTI corresponding to the T-DAI value having the highest value (Papasakellariou [0222] UE multiplexes Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebooks for a DCI format to include N(subG) DAI fields for respective N(subG) G-RNTIs, providing a total DAI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned method for performing uplink transmission by a UE to include setting the largest T-DAI value according to Hu and combining it with the T-DAI indication in the DCI as taught by Papasakellariou. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to set a maximum T-DAI according to the largest size of received T-DAI in order to prevent errors caused by out-of-bounds indexes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Papasakellariou and Hu to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Conclusion
/SHAWN D MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412