DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant amendments filed 02/20/2026 have been entered. Applicant amendments overcomes the previous 112(b) and 112(d) rejection set forth in the Office Action mailed 11/20/2025, the previous 112(b) and 112(d) rejections are withdrawn.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2, 4-12 remain pending in the application, with claims 1, 12 being examined and claims 2, 4-11 being withdrawn pursuant to the election filed 10/29/2024.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 recites “wherein the hollow tube has coating” where it is suggested to amend claim 12 to recite “wherein the hollow tube has a coating” to help the claim read more smoothly.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over translated Yan (CN-208952709-U) in view of Ishigaki (EP-1182249-B1) and translated Zhao (CN-101613377-A).
Regarding claim 1, Yan teaches a reducing member comprising a hollow tube in which at least an inner wall surface is consisting of zinc and in which a sample is transferred ([0023], [0030] see the heat-conducing coils are made of Φ45 steel pipes that are coated with a zinc layer, where the zinc layer prevents the inner walls of the heat-conducting coils from being corroded by high-temperature waste heat steam. Therefore, an inner wall surface of the heat-conducting coil is consisting of zinc),
wherein the hollow tube (3) has a helix shape (see Figure 1 where the heat-conducting coil 3 has a helix shape), and
The limitation “in which a sample is transferred” is directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Yan and the apparatus of Yan is capable of having a sample transferred. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Yan (see MPEP §2114).
[0015] describes where waste heat steam generated from material disinfection is introduced into multiple sets of heat-conducing coils, and therefore the heat-conducting coils are capable of having a sample transferred within them.
Further, please note that the sample has not been positively recited in the claim and is therefore not a part of the reducing member.
However, Yan does not teach that the steel pipe has an inner diameter of 0.5 mm to 1.5 mm.
In the same problem solving area of tubing, Ishigaki teaches an internal cooler (Ishigaki; [0099]).
Specifically, Ishigaki teaches where the internal cooler is a coiled tube made of stainless steel arranged in the reactor to cool the reactor by circulating water, and has an internal diameter of 2 mm (Ishigaki; [0099]).
Yan is silent with regards to specific units and dimensions for the heat-conducting coils, therefore, it would have been necessary and thus obvious to look to the prior art for conventional dimensions of heat conducting coils. Ishigaki provides this conventional teaching showing that it is known in the art to use an internal diameter of size of mm, diameter of 2 mm. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have the internal diameter of the heat-conducting coils of Yan be 2 mm because it is taught by Ishigaki that this is an effective diameter for coiled tubes involved with temperature regulation.
While Ishigaki does not specifically teach the inner diameter of the tube to be 0.5 to 1.5 mm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to determine, through routine experimentation, the optimum inner diameter to a range of 0.5 to 1.5 mm because it is taught by Zhao that for pipelines involved with heating that diameter and length can be adjusted according to equipment scale, flow rate, and preheating temperature (Zhao; [0029]) (MPEP § 2144.05 (II)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to fix the claim objection as stated above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 12, the closest prior art of record is translated Yan (CN-208952709-U) in view of Ishigaki (EP-1182249-B1) and translated Zhao (CN-101613377-A).
While Yan does teach that the heat-conducting coils are coated with a zinc layer, it is described that the zinc layer prevents the inner walls of the coils from being corroded by high-temperature waste heat steam. It would not be obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the coils of Yan to have a coating consisting of copper on the inner wall surface consisting of zinc, as this would negate the purpose of the zinc coating.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claim and arguments, see page 6, filed 02/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yan (CN-208952709-U), Ishigaki (EP-1182249-B1) and translated Zhao (CN-101613377-A).
Conclusion
/S.Y.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/MELVIN C. MAYES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1759