DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 36, 37, 39, 47, 49 and 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett et al. (US 20110053640) in view of Tanaka (CN 102576264 A).
Regarding claim 36, Bennett et al. discloses a method (fig. 7) for sharing a cellular capability (placing cellular phone call abilities)(fig. 7 and P:0049-P:0051), wherein the method comprises: establishing, by a first device (i.e. the user may have to enter pairing key code, in case of a Bluetooth connection and allows the user to use either the keypad of the mobile device 151 or the other user interfaces 121 to place local calls while roaming)(auxiliary cellular phone module 109 or master device 151 and P:0027), a transmission channel (wireless interface) (fig. 1 number 141) to a second device (auxiliary cellular phone module 109 or master device 151)(P:0027-P:0028); sharing, by the first device (master device), a cellular capability with the second device (auxiliary cellular phone module 109) through the transmission channel(fig. 1 and P:0027-P:0028), wherein the cellular capability enables the second device to implement a cellular communication function (fig. 1 and P:0027-P:0028); displaying, on a screen of the first device, a first banner (i.e. paired with the space auxiliary cellular phone module) (fig. 2 number 253) indicating the first device is sharing (i.e. assisting making phone calls) the cellular capability (P:0035). Bennett et al. differs from claim 36 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose displaying, on a screen of the second device, a cellular indication icon based on a cellular status of the first device; and in response to determining that the sharing of the cellular capability ends, removing, by the second device, the cellular indication icon from the screen. Tanaka teaches a second cellular phone (fig. 14 number 804 and fig. 15 number 815) displaying a finger icon (image and/or symbol) (fig. 14 number 708 and fig. 15 number 708) based upon sharing data with a first cellular phone (fig. 14 number 704 and fig. 15 number 715)(P:0164-P:0170), and in response to determining that the sharing of the cellular abilities ends (i.e. transmission completion)(P:0170), removing (canceling), by the second device , the cellular indication finger icon cursor (fig. 15 number 708) from the screen by the first device in (fig. 15 A)(P:0170). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Bennett et al. with displaying, on a screen of the second device, a cellular indication icon based on a cellular status of the first device; and in response to determining that the sharing of the cellular capability ends, removing, by the second device, the cellular indication icon from the screen in order for the auxiliary cellular phone to display a call in session icon when a call is in session with the master cell phone and for the auxiliary cellular phone to remove the call in session icon when the master cell phone ends the phone call, as taught by Tanaka.
Regarding claim 37, Bennett et al. discloses the method further comprises: detecting by the first device (writing instruction) , a first operation on the first banner("Pair using the Master cellular telephone; To place a local call, press; Button and then dial( P:0042); and in response to the first operation, displaying, by the first device, a first setting interface (pairing) for setting a cellular sharing capability of the first device (P:0042-P:0043).
Regarding claim 39, Bennett et al. discloses the first banner is displayed in a notification center on the screen (fig. 2 number 253).
Regarding claim 47, Bennett et al. discloses a method as discussed supra in claim 36 above. Bennett et al. differs from claim 47 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose before displaying the cellular indication icon, the method further comprises: sending, by the first device, the cellular status of the first device to the second device. Tanaka teaches a first cellular phone 704 display unit 715 which is provided with a touch position detecting unit 754 (the supplied to the FIG. 1 device for selling music data 12 of the display surface 38) and the same for applying for sending/receiving electrode 762 of the communication. Therefore, the display unit 715 as a touch panel, and through finger 708 touching the touch plate to start communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Bennett et al. with before displaying the cellular indication icon, the method further comprises: sending, by the first device, the cellular status of the first device to the second device in order for the master cell phone to alert the auxiliary cellular phone to make a phone call while roaming, as taught by Tanaka.
Regarding claim 49, Bennett et al. when the first device and the second device satisfy a preset condition (pairing condition), establishing, by the first device, the transmission channel to the second device, wherein the preset condition comprises the first device and the second device determine, in a code scanning (pairing key code) manner, that sharing of the cellular capability is allowed (P:0034).
Regarding claim 50, Bennett et al. discloses a method (fig. 7) for sharing a cellular capability (placing cellular phone call abilities)(fig. 7 and P:0049-P:0051) , wherein the method comprises: establishing, by a second device (i.e. the user may have to enter pairing key code, in case of a Bluetooth connection and allows the user to use either the keypad of the mobile device 151 or the other user interfaces 121 to place local calls while roaming)(auxiliary cellular phone module 109 or master device 151 and P:0027), sharing, by the second device (auxiliary cellular phone module 109), a cellular capability with the first device (master device) through the transmission channel (fig. 1 and P:0027-P:0028). Bennett et al. differs from claim 50 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose displaying, on a screen of the second device, a cellular indication icon based on a cellular status of the first device; and in response to determining that the sharing of the cellular capability ends, removing, by the second device, the cellular indication icon from the screen. Tanaka teaches a second cellular phone (fig. 14 number 804 and fig. 15 number 815) displaying a finger icon (fig. 14 number 708 and fig. 15 number 708) based upon sharing data with a first cellular phone (fig. 14 number 704 and fig. 15 number 715)(P:0164-P:0170), and in response to determining that the sharing of the cellular abilities ends (i.e. transmission completion)(P:0170), removing (canceling), by the second device , the cellular indication finger icon cursor (fig. 15 number 708) from the screen by the first device in (fig. 15 A)(P:0170). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Bennett et al. with displaying, on a screen of the second device, a cellular indication icon based on a cellular status of the first device; and in response to determining that the sharing of the cellular capability ends, removing, by the second device, the cellular indication icon from the screen in order for the auxiliary cellular phone to display a call in session icon when a call is in session with the master cell phone and for the auxiliary cellular phone to remove the call in session icon when the master cell phone ends the phone call, as taught by Tanaka.
5. Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett et al. (US 20110053640) in view of Tanaka (CN 102576264 A) as applied to claim 36 above and in further view of Zhang et al. (WO 2021036735 A1).
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Bennett et al. and Tanaka differs from claim 38 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose in response to detecting a second operation, displaying, by the first device, a second setting interface, wherein the second setting interface comprises a first option for turning on or off an internet access function, a second option for turning on or off a call function, and a third option for turning on or turn off an SMS message function. Zhang et al. teaches a user interface display comprising a text icon (fig. 2 number 207), a phone icon (fig. 2 number 213-1, , a mailbox icon (fig. 2 number 206) and a short message icon (fig. 2 number 213-2) for turning on a call/text application function (fig. 2 and its description). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bennett et al. and Tanaka with in response to detecting a second operation, displaying, by the first device, a second setting interface, wherein the second setting interface comprises a first option for turning on or off an internet access function, a second option for turning on or off a call function, and a third option for turning on or turn off an SMS message function in order for the auxiliary cellular phone to allow the user to display a call icon, text icon, and phone icon when sharing a call in session with the master cell phone to complete a call, as taught by Zhang et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 40-46,48 and 51-55 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 40 and 51, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest alone, or in combination setting, by the second device, a first icon corresponding to a first service function from an unavailable state to an available state; and in response to determining that the sharing of the cellular capability ends, setting, by the second device, the first icon from the available state to the unavailable state.
Conclusion
/KEITH FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648