DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Claims 1-17 are pending in the application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in this application on 15 March 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hang et al. (CN 114284449 A) in view of Ye et al. (CN 114267247 A).
Regarding Claim 1: Hang discloses a display device comprising a display panel (ref. #30), an adhesive layer (ref. #40), and a heat dissipation layer (ref. #50), along with a bubble removal layer (ref. #70) that is used to remove bubbles between the film layers, and that the adhesive layer is bonded to the display panel (figures 4, 8, [0004], [0007], [0008], [0041]-[0043], and [0049]-[0051] of Hang). Hang also discloses that a back plate (ref. "BP") can be disposed on the back of the display panel to protect the display panel, and that the display panel is a flexible display panel ([0029] and [0032] of Hang). Hang further discloses in one embodiment that the bubble removal layer reuses the heat dissipation layer, wherein the heat dissipation layer includes a plurality of arranged vent holes (ref. #51) that penetrate the heat dissipation layer, whereby the bubbles generated during the boding process between the heat dissipation layer and the adhesive layer can be effectively eliminated (figure 4 and [0041]-[0043] of Hang). It is also disclosed by Hang in one embodiment that the bubble removal layer reuses the adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layer includes a plurality of grooves (ref. #42) that extend along a second direction and are arranged in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, the grooves penetrating the thickness of the adhesive layer, whereby the grooves provide a bubble discharge path during the bonding process between the heat dissipation layer and the adhesive layer (figure 8, [0049]-[0051] of Hang). It is further disclosed by Hang that the embodiments can be used in combination ([0065] of Hang). (In the instant case, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made that, the grooves and the holes would be in some form of communication (i.e., alignment) so as to allow the complete removal of the bubbles.) Specifically, Hang provides for --a display device comprising a bending adhesive layer and a display module; an air flow passage is provided between the display module and the bending adhesive layer; wherein the air flow passage is configured to discharge a bubble--.
Hang fails to disclose --a backlight module; the backlight module and the display module are connected through the bending adhesive layer; a pressure zone exists between the backlight module and the bending adhesive layer; wherein the air flow passage is configured to discharge a bubble existed in the pressure zone--.
Ye discloses a display device (ref. #10) comprising a display panel (ref. #200) and a backlight module (ref. #100), wherein the backlight module includes a back panel (ref. #120), a lamp panel (ref. #130), a diffuser plate (ref. #110), and an optical film layer (ref. #140) (figures 1, 7, [0004], [0005], [0014], and [0024] of Ye). Ye also discloses that the diffuser plate comprises multiple diffuser sheets (ref. #111) stack on top of each other, each diffuser sheet having multiple through holes (ref. #111A), the through holes of two adjacent diffuser sheets being partially overlapped, and the through holes forming a channel (ref. #110A) through the diffuser plate ([0005] and [0007] of Ye). Ye further discloses an optional first gap (ref. #151) between the optical film layer and the diffuser plate connecting multiple channels of the diffuser plate, and an optional second gap (ref. #152) between the lamp plate and the diffuser plate communicating with multiple channels of the diffuser plate, wherein air flows through the channels and gaps ([0008], [0009], and [0015] of Ye).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have combined the display device of Ye with the display device of Hang in order to have --a backlight module; the backlight module and the display module are connected through the bending adhesive layer; a pressure zone exists between the backlight module and the bending adhesive layer; wherein the air flow passage is configured to discharge a bubble existed in the pressure zone--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have combined the display device of Ye with the display device of Hang; from the stand-point of having a heat dissipation design that allows heat to diffuse into the gaps between the various structures of the backlight module ([0015] of Ye). (In the instant case, the combination of the gaps of Ye with the display device of Hang would result in the gaps (grooves) extending the entire width or length of the display device.)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hang et al. (CN 114284449 A) in view of Ye et al. (CN 114267247 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hong et al. (CN 111413761 A) and further evidenced by Borgward (US 2012/0127642 A1).
Hang in view of Ye is relied upon as described above.
Regarding Claim 14: Hang in view of Ye fails to disclose --the backlight module comprises an optical film layer, a backboard, a flexible printed circuit board and a battery; wherein the bending adhesive layer is fixed in a first region on a first surface of the display module, and the battery is fixed in a second region on the first surface of the display module, wherein the first surface is a surface opposite to a display surface of the display module, the first region is a region in which a bending part of the display device is located, and the second region is a region of the display device other than the bending part; and the backboard is fixed on the bending adhesive layer through the optical film layer, and the flexible printed circuit board is bent and provided on the backboard--.
Hong discloses a display device (ref. #1000) including a backlight module (ref. #100) and a display panel (ref. #200) disposed on the backlight module, a printed circuit board (ref. #70) disposed on one side of the backlight module, an electronic component (ref. #80) mounted on the printed circuit board, and a flexible printed circuit board (ref. #90) on one end of the display device that is bent and connected to the printed circuit board and the display device, wherein the printed circuit board is disposed on the lower surface of the second backplate (ref. #20) (figures 3 to 4, [0041], and [0043] of Hong). It is also disclosed by Hong that the backlight module (ref. #100) comprises a first backplate (ref. #10), a light guide plate (ref. #30), a light source (ref. #40), and a second backplate (ref. #20), wherein an optical film (ref. #50) is provided on the light guide plate, wherein the second backplate extends in a direction away from the first backplate (figures 3 to 4, [0030], [0031], [0035], and [0036] of Hong). (In the instant case, the first backplate and the second backplate together are considered equivalent to the claimed "backboard".)
However, Hong does not disclose --a battery--. However, it has been evidenced by other patent literature that a battery can constitute the electronic component disclosed by Hong. Borgward teaches solid-state elements contain software and/or hardware components, such as e.g. electronic means (integrated circuits, battery, memory, transmitter, etc.) ([0048] of Borgward). Therefore, as evidenced by Borgward, it would have been known to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made that said "electronic component" of Hong can constitute a "battery".
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have combined the display device of Hong with the display device of Hang in view of Ye in order to have --the backlight module comprises an optical film layer, a backboard, a flexible printed circuit board and a battery; wherein the bending adhesive layer is fixed in a first region on a first surface of the display module, and the battery is fixed in a second region on the first surface of the display module, wherein the first surface is a surface opposite to a display surface of the display module, the first region is a region in which a bending part of the display device is located, and the second region is a region of the display device other than the bending part; and the backboard is fixed on the bending adhesive layer through the optical film layer, and the flexible printed circuit board is bent and provided on the backboard--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combined the display device of Hong with the display device of Hang in view of Ye, from the stand-point of having a high screen-to-body ratio that does not increase the overall thickness of the display device ([0009] of Hong). (In the instant case, the heat diffusion stack or bending adhesive layer of Hang in view of Ye would be disposed in the gap between the display panel (ref. #200) and optical film (ref. #50) of Hong, while being affixed thereto.)
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (CN 114446173 A) in view of Ye et al. (CN 114267247 A).
Feng discloses a display module including a display panel that includes a main body, a bending part in a bent state disposed on one side of the main body, a binding part, a support layer provided on the side of the main body facing the binding portion, and the binding portion provided on the side of the support layer away from the main body ([0005]-[0007] of Feng). Feng also discloses that the support layer includes a first adhesive layer, a second adhesive layer, and a rigid layer between the first adhesive layer and the second adhesive layer, and wherein at least one of the first adhesive layer and the second adhesive layer is provided with a groove oriented away from the support layer ([0008] of Feng). It is optionally taught by Feng that the grooves in at least one of the first adhesive layer and the second adhesive layer are arranged in an array to form a mesh structure that includes a first/second colloid and a plurality of first/second through holes disposed in the first/second colloid with equal spacing between the through holes ([0030]-[0040] of Feng). Feng further discloses that the rigid layer can be formed from PET ([0017] of Feng). Specifically, Feng provides for --a display device, comprising a bending adhesive layer and a display module; an air flow passage is provided between the display module and the bending adhesive layer, and a pressure zone exists; wherein the air flow passage is configured to discharge a bubble existed in the pressure zone--.
Feng fails to disclose --a backlight module; the backlight module and the display module are connected through the bending adhesive layer; an air flow passage is provided between the display module and the bending adhesive layer, and a pressure zone exists between the backlight module and the bending adhesive layer--.
Ye discloses a display device (ref. #10) comprising a display panel (ref. #200) and a backlight module (ref. #100), wherein the backlight module includes a back panel (ref. #120), a lamp panel (ref. #130), a diffuser plate (ref. #110), and an optical film layer (ref. #140) (figures 1, 7, [0004], [0005], [0014], and [0024] of Ye). Ye also discloses that the diffuser plate comprises multiple diffuser sheets (ref. #111) stack on top of each other, each diffuser sheet having multiple through holes (ref. #111A), the through holes of two adjacent diffuser sheets being partially overlapped, and the through holes forming a channel (ref. #110A) through the diffuser plate ([0005] and [0007] of Ye). Ye further discloses an optional first gap (ref. #151) between the optical film layer and the diffuser plate connecting multiple channels of the diffuser plate, and an optional second gap (ref. #152) between the lamp plate and the diffuser plate communicating with multiple channels of the diffuser plate, wherein air flows through the channels and gaps ([0008], [0009], and [0015] of Ye).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have combined the display device of Ye with the display device of Feng in order to have --a backlight module; the backlight module and the display module are connected through the bending adhesive layer; an air flow passage is provided between the display module and the bending adhesive layer, and a pressure zone exists between the backlight module and the bending adhesive layer--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have combined the display device of Ye with the display device of Feng, from the stand-point of having a heat dissipation design that allows heat to diffuse into the gaps between the various structures of the backlight module ([0015] of Ye). (In the instant case, the backlight module of Ye is added to the display device of Feng, and the heat dissipation sheet of Feng is modified to be that of Ye.)
Regarding Claim 2: Feng in view of Ye discloses a supporting film layer (ref. #502, "second backplate"; and/or ref. #60, "heat dissipation layer") is disposed between the display module and the bending adhesive layer, and the bending adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive layer (ref. #701), a polyester resin layer (ref. #702; e.g., PET) and a second adhesive layer (ref. #703); wherein the polyester resin layer is disposed between the first adhesive layer and the second adhesive layer, the first adhesive layer is connected with the backlight module, and the second adhesive layer is connected with the supporting film layer (figures 1 to 3, [0032], [0035], and [0043] of Feng). (In the instant case, the first backplate (ref. #501) is considered part of the backlight module, as such the first adhesive layer is connected with the backlight module.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-13 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regards to the closest prior art of record Hang et al. (CN 114284449 A): Hang teaches --a display device--, wherein Hang's display device further comprises the structure --a display device comprising a display panel (ref. #30), an adhesive layer (ref. #40), and a heat dissipation layer (ref. #50), along with a bubble removal layer (ref. #70) that is used to remove bubbles between the film layers, and that the adhesive layer is bonded to the display panel; a back plate (ref. "BP") can be disposed on the back of the display panel to protect the display panel, and that the display panel is a flexible display panel; the bubble removal layer reuses the heat dissipation layer, wherein the heat dissipation layer includes a plurality of arranged vent holes (ref. #51) that penetrate the heat dissipation layer, whereby the bubbles generated during the boding process between the heat dissipation layer and the adhesive layer can be effectively eliminated; that the bubble removal layer reuses the adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layer includes a plurality of grooves (ref. #42) that extend along a second direction and are arranged in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, the grooves penetrating the thickness of the adhesive layer, whereby the grooves provide a bubble discharge path during the bonding process between the heat dissipation layer and the adhesive layer; and that the embodiments can be used in combination-- (figures 4, 8, [0004], [0007], [0008], [0029], [0032], [0041]-[0043], [0049]-[0051], and [0065] of Hang). However, Hang does not teach that --a backlight module; the backlight module and the display module are connected through the bending adhesive layer; a pressure zone exists between the backlight module and the bending adhesive layer; wherein the air flow passage is configured to discharge a bubble existed in the pressure zone-- {instant claim 1} along with --a supporting film layer is disposed between the display module and the bending adhesive layer, and the bending adhesive layer comprises a first adhesive layer, a polyester resin layer and a second adhesive layer; wherein the polyester resin layer is disposed between the first adhesive layer and the second adhesive layer, the first adhesive layer is connected with the backlight module, and the second adhesive layer is connected with the supporting film layer-- {instant claim 2}. Therefore, the claims as written overcome the prior art of record. Furthermore, no combination of Hang with any other prior art of record would have provided sufficient motivation for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Hang in such a way as to meet the claimed invention. It is these teachings that makes the claim(s) allowable over the prior art of record.
With regards to the closest prior art of record Feng et al. (CN 114446173 A): Feng teaches --a display device--, wherein Feng's display device further comprises the structure --a display module including a display panel that includes a main body, a bending part in a bent state disposed on one side of the main body, a binding part, a support layer provided on the side of the main body facing the binding portion, and the binding portion provided on the side of the support layer away from the main body; the support layer includes a first adhesive layer, a second adhesive layer, and a rigid layer (e.g., PET) between the first adhesive layer and the second adhesive layer, and wherein at least one of the first adhesive layer and the second adhesive layer are provided with a plurality of first/second through holes-- ([0005]-[0008], [0017], and [0030]-[0040] of Feng). However, Feng does not teach --a backlight module; the backlight module and the display module are connected through the bending adhesive layer; an air flow passage is provided between the display module and the bending adhesive layer, and a pressure zone exists between the backlight module and the bending adhesive layer-- {instant claim 1} along with --a first passage and a second passage; the first passage is communicated with the pressure zone, and the first passage is communicated with the second passage; and the first passage is disposed in at least one of the first adhesive layer and the polyester resin layer, and the second passage is disposed in at least one of the second adhesive layer and the polyester resin layer-- {instant claim 3}. Therefore, the claims as written overcome the prior art of record. Furthermore, no combination of Feng with any other prior art of record would have provided sufficient motivation for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Feng in such a way as to meet the claimed invention. It is these teachings that makes the claim(s) allowable over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/DONALD M FLORES JR/
Donald M. Flores, Jr.Examiner, Art Unit 1781