DETAILED ACTION
2 Applicant's amendment, filed on 09/16/2026, is acknowledged.
3. Claims 1-14 and 21 are pending.
4. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11 directed to a human antibody Fc domain variant and the species of F243L, P247I, R292P, Y300L, V305I, A330L, I332E, A339Q and P387Q filed on 09/16/2026, is acknowledged
5. Claims 4, 5, 12-14 and 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions.
6. Claims 1-3 and 6-11 are under examination as they read on a human antibody Fc domain variant and the species of F243L, P247I, R292P, Y300L, V305I, A330L, I332E, A339Q and P387Q (PS101).
7. Applicant’s IDS, filed 03/15/2024, 07/11/2025 and 03/30/2026, is acknowledged.
9. Claims 1-3, 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 encompasses human antibody Fc domain variants comprising up to 1220 modifications: 3,800,000,000,000,000,000,000 amino acids modifications which binding affinity to FcγRIIIa is improved/reduced compared to wild-type Fc domains or has improved ability to induce antibody-dependent cell-mediated cytotoxicity (ADCC).
Claim 2 encompasses human antibody Fc domain variants comprising up P(12,12) modifications: 12! = 479,001,600 modifications.
However, there does not appear to be an adequate written description in the specification as-filed of the essential structural feature that provides the recited function of ****. The Guidelines for the Examination of Patent Applications Under the 35 U.S.C. 112, ¶ 1 "Written Description" Requirement make clear that the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the genus.
The specification at [0144] discloses that in order to confirm the effect of simple combinations of previously known trastuzumab Fc variants, Fc variants consisting of simple combinations of DEL variants (S239D/1332E/A330L: 9-fold improved A/I ratio compared to wild-type Fc), LPLIL variants (F243L/R292P/Y300L/V305I/P396L: 10-fold improved binding affinity to FcγRIIIa-158V), and IQ variants (P247I/A339Q: 6-fold improved ability to induce ADCC) were prepared (XMa: S239D/F243L/R292P/Y300L/V305I/A330L/1332E/P396L, XMt: S239D/P247I/A330L/1332E/A339Q, MM: F243L/P247I/R292P/Y300L/V305I/A339Q/P396L and XMM: S239D/F243L/P247I/R292P/Y300L/V305I/A330L/1332E/A339Q/P396L) (Table 1).
The claims encompass human antibody Fc domain variants (e.g., substitutions) of 12 amino acid positions. The specification discloses only one species within the instant claim scope. Besides PS101 of SEQ ID NOs: 27 and 42, the instant application encompasses (but does not exemplify) (substitutions) to human antibody Fc domain. There is no teaching identifying what amino acids can be varied within the human antibody fc domain and still retain specific human antibody Fc domain that mediates immune effector functions. Structural perturbations from mutations can subtly change Fc conformation, affecting multiple effector pathways leading to unpredictable outcome. In addition, multiple Fc-immune effector interactions are interdependent, changing one binding parameter can shift others in unintended ways.
The claimed invention as a whole may not be adequately described where an invention is described solely in terms of a method of its making coupled with its function and there is no described or art recognized correlation or relationship between the structure of the invention and its function. A biomolecule sequence described only by a functional characteristic, without any known or disclosed correlation between that function and the structure of the sequence, normally is not a sufficient identifying characteristic for written description purposes, even when accompanied by a method of obtaining the claimed sequence, see MPEP 2163. Here, with respect to making Fc variants that mediate immune effector functions, the unpredictability is best demonstrated by the recent court decision in AbbVie v. Janssen Biotech and Centocor Biologics (Fed. Cir. 2014), the court found that AbbVie's generic claim can be classified as a set of human antibodies defined functionally by their high affinity and neutralizing activity to the human IL-12 antigen. However, AbbVie did not disclose any structural features common to the members of the genus. Rather, AbbVie's patent described only one type of structurally similar antibodies rather than antibodies representative of the full scope of the genus.
The facts of Abbvie parallel the claimed invention and provide significant guidance on the inherent unpredictability of protein engineering and the effect of amino acid substitutions on protein function. Abbvie is similar to the Federal Circuit's discussion in Novozymes A/S et al. v. Dupont Nutrition Biosciences APS et al., 2013 WL 3779376, Case No. 2012-1433, C.A.Fed; in both, the Federal Circuit emphasized the unpredictability in the art associated with changes in a parent enzyme or protein that can be effected at one or more positions in the sequence by amino acid addition, deletion, or substitution with at least nineteen other possibilities, e.g. counting natural amino acid residues. The basis of the unpredictability is rooted in the same principles that make improvements rare, namely that numerous subtle differences between amino acid residues determine protein binding and function. Because the subtle energetic contributions of each of these interactions is extraordinarily difficult to precisely quantify, and because the number of these interactions is so high even for a single protein-protein interface, innumerable small inaccuracies are amplified into unpredictability. This unpredictability is axiomatic in the field of protein engineering.
In Novozymes, Defendants-Appellees DuPont Nutrition Biosciences PS et al. ("DuPont") sought to invalidate Novozymes' U.S. Patent No. 7,713,723 (the "723"), arguing insufficient written description for the '723 claims under 35 U.S.C. §112. In particular, DuPont argued a failure of U.S. Provisional Application No. 60/249,104, filed November 16, 2000 (the "2000 application") to support the claimed proteins. In relevant portion, claim I of Novozymes' '723 patent is directed to:
1. An isolated variant of a parent alpha-amylase, wherein:
(a) the variant has at least 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 6 [BSG alpha-amylase],
(b) the variant comprises a substitution of serine at position 239 relative to the parent alpha-amylase, using the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 8 [BLA alpha-amylase] for determining position numbering, and
(c) the variant has increased thermostability relative to the parent alpha-amylase, wherein thermostability is determined at pH 4.5, 90°C. and 5 ppm calcium and has alpha-amylase activity.
As outlined by the Federal Circuit, Novozymes identified 33 different possible mutation positions in the approximately 500 amino acids that make up a Bacillus amylase, using both rational protein design as well as empirical random mutagenesis. Novozymes identified 7 potential parent Bacillus enzymes, 33 target positions in each parent enzyme, and the number of potential mutations at each position, such that the Federal Circuit recognized that the specification spanned a potentially wide range of potential variants. The Federal Circuit went on to discuss how little data was actually present in the 2000 specification to support the claim:
For example, one of the seventeen positions identified by rational protein design was position 239, occupied by the amino acid serine (abbreviated as "S") in the disclosed parent alpha-amylase proteins. Many mutations would be possible at position 239, such as an enumerated variant that would require replacing the original serine with the amino acid tryptophan (abbreviated as "W")-a substitution mutation that can be expressed as "S239W." See id. col. 8 1. 12. The 2000 application includes pages of similar exemplary substitutions, presented alone and in double, triple, or larger combinations, but the application does not state that any one of the thirty-three disclosed mutations sites is preferred over any other and does not state whether single or combined mutations are preferred. See id. col. 8 1. 25 - col. 16 1. 37.
Finally, the 2000 application provided two examples with empirical data confirming the enhanced stability of selected variants harboring mutations at the sixteen positions that were identified through random mutagenesis. See id. col. 25 1. 1 - col. 26 1. 65. No such data were disclosed regarding the activity or thermostability of any of the seventeen positions that had been identified through rational protein design, however. Indeed, later experiments revealed that some of the seventeen predicted positions did not yield any thermostable variants, and even for many of those that did, only a minority of substitutions actually had the desired effect. For example, no substitutions at predicted positions 179 or 180 actually led to increased thermostability, and thirteen of the nineteen possible substitutions at position 239 proved similarly ineffective, including the disclosed S239W mutation. Emphasis added; see pages 7 to 8. Of particular import in the Novozymes case is the Federal Circuit's acknowledgement of the inherent unpredictability of protein engineering. As noted in para 3, pg. 5 of Novozymes:
The effects of any given mutation or combination of mutations in a variant can differ depending on the position(s) modified and the specific mutation implemented at each position. Some mutations may have no discernible effect on enzyme function, some may lead to varying degrees of instability or functional impairment, and some may actually improve enzyme activity or impart other desirable properties, such as improved stability at high temperatures.
The Federal Circuit has again recently discussed the inherent unpredictability of protein engineering in the Abbvie case, Abbvie Deutschland Gmbh & Co KG, Abbvie Bioresearch Center, Inc., and Abbvie Biotechnology, Ltd., v. Janssen Biotech In. And Centocor Biologics, LLC, Case No. 2013-1338 and 2013- 1346, C.A.Fed. ("Abbvie"). While Abbvie, similar to the previously discussed Novozymes case, is concerned with the written description requirement under §112, the Federal Circuit reiterates the inherent unpredictability of protein engineering in Abbvie: For example, functionally defined genus claims can be inherently vulnerable to invalidity challenge for lack of written description support, especially in technology fields that are highly unpredictable, where it is difficult to establish a correlation between structure and function for the whole genus or to predict what would be covered by the functionally claimed genus. Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1351 ("[T]he level of detail required to satisfy the written description requirement varies depending on the nature and scope of the claims and on the complexity and predictability of the relevant technology."); see also Centocor Ortho Biotech, Inc. v. Abbott Labs., 636 F.3d 1341, 1352 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (noting the technical challenges in developing fully human antibodies of a known human protein). It is true that functionally defined claims can meet the written description requirement if a reasonable structure-function correlation is established, whether by the inventor as described in the specification or known in the art at the time of the filing date. Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 964 (Fed. Cir. 2002). However, the record here does not indicate such an established correlation. Instead, AbbVie used a trial and error approach to modify individual amino acids in order to improve the IL-12 binding affinity. Moreover, the '128 and '485 patents do not describe any common structural features of the claimed antibodies. The asserted claims attempt to claim every fully human IL-12 antibody that would achieve a desired result, i.e., high binding affinity and neutralizing activity, and cover an antibody as different as Stelara, whereas the patents do not describe representative examples to support the full scope of the claims.
The question is not whether one of skill knows how to generate an Fc variant and screening for the one that works, but whether the specification sufficiently describes the specific substitutions in the Fc that correlate with the functions of increasing ADCC. The specification only discloses that it was confirmed that among the novel Fc variants developed in the present invention, PS301, PS303, PS305, PS205, PS207, PS101, PS102, PS105, PS106 and PS107 (Table 1) had similar or significantly high binding affinity to FeyRIIIa to a VLPLL variant, the previously known margetuximab, approved as a therapeutic agent for Her2-positive breast cancer (FIG. 8).
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that “applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the written description inquiry, whatever is now claimed.” (See page 1117.) The specification does not “clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed.” (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.). Consequently, Applicant was not in possession of the instant claimed invention. See University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co. 43 USPQ2d 1398.
Applicant is invited to point to clear support or specific examples of the claimed invention in the specification as-filed.
11. Claims 1-2, 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al (Protein Cell 2018, 9(1):63–73).
Wang et al provide examples of modifications to modulate antibody effector function. The mutations are on the IgG1 subclass. Table 1 provides the engineering and intended function of several mutations of Fc variations such as F243L/R292P/Y300L/V305I/P396L, S239D/I332E which enhance ADCC and increase FcγRIIIa binding and S239D/I332E/A330L which enhance ADCC and decrease FcγRIIb binding.
Claim 10 is included because amino acid position Asn297 was not mutated.
The reference teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
12. Claims 1-2, 6, 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lazar et al (PNAS, 103(11):4005-4010, 2016).
Lazar et al teach anti-CD52 ab alemtuzumab having Fc variants which show significant enhancements in binding affinity to human V158 FcγRIIIa. These variants include the single mutant I332E and the double and triple mutants S239D/I332E and S239D/I332E/A330L[Eu numbering (18)]. The variants show similar levels of enhancement in the context of the anti-Her2 Ab trastuzumab (Fig. 1B) (see Table 1 and page 4005, 2nd ¶ under Result). The set of S239D/I332E and S239D/I332E/A330L variants thus provide the option for enhancing ADCC in cases where CDC is desired or undesired. Notably, other substitutions at position 330 provide similar enhancements in FcγRIIIa affinity and IIIa:IIb profile yet do not affect CDC (data not shown) (page 4007, Under Designed Fc Variants Show . . ).
Claim 10 is included because amino acid position Asn297 was not mutated.
Claim 11 is included because Lazar et al teach human IgG1 comprising the claimed the CH2 and CH3 of SEQ ID NOs.
The reference teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
13. Claims 1-2, 6, 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US8388955B2 (of record).
The `955 patent teaches Fc variants comprise at least one substitution selected from the group consisting of H224, H224E, F243E, F243H, F243L, F243Q, F243R, F243W, F243Y, P247G, P247V, Y300P, Y300Q, Y300R, Y300S, Y300T, Y300V, Y300W, A330E, A330F, A330G, A330H, A3301, A330L, A330M, A330N, A330P, A330R, A330S, A330T, A330V, I332A, I332D, I332E, I332F, I332H, I332K, I332L, I332M, I332N, I332P, I332Q, I332R, I332S, I332T, I332V, I332W, 1332Y (see col., 7-9). The `955 patent on Table 10 depicts the positions of human Fc, the wild type residue, and the variants (SEQ ID NO: 8) that are included in particular embodiments of the invention.
The reference teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
14. Claims 1-2, 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stavenhagen et al (Cancer Res 2007;67(18):8882-90, of record).
Stavenhagen et al teaches several key positions in the human IgG1 Fc variants comprising the claimed substations including conferring the ability to engage the low-binding CD16A-158phe allele with enhanced ADCC (see Fig. 2). Table 1 shows Fc mutants comprising single mutants F243L, R292P, Y300L, V3051 and A330V; double mutants comprising F243L/R292P, R292P/V305I; three amino acids mutant F243/R292P/Y300L, F243L/R292P/V3051I (see table 1).
Stavenhagen et al did functional genetic screens to identify IgG1 Fc domains with improved binding to the low-affinity activating Fc receptor CD16A (Fc;RIIIA) and reduced binding to the low-affinity inhibitory Fc receptor, CD32B (Fc;RIIB) (abstract). They teach that two soluble residues were previously analyzed by alanine substitutions: V305 showed no change in binding to any of the low affinity receptors and R292 only partially reduced binding to CD32A (Page 887, ¶1)
Claim 10 is included because amino acid position Asn297 was not mutated.
Claim 11 is included because Stavenhagen et al teach human IgG1 comprising the claimed the CH2 and CH3 of SEQ ID NOs.
Reference teachings anticipate the claimed invention.
15. No claim is allowed.
16. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAHER M HADDAD whose telephone number is (571)272-0845. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from7:00AM to 4:30PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Misook Yu, can be reached at telephone number 571-272-0839. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
October 26, 2026
/MAHER M HADDAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644