The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
DETAILED ACTION
The following NON-FINAL Office Action is in response to communication filed on 4/22/2026, 4/30/2026, 5/20/2026.
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
The Examiner has noted the Applicants claiming Priority from Foreign Application JP2021-151052 filed 09/16/2021.
IDS
The information disclosure statement filed on 1/23/2026 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 and is considered by the Examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 6-7, 11-12 are pending in this Final Office Action.
Claims 1, 7, 11-12 are currently amended.
Claims 2-5 were previously cancelled.
Claims 8-9 are currently cancelled.
Claim 10 was previously withdrawn from consideration as directed to a non-elected invention.
Claims 1, 6-7, 11-12 are currently under examination and have been rejected as follows.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Response to Amendment
The previously pending rejections under 35 USC 101 is maintained. The 101 rejection is updated in view of the amendments.
The rejection under 35 USC 103 is maintained. The 103 rejection is updated in view of the amendments.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s remarks pertaining to 35 USC 101:
Step 2A Prong 1:
Applicant argues beginning on page 9 of remarks 4/22/2026:
“…the alleged abstract idea is integrated into the practical application of producing hydrogen…. It is respectfully submitted that the above discussed claim amendments more explicitly define how the alleged abstract idea is integrated into a practical application….
“The present response also amends the independent claims to recite that the degradation
acceleration rate is determined according to a ratio of an actual production amount to a rated production amount in each frame.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims as amended do not appear to provide any further additional computer-based elements beyond the original “information processing apparatus”, “processor”, “hydrogen production system”, and “information processing apparatus”. The functions of these additional computer-based elements include examples such as “creating an operation plan… based on an amount of energy consumed… and a degradation loss”, and “outputting data including the operation plan”. The additional elements are still recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a generic computer performing functions of gathering and organizing data, making calculations, communicating and presenting data, etc.) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Examiner notes with interest the final amended limitation of system claim 7: the hydrogen production system further comprises an instruction device structured to control electrolytic power of the hydrogen production facility, wherein the hydrogen production facility produces hydrogen based on the electrolytic power. Examine recommends to Applicant to clarify how specifically, or by what automation, etc. the claimed system directly causes the instruction device to directly control the hydrogen production system. Subject matter in Applicant specification ¶ [0060] among others may be of further interest.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Regarding Applicant’s remarks pertaining to 35 USC 103:
Applicant argues on page 10 of remarks 4/22/2026:
“…the "degradation acceleration rate" is a value determined according to the ratio between the degree of degradation of the hydrogen production facility 14 during non-operation and the degree of degradation of the hydrogen production facility 14 accompanying the operation of the hydrogen production facility 14 in a certain frame. By contrast, the "inverse relationship between heat rate and efficiency" in Paragraph [0086] of Wichmann is merely a mathematical relationship based on the thermodynamic definition of "heat rate= 1 / efficiency" (a definitional inverse correlation).
Examiner considers Applicant’s argument but respectfully finds it unpersuasive. Additional support from Wichmann specifies a time frame for capturing the mathematical relationship as broadly interpreted from the amended claim language “in a certain frame” at ¶ [0009]: “The tuning may include a tuning procedure inclusive of the following steps: defining a first operating period [EN: frame] and a plurality of the operating parameters… based on the simulated value for the selected operating parameter, calculating a predicted value for the performance indicator, comparing the measured [EN: actual] value against the predicted [EN: rated] value of the performance indicator so to determine a differential therebetween.”
Applicant argues on page 10 of remarks 4/22/2026:
“Furthermore, Wichmann is directed to heat engines such as gas turbines and does not mention the degradation characteristics of hydrogen electrolyzers at all. Moreover, although the Examiner relies on the term "nonlinear fashion" in Paragraph [0218] of Wichmann as a basis for "degradation acceleration," there is a fundamental difference between a phenomenon being "nonlinear" and "explicitly incorporating an acceleration (ratio) as a parameter into an objective function".
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner acknowledges that Wichmann does not mention hydrogen electrolysis, which is why, in part, Nagino is applied as a secondary reference in combination/modification with Wichmann in the 103 rejection to cure this deficiency. In addition to being nonlinear, Wichmann’s additional citation referenced for the claim from mid-¶ [0003] “incremental variable cost curve may be obtained, for example, by taking a first derivative of an input-output curve of the powerplant that represents cost per hour versus power generated”, describes the differential mathematic relationship of an acceleration of a rate over time contrasted with the linear rate itself.
Accordingly, the rejection under 35 USC 103 is maintained. The 103 rejection is updated below in view of the amendments.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 6-7, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1, 6 are directed to an apparatus or article of manufacture which is a statutory category.
Claim 7 is directed to a system or machine which is a statutory category.
Claim 11 is directed to a method or process which is a statutory category.
Claim 12 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium or article of manufacture which is a statutory category.
Step 2A Prong One: The claims recite, describe, or set forth a judicial exception of an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.04(a)). Specifically, the claims recite, describe or set forth mitigating risk and mathematical relationships including: “creating an operation plan for a hydrogen production facility based on an amount of energy consumed by the hydrogen production facility and a degradation loss of the hydrogen production facility”, “using a mathematical programming on an objective function is executed to create an operation plan”, “the objective function includes a first term indicating a cost based on the amount of energy consumed by the hydrogen production facility and a second term indicating a cost based on the degradation loss of the hydrogen production facility”, “cost based on the amount of energy consumed… for each unit time”, “cost based on degradation loss… for each unit time”, “degradation acceleration rate according to a hydrogen production amount”, and “degradation acceleration rate is… relatively large when the hydrogen production amount… is relatively small, and to be relatively small when the hydrogen production amount … is relatively large”, at independent claims 1, 7, 11, 12; “an operation plan for each of a plurality of hydrogen production facilities is created” at dependent claim 6; and “instruct the hydrogen production facility to produce hydrogen based on the data including the operation plan output” at dependent claim 8. Managing efficient energy production costs and degradation loss falls within mitigating risk as it pertains to fundamental economic principles in the larger abstract grouping of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) II), and using a mathematical objective function optimizing efficiency through balancing production with degradation falls within mathematical relationships under the larger abstract grouping of Mathematical Concepts (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) I)1. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two: Independent claims 1, 7, 11, 12 recite the following additional computer-based elements: “information processing apparatus”, “processor”, “hydrogen production system”, and “information processing apparatus”. The functions of these additional computer-based elements include examples such as “creating an operation plan… based on an amount of energy consumed… and a degradation loss”, and “outputting data including the operation plan”. The additional elements are also recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a generic computer performing functions of communicating and presenting data, etc.) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Independent claim 7 recites the additional element “instruction device”. The function of this additional element includes “control electrolytic power of the hydrogen production facility.” However, insufficient technological details of how the instruction device controls the power of the facility are presented. Therefore, these functions can be viewed as not meaningfully different than a business method or mathematical algorithm being applied on a general-purpose computer as tested per MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)(i). The claims are directed to an abstract idea and the judicial exception does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B: According to MPEP 2106.05(f)(1), considering whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claims fail to recite the technological details of how the actual technological solution to the actual technological problem is accomplished. The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover an entrepreneurial and thus abstract solution to an entrepreneurial problem with no technological details on how the technological result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result do not provide significantly more than the judicial exception.
Dependent claim 6 does not appear to provide any further additional computer-based elements, let alone for such additional computer-based elements to integrate the abstract idea into practical application (Step 2A Prong Two) or providing significantly more (Step 2B).
Further, dependent claim 6 merely incorporate the additional computer-based elements recited in claim 1 along with further narrowing of the abstract idea of claims 1 and its execution of the abstract idea. Therefore, the additional elements recited in the claimed invention individually and in combination fail to integrate a judicial exception into a practical application (Step 2A prong two) and for the same reasons they also fail to provide significantly more (Step 2B). Thus, claims 1, 6-7, 11-12 are reasoned to be patent ineligible.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Examiner Note: Some rejections will contain bracketed comments preceded by an “EN” that will denote an examiner note. This will be placed to further explain a rejection.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-7, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Wichmann et al. US 20150185716 A1, hereinafter Wichmann in view of
Nagino US 20210405603 A1, hereinafter Nagino. As per,
Regarding Claims 1, 7, 11-12: Wichmann teaches:
(Claim 1) An information processing apparatus comprising a processor, wherein the processor executes:
(Claim 7) A [..] production system comprising: a [..] production facility; and an information processing apparatus, wherein the information processing apparatus executes:
(Claim 11) An operation plan creation method, wherein a computer executes:
(Claim 12) A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program that causes a computer to execute:
a first step of creating an operation plan for a [..] production facility based on an amount of energy consumed by the [..] production facility and a degradation loss of the [..] production facility (Wichmann end-[0086]: In the case of steam turbine system 50, digital model 62 may include an algorithm 620 that correlates the power output [EN: production] of the steam turbine system to the energy added by HRSG duct firing system 52, such as the amount of fuel consumed by duct firing. ¶ [0135]: …the first or primary model 305 models current performance parameters 308 of the power plant 302 [EN: production facility]. These current performance parameters 308 may include, but are not limited to, conditions corresponding to the level of turbine degradation, conditions corresponding to the level of turbine efficiency (e.g., the heat rate or fuel [EN: energy consumed] to power output [EN: production] ratio). ¶ [0150]: Once tuned, the method may then use the tuned model 507 to simulate proposed operation [EN: operation plan] of the powerplant.); and
a second step of outputting data including the operation plan created in the first step (Wichmann mid-[0133]: The commands generated by the controller 303 can cause actuators on the turbine to, for example, adjust valves between the fuel supply and combustors so to regulate fuel flow, splits and type of fuel. Actuators may adjust inlet guide vanes on the compressor, or activate other control setpoints on the turbine. It will be appreciated that the controller 303 may be used to generate the first and/or the second models, as described herein, in addition to facilitating control of the power plant. The controller 303 may receive operator and/or present modeled output (or any other system output)); and
[..]
in the first step, processing using a mathematical programming on an objective function is executed to create an operation plan for the hydrogen production facility (Wichmann End-¶ [0148]: As will be appreciated, the optimization may be based upon one or more performance objectives 516 in which a cost function is defined. ¶ [0150]: …According to certain embodiments, a next step of the present method includes determining which simulated operation is preferable given defined performance objectives 516. In this manner, optimized modes of operating the power plant may be determined),
the objective function includes a first term indicating a cost based on the amount of energy consumed by the hydrogen production facility (Wichmann mid-¶ [0099]: It will be appreciated that accurate incremental cost data is necessary for economic dispatch to function optimally. Such incremental cost data has primary components that include fuel cost and incremental fuel consumption. Mid-[0215]: The optimization procedures may consider one or more of the following inputs: health and performance degradation; power generation schedules; grid frequency; maintenance and inspection schedules; fuel availability; fuel costs; fuel usage patterns and predictions…) and
a second term indicating a cost based on the degradation loss of the hydrogen production facility (Wichmann mid-¶ [0158]: According to alternative embodiments, simulation outputs include predicted values for hot gas path temperatures for one or more of thermal generating units of the power plant 501, which may be used to calculate a consumed component life cost. This cost reflects a predicted degradation cost associated with the hot gas path components that results from the simulated operation),
the first term indicates a cost based on the amount of energy consumed by the hydrogen
production facility for each unit time, the second term indicates a cost based on the degradation loss of the hydrogen production facility for each unit time (Wichmann ¶ [0006]: Machine degradation that occurs over time is another difficult to quantify fact, which may have a significant effect on the performance of the generating units. It will be appreciated that rate of degradation, replacement of worn components, timing of maintenance routines, and other factors impact the short term performance of the plant, and thus need to be accounted for when generating cost curves during the dispatching process as well as when assessing the long term cost-effectiveness of the plant. As an example, gas turbine life typically is impacted by operating patterns that include rates of consumption impacted by hours of operation, load, transients and transient rates of load change, and number of starts. If a gas turbine or a component thereof reaches its starts limit before its hours limit, it must be repaired or replaced, even if it has hours-based life remaining. Hours based life in a gas turbine may be prolonged by reducing firing temperature, but this reduces efficiency of the gas turbine, which increases cost of operation. Conversely, increasing the firing temperature increases efficiency, but shortens gas turbine life and increases maintenance and/or replacement costs. In a similar way, the operations cycles of a turbine such as its being turned off or ramped up rapidly do affect the life consumption rate of the apparatus as well as the fuel quantity consumed. As will be appreciated, life cycle cost of a thermal engine is dependent on many complex factors, while also representing a significant consideration in the economic efficiency of the power plant),
the second term includes a degradation acceleration rate determined according to a hydrogen production amount of the hydrogen production facility in the unit time (Wichmann mid-¶ [0216]: The fleet robustness index may include, for example, an optimization according to several factors that is applicable to a given demand or fleet output level. These factors may include: thermal and mechanical stresses; degradation or losses, including rate of degradation; cost of generation; and/or fuel consumption. ¶ [0218]: Those economic ramifications may include degradation to asset performance, wear to components, expended useful part-life (i.e., the portion of the useful life of a component that is expended during a period of operation), as well as other measures of value. Such as, for example, costs related to emissions, regulatory fees, fuel consumption, as well as other variable costs that are dependent upon output level [EN: production]. As will be appreciated, because the degradation and the expenditure of useful part-life for a particular asset may accrue in a nonlinear fashion…. Mid-¶ [0003]: It will be appreciated that an average variable cost curve [EN: analogous to degradation rate] may represent a cumulative cost divided by a cumulative power output for a given point, and an incremental variable cost curve [EN: analogous to degradation acceleration rate] may represent a change in cost divided by a change in power output. An incremental Variable cost curve may be obtained, for example, by taking a first derivative of an input-output curve of the powerplant that represents cost per hour versus power generated), and
the degradation acceleration rate is configured to be relatively large when the hydrogen production amount of the hydrogen production facility in a certain unit time is relatively small, and to be relatively small when the hydrogen production amount of the hydrogen production facility in a certain unit time is relatively large (See Wichmann inverse relationship between degradation rate and production at mid-¶ [0225]: First, for example, preferred power-sharing configurations may minimize, reduce, or advantageously apportion fleet degradation, which may significantly impact [EN: increase] generating capacity and efficiency [EN: production] over future operating periods. Second, an adviser function may be configured using the described components so to optimize or, at least, enhance maintenance intervals by which degradation losses, both recoverable and non-recoverable, are mitigated. Monitoring and predicting the rate of degradation and scheduling/conducting maintenance procedures effectively, such as compressor washes or filter cleanings, will ensure that the gas turbine operates most efficiently. Also see additional example of inverse relationship between production and degradation rate at Wichmann mid-¶ [0086]: Model 60 may also include an algorithm 603 that correlates the heat rate [EN: degrading factor] of the gas turbine at different power output levels [EN: production] of the engine. As discussed, heat rate represents the efficiency of a gas turbine engine or other power generating unit, and is inversely related to efficiency. A lower heat rate indicates a higher thermodynamic performance efficiency), and
is determined according to a ratio of an actual production amount to a rated production amount in each frame (Wichmann ¶ [0009]: The tuning may include a tuning procedure inclusive of the following steps: defining a first operating period [EN: frame] and a plurality of the operating parameters… based on the simulated value for the selected operating parameter, calculating a predicted value for the performance indicator, comparing the measured [EN: actual] value against the predicted [EN: rated] value of the performance indicator so to determine a differential therebetween), and
(claim 7 only) [..].
Although Wichmann teaches creating an operation plan for a production facility, Wichmann does not specifically teach creating an operation plan for a hydrogen production facility.
However, Nagino in analogous art of production facility operations teaches or suggests:
creating an operation plan for a hydrogen production facility (Nagino ¶ [0015]: FIG. 1 illustrates a configuration of hydrogen production system 10 according to the present embodiment. The hydrogen production system 10 produces hydrogen according to the operation plan generated based on the prediction result of predicting the respective demand for hydrogen. ¶ [0016]: The hydrogen production system 10 includes a utility grid 20, a power generation apparatus 30, a steam reforming apparatus 40, a hydrogen production apparatus 50, a hydrogen storage apparatus 60, a transportation means 70, a power generation source certification apparatus 80 and a planning apparatus 90);
[..]
a third step of controlling (claims 1, 11-12) / the hydrogen production system further comprises an instruction device structured to control (claim 7) electrolytic power of the hydrogen production facility according to the operation plan, wherein the hydrogen production facility produces hydrogen based on the electrolytic power (Nagino ¶ [0223]: Then, the control unit 140 [EN: instruction device] controls each apparatus of the hydrogen production system 10 while managing each type of hydrogen by the storage management unit 145 according to the generated planning data (S760). The control unit 140 may transmit instructions in accordance with the generated planning data to each apparatus of the hydrogen production system 10 for control. The control unit 140 may output the planning data to a plurality of management apparatuses 150).
Nagino and Wichmann are found as analogous art of production facility operations. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Wichmann’s power plant generating unit control enhancement system and method to have included Nagino’s teachings around creating an operation plan for a hydrogen production system and controlling the system based on the plan. The benefit of these additional features would have augmented known operation planning methods for industrial production plants in application to the burgeoning hydrogen production industry. The predictability of such modifications and/or variations, would have been corroborated by the broad level of skill of one of ordinary skills in the art as articulated by Wichmann in view of Nagino (see MPEP 2143 G).
Further, the claimed invention could have also been viewed as a mere combination of old elements in a similar field of production facility operations. In such combination each element would have merely performed the same function as it did separately. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that, given existing technical ability to combine the elements, as evidenced by Wichmann in view of Nagino above, the to- be combined elements would have fit together like pieces of a puzzle in a logical, complementary, technologically feasible and/or economically desirable manner. Thus, it would have been reasoned that the results of the combination would have been predictable (see MPEP 2143 A).
Regarding Claim 2: cancelled.
Regarding Claim 3: cancelled.
Regarding Claim 4: cancelled.
Regarding Claim 5: cancelled.
Regarding Claim 6: Wichmann / Nagino teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Wichmann further teaches:
in the first step, an operation plan for each of a plurality of hydrogen production facilities is created based on an amount of energy consumed by each of the plurality of hydrogen production facilities and a degradation loss of each of the plurality of hydrogen production facilities (Wichmann mid-¶ [0218]: For example, degradation model may be developed that calculate accrued equipment degradation and losses given the values for selected performance indicators. Such degradation then may be used to calculate the economic ramifications or cost result for each of the competing operating modes. Those economic ramifications may include degradation to asset performance, wear to components, expended useful part-life (i.e., the portion of the useful life of a component that is expended during a period of operation), as well as other measures of value. Such as, for example, costs related to emissions, regulatory fees, fuel consumption, as well as other variable costs that are dependent upon output level. As will be appreciated, because the degradation and the expenditure of useful part-life for a particular asset may accrue in a nonlinear fashion as well as being dependent on dynamic and/or location specific variables, significant cost savings may be achieved over time by distributing the output level of the fleet so to minimize overall fleet degradation, particularly if that minimization is shared across the assets so to minimally impact overall fleet generating capacity and efficiency).
Regarding Claim 8: cancelled.
Regarding Claim 9: cancelled.
Regarding Claim 10: non-elected.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Conclusion
The following art is made of record and considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Harikumaran; Jayakrishnan et al. US 20210079544 A1, Method of configuring a water electrolysis system.
Kim; Ho Suk et al. US 20240263321 A1, Water electrolysis system improving durability by preventing performance degradation inside water electrolysis stack.
Doland; George J. US 20070079611 A1, Renewable power controller for hydrogen production.
Homma; Atsuko et al. US 20210355590 A1, Hydrogen-oxygen generation system and hydrogen-oxygen generation method.
Sanner; Gunnar US 20140001767 A1, Sanner cycle energy system.
Borm; Oliver et al. US 20230155150 A1, Operating method for a solid oxide cell system.
Zhang; Xinjian US 20220267917 A1, System for producing hydrogen from renewable energy and control method thereof.
Gu Yu et al. US 20230041986 A1, Direct-current coupling hydrogen production system and control method therefor.
Ohuchi et al. US 20130008311 A1, Exhaust gas treatment system.
Mitsushima et al. US 20230408444 A1, Accelerated evaluation method for anode.
Duque Lopez et al. WO 2018189409 A1, System for monitoring and controlling an electrolysis stack and methods for minimizing the degradation of the stack and maximum hydrogen production with said system.
Philippe Mocoteguy, Annabelle Brisse. 2013. A review and comprehensive analysis of
degradation mechanisms of solid oxide electrolysis cells. International Journal of Hydrogen Energy 38 (2013). https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ijhydene.2013.09.045
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REED M. BOND/Examiner, Art Unit 3624
August 14, 2026
/HAMZEH OBAID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624
1 MPEP 2106.04(a): “examiners should identify at least one abstract idea grouping, but preferably identify all groupings to the extent possible”.