DETAILED ACTION
Claims 19, 37, 55, 70, and 95-112 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the prior art rejection of the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claim 108 and 111 are objected to because of the following informalities: reciting, “the data packet form the first node” rather than, “from” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 109 is objected to as it recites, “The method of any one of claim 55” rather than, “The method of claim 55” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 37, 55, 70, 95-99, 101-105, 108, 109, 111, and 112 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whelan et al (US Pub. No. 2013/019317), hereafter, “Whelan,” in view of Brown, Jr. et al (US Pub. No. 2018/0198822), hereafter, “Brown.”
As to claim 19, Whelan discloses a method for controlling a response of a network to a data packet addressed from a first node having a first node location to a second node having a second node location in the network (Fig. 1 and [0067], particularly, “When a network node (i.e. an originating transmission network node) wants to send data to another network node (i.e. a destination receiving network node), a particular path that stretches between the two network nodes for sending the data must be determined.”), the method comprising the steps of:
(a) using the processor, in accordance with at least one rule stored in a memory, determining an access control score based on the first node location and the second node location ([0009], particularly, “In one or more embodiments, the method further involves utilizing at least one level of trust of at least one network node to determine a degree of trust of at least one path for routing the data, where the path(s) includes at least one of the network nodes. In one or more embodiments, there is more than one level for the degree of trust. In at least one embodiment, the degree of trust of at least one path is very high, high, medium, or low.” and further [0047], particularly “The level of trust for a network node may be determined by its certainty of physical location. The physical location of a node may be attained by placing the node in a known secure location, such as a military base or a government building; by verification of the physical location by using satellite geolocation techniques; or by estimation of the physical location by using network ping ranging measurements.”); and
(b) in response to the access control score being lower than a predetermined value, using the processor ([0052], particularly, “The fourth main feature of the disclosed system and method relates to the use of at least one boundary firewall router. For this feature, at least one boundary firewall router is employed as a gatekeeper to data attempting to pass through the network. Specifically, a boundary firewall router is used to determine whether to allow data to pass through the boundary firewall router. In particular, the boundary firewall router will let data pass through it if the data has previously passed through a path with a high enough degree of trust.”), controlling the response of the network comprising:
(i) preventing transmission of the data packet to the second node ([0052] and further, [0080], particularly, “Each boundary firewall node 5200 determines whether data, that is attempting to pass through the perimeter 5100 or boundary firewall node 5200, has previously traveled through a path with a high enough degree of trust. If the data has previously traveled through a path with a high enough degree of trust, the boundary firewall node 5200 will allow the data to pass through the boundary firewall node 5200. Each boundary firewall node 5200 has a set threshold degree of trust requirement, and it will require data to have previously traveled through a path having at least that threshold degree of trust in order for the boundary firewall node 5200 to allow the data to pass through it.”) and
However, Whelan does not explicitly disclose (ii) extracting data from the data packet, and storing the data in a data buffer memory that is accessible to the network.
But, Brown discloses (i) preventing transmission of a data packet to a second node and (ii) extracting data from the data packet, and storing the data in a data buffer memory that is accessible to the network ([0013], particularly, “In another embodiment, organizational servers that may be used in production are configured to selectively route network traffic either to a production service or to a honeypot server. For example, network traffic from non-whitelisted or blacklisted hosts may be forwarded to a honeypot server rather than being dropped.” and further [0022]-[0025], particularly, “For example, extensive logging functionality may be employed by the honeypot server 118 to chronicle all activity via the honeypot server 118. This logging functionality may be of a stealth nature, so as to avoid detection by the user…The log records may include network addresses of the connecting devices 106, timestamps, event descriptions, keystroke data, files and/or other resources accessed, operations performed, and/or other information.”)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Whelan and Brown in order to provide a means to store information that could later be used to improve the overall security of the networked environment.
As to claim 37, it is rejected by a similar rationale to that set forth in claim 19’s rejection.
As to claim 55, Whelan discloses a method for controlling a response of a network to a data packet addressed from a first node to a second node in the network (Fig. 1 and [0067], particularly, “When a network node (i.e. an originating transmission network node) wants to send data to another network node (i.e. a destination receiving network node), a particular path that stretches between the two network nodes for sending the data must be determined.”), the method comprising the steps of:
(a) storing in a memory, a rule for determining a cybersecurity threat score for the first node ([0009], particularly, “In one or more embodiments, the method further involves utilizing at least one level of trust of at least one network node to determine a degree of trust of at least one path for routing the data, where the path(s) includes at least one of the network nodes. In one or more embodiments, there is more than one level for the degree of trust. In at least one embodiment, the degree of trust of at least one path is very high, high, medium, or low.”), wherein the rule is based on network information associated with the first node comprising one or a combination of:
(i) a volume or a pattern of data packet traffic transmitted or received by the first node; (ii) a size, a content, or a communication protocol of the data packet or another data packet transmitted to or received by the first node; (iii) a network address of the first node;(iv) a connection relationship of the first node to another node in the network;(v) an identifier or a role of a user of the first node; (vi) an identifier of the first node ([0047]-[0049], see further [0064]-[0066] describing the pinging process); or (vii) operational data indicative of an operational parameter of the first node in a SCADA system;
(b) using a processor, monitoring the network to acquire the network information; (c) using the processor, determining the cybersecurity threat score for the first node, based on the acquired network information and in accordance with the rule ([0009], particularly, “In one or more embodiments, the method further involves utilizing at least one level of trust of at least one network node to determine a degree of trust of at least one path for routing the data, where the path(s) includes at least one of the network nodes. In one or more embodiments, there is more than one level for the degree of trust. In at least one embodiment, the degree of trust of at least one path is very high, high, medium, or low.” and further [0047], particularly “The level of trust for a network node may be determined by its certainty of physical location. The physical location of a node may be attained by placing the node in a known secure location, such as a military base or a government building; by verification of the physical location by using satellite geolocation techniques; or by estimation of the physical location by using network ping ranging measurements.” [0064]-[0066] describing the pinging process); and
(d) in response to the determined cybersecurity threat score being higher than a predetermined value, using the processor, controlling the response of the network comprising: (i) preventing transmission of the data packet to the second node ([0052] and further, [0080], particularly, “Each boundary firewall node 5200 determines whether data, that is attempting to pass through the perimeter 5100 or boundary firewall node 5200, has previously traveled through a path with a high enough degree of trust. If the data has previously traveled through a path with a high enough degree of trust, the boundary firewall node 5200 will allow the data to pass through the boundary firewall node 5200. Each boundary firewall node 5200 has a set threshold degree of trust requirement, and it will require data to have previously traveled through a path having at least that threshold degree of trust in order for the boundary firewall node 5200 to allow the data to pass through it.”; see further, [0180], “Although certain illustrative embodiments and methods have been disclosed herein, it can be apparent from the foregoing disclosure to those skilled in the art that variations and modifications of such embodiments and methods can be made without departing from the true spirit and scope of the art disclosed.” Illustrating the higher vs lower distinction (e.g. claim 55 vs 19) is a design choice not “departing from the true spirit and scope of the art disclosed.”); and
However, Whelan does not explicitly disclose (ii) extracting data from the data packet, and storing the data in a data buffer memory that is accessible to the network.
But, Brown discloses (i) preventing transmission of a data packet to a second node and (ii) extracting data from the data packet, and storing the data in a data buffer memory that is accessible to the network ([0013], particularly, “In another embodiment, organizational servers that may be used in production are configured to selectively route network traffic either to a production service or to a honeypot server. For example, network traffic from non-whitelisted or blacklisted hosts may be forwarded to a honeypot server rather than being dropped.” and further [0022]-[0025], particularly, “For example, extensive logging functionality may be employed by the honeypot server 118 to chronicle all activity via the honeypot server 118. This logging functionality may be of a stealth nature, so as to avoid detection by the user…The log records may include network addresses of the connecting devices 106, timestamps, event descriptions, keystroke data, files and/or other resources accessed, operations performed, and/or other information.”)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Whelan and Brown in order to provide a means to store information that could later be used to improve the overall security of the networked environment.
As to claim 70, it is rejected by a similar rationale by that set forth in claim 55’s rejection.
As to claims 95 and 101, the teachings of Whelan and Brown as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 19’s rejection further disclose the processor determines the first and second node locations from contents of the data packet (Whelan, [0047], particularly “The level of trust for a network node may be determined by its certainty of physical location. The physical location of a node may be attained by placing the node in a known secure location, such as a military base or a government building; by verification of the physical location by using satellite geolocation techniques; or by estimation of the physical location by using network ping ranging measurements.” and [0064]-[0066] describing the pinging process).
As to claims 96 and 102, the teachings of Whelan and Brown as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 19’s rejection further disclose the access control score is determined in accordance with the at least one rule based on whether the first and second node locations are within a same domain or a same zone of the network (Whelan, [0047], particularly “The level of trust for a network node may be determined by its certainty of physical location. The physical location of a node may be attained by placing the node in a known secure location, such as a military base or a government building; by verification of the physical location by using satellite geolocation techniques; or by estimation of the physical location by using network ping ranging measurements.” and [0064]-[0066] describing the pinging process).
As to claims 97 and 103, the teachings of Whelan and Brown as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 19’s rejection further disclose he access control score is determined in accordance with the at least one rule based on whether the first node location is external to the network (Whelan, [0047], particularly “The level of trust for a network node may be determined by its certainty of physical location. The physical location of a node may be attained by placing the node in a known secure location, such as a military base or a government building; by verification of the physical location by using satellite geolocation techniques; or by estimation of the physical location by using network ping ranging measurements.” and [0064]-[0066] describing the pinging process).
As to claims 98 and 104, the teachings of Whelan and Brown as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 19’s rejection further disclose the response further comprises storing a time stamp in the data buffer memory, wherein the time stamp is indicative of an attempted transmission time of the data packet form the first node to the second node (Brown [0013], and further [0022]-[0025], particularly, “For example, extensive logging functionality may be employed by the honeypot server 118 to chronicle all activity via the honeypot server 118. This logging functionality may be of a stealth nature, so as to avoid detection by the user…The log records may include network addresses of the connecting devices 106, timestamps, event descriptions, keystroke data, files and/or other resources accessed, operations performed, and/or other information.”)
As to claims 99 and 105, the teachings of Whelan and Brown as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 19’s rejection further disclose the response further comprises varying the cybersecurity threat score for the second node based on the determined access control score (Whelan, [0047]).
As to claims 108 and 111, the teachings of Whelan and Brown as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 55’s rejection further disclose the response further comprises storing a time stamp in the data buffer memory, wherein the time stamp is indicative of an attempted transmission time of the data packet form the first node to the second node (Brown [0013], and further [0022]-[0025], particularly, “For example, extensive logging functionality may be employed by the honeypot server 118 to chronicle all activity via the honeypot server 118. This logging functionality may be of a stealth nature, so as to avoid detection by the user…The log records may include network addresses of the connecting devices 106, timestamps, event descriptions, keystroke data, files and/or other resources accessed, operations performed, and/or other information.”).
As to claims 109 and 112, the teachings of Whelan and Brown as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 55’s rejection further disclose the response comprises varying the cybersecurity threat score for the second node based on the determined cybersecurity threat score (Whelan, [0047]).
Claims 100, 106, 107, and 110 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whelan and Brown in view of Akella et al (US Pub. No. 2024/0048581), hereafter, “Akella.”
As to claims 100 and 106, Whelan and Brown disclose the parent claim but do not disclose the second node is a component of the SCADA system. However, Akella discloses a method for controlling a response of a network to a data packet addressed from a first node having a first node location to a second node having a second node location in the network (Abstract Fig. 1A), the second node is a component of the SCADA system ([0094], particularly, “FIG. 6 depicts an example architecture of a network traffic sensor array 110. As depicted, network sensor array 110 includes Ethernet traffic sensor 602, SCADA traffic sensor 604, USB traffic sensor 606, IoT gateway traffic sensor 608, and arbitrary network packet broker 610. In general, network traffic sensor array 110 can be configured to detect any network traffic-related communication data associated with computing devices, for example, 102, 104, 106, 124, 134, or 142, on a network, for example, computer network 116.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Whelan and Brown with Akella in order to extend the system to a broader range of networks and device types.
As to claims 107 and 110, Whelan and Brown disclose the parent claim but do not disclose the first node is a component of a SCADA system. However, Akella discloses a method for controlling a response of a network to a data packet addressed from a first node having a first node location to a second node having a second node location in the network (Abstract Fig. 1A), the first node is a component of a SCADA system ([0094], particularly, “FIG. 6 depicts an example architecture of a network traffic sensor array 110. As depicted, network sensor array 110 includes Ethernet traffic sensor 602, SCADA traffic sensor 604, USB traffic sensor 606, IoT gateway traffic sensor 608, and arbitrary network packet broker 610. In general, network traffic sensor array 110 can be configured to detect any network traffic-related communication data associated with computing devices, for example, 102, 104, 106, 124, 134, or 142, on a network, for example, computer network 116.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Whelan and Brown with Akella in order to extend the system to a broader range of networks and device types.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J DAILEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458