DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed October 1, 2025 for the above identified patent application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “an outer ring of the bearing is connected to an inner wall of the sleeve, and an inner ring of the bearing is sleeved on the first end of the first input shaft” (claims 1 and 12) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 17, the limitation “the input gear of the third gear train is sleeved on the support shaft” is not fully understood. Claims 4 and 15, from which claims 6 and 17 depend, define “an input gear of the third gear train is sleeved on the first input shaft.” It is not understood how the input gear of the third gear train can be sleeved to both the first input shaft and the support shaft. A dependent claim must incorporate the limitations of the claim from which it depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 12-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 102897017).
Zhang teaches a hybrid power system, comprising: a gearbox; an engine (1); a first motor (2); and a second motor (3); wherein the gearbox comprises a first input shaft (4), an output shaft (6), a second input shaft (portion of 5 disposed at the right end), a first speed change mechanism (11,12), and a second speed change mechanism (15,16), wherein the first input shaft is connected to the output shaft via the first speed change mechanism, and the second input shaft is connected to the output shaft via the second speed change mechanism; wherein the engine and the first motor are drivingly connected to the first input shaft; and wherein the second motor is drivingly connected to the second input shaft, the first input shaft is coaxially spaced from the second input shaft, wherein the second speed change mechanism comprises a support shaft (portion of 5 at the left end), wherein a first end of the support shaft is movably connected to a first end (right end) of the first input shaft in a circumferential direction (via a sleeve portion in Fig. 1), a second end of the first input shaft (left end) is drivingly connected to the engine, and a second end of the support shaft is coaxially connected (integrally connected) to the second input shaft; and a sleeve (adjacent bearing 17) coaxially connected to the support shaft is arranged at the first end of the support shaft, one end of the sleeve is open (Fig. 1), and the sleeve is opposite to the first end of the first input shaft, a bearing (17) is arranged in the sleeve.
Zhang does not specifically disclose an outer ring of the bearing is connected to an inner wall of the sleeve, and an inner ring of the bearing is sleeved on the first end of the first input shaft. However, forming the bearing (17) with separate bearing rings would have been obvious to one in the art, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art, motivation being to form a more modular arrangement. Alternatively, it was notoriously known in the bearing art to form a bearing with separate inner and outer rings, motivation being to provide a bearing that can be easily replaced as needed, without having to replace the corresponding shafts.
In the event applicant argues the second input shaft and the support shaft of the instant gearbox are separate shafts, it is noted that the claims do not preclude the gearbox of Zhang having a single shaft defining both a second input shaft portion connected to a support shaft portion. Alternatively, forming the shaft (5) of Zhang as a pair of connected shafts (second input shaft and support shaft) would have been obvious to one in the art, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art, motivation being to form a more modular arrangement.
Claims 2 and 13: Zhang teaches the first speed change mechanism comprises a first gear train and a first synchronizer (7); wherein an input gear (11) of the first gear train is sleeved on the first input shaft, and an output gear (12) of the first gear train is coaxially connected to the output shaft; and wherein the first synchronizer (7) is sleeved on the first input shaft, and the first synchronizer is configured to cause the input gear of the first gear train to be connected to the first input shaft or cause the input gear of the first gear train to be disconnected from the first input shaft.
Claims 3 and 14: Zhang teaches the second speed change mechanism comprises a second gear train, wherein an input gear (15) of the second gear train is coaxially connected to the second input shaft, and an output gear (16) of the second gear train is coaxially connected to the output shaft; and the first input shaft is coaxially spaced from the second input shaft, the input gear of the second gear train is disposed at one end of the second input shaft opposite to the first input shaft, and the first synchronizer is configured to cause at most one of the input gear of the first gear train and the input gear of the second gear train to be connected to the first input shaft.
Claims 4 and 15: Zhang teaches the first speed change mechanism further comprises a third gear train (13,14), wherein an input gear (13) of the third gear train is sleeved on the first input shaft, and an output gear (14) of the third gear train is coaxially connected to the output shaft; and wherein the first synchronizer (7) is disposed between the input gear of the first gear train and the input gear of the third gear train, and the first synchronizer is configured to cause at most one of the input gear of the first gear train and the input gear of the third gear train to be connected to the first input shaft.
Claims 6 and 17: Zhang teaches the input gear (13) of the third gear train is sleeved on the first input shaft and indirectly sleeved on the support shaft (via bearing 17).
Claim(s) 8, 10, 11, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 102897017), as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 12-15, and 17 above, and further in view of Zhang (CN 113022295).
Zhang ‘017 does not teach the claimed clutch and gear arrangement, such as the second speed change mechanism comprises a clutch. However, Zhang ‘295 teaches a gearbox having the claimed arrangement.
Claims 8, 10, 19, Zhang ‘295 teaches a second speed change mechanism (53) further comprises a clutch (62), wherein the clutch is disposed between an input gear of a second gear train (input gear of 53) and a second motor (21), a fourth gear train (54), wherein a first motor (22) is coaxially connected to an input gear of the fourth gear train, and an output gear of the fourth gear train is coaxially connected to a first input shaft (31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling of the claimed device, to modify the gear arrangement of Zhang ‘017, with the second speed change mechanism comprises a clutch, and a fourth gear train connected to the first input shaft, as taught by Zhang ‘295, motivation being to provide the gearbox with a predetermined reduction gearing, for a particular application.
Claim 11: Zhang ‘295 teaches a power supply assembly (71,72), wherein the power supply assembly comprises a battery (71) and two inverters (72), the two inverters being connected to the battery, the first motor (22) being connected to one of the two inverters, and the second motor (21) being connected to the other of the two inverters. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling of the claimed device, to configure the gearbox of Zhang ‘017, with the power supply arrangement of Zhang ‘295, motivation being to effectively control the motors of the gearbox.
Claim(s) 9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 102897017), as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 12-15, and 17 above, and further in view of Kaltenbach (USP 10,808,816).
Zhang ‘017 does not teach the claimed clutch and gear arrangement, such as the second synchronizer configured to connect an output gear of either the second gear train or the third gear train. However, Kaltenbach teaches a gearbox having the claimed arrangement.
Claims 9 and 20: Kaltenbach teaches the second speed change mechanism (Z2) comprises a second gear train (3G), a third gear train (1G), and a second synchronizer (S2); wherein an input gear (Z12) of the second gear train and an input gear (Z11) of the third gear rain are both coaxially connected to the second input shaft, and an output gear (Z22) of the second gear train and an output gear (Z21) of the third gear train are sleeved on the output shaft; wherein the first input shaft is coaxially spaced from the second input shaft, the first synchronizer (S1) is configured to cause at most one of the input gear of the first gear train and the input gear of the second gear train to be connected to the first input shaft; and wherein the second synchronizer (S2) is sleeved on the output shaft, and the second synchronizer (S2) is configured to be drivingly connected to at most one of the output gear of the second gear train and the output gear of the third gear train.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling of the claimed device, to configure the gearbox of Zhang ‘017, with second and third gear trains having the second synchronizer, as taught by Kaltenbach, motivation being to provide the gearbox with a predetermined reduction gearing, for a particular application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM C JOYCE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618