Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. DE102021124012.3, filed on 09/16/2021 and Application No. , filed on 09/16/2022.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a means for detecting localization sensor positions of the localization sensors” in claim 1. Structure for this limitation may be found in claim 3 and further in the specification as originally filed: pg. 4, paragraph 3, provides a detailed example of the encoder system configured to detect the positions of the localization sensors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 10-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Giere et al. (US 20180313952 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Giere discloses
A radar system (100) (see pg. 1, paragraph 0005, “The object of the present invention is to provide…a radar system”) with the following features:
a first localization sensor (1.1) (see Fig. 10, Sensor 1), and
a second localization sensor (10.1) (see Fig. 10, Sensor 2),
wherein the first localization sensor (1.1) and the second localization sensor (10.1) are designed as radar sensors (see pg. 1, paragraph 0001, the sensors are radar sensors),
wherein the first localization sensor (1.1) and the second localization sensor (10.1) are arranged on a common carrier (3.1) offset in a movement direction (3.7) such that they have a sensor offset (3.8) (see Fig. 10, arrangement of sensors on helicopter carrier), the carrier (3.1) being arranged movably in the movement direction (3.7) (see Fig. 10, helicopter can move in movement directions),
a means for detecting localization sensor positions of the localization sensors (1.1, 10.1) (see pg. 1, paragraph 0014, “The individual sensor units are controlled and oriented by the signal processing device both in a vertical and in a horizontal direction.”),
wherein a first localization radiation lobe (1.3) can be generated by means of the first localization sensor (1.1) and a second localization radiation lobe (10.3) can be generated by means of the second localization sensor (10.1) (see Fig. 3, two lobes 311 and 321),
wherein the localization radiation lobes (1.3, 10.3) are designed to have the shape of a fan with a respective main fan plane in each case (1.4, 10.4), wherein a first main fan plane (1.4) of the first localization radiation lobe (1.3) is arranged at a first angle of incidence (1.5) relative to an imaginary base plane (30) arranged parallel to the movement direction (3.7) and a second main fan plane (10.4) of the second localization radiation lobe (10.3) is arranged at a second angle of incidence (10.5) relative to the base plane (30) (see Fig. 3, fan shaped lobes at different angles), and
wherein the first angle of incidence (1.5) and the second angle of incidence (10.5) differ (see Fig. 3, angles from the sensor lobes are different).
Regarding claim 4, Giere further discloses
The radar system according to claim 1,
characterized in that
the localization radiation lobes (1.3, 10.3) are arranged such that the first main fan plane (1.4) and the second main fan plane (10.4) are inclined in opposite directions relative to the base plane (30) with respect to the movement direction (see Fig. 10, sensors and their lobes face opposite directions).
Regarding claim 5, Giere further discloses
The radar system according to claim 1,
characterized in that
the first angle of incidence (1.5) and the second angle of incidence (10.5) are of the same magnitude (see Fig. 10, the FOV [field of view] for each sensor is the same magnitude; Figs. 2 and 3, lobe angles have the same magnitude).
Regarding claim 6, Giere further discloses
The radar system according to claim 1,
characterized in that
the localization radiation lobes (1.3, 10.3) each have a main opening angle (56) and a transverse opening angle (58) arranged perpendicular thereto, the main opening angle (56) being at least 90°, preferably at least 120° and the ratio of the main opening angle (56) to the transverse opening angle (58) is more than 5:1, preferably more than 10:1 (see pg. 1, paragraph 0007, “In the case of multiple sensor units, for example, in the case of detection in all dimensions, the individual sensors may be controlled more selectively, with less latency time.”).
Regarding claim 10, Giere further discloses
The radar system according claim 1,
characterized in that
the radar system (100) has at least one identification sensor (2.1, 20.1) for identifying an object (8), an identification radiation lobe (2.2) being able to be generated by means of the at least one identification sensor (2.1, 20.1), (see pg. 2, paragraph 0031, “In addition, a velocity calculation and a range calculation are carried out by means of a two-dimensional FFT, and subsequently, via a so-called constant false-alarm rate (CFAR) algorithm, it is possible to search for objects which stand out from the noise of the sensor or from a noisy background, so-called clutter (pre-targets).”; pg. 2, paragraph 0032, “The calculation steps of the range and velocity calculation, position determination, and the differentiation of signals from the background noise and ground reflections, allows selecting only these signals as relevant objects”; pg. 4, paragraph 0057, “an object detection algorithm selects the object data from this common sensor activation unit”) and wherein the at least one identification sensor (2.1, 20.1) is designed as a fixed radar sensor (see pg. 4, paragraph 0060, “two sensor devices which are fixedly mounted on the helicopter structure”).
Regarding claim 11, Giere further discloses
The radar system according to claim 10,
characterized in that
the identification radiation lobe (2.2) has a main opening angle (62) of at least 90°, preferably of at least 120°, and the identification radiation lobe (2.2) has a transverse opening angle (64) of at least 90°, preferably at least 120° (see pg. 1, paragraph 0007, “In the case of multiple sensor units, for example, in the case of detection in all dimensions, the individual sensors may be controlled more selectively, with less latency time.”)
Regarding claim 12, Giere further discloses
The radar system according to claim 10,
characterized in that
the at least one identification sensor (2.1, 20.1) is arranged on the stator (4.1) (see pg. 4, paragraph 0060, “two sensor devices which are fixedly mounted on the helicopter structure”).
Regarding claim 14, Giere further discloses
The radar system according to claim 10,
characterized in that
the radar system (100) has a central computing unit (5) which is designed to assign the reflected identification signal to the reflected localization signals (71.1, 71.2) (see pg. 2, paragraph 0017, “the central signal processing device is able to create selected object lists from the received signals of the individual sensor units by controlling, reading out, and evaluating the individual sensor units. These object lists represent signals which are received by the individual sensor units and which have been preprocessed and preselected,”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7-9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giere et al. (US 20180313952 A1) in view of Armstrong-Crews et al. (US 12117520 B1).
Regarding claim 2, Armstrong-Crews discloses
The radar system according to claim 1,
characterized in that
the carrier (3.1) is designed as a rotor, which is arranged to be rotatable relative to a stator (4.1) about an axis of rotation (3.6), so that the movement direction (3.7) is designed to be rotary (see col. 11, lines 32-46, sensors can be mounted on a rotatable platform).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Armstrong-Crews into the invention of Giere. Both Giere and Armstrong-Crews are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose radar object detection systems for moving vehicles. Giere discloses the limitations of claim 1; however, Giere fails to disclose the sensors on a rotor. This feature is disclosed by Armstrong-Crews where the sensors can be mounted on a rotatable platform. The combination of Giere and Armstrong-Crews would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the detection ability of the sensors by allowing them to rotate to face different directions, saving money by not having to manufacture more sensors to transmit and receive signals in multiple directions.
Regarding claim 7, Giere further discloses [Note: what Giere fails to disclose is strike-through]
The radar system according to claim 1,
characterized in that
the first localization sensor (1.1) is designed to capture a first reflected localization signal (71.1), and the second localization sensor (10.1) is designed to capture a second reflected localization signal (71.2) (see pg. 2, paragraph 0030, “a signal processing method which is used in sensor arrays for the direction-dependent reception or transmission of signals”; pg. 4, claim 4, “the detection of received signals from the at least two sensor units takes place according to a multiplexing method”), and wherein a signal offset (74) is arranged between the first reflected localization signal (71.1) and the second reflected localization signal (71.2) (see pg. 2, paragraph 0025, “In the time-division multiplexing method, the sensor units are read out in a time-offset manner”), and that the radar system (100) has a localization computing unit (3.3.1, 3.3.2)
Armstrong-Crews discloses
which is designed to determine a reflection elevation angle (54) using the ratio of the signal offset (74) to the sensor offset (3.8) (see col. 5, lines 27-38, device can obtain elevation angle measurements).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Armstrong-Crews into the invention of Giere. Giere discloses obtaining reflected signals and a signal offset; however, Giere fails to disclose obtaining an elevation angle. This feature is disclosed by Armstrong-Crews where the device can obtain elevation angle measurements from signal information. The combination of Giere and Armstrong-Crews would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve accuracy of object detection with additional angle information of object position.
Regarding claim 8, Giere further discloses
The radar system according to claim 7,
characterized in that
the localization computing unit (3.3.1, 3.3.2) is designed to detect a reflection position value and a distance value from the first reflected localization signal (71.1) and/or the second reflected localization signal (71.2) (see pg. 2, paragraph 0032, “The calculation steps of the range and velocity calculation, position determination, and the differentiation of signals from the background noise and ground reflections, allows selecting only these signals as relevant objects, already at the raw data level. Object lists are created which are made up of these preselected signal data of the sensor units”), wherein a localization data set is formed (see pg. 2, paragraph 0017, “the central signal processing device is able to create selected object lists from the received signals of the individual sensor units by controlling, reading out, and evaluating the individual sensor units. These object lists represent signals which are received by the individual sensor units and which have been preprocessed and preselected”) by the reflection elevation angle, the reflection position value and the distance value.
Regarding claim 9, Giere further discloses
The radar system according to claim 8,
characterized in that
the localization computing unit (3.3.1, 3.3.2) is designed to compare a first localization data set with a second localization data set, and to further process only differing data (see pg. 2, paragraph 0017, “the central signal processing device is able to create selected object lists from the received signals of the individual sensor units by controlling, reading out, and evaluating the individual sensor units. These object lists represent signals which are received by the individual sensor units and which have been preprocessed and preselected”).
Regarding claim 13, Armstrong-Crews discloses
The radar system according to claim 10,
characterized in that
the radar system (100) has at least one identification computing unit (4.3.1, 4.3.2) which is designed to identify a radar signature of a reflected identification signal (see col. 15, lines 3-7, “A vehicle radar system can be implemented as a SAR system that can emit signals at a scene of targets and measure the voltage returned from the scene. From these voltages, one or more backscatter values (e.g., radar cross sections (RCS(s))) can be determined”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Armstrong-Crews into the invention of Giere. Giere discloses the limitations of claim 10; however, Giere fails to disclose identifying a radar signature of a reflected signal. This feature is disclosed by Armstrong-Crews where the radar can detect radar cross sections. The combination of Giere and Armstrong-Crews would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to “create 2D images and/or 3D reconstructions of the vehicle's environment that shows positions and arrangement of objects relative to the vehicle.” (see Armstrong-Crews col. 15, lines 19-22).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Allowance of claim 3 is indicated because:
None of the prior art of record teach or suggest the subject matter of dependent claim 3, an encoder system for detecting localization sensor positions. The prior art of record does not anticipate or render fairly obvious in combination to teach all of the additional limitations of the claimed invention, as best understood within the context of Applicant’s claimed invention as a whole.
Accordingly, claim 3 is deemed to have allowable subject matter.
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ISABELLA AMEYALI EDRADA/Examiner, Art Unit 3648