DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 4, 9, 12, 13, 15, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 3:
In the amended Claimset the dependency has changed from Claim 2 to Claim 0 which does not exist.
For the sake of furthering prosecution the Claim is being interpreted as depending from Claim 2, appropriate correction is required in the reply to this office action.
Regarding Claim 4:
In the amended Claimset the dependency has changed from Claim 3 to Claim 0 which does not exist.
For the sake of furthering prosecution the Claim is being interpreted as depending from Claim 3, appropriate correction is required in the reply to this office action.
Regarding Claim 9:
In the amended Claimset the dependency has changed from Claim 8 to Claim 0 which does not exist.
For the sake of furthering prosecution the Claim is being interpreted as depending from Claim 8, appropriate correction is required in the reply to this office action.
Regarding Claim 12:
In the amended Claimset the dependency has changed from Claim 11 to Claim 0 which does not exist.
For the sake of furthering prosecution the Claim is being interpreted as depending from Claim 11, appropriate correction is required in the reply to this office action.
Regarding Claim 13:
In the amended Claimset the dependency has changed from Claim 12 to Claim 0 which does not exist.
For the sake of furthering prosecution the Claim is being interpreted as depending from Claim 12, appropriate correction is required in the reply to this office action.
Regarding Claim 15:
In the amended Claimset the dependency has changed from Claim 14 to Claim 0 which does not exist.
For the sake of furthering prosecution the Claim is being interpreted as depending from Claim 14, appropriate correction is required in the reply to this office action.
Regarding Claim 16:
In the amended Claimset the dependency has changed from Claim 15 to Claim 0 which does not exist.
For the sake of furthering prosecution the Claim is being interpreted as depending from Claim 15, appropriate correction is required in the reply to this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Balemi (US 20120266432 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Balemi discloses:
A coupler (115) for coupling an implement having first (119) and second (123) spaced apart parallel pins, to the arm of a vehicle or machine [Abstract & 0002 & 0008 & 0036 & 0121 & 0122], the coupler comprising:
a body (131) for attaching to the vehicle or machine arm [Abstract & 0002 & 0008 & 0036 & 0121 & 0122];
a front first jaw (121 & 225) fixed relative to the body, defining an opening and a first seat for receiving the first implement pin (Fig. 16), and having a pronounced lip forward of the first seat (Fig. 3 & Fig. 25), the lip protruding in a direction generally towards the body (Fig. 3 & Fig. 25);
a locking member (149) that is pivotable relative to the first jaw about a pivot (150) that is positioned forward of the lip of the first jaw (Fig. 18), the locking member pivoting between a locking position in which a portion of the locking member protrudes into the opening of the first jaw (Fig. 16), and an unlocked position in which the locking member is substantially or wholly retracted from the opening of the first jaw (Fig. 20) [0188 & 0189 & 0190 & 0191 & 0192 & 0193 & 0194 & 0195];
a movable rear second jaw (125) facing away from the first jaw, defining an opening and a second seat for receiving the second implement pin (Fig. 16), the second jaw having an extension surface adjacent to the jaw opening and rear of the second seat (Fig. 27); and
an actuator (133) operable to selectively move the second jaw towards and away from the first jaw along a movement axis (Fig. 18 & Fig. 19 & Fig. 20) [0178 & 0179 & 0198 & 0199 & 0200 & 0202 & 0204 & 0206 & 0207 & 0209 & 0210 & 0211 & 0212];
wherein the first jaw including the lip defines an entry direction of the first pin into the seat of the first jaw that is not parallel to the movement axis (Fig. 2 & Fig. 24 & Fig. 25 & Fig. 26 & Fig. 27 & Fig. 28 & Fig. 29 & Fig. 30).
Regarding Claim 6, Balemi discloses:
the lip of the first jaw is shaped such that, in a vertical orientation of the coupler with the second jaw above the first jaw, weight forces from an implement secured in the coupler are at least partly supported by the lip (Fig. 16 & Fig. 25).
Regarding Claim 7, Balemi discloses:
engagement of the first jaw with an implement pin requires a change in direction of the motion of the first jaw or said implement pin, to clear the lip of the first jaw [0179 & 0210 & 0214 & 0215 & 0219].
Regarding Claim 8, Balemi discloses:
the locking member is shaped such that, in a vertical orientation of the coupler with the second jaw above the first jaw and the locking member in a locking position, weight forces from an implement secured in the coupler are at least partly supported by the locking member (Fig. 16 & Fig. 25) [0188 & 0189 & 0190 & 0191 & 0192 & 0193 & 0194].
Regarding Claim 9, Balemi discloses:
in a vertical orientation of the coupler with the second jaw above the first jaw and the locking member in a locking position, reaction force vectors provided by the locking member to support the first implement extend through the locking member pivot (Fig. 16 & Fig. 25) [0188 & 0189 & 0190 & 0191 & 0192 & 0193 & 0194].
Regarding Claim 10, Balemi discloses:
in a vertical orientation of the coupler with the second jaw above the first jaw and the locking member in a locking position, at least a major weight force from an implement secured in the coupler is supported by the locking member and the lip of the first jaw support (Fig. 16 & Fig. 25) [0188 & 0189 & 0190 & 0191 & 0192 & 0193 & 0194].
Regarding Claim 11, Balemi discloses:
the locking member comprises a locking surface for contacting the first implement pin at a contact point, and wherein the contact point is substantially colinear with a centre of said pin and a pivot axis of the locking member (Fig. 16) [0188 & 0189 & 0190 & 0191 & 0192 & 0193 & 0194].
Regarding Claim 12, Balemi discloses:
the locking surface at the contact point is substantially perpendicular with an axis running between the centre of said pin and the locking member pivot axis (Fig. 16) [0188 & 0189 & 0190 & 0191 & 0192 & 0193 & 0194].
Regarding Claim 13, Balemi discloses:
the locking surface is substantially flat (Fig. 16) [0188 & 0189 & 0190 & 0191 & 0192 & 0193 & 0194].
Regarding Claim 14, Balemi discloses:
the locking member is biased towards the locking position [0193].
Claim(s) 1, 17, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Miller (US 20210131057 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Miller discloses:
A coupler (10) for coupling an implement having first (122) and second (134) spaced apart parallel pins, to the arm of a vehicle or machine [Abstract & 0002 & 0003 & 0013 & 0014 & 0025 & 0051], the coupler comprising:
a body (12) for attaching to the vehicle or machine arm [Abstract & 0002 & 0003 & 0013 & 0014 & 0025 & 0051];
a front first jaw (22) fixed relative to the body, defining an opening (58) and a first seat for receiving the first implement pin (Fig. 2), and having a pronounced lip (124 & 126) forward of the first seat (Fig. 2), the lip protruding in a direction generally towards the body (Fig. 2);
a locking member (74) that is pivotable relative to the first jaw about a pivot (76) that is positioned forward of the lip of the first jaw (Fig. 2), the locking member pivoting between a locking position in which a portion of the locking member protrudes into the opening of the first jaw (Fig. 2), and an unlocked position in which the locking member is substantially or wholly retracted from the opening of the first jaw (Fig. 4) [0007 & 0062 & 0063 & 0079 & 0085 & 0090 & 0091 & 0092];
a movable rear second jaw (34) facing away from the first jaw, defining an opening and a second seat for receiving the second implement pin (Fig. 2), the second jaw having an extension surface (60) adjacent to the jaw opening and rear of the second seat (Fig. 2); and
an actuator (40) operable to selectively move the second jaw towards and away from the first jaw along a movement axis (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 4) [0054 & 0055 & 0057 & 0072 & 0073 & 0079 & 0080 & 0083 & 0084 & 0085 & 0086 & 0091];
wherein the first jaw including the lip defines an entry direction of the first pin into the seat of the first jaw that is not parallel to the movement axis (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 17, Miller discloses:
the locking member comprises a cam surface (82); and
wherein the movable jaw is provided on a movable member (30), the movable member being configured to engage the cam surface and thereby retract the locking member from its locking position as the movable jaw moves towards the first jaw (Fig. 4) [0062 & 0063 & 0085 & 0090 & 0091 & 0092].
Regarding Claim 18, Miller discloses:
the extension surface of the second jaw is configured such that, in the event of a failure of the actuator resulting in slight movement of the second jaw towards the first jaw, the extension surface prevents rotation of an implement attached to the coupler by retaining the second pin in the second jaw (Fig. 2) [0060 & 0070 & 0071 & 0073].
Regarding Claim 19, Miller discloses:
the extension surface of the second jaw is substantially flat and/or is substantially parallel to the movement axis (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balemi (US 20120266432 A1) in view of Tsukada et al. (US 20170067223 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Balemi teaches:
the movable second jaw is biased away from the first jaw.
Balemi does not teach:
the movable second jaw is biased away from the first jaw.
Tsukada teaches:
A coupler (2) for coupling an implement having first (106) and second (107) spaced apart parallel pins, to the arm (101) of a vehicle (100) or machine [0009 & 0066 & 0067 & 0068 & 0070 & 0072], the coupler comprising:
a body (16) for attaching to the vehicle or machine arm [0009 & 0066 & 0067 & 0068 & 0070 & 0072];
a front first jaw (4) fixed relative to the body, defining an opening and a first seat for receiving the first implement pin (Fig. 6);
a locking member (8) that is pivotable relative to the first jaw about a pivot (48) (Fig. 4 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 6), the locking member pivoting between a locking position in which a portion of the locking member protrudes into the opening of the first jaw (Fig. 6), and an unlocked position in which the locking member is substantially or wholly retracted from the opening of the first jaw (Fig. 4 & Fig. 8) [0084 & 0085 & 0086 & 0087 & 0088 & 0089 & 0090 & 0091 & 0092 & 0095 & 0096 & 0097 & 0100 & 0102 & 0103 & 0105 & 0106];
a movable rear second jaw (3) facing away from the first jaw, defining an opening and a second seat for receiving the second implement pin (Fig. 6), the second jaw having an extension surface (3a) adjacent to the jaw opening and rear of the second seat (Fig. 4 & Fig. 6); and
an actuator (5) operable to selectively move the second jaw towards and away from the first jaw along a movement axis (A4) (Fig. 6) [0075 & 0076 & 0077 & 0079 & 0080 & 0088 & 0089 & 0093 & 0094 & 0095 & 0103 & 0105];
wherein the first jaw defines an entry direction (A1) of the first pin into the seat of the first jaw that is not parallel to the movement axis (Fig. 4 & Fig. 6).
the movable second jaw is biased away (6) from the first jaw [0081 & 0082 & 0086 & 0105 & 0108].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool coupler for a construction machine having a first stationary jaw and a second movable jaw for engaging pins of a work tool taught by Balemi with the tool coupler for a construction machine having a first stationary jaw and a second movable jaw for engaging pins of a work tool where the movable second jaw is biased away from the first jaw taught by Tsukada in order to provide a tool coupler with a coupling means which is biased into the engaged position in order to prevent accidental detachment in the event of power loss to the tool coupler.
Regarding Claim 3, Balemi teaches:
the actuator is a hydraulic cylinder [0178].
Balemi does not teach:
a biasing member is arranged to bias the cylinder towards an extended position.
Tsukada teaches:
the actuator is a hydraulic cylinder [0075 & 0076 & 0077 & 0079 & 0080 & 0082 & 0088 & 0089], and wherein a biasing member (6 & 7) is arranged to bias the cylinder towards an extended position [0019 & 0020 & 0075 & 0081 & 0082 & 0105 & 0108 & 0112 & 0114].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool coupler for a construction machine having a first stationary jaw and a second movable jaw for engaging pins of a work tool taught by Balemi with the tool coupler for a construction machine having a first stationary jaw and a second movable jaw for engaging pins of a work tool where the movable second jaw is biased away from the first jaw by a biasing member arranged to bias the cylinder towards an extended position taught by Tsukada in order to provide a tool coupler with a coupling means which is biased into the engaged position in order to prevent accidental detachment in the event of power loss to the tool coupler.
Regarding Claim 4, Balemi does not teach:
the biasing member comprises a die spring.
Tsukada teaches:
the biasing member comprises a die spring (31) [0081].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool coupler for a construction machine having a first stationary jaw and a second movable jaw for engaging pins of a work tool taught by Balemi with the tool coupler for a construction machine having a first stationary jaw and a second movable jaw for engaging pins of a work tool where the movable second jaw is biased away from the first jaw by a biasing member arranged to bias the cylinder towards an extended position where the biasing member comprises a die spring taught by Tsukada in order to provide a tool coupler with a coupling means which is biased into the engaged position in order to prevent accidental detachment in the event of power loss to the tool coupler.
Claim(s) 5, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balemi (US 20120266432 A1) in view of Hughes (US 20220098821 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Balemi teaches:
the lip of the first jaw comprises a rear surface oriented at an angle of relative to the movement axis (Fig. 3 & Fig. 25).
Balemi does not explicitly teach:
the angle is between about 25 degrees and about 35 degrees relative to the movement axis.
Hughes teaches:
A coupler (1) for coupling an implement (73) having first (2a) and second (2b) spaced apart parallel pins, to the arm (71) of a vehicle or machine [Abstract & 0001 & 0002 & 0003 & 0008 & 0034 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043], the coupler comprising:
a body (3) for attaching to the vehicle or machine arm (Fig. 11 & Fig. 12 & Fig. 13 & Fig. 14) [Abstract & 0001 & 0002 & 0003 & 0008 & 0034 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043];
a front first jaw (5) fixed relative to the body, defining an opening and a first seat for receiving the first implement pin (Fig. 3 & Fig. 9D), and having a pronounced lip (17) forward of the first seat (Fig. 3), the lip protruding in a direction generally towards the body (Fig. 3);
a movable rear second jaw (7) facing away from the first jaw, defining an opening and a second seat (33) for receiving the second implement pin (Fig. 3 & Fig. 9D); and
an actuator (9) operable to selectively move the second jaw towards and away from the first jaw along a movement axis (Fig. 9A & Fig. 9B & Fig. 9C & Fig. 9D) [0043 & 0059 & 0060 & 0061 & 0064 & 0066 & 0067];
a locking member (51) that is pivotable relative to the first jaw about a pivot (53), the locking member pivoting between a locking position in which a portion of the locking member protrudes into the opening of the second jaw (Fig. 7) [0068 & 0069 & 0070 & 0071 & 0072 & 0073 & 0081 & 0082 & 0083 & 0085 & 0089], and an unlocked position in which the locking member is substantially or wholly retracted from the opening of the second jaw (Fig. 9A) [0068 & 0069 & 0070 & 0071 & 0072 & 0073 & 0081 & 0082 & 0083 & 0085 & 0089];
wherein the first jaw including the lip defines an entry direction of the first pin into the seat of the first jaw that is not parallel to the movement axis (Fig. 3 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 9A & Fig. 9B & Fig. 9C & Fig. 9D);
the lip of the first jaw comprises a rear surface oriented at an angle of relative to the movement axis (Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool coupler for a construction machine having a first stationary jaw and a second movable jaw for engaging pins of a work tool, where the lip of the first jaw comprises a rear surface oriented at an angle of relative to the movement axis taught by Balemi with the tool coupler for a construction machine having a first stationary jaw and a second movable jaw for engaging pins of a work tool where the movable second jaw is biased away from the first jaw as taught by Hughes in order to provide a tool coupler with a coupling means which has a first engagement means with an opening capable of accommodating initial engagement with a pin without perfect alignment in order to facilitate engagement of the coupler with a tool. Also, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the angle is between about 25 degrees and about 35 degrees relative to the movement axis in order to provide a tool coupler with a coupling means which has a first engagement means with an opening capable of accommodating initial engagement with a pin without perfect alignment in order to facilitate engagement of the coupler with a tool, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (referred to in MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding Claim 15, Balemi teaches:
a spring (153) arranged to bias the locking member towards the locking position [0193 & 0194 & 0195].
Balemi does not teach:
the spring arranged to bias the locking member towards the locking position is a leaf spring.
Hughes teaches:
A coupler (1) for coupling an implement (73) having first (2a) and second (2b) spaced apart parallel pins, to the arm (71) of a vehicle or machine [Abstract & 0001 & 0002 & 0003 & 0008 & 0034 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043], the coupler comprising:
a body (3) for attaching to the vehicle or machine arm (Fig. 11 & Fig. 12 & Fig. 13 & Fig. 14) [Abstract & 0001 & 0002 & 0003 & 0008 & 0034 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043];
a front first jaw (5) fixed relative to the body, defining an opening and a first seat for receiving the first implement pin (Fig. 3 & Fig. 9D), and having a pronounced lip (17) forward of the first seat (Fig. 3), the lip protruding in a direction generally towards the body (Fig. 3);
a movable rear second jaw (7) facing away from the first jaw, defining an opening and a second seat (33) for receiving the second implement pin (Fig. 3 & Fig. 9D); and
an actuator (9) operable to selectively move the second jaw towards and away from the first jaw along a movement axis (Fig. 9A & Fig. 9B & Fig. 9C & Fig. 9D) [0043 & 0059 & 0060 & 0061 & 0064 & 0066 & 0067];
a locking member (51) that is pivotable relative to the first jaw about a pivot (53), the locking member pivoting between a locking position in which a portion of the locking member protrudes into the opening of the second jaw (Fig. 7) [0068 & 0069 & 0070 & 0071 & 0072 & 0073 & 0081 & 0082 & 0083 & 0085 & 0089], and an unlocked position in which the locking member is substantially or wholly retracted from the opening of the second jaw (Fig. 9A) [0068 & 0069 & 0070 & 0071 & 0072 & 0073 & 0081 & 0082 & 0083 & 0085 & 0089];
wherein the first jaw including the lip defines an entry direction of the first pin into the seat of the first jaw that is not parallel to the movement axis (Fig. 3 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 9A & Fig. 9B & Fig. 9C & Fig. 9D).
the locking member is biased towards the locking position [0069 & 0070 & 0071 & 0072 & 0073].
a leaf spring (55) arranged to bias the locking member towards the locking position [0069 & 0070 & 0071 & 0072 & 0073].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool coupler for a construction machine having a first stationary jaw and a second movable jaw for engaging pins of a work tool, a locking member that is pivotable relative to the first jaw about a pivot that is positioned forward of the lip of the first jaw, the locking member pivoting between a locking position in which a portion of the locking member protrudes into the opening of the first jaw, and an unlocked position in which the locking member is substantially or wholly retracted from the opening of the first jaw, and a spring arranged to bias the locking member towards the locking position taught by Balemi with the tool coupler for a construction machine having a first stationary jaw and a second movable jaw for engaging pins of a work tool, a locking member that is pivotable relative to the first jaw about a pivot, the locking member pivoting between a locking position in which a portion of the locking member protrudes into the escape path of a tool pin and an unlocked position in which the locking member is substantially or wholly retracted from escape path of a tool pin, the locking member is biased towards the locking position, a leaf spring arranged to bias the locking member towards the locking position taught by Hughes in order to provide a tool coupler with a coupling means which has a detent means capable of preventing disengagement of a partially-connected tool utilizing a biasing means which requires less space in order to increase the utility of the coupler by providing a wider range of coupler sizes.
Regarding Claim 16, Balemi teaches:
a first end of the spring is anchored to the body, a second end of the spring is anchored to the locking member (Fig. 21).
Balemi does not teach:
the spring is a leaf spring, and wherein the leaf spring comprises a bent intermediate portion adjacent the locking member pin.
Hughes teaches:
a first end of the leaf spring is anchored to the body (Fig. 7) [0069], a second end of the leaf spring is anchored to the locking member (Fig. 7) [0069], and wherein the leaf spring comprises a bent intermediate portion adjacent the locking member pin (Fig. 7) [0069 & 0070].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tool coupler for a construction machine having a first stationary jaw and a second movable jaw for engaging pins of a work tool, a locking member that is pivotable relative to the first jaw about a pivot that is positioned forward of the lip of the first jaw, the locking member pivoting between a locking position in which a portion of the locking member protrudes into the opening of the first jaw, and an unlocked position in which the locking member is substantially or wholly retracted from the opening of the first jaw, and a spring arranged to bias the locking member towards the locking position, a first end of the spring is anchored to the body, a second end of the spring is anchored to the locking member taught by Balemi with the tool coupler for a construction machine having a first stationary jaw and a second movable jaw for engaging pins of a work tool, a locking member that is pivotable relative to the first jaw about a pivot, the locking member pivoting between a locking position in which a portion of the locking member protrudes into the escape path of a tool pin and an unlocked position in which the locking member is substantially or wholly retracted from escape path of a tool pin, the locking member is biased towards the locking position, a leaf spring arranged to bias the locking member towards the locking position, where a first end of the leaf spring is anchored to the body, a second end of the leaf spring is anchored to the locking member, and wherein the leaf spring comprises a bent intermediate portion adjacent the locking member pin taught by Hughes in order to provide a tool coupler with a coupling means which has a detent means capable of preventing disengagement of a partially-connected tool utilizing a biasing means which requires less space in order to increase the utility of the coupler by providing a wider range of coupler sizes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent publications US 20140301779 A1, US 9903091 B2, US 20220298742 A1, and US 12385211 B2 have been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: couplers for attaching tools to construction machines using hooks engaging pins on the tools.
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652