DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 2 is objected to because the lines A-A, B-B and C-C are grainy and difficult to see in the drawing provided. Line A-A is specific to figure 4, line B-B is specific to figure 5 and line C-C is specific to figure 6.
Figure 5 contains the figure number 10c, and this should be 10b.
Figures 4-6 are objected to because they lack detail and are grainy. Many of the figure numbers contain lines pointing to a specific area of the figure however, it cannot be determined where the lines actually go or what element they are pointing to.
Figures 4-6 are objected to because they do not seem to match figure 2. Line A-A is a cross-section line for figure 4. In the area of line A-A in figure 2 there are three contacts (15) and two contacts (17). Contacts 15 are considered to be electrodes and contacts 17 are considered to be sensors. Element 121 in figure 4 is described as “first stimulation contact conductive layer”, if this drawing is being interpreted correctly there are six “first stimulation contact conductive layers”, which appear to be traces which electrically connect the electrodes to their respective connections 16/18 (figure 2). However, figure 4 shows what appears to be two electrodes and one sensor connected to traces, however this fails to match figure 2 in any way.
Figure 5 is the intermediate layer, and in figure 2 there are no contacts or openings for contacts seen in figure 2.
Figure 6 doesn’t show the contacts. The drawings are objected to because the detail cannot be determined.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plurality of first stimulation contact conductive layers located in the stimulation segment, plurality of second stimulation contact conductive layers located in the intermediate segment, a plurality of third stimulation contact conductive layers located connection segment, a plurality of first collection contact conductive layers located in the stimulation segment, a plurality of second collection contact layers located in the intermediate segment, a plurality of third collection contact layers located in the collection segment must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6-7, 9 and 12-13 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 9-11 recite “and each of the plurality of first connection contacts is electrically connected to at least one stimulation contact through at least one stimulation contact conductive layer”. This language lacks proper antecedent basis and should read: “and each of the plurality of the first connection contacts is electrically connected to at least one of the stimulation contact through at least one of the stimulation contact conductive layers”.
Claim 1, lines 13-14 recite: “with at least one collection contact each arranged near one of the plurality of stimulation contacts and each insulated from the plurality of stimulation contacts,”. This language should read “with at least one collection contact arranged near one of the plurality of stimulation contacts, wherein the collection contacts and the stimulation contacts are individually insulated”
Claim 1, lines 14-16 recite: “the outer surface of the connection segment of the conductive flexible circuit board is provided with at least one second connection contact each insulated from the plurality of first connection contacts,”. This language should read “the outer surface of the connection segment of the conductive flexible circuit board is provided with a second connection contact insulated from the plurality of first connection contacts,”.
Claim 1, lines 18-19 recites: “the plurality of collection contact conductive layers”. This language should read “the plurality of the collection contact conductive layers”.
Claim 1, lines 21-21 recite: “and each of the at least one second connection contact is electrically connected to at least one collection contact through at least one collection contact conductive layer.” This language should read “and the at least one second connection contact is electrically connected to the at least one collection contact through the at least one collection contact conductive layer.”
Claim 6, lines 11 and 20 recite “layers is”, this should read “layers are”.
Claim 7, line 2 recites “layers is”, this should read “layers are”.
Claim 9, line 2 recites “contacts is”, this should read “contacts are”.
Claims 12-13 each recite “layers is”, this should read “layers are”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 6-8 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3: the claim recites in lines 2-5 recites “a plurality of collection contacts, at least one collection contact is provided near each of the plurality of stimulation contacts, and each of the at least one second collection contact is electrically connected to one collection contact through one collection contact conductive layer.” The underlined language is not understood. The language appears to be claiming that the collection contacts have their own conductive layer.
Regarding claim 6: the claim appears to be directed towards figures 4-6. Figures 4-6 are difficult to discern and have been objected to. Claim 6, lines 10-12 recite “and each of the plurality of second stimulation contact conductive layers is electrically connected to at least one first stimulation contact conductive layer and at least one third stimulation contact conductive layer”. The first stimulation contact conductive layer is 121 (figure 4), the second stimulation contact conductive layer is not shown in the figures and the third stimulation contact conductive layer is element 122 (figure 5). In light of the figures as well as the claim language this is not understood. Stimulation contact conductive layers and the collection contact conductive layers are considered to be traces and will run lengthwise connecting the electrodes to the contacts via the traces. However it is unclear what this language is directed towards. Lines 19-21 are rejected on the same basis, this is not shown in the figures and it is unclear what the language is directed towards. For the purposes of examination it will be assumed that the contact conductive layers are metallic traces which run from the electrode or sensor to the contact.
Regarding claim 6: lines 4-6 recite: “a plurality of first stimulation contact conductive layers, a plurality of second stimulation contact conductive layers, and a plurality of third stimulation contact conductive layers”. Claim 6 depends from claim 1, claim 1 recites “a plurality of stimulation contact conductive layers”. It is unclear if these are the same layers or different layers.
Regarding claim 6: lines 13-15 recite: “a plurality of first collection contact conductive layers, a plurality of second collection contact conductive layers, and a plurality of third collection contact conductive layers”. Claim 6 depends from claim 1, claim 1 recites “a plurality of collection contact conductive layers”. It is unclear if these are the same layers or different layers.
Regarding claim 6: lines 27-37 recite first, second, third and forth openings. The language found in lines 27-37 is not understood and is indefinite. It is assumed that each opening connects one of the three electrodes to a proximal connector and the remaining opening connects a collection contact to a proximal connector.
Claims 8 and 14-15 recite “and at least a portion of at least two stimulation contact conductive layers overlaps in the thickness direction of the conductive flexible circuit board.” This language is not understood and is indefinite.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 13 is a duplicate of claim 12 and therefore does not further limit the claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
The remainder of the claims are also rejected in that they depend from previously rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Young et al. US 10,589,085.
Regarding claim 1: Young discloses an implantable medical lead comprising a conductive flexible circuit board (“thin film”, figure 2), wherein the conductive flexible circuit board is divided into a stimulation segment, connection segment with an intermediate segment between the stimulation and connection segments (figure 2);
an outer surface of the stimulation segment 304 (figure 2) includes electrodes/stimulation contacts 132 (figure 2), an outer surface of the connection segment 310 (figure 2) includes a plurality of contacts/connectors 305 (figure 2), each electrode/stimulation contact 132 (figure 2) is connected to a contact 305 (figure 2) through metal traces within the cable 303 (figure 2 each metal trace within the cable is considered to be a contact conductive layer; the traces extend lengthwise and are embedded in the thin film, figure 9);
the outer surface of the stimulation segment 304 (figure 2) includes collection contacts 132 (the collection contacts are considered to be sensors, each electrode 132 on the stimulation segment 304 can act as a stimulation electrode or sense current, column 5, lines 45-50) which are near other electrodes 132 (figure 2); each of the collection contacts/sensors 132 (figure 2) is connected to a connection contact 305 (figure 2) in the connection segment 310 (figure 2) via the cable 303 which includes individual traces, the sensors/collection contacts are connected via wire traces 137 (figure 6), each trace is insulated from every other trace (figure 9). In figure 9 the first traces 135 connect the electrodes 132 (figure 2) and the second traces 137 (figure 9) connect the sensors 132 (figure 2).
Regarding claim 3: Young disclose that the outer surface of the stimulation segment 304 (figure 2) includes collection contacts/sensors 132 (figure 2, column 5, lines 45-50 discloses how each electrode can be a stimulation or sense electrode). Young further discloses that each collection contacts/sensors 132 (figure 2) is connected individually to a contact 305 on the proximal end 310 (figure 2) via the cable with metallic traces (figure 2), each metal trace is embedded in the structure as is shown in figure 9.
Regarding claim 14-15 as understood: Young discloses that the stimulation contact conductive layers are distributed on two layers L1/L2 (figure 9) which have different thicknesses. The layers are considered to overlap in that they overlay each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. US 10,589,085 in view of Mercanzini et al. US 2013/0085361.
Regarding claim 2: Young discloses that the implant 130 is cylindrical (figures 1-2), cylindrical shapes are disclosed in column 1, line 47. Also note that the thin film is wrapped around a core creating a cylindrical shape (figure 2). However, it is unclear if the proximal end carrying the connection contacts is also cylindrical. Mercanzini however teaches of a deep brain electrode/lead 200 (figure 7, paragraph 0159) which includes a cylindrical proximal section 218 (figure 7) with multiple contacts 208 (figure 7). It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Young to include a cylindrical proximal structure with contacts, as taught by Mercanzini, in order to communicate with the distal portion of the microelectronics.
Claims 6-8 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. US 10,589,085 in view of Mercanzini et al. US 2017/0028191.
Regarding claim 6 as understood: Young disclose a flexible substrate 301 (“thin film”, figure 2);
a plurality of first stimulation contact conductive layers at the stimulation contact segment (considered to be the wire traces from the electrodes 132 to the connectors 305, each individual electrode will have an individual trace or two individual traces, column 5, lines 35-40), a plurality of second stimulation contact conductive layers at the intermediate contact segment (considered to be the wire traces from the electrodes 132 to the connectors 305, each individual electrode will have an individual trace or two individual traces, column 5, lines 35-40), and a plurality of third stimulation contact conductive layers at the connection segment (considered to be the wire traces from the electrodes 132 to the connectors 305, each individual electrode will have an individual trace or two individual traces, column 5, lines 35-40). In the Young design, the traces run from the stimulation segment, through the intermediate segment to the connection segment thus creating electrical contact between the segments.
a plurality of first collection contact conductive layers at the stimulation contact segment (considered to be the wire traces from the electrodes 132 to the connectors 305, each individual electrode will have an individual trace or two individual traces, column 5, lines 35-40), a plurality of second collection contact conductive layers at the intermediate contact segment (considered to be the wire traces from the electrodes 132 to the connectors 305, each individual electrode will have an individual trace or two individual traces, column 5, lines 35-40), and a plurality of third collection contact conductive layers at the connection segment (considered to be the wire traces from the electrodes 132 to the connectors 305, each individual electrode will have an individual trace or two individual traces, column 5, lines 35-40). In the Young design, the traces run from the stimulation segment, through the intermediate segment to the connection segment thus creating electrical contact between the segments. To connect the stimulation electrodes traces 135 (figure 6) are used and to connect the collection/sensors traces 137 (figure 6) are used.
Young further discloses a insulating layer L1/L2 (figure 9, this is a polymer column 7, lines 16-17), the insulation L1/L2 (figure 9) encases/covers the plurality of first second and third stimulation contact conductive layers, covers the plurality of first second and third collection contact conductive layers (trace 135 is for the electrodes and trace 137 is for sensing).
In the Young disclosure each electrode 132 (figure 2) can act as a sensor or a stimulation electrode (column 5, lines 35-40), the electrodes are formed on a thin film with the traces 135/137 within the film, each trace will operably connect to an electrode distally and a contact proximally.
However, Young does not specifically disclose a plurality of first, second, third and fourth openings to connect the stimulation contacts and the collection contacts to proximal connectors. Mercanzini however teaches of a similar thin film device (figures 13a/13b which includes through holes 310 (figure 13a) and holes proximally but unlabeled, each hole 310 allows for an electrode to contact tissue and a connector to connect to an IPG while insulating the traces. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Young to include holes for electrodes/sensors to contact tissue while insulating the traces, as taught by Mercanzini, in order to stimulate and sense tissue.
Regarding claim 7: Young discloses that the electrical traces run from the distal end which connects the electrodes to the proximal end which then connects to a contact. This would have the stimulation contact conductive layers (considered to be the traces) constantly in contact. Stated another way, the first stimulation contact conductive layer is in the distal region (i.e. stimulation segment), the second stimulation contact conductive layer is in the intermediate region and the third stimulation contact conductive layer is proximal or the connection segment.
Regarding claim 8 as understood: Young discloses that the stimulation contact conductive layers are distributed on two layers L1/L2 (figure 9) which have different thicknesses. The layers are considered to overlap in that they overlay each other.
Regarding claims 12-13: Young discloses that the second collection contacts 132 (figure 2) conductive layers (traces) are electrically connected to and integrally formed with the first collection contact conductive layer and one third contact conductive layer (the traces run from the stimulation segment, through the intermediate segment to the collection segment, the first, second and third conductive layers are the traces
Claims 9 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. US 10,589,085 in view of McLaughlin et al. US 2020/02153335.
Regarding claims 9 and 16-17: Young discloses the claimed invention including multiple contacts 305 on the connection layer, however Young does not disclose that the connection segment has contacts that are annular and at intervals. McLaughlin however teaches of an implantable device, which can include microfabricated thin films (paragraph 0068). The lead 14 includes a proximal end plug 20 which as multiple ring contacts 22 (paragraph 42 and figure 2). It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Young to include a proximal plug with multiple contact rings spaced apart at the proximal end, as taught by McLaughlin, in order to connect the lead to a conventional IPG.
Conclusion
PAULA J. STICE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3796
/PAULA J STICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796