DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Expanded form is missing for first time use of abbreviations for the terms “RLF” and “BF”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R2-2101235, “Further Considerations on Efficient SCG Activation/Deactivation”, source CATT, 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #113 electronic, Online, Jan 25 – Feb 5, 2021, hereinafter “CATT”, in view of Ahn et al. (US 9,253,627 B2), hereinafter ‘Ahn”.
Claims 1, 15, and 32:
Regarding claim 1, CATT teaches, a method performed by a wireless device in a wireless communication system (CATT: Title “Further Considerations on Efficient SCG Activation/Deactivation”), the method comprising:
receiving a link monitoring configuration for measurements of a cell group (implied by following disclosures:
(§ 1) “MN-configured RRM measurement/reporting procedures do not depend on the SCG activation state (deactivated or activated)”;
(§ 1) “While the SCG is deactivated, PSCell mobility is supported. MN- and SN-configured measurements are supported for deactivated SCG”;
“5: When the SCG is in deactivated state, the UE sends MeasurementReport messages for measurement results of SN-configured measurements embedded in the E-UTRA (if the MCG is EUTRA) or in the NR (if the MCG is NR) ULInformationTransferMRDC message via SRB1”;
“6a: When the SCG is in deactivated state, the UE can receive an SCG RRCReconfiguration message embedded in an MCG RRC(Connection)Reconfiguration message on SRB1, like when the SCG is activated”.
CATT however fails to expressly teach but in the same field of endeavor, Ahn teaches,
wherein the link monitoring configuration includes (i) a first index of a first radio resource among a periodic radio resource set, and (ii) information on a first pattern for a deactivated state (Clm.1, “wherein, for a first downlink component carrier being in a deactivated state among the plurality of downlink component carriers, the channel measurement is carried out for a first available subframe set in a first periodic subframe pattern including the first available subframe set and an unavailable subframe set,”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine disclosure by Ahn regarding measurement reporting and resource with that of cell group disclosed by CATT, to come up with the claimed invention motivated by handling the situation of activated and deactivated cells in a cell group.
CATT teaches, determining a state of the cell group among the activated state and the deactivated state ((§1, “SCG activation state (activated/deactivated) can be configured at PSCell addition/change, RRC resume or HO); and
performing link monitoring for the first radio resource (implied by disclosure regarding relax measurement, “It is important to balance the latency and power consumption for deactivated SCG. Relax measurement can be considered as a solution for the balance. The UE can change the RRM/CSI-RS/RLM measurement from the normal periodicity to longer periodicity i.e. relax measurement periodicity when the SCG is deactivated,”).
Regarding the claim element, with the first pattern based on the state of the cell group being the deactivated state, first pattern is disclosed above by Ahn and it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine disclosures by Ahn with CATT to come up with the claim motivated by handling the situation of activated and deactivated cells in a cell group, as discussed above .
Claim 15 is for a wireless device implementing method of claim 1. Claim is a change in category and is rejected based on rejection of claim 1. Existence of transceiver and memory in a device is implied.
Claim 32 is for a base station implementing method complementary to methods implemented by device of claim 15. Claim elements are discussed above in claim 1. Claim is rejected based on rejection of claims 1 and 15.
Claims 2 and 16:
Regarding claim 2, combination of CATT and Ahn teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above).
The claim, wherein the link monitoring configuration includes (i) a second index of a second radio resource among a periodic radio resource set, and (ii) information on a second pattern for a deactivated state, is not expressly disclosed by CATT but taught by Ahn (Ahn: Clm.1, “wherein, for a second downlink component carrier being in the deactivated state among the plurality of downlink component carriers, the channel measurement is carried out for a second available subframe set in a second periodic subframe pattern including the second available subframe set and an unavailable subframe set,”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine disclosure by Ahn with that of CATT and come up with the claimed invention for the purpose of link monitoring and measurement using two different sets of resources as per availability.
Claim 16 is for a wireless device implementing method of claim 2. Claim is a change in category and is rejected based on rejection of claim 2.
Claims 3 and 17:
Regarding claim 3, combination of CATT and Ahn teaches the method of claim 2 (discussed above).
The claim, wherein the second pattern is different from the first pattern, is not expressly taught by CATT but disclosed by Ahn (Clm.1 “the first and second periodic time patterns are configured to have different time offsets through a radio resource control (RRC) signaling so that the first and second available subframe sets are exclusive from each other in a time domain,”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine disclosure by Ahn with that of CATT and come up with the claimed invention for the purpose of link monitoring and measurement using two different sets of resources as per availability.
Claim 17 is for a wireless device implementing method of claim 3. Claim is a change in category and is rejected based on rejection of claim 3.
Claims 4 and 18:
Regarding claim 4, combination of CATT and Ahn teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above).
The claim, wherein the first pattern includes a time pattern, is not expressly taught by CATT but disclosed by Ahn (Clm.1 “the first and second periodic time patterns are configured to have different time offsets).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine disclosure by Ahn with that of CATT and come up with the claimed invention for the purpose of link monitoring and measurement using two different sets of resources as per availability at different times.
Claim 18 is for a wireless device implementing method of claim 4. Claim is a change in category and is rejected based on rejection of claim 4.
Claims 5 and 19:
Regarding claim 5, combination of CATT and Ahn teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above), wherein the first pattern includes a frequency pattern (implied by disclosure in CATT, “performed measurements (e.g. all SN configured measurements or subset based on certain criteria, restrictions on inter-frequency/RAT)”; restrictions may dictate frequency pattern for measurement).
Claim 19 is for a wireless device implementing method of claim 5. Claim is a change in category and is rejected based on rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, combination of CATT and Ahn teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above), wherein the first pattern includes both a time pattern and a frequency pattern (discussed above in claims 4 and 5; both conditions may apply).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine disclosure by Ahn with that of CATT and come up with the claimed invention for the purpose of link monitoring and measurement using two both the time and frequency patterns for proper resource utilization, as configured from the network.
Regarding claim 7, combination of CATT and Ahn teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above), wherein the first pattern is applicable for the periodic radio resource set (implied by disclosure in Ahn Clm.1, “channel measurement is carried out for a first available subframe set in a first periodic subframe pattern”; available subframe sets include the resource).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine disclosure by Ahn with that of CATT and come up with the claimed invention for the purpose of link monitoring and measurement as discussed above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, combination of CATT and Ahn teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above).
The claim, wherein the link monitoring configuration includes information on multiple radio resources, is not expressly taught by CATT but is disclosed by Ahn (Ahn: Col.7, lines 61-66, “the user equipment (UE) may receive information and establish the non-contiguous time duration (e.g., at least part of period/length/time offset of the time duration) during which DL channel monitoring is to be performed so as to measure RSRP, RSRQ, and the like of each non-anchor CC or all the allocated non-anchor CCs.”; multiple radio resource implied).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine disclosure by Ahn with that of CATT and come up with the claimed invention for the purpose of link monitoring and measurement using multiple resources as configured.
Regarding claim 9, combination of CATT and Ahn teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above), wherein the link monitoring configuration further includes a purpose related to a first radio resource (CATT: “Proposal 1: UE should perform RLM while the SCG is deactivated. SCG failure reporting procedure can be reused to inform the NW of SCG RLF while in SCG deactivation.”).
Regarding claim 10, combination of CATT and Ahn teaches the method of claim 9 (discussed above), wherein the purpose includes at least one of
(i) RLF detection,
(ii) BF detection, and
(iii) both the RLF detection and the BF detection (CATT: “Proposal 1: UE should perform RLM while the SCG is deactivated. SCG failure reporting procedure can be reused to inform the NW of SCG RLF while in SCG deactivation.”; RLF is presumed to be abbreviation for “Radio Link Failure”, as per the spec).
Regarding claim 11, combination of CATT and Ahn teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above), wherein the first radio resource includes a reference signal or a synchronization signal block (SSB) (implied by disclosure in CATT: Proposal 4, “It is important to balance the latency and power consumption for deactivated SCG. Relax measurement can be considered as a solution for the balance. The UE can change the RRM/CSI-RS/RLM measurement from the normal periodicity to longer periodicity i.e. relax measurement periodicity when the SCG is deactivated,”.
Regarding claim 12, combination of CATT and Ahn teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above), wherein the cell group is a secondary cell group (SCG) or a master cell group (MCG) (implied by disclosure in CATT: § 1, item 6a, “When the SCG is in deactivated state, the UE can receive an SCG RRCReconfiguration message embedded in an MCG RRC(Connection)Reconfiguration message on SRB1, like when the SCG is activated”).
Regarding claim 13, combination of CATT and Ahn teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above), wherein the method further comprises, receiving a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration including a deactivation command for the cell group (CATT: Proposal 6: Deactivation/activation SCG command should be sent by the MN to the UE considering the UE does not monitor the PDCCH of deactivated SCG. ).
Regarding claim 14, combination of CATT and Ahn teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above).
The claim, wherein the wireless device is in communication with at least one of a user equipment, a network, or an autonomous vehicle other than the wireless device, is not expressly disclosed by CATT but taught by Ahn (Ahn: Fig.4 shows the wireless device is connected with a BS, which is part of the network).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine disclosure by Ahn with that of CATT and come up with the claimed invention for the purpose of link monitoring and measurement when user equipment is connected with the base station and needs to monitor the link.
Conclusion
/INTEKHAAB A SIDDIQUEE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462