DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on April 18, 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Applicant(s) Response to Official Action
The response filed on April 8, 2026 has been entered and made of record. Claims 21, 23, 24, 26 - 29, 31, 32, 34 - 37, 39 and 40 have been amended. Claims 22, 30 and 38 have been cancelled. Accordingly, claims 21, 23 - 29, 31 – 37, 39 and 40 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims and presented arguments have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections which were previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed January 8, 2026. Accordingly, the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments see pages 7 – 10 with respect to the rejection of Claims 21 - 25, 28 - 33, and 36 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (US 2021/0250587 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2020/0288168 A1) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Examiner’s response to the presented arguments follows below:
Applicant argues on page 7 that “Neither Liu nor Zhang discloses, teaches or suggests "determine whether OBMC (Overlapped Block Motion Compensation) is applied to the current block based on a predetermined condition, wherein the predetermined condition is a condition based on similarity between the first prediction block and the second prediction block" as recited in amended claim 21”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhang clearly teaches “determine whether OBMC (Overlapped Block Motion Compensation) is applied to the current block based on a predetermined condition” in Par. [0115] A decision to skip OBMC may be based on similarities between the motion vector associated with a neighbor block and the motion vector associated with the current block and Zhang further teaches “the predetermined condition is a condition based on similarity between the first prediction block and the second prediction block” in Par. [0115] that “if a luma prediction block derived with OBMC (e.g., using neighbor motion vectors from one or more prediction directions) is substantially similar (e.g., not substantially different) to a luma prediction block derived without OBMC, then OBMC may be skipped for chroma components”. It would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying when the OBMC is applied or not applied based on similarity between a first prediction block and a second prediction block as suggested by Zhang in the invention of LIU in order that OBMC based on a neighboring block may be skipped (See Zhang, Par. [0117]). Therefore, Liu in view of Zhang teaches the independent claim limitations, as amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23 - 25, 28, 29, 31 - 33, 36, 37, 39 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (US 2021/0250587 A1) referred to as LIU hereinafter, and in view of Zhang et al. (US 2020/0288168 A1) referred to as Zhang hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 21, LIU teaches a video signal decoding device (Par. [0004], video decoder or encoder embodiments for in which overlapped block motion compensation with derived motion from neighbors) comprising
a processor, wherein the processor is configured to (Fig. 11, Par. [0009], a processor to carry out a method, Par. [0173] video processing apparatus 1100 which may include one or more processors 1102):
obtain first motion information of a current block (Fig. 3, Par. [0061] motion vector of above (i.e. first motion information) neighboring sub-block, PN1, Prediction block based on motion vectors of a neighbouring sub-block is denoted as PN, with N indicating an index for the neighbouring above, below, left and right sub-blocks and prediction block based on motion vectors of the current sub-block is denoted as PC),
obtain second motion information related to a neighboring block of the current block (Par. [0061] motion vector of left (i.e. second motion information) neighboring sub-block, PN2, Prediction block based on motion vectors of a neighbouring sub-block is denoted as PN, with N indicating an index for the neighbouring above, below, left and right sub-blocks and prediction block based on motion vectors of the current sub-block is denoted as PC),
obtain a first prediction block based on the first motion information (Par. [0061], prediction block based on motion vectors above (i.e. first prediction block) neighboring of the current sub-block is denoted as PC),
obtain a second prediction block based on the second motion information (Par. [0061], prediction block based on motion vectors left (i.e. second prediction block) neighboring of the current sub-block is denoted as PC),
determine whether OBMC (Overlapped Block Motion Compensation) is applied to the current block based on a predetermined condition (Fig. 3, Par. [0062] sub-blocks where OBMC applies, Par. [0063] for a CU with size less than or equal to (i.e. predetermined condition) 256 luma samples, a CU level flag is signaled to indicate whether OBMC is applied or not for the current CU),
when the OBMC is applied to the current block (Par. [0060] When OBMC applies to the current sub-block, besides current motion vectors, motion vectors of four connected neighbouring sub-blocks, if available and are not identical to the current motion vector, are also used to derive prediction block for the current sub-block), obtain a prediction block for the current block based on the first prediction block and the second prediction block (Par. [0063], The prediction signal formed by OBMC using motion information of the top neighbouring block (i.e. first prediction block) and the left neighbouring block (i.e. second prediction block) is used to compensate the top and left boundaries of the original signal of the current CU, and then the normal motion estimation process is applied), and
when the OBMC is not applied to the current block (Par. [0061], When PN is based on the motion information of a neighbouring sub-block that contains the same motion information to the current sub-block, the OBMC is not performed from PN. Par. [0063] for a CU with size less than or equal to 256 luma samples, a CU level flag is signaled to indicate whether OBMC is applied or not for the current CU).
LIU does not specifically teach the predetermined condition is based on similarity between prediction blocks. Therefore, LIU fails to explicitly teach wherein the predetermined condition is a condition based on similarity between the first prediction block and the second prediction block and when the OBMC is not applied to the current block, obtain the prediction block for the current block based on the first prediction block.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the predetermined condition is a condition based on similarity between the first prediction block and the second prediction block (Fig. 11, Par. [0115] that “if a luma prediction block derived with OBMC (e.g., using neighbor motion vectors from one or more prediction directions) is substantially similar (e.g., not substantially different) to a luma prediction block derived without OBMC, then OBMC may be skipped for chroma components), when the OBMC is not applied to the current block (Par. [0115], OBMC based on one or more neighboring blocks of a current block may be skipped for the current block or for one or more video components (e.g., the chroma components) of the current block. A decision to skip OBMC may be based on similarities between the motion vector associated with a neighbor block and the motion vector associated with the current block), obtain the prediction block for the current block based on the first prediction block (Par, [0003], a first motion vector associated with the current video block may be determined that refers to a specific reference picture. A second motion vector associated with a neighboring video block may be determined to also refer to the reference picture. Further, the current video block (i.e. based on first prediction block) and the neighboring video block may both be predicted using a same directional prediction mode (e.g., a unidirectional mode or a bidirectional mode), and the difference between the first and second motion vectors (e.g., based on a sum of absolute difference (SAD) between the first motion vector and the second motion vector) may be determined to be not substantial (e.g., less than a threshold value). Under these conditions, OBMC based on the neighboring video block may be omitted for the current video block (i.e. obtain prediction block)).
References LIU and Zhang are considered to be analogous art because they relate to overlap block motion compensation in video coding. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying when the OBMC is applied or not applied based on similarity between a first prediction block and a second prediction block as suggested by Zhang in the invention of LIU in order that OBMC based on a neighboring block may be skipped (See Zhang, Par. [0117]).
Regarding Claim 22, it has been cancelled.
Regarding Claim 23, LIU in view of Zhang teaches Claim 21. LIU further teaches wherein the predetermined condition is a condition (Par. [0061] When PN is based on the motion information of a neighbouring sub-block that contains the same motion information to the current sub-block, the OBMC is not performed from PN) based on a result of comparing a value related to the similarity with a predetermined value (Par. [0105] If multiple reference blocks are found to match the current block with the same hash key, the block vector costs (i.e. a value) of each candidates are calculated (i.e. compared) and the one with minimum cost (i.e. predetermined value) is selected. In block matching search, the search range is set to be 64 pixels to the left and on top of current block).
Regarding Claim 24, LIU in view of Zhang teaches Claim 21. LIU further teaches wherein the similarity is determined based on a pixel value of the first prediction block and a pixel value of the second prediction block (Par. [0248], Overlapped Block Motion Compensation (OBMC) for the current block based on the motion information of the at least one neighboring block, wherein the OBMC tool includes using an intermediate prediction values (i.e. pixel value) of one sub-block of the current block and a prediction values (i.e. pixel value) of at least one neighboring sub-block to generating a final prediction values of the sub-block).
Regarding Claim 25, LIU in view of Zhang teaches Claim 21. LIU further teaches wherein the prediction block for the current block is obtained by a weighted average of the first prediction block and the second prediction block (Par. [0119] - [0120], each of the selected motion information may be firstly scaled to the same reference picture (e.g., for each prediction direction) of the current video unit, then the scaled MV (denoted as neigScaleMvLX) and MV of the current video unit (denoted as currMvLX) may be jointly used to derive final MVs (e.g., using weighted averaged) for MC of the video unit. When multiple sets of motion information are selected, neigScaleMvLX may derived from multiple scaled motion vectors, e.g., using weighted average or average of all scaled motion vectors).
Regarding Claim 28, LIU in view of Zhang teaches Claim 21. LIU further teaches wherein the current block is one of sub-blocks of a coding block (Fig. 3, Par. [0015], sub-blocks where overlapped block motion compensation (OBMC) applies. Par. [0060] When OBMC applies to the current sub-block, besides current motion vectors, motion vectors of four connected neighbouring sub-blocks, if available and are not identical to the current motion vector, are also used to derive prediction block for the current sub-block. These multiple prediction blocks based on multiple motion vectors are combined to generate the final prediction signal of the current sub-block).
Regarding Claim 29, LIU teaches a video signal encoding device (Par. [0004], video decoder or encoder embodiments for in which overlapped block motion compensation with derived motion from neighbors) comprising a processor (Fig. 11, Par. [0173] video processing apparatus 1100, which may include one or more processors 1102),
wherein the processor is configured to (Par. [0173] video processing apparatus 1100 which may include one or more processors 1102) acquire a bitstream decoded by a decoding method (Par. [0035], a decoder of video to improves the quality of decompressed or decoded digital video. A video encoder for encoding in order to reconstruct decoded frames used for further encoding), the decoding method comprising:
obtain first motion information of a current block (Fig. 3, Par. [0061] motion vector of above (i.e. first motion information) neighboring sub-block, PN1, Prediction block based on motion vectors of a neighbouring sub-block is denoted as PN, with N indicating an index for the neighbouring above, below, left and right sub-blocks and prediction block based on motion vectors of the current sub-block is denoted as PC),
obtain second motion information related to a neighboring block of the current block (Par. [0061] motion vector of left (i.e. second motion information) neighboring sub-block, PN2, Prediction block based on motion vectors of a neighbouring sub-block is denoted as PN, with N indicating an index for the neighbouring above, below, left and right sub-blocks and prediction block based on motion vectors of the current sub-block is denoted as PC),
obtain a first prediction block based on the first motion information (Par. [0061], prediction block based on motion vectors above (i.e. first prediction block) neighboring of the current sub-block is denoted as PC),
obtain a second prediction block based on the second motion information (Par. [0061], prediction block on motion vectors left (i.e. second prediction block) based neighboring of the current sub-block is denoted as PC),
determine whether OBMC (Overlapped Block Motion Compensation) is applied to the current block based on a predetermined condition (Fig. 3, Par. [0062] sub-blocks where OBMC applies, Par. [0063] for a CU with size less than or equal to (i.e. predetermined condition) 256 luma samples, a CU level flag is signaled to indicate whether OBMC is applied or not for the current CU),
when the OBMC is applied to the current block (Par. [0060] When OBMC applies to the current sub-block, besides current motion vectors, motion vectors of four connected neighbouring sub-blocks, if available and are not identical to the current motion vector, are also used to derive prediction block for the current sub-block), obtain a prediction block for the current block based on the first prediction block and the second prediction block (Par. [0063], The prediction signal formed by OBMC using motion information of the top neighbouring block (i.e. first prediction block) and the left neighbouring block (i.e. second prediction block) is used to compensate the top and left boundaries of the original signal of the current CU, and then the normal motion estimation process is applied), and
when the OBMC is not applied to the current block (Par. [0061], When PN is based on the motion information of a neighbouring sub-block that contains the same motion information to the current sub-block, the OBMC is not performed from PN. Par. [0063] for a CU with size less than or equal to 256 luma samples, a CU level flag is signaled to indicate whether OBMC is applied or not for the current CU).
LIU does not specifically teach the predetermined condition is based on similarity between prediction blocks. Therefore, LIU fails to explicitly teach wherein the predetermined condition is a condition based on similarity between the first prediction block and the second prediction block and when the OBMC is not applied to the current block, obtain the prediction block for the current block based on the first prediction block.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the predetermined condition is a condition based on similarity between the first prediction block and the second prediction block (Fig. 11, Par. [0115] that “if a luma prediction block derived with OBMC (e.g., using neighbor motion vectors from one or more prediction directions) is substantially similar (e.g., not substantially different) to a luma prediction block derived without OBMC, then OBMC may be skipped for chroma components),when the OBMC is not applied to the current block (Fig. 11, Par. [0115], OBMC based on one or more neighboring blocks of a current block may be skipped for the current block or for one or more video components (e.g., the chroma components) of the current block. A decision to skip OBMC may be based on similarities between the motion vector associated with a neighbor block and the motion vector associated with the current block), obtain the prediction block for the current block based on the first prediction block (Par, [0003], a first motion vector associated with the current video block may be determined that refers to a specific reference picture. A second motion vector associated with a neighboring video block may be determined to also refer to the reference picture. Further, the current video block (i.e. based on first prediction block) and the neighboring video block may both be predicted using a same directional prediction mode (e.g., a unidirectional mode or a bidirectional mode), and the difference between the first and second motion vectors (e.g., based on a sum of absolute difference (SAD) between the first motion vector and the second motion vector) may be determined to be not substantial (e.g., less than a threshold value). Under these conditions, OBMC based on the neighboring video block may be omitted for the current video block (i.e. obtain prediction block)).
References LIU and Zhang are considered to be analogous art because they relate to overlap block motion compensation in video coding. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying when the OBMC is applied or not applied based on similarity between a first prediction block and a second prediction block as suggested by Zhang in the invention of LIU in order that OBMC based on a neighboring block may be skipped (See Zhang, Par. [0117]).
Regarding Claim 30, it has been cancelled.
Regarding Claim 31, LIU in view of Zhang teaches Claim 29. LIU further teaches wherein the predetermined condition is a condition (Par. [0061] When PN is based on the motion information of a neighbouring sub-block that contains the same motion information to the current sub-block, the OBMC is not performed from PN) based on a result of comparing a value related to the similarity with a predetermined value (Par. [0105] If multiple reference blocks are found to match the current block with the same hash key, the block vector costs (i.e. a value) of each candidates are calculated (i.e. compared) and the one with minimum cost (i.e. predetermined value) is selected. In block matching search, the search range is set to be 64 pixels to the left and on top of current block).
Regarding Claim 32, LIU in view of Zhang teaches Claim 29. LIU further teaches wherein the similarity is determined based on a pixel value of the first prediction block and a pixel value of the second prediction block (Par. [0248], Overlapped Block Motion Compensation (OBMC) for the current block based on the motion information of the at least one neighboring block, wherein the OBMC tool includes using an intermediate prediction values (i.e. pixel value) of one sub-block of the current block and a prediction values (i.e. pixel value) of at least one neighboring sub-block to generating a final prediction values of the sub-block).
Regarding Claim 33, LIU in view of Zhang teaches Claim 29. LIU further teaches wherein the prediction block for the current block is obtained by a weighted average of the first prediction block and the second prediction block (Par. [0119] - [0120], each of the selected motion information may be firstly scaled to the same reference picture (e.g., for each prediction direction) of the current video unit, then the scaled MV (denoted as neigScaleMvLX) and MV of the current video unit (denoted as currMvLX) may be jointly used to derive final MVs (e.g., using weighted averaged) for MC of the video unit. When multiple sets of motion information are selected, neigScaleMvLX may derived from multiple scaled motion vectors, e.g., using weighted average or average of all scaled motion vectors).
Regarding Claim 36, LIU in view of Zhang teaches Claim 29. LIU further teaches wherein the current block is one of sub-blocks of a coding block (Fig. 3, Par. [0015], sub-blocks where overlapped block motion compensation (OBMC) applies. Par. [0060] When OBMC applies to the current sub-block, besides current motion vectors, motion vectors of four connected neighbouring sub-blocks, if available and are not identical to the current motion vector, are also used to derive prediction block for the current sub-block. These multiple prediction blocks based on multiple motion vectors are combined to generate the final prediction signal of the current sub-block).
Regarding Claim 37, LIU teaches a method of obtaining a bitstream (Fig. 12, coded bitstream), the method comprising:
obtain first motion information of a current block (Fig. 3, Par. [0061] motion vector of above (i.e. first motion information) neighboring sub-block, PN1, Prediction block based on motion vectors of a neighbouring sub-block is denoted as PN, with N indicating an index for the neighbouring above, below, left and right sub-blocks and prediction block based on motion vectors of the current sub-block is denoted as PC),
obtain second motion information related to a neighboring block of the current block (Par. [0061] motion vector of left (i.e. second motion information) neighboring sub-block, PN2, Prediction block based on motion vectors of a neighbouring sub-block is denoted as PN, with N indicating an index for the neighbouring above, below, left and right sub-blocks and prediction block based on motion vectors of the current sub-block is denoted as PC),
obtain a first prediction block based on the first motion information (Par. [0061], prediction block based on motion vectors above (i.e. first prediction block) neighboring of the current sub-block is denoted as PC),
obtain a second prediction block based on the second motion information (Par. [0061], prediction block on motion vectors left (i.e. second prediction block) based neighboring of the current sub-block is denoted as PC),
determine whether OBMC (Overlapped Block Motion Compensation) is applied to the current block based on a predetermined condition (Fig. 3, Par. [0062] sub-blocks where OBMC applies, Par. [0063] for a CU with size less than or equal to (i.e. predetermined condition) 256 luma samples, a CU level flag is signaled to indicate whether OBMC is applied or not for the current CU),
when the OBMC is applied to the current block (Par. [0060] When OBMC applies to the current sub-block, besides current motion vectors, motion vectors of four connected neighbouring sub-blocks, if available and are not identical to the current motion vector, are also used to derive prediction block for the current sub-block), obtain a prediction block for the current block based on the first prediction block and the second prediction block (Par. [0063], The prediction signal formed by OBMC using motion information of the top neighbouring block (i.e. first prediction block) and the left neighbouring block (i.e. second prediction block) is used to compensate the top and left boundaries of the original signal of the current CU, and then the normal motion estimation process is applied),
when the OBMC is not applied to the current block (Par. [0061], When PN is based on the motion information of a neighbouring sub-block that contains the same motion information to the current sub-block, the OBMC is not performed from PN. Par. [0063] for a CU with size less than or equal to 256 luma samples, a CU level flag is signaled to indicate whether OBMC is applied or not for the current CU), and
obtaining the bitstream by encoding a video signal including the first motion information and the second motion information (Fig. 12, input video signal by a video encoder, Par. [0063], At the encoder, when OBMC is applied for a CU, its impact is taken into account during the motion estimation stage. The prediction signal formed by OBMC using motion information of the top neighbouring block and the left neighbouring block is used to compensate the top and left boundaries of the original signal of the current CU, and then the normal motion estimation process is applied).
LIU does not specifically teach the predetermined condition is based on similarity between prediction blocks. Therefore, LIU fails to explicitly teach wherein the predetermined condition is a condition based on similarity between the first prediction block and the second prediction block and when the OBMC is not applied to the current block, obtain the prediction block for the current block based on the first prediction block.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the predetermined condition is a condition based on similarity between the first prediction block and the second prediction block (Fig. 11, Par. [0115] that “if a luma prediction block derived with OBMC (e.g., using neighbor motion vectors from one or more prediction directions) is substantially similar (e.g., not substantially different) to a luma prediction block derived without OBMC, then OBMC may be skipped for chroma components),when the OBMC is not applied to the current block (Fig. 11, Par. [0115], OBMC based on one or more neighboring blocks of a current block may be skipped for the current block or for one or more video components (e.g., the chroma components) of the current block. A decision to skip OBMC may be based on similarities between the motion vector associated with a neighbor block and the motion vector associated with the current block), obtain the prediction block for the current block based on the first prediction block (Par, [0003], a first motion vector associated with the current video block may be determined that refers to a specific reference picture. A second motion vector associated with a neighboring video block may be determined to also refer to the reference picture. Further, the current video block (i.e. based on first prediction block) and the neighboring video block may both be predicted using a same directional prediction mode (e.g., a unidirectional mode or a bidirectional mode), and the difference between the first and second motion vectors (e.g., based on a sum of absolute difference (SAD) between the first motion vector and the second motion vector) may be determined to be not substantial (e.g., less than a threshold value). Under these conditions, OBMC based on the neighboring video block may be omitted for the current video block (i.e. obtain prediction block)).
References LIU and Zhang are considered to be analogous art because they relate to overlap block motion compensation in video coding. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying when the OBMC is applied or not applied based on similarity between a first prediction block and a second prediction block as suggested by Zhang in the invention of LIU in order that OBMC based on a neighboring block may be skipped (See Zhang, Par. [0117]).
Regarding Claim 38, it has been cancelled.
Regarding Claim 39, LIU in view of Zhang teaches Claim 37. LIU further teaches wherein the predetermined condition is a condition (Par. [0061] When PN is based on the motion information of a neighbouring sub-block that contains the same motion information to the current sub-block, the OBMC is not performed from PN) based on a result of comparing a value related to the similarity with a predetermined value (Par. [0105] If multiple reference blocks are found to match the current block with the same hash key, the block vector costs (i.e. a value) of each candidates are calculated (i.e. compared) and the one with minimum cost (i.e. predetermined value) is selected. In block matching search, the search range is set to be 64 pixels to the left and on top of current block).
Regarding Claim 40, LIU in view of Zhang teaches Claim 37. LIU further teaches wherein the similarity is determined based on a pixel value of the first prediction block and a pixel value of the second prediction block (Par. [0248], Overlapped Block Motion Compensation (OBMC) for the current block based on the motion information of the at least one neighboring block, wherein the OBMC tool includes using an intermediate prediction values (i.e. pixel value) of one sub-block of the current block and a prediction values (i.e. pixel value) of at least one neighboring sub-block to generating a final prediction values of the sub-block).
Claims 26 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU (US 2021/0250587 A1), in view of Zhang (US 2020/0288168 A1), and in further view of LIM et al. (US 2022/0312005 A1) referred to as LIM hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 26, LIU in view of Zhang teaches Claim 21. LIU further teaches wherein when the OBMC is applied to the current block, a deblock filtering (Par. [0111] It is proposed that whether to and how to apply deblocking filter may depend on whether dependent scalar quantization is used or not). LIU does not specifically teach deblocking filtering is not performed. Therefore, LIU in view of Zhang fails to explicitly teach wherein when the OBMC is applied to the current block, deblocking filtering is not performed.
However, LIM teaches wherein when the OBMC is applied to the current block (Fig. 23, Par. [0935] Condition 3) Block A does not perform OBMC that uses the motion information of block B), deblocking filtering is not performed (Fig. 23, Par. [0932], At step 2360, filtering strength may be determined such that, when at least one of the following condition 1, condition 2, and condition 3 is satisfied, low filtering strength is used for filtering (e.g., BS=1) Par. [0938] filtering strength BS may be determined to have a value of 0 (i.e. not used) when OBMC is used (i.e. is applied). When OBMC is not used, filtering strength BS may be determined to have a value of 1).
References LIU, Zhang and LIM are considered to be analogous art because they relate to overlap block motion compensation in video coding. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying not performing deblock filtering when the OBMC is applied as suggested by LIM in the inventions of LIU and Zhang in order to lower filtering strength and thus improve image quality (See LIM, Par. [0937]).
Regarding Claim 34, LIU in view of Zhang teaches Claim 29, LIU further teaches where when the OBMC is applied to the current block, a deblock filtering (Par. [0111] It is proposed that whether to and how to apply deblocking filter may depend on whether dependent scalar quantization is used or not). LIU does not specifically teach deblocking filtering is not performed. Therefore, LIU in view of Zhang fails to explicitly teach wherein when the OBMC is applied to the current block, deblocking filtering is not performed.
However, LIM teaches where when the OBMC is applied to the current block (Fig. 23, Par. [0935] Condition 3) Block A does not perform OBMC that uses the motion information of block B), deblocking filtering is not performed (Fig. 23, Par. [0932], At step 2360, filtering strength may be determined such that, when at least one of the following condition 1, condition 2, and condition 3 is satisfied, low filtering strength is used for filtering (e.g., BS=1) Par. [0938] filtering strength BS may be determined to have a value of 0 (i.e. not used) when OBMC is used (i.e. is applied). When OBMC is not used, filtering strength BS may be determined to have a value of 1).
References LIU, Zhang and LIM are considered to be analogous art because they relate to overlap block motion compensation in video coding. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying not performing deblock filtering when the OBMC is applied as suggested by LIM in the inventions of LIU and Zhang in order to lower filtering strength and thus improve image quality (See LIM, Par. [0937]).
Claims 27 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU (US 2021/0250587 A1), in view of Zhang (US 2020/0288168 A1), and in further view of LIN et al. (US 2020/0021845 A1) referred to as LIN hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 27, LIU in view of Zhang teaches Claim 21. LIU in view of Zhang does not specifically teach MHP(Multi-hypothesis prediction) mode. Therefore, LIU in view of Zhang fails to explicitly teaches wherein when a MHP(Multi-hypothesis prediction) mode is applied to the current block, wherein the OBMC is not applied to the current block regardless of the predetermined condition.
However, LIN teaches wherein when a MHP (Multi-hypothesis prediction) mode is applied to the current block, the OBMC is not applied to the current block regardless of the predetermined condition (Par. [0141], For example, if the current inter-mode is multi-hypothesis mode, then the OBMC is turned off implicitly).
References LIU, Zhang and LIN are considered to be analogous art because they relate to overlap block motion compensation in video coding. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying not performing deblock filtering when the OBMC is applied as suggested by LIN in the inventions of LIU and Zhang in order to exclude OBMC for some Inter prediction modes (See LIN, Par. [0141]).
Regarding Claim 35, LIU in view of Zhang teaches Claim 29. LIU in view of Zhang does not specifically teach MHP(Multi-hypothesis prediction) mode. Therefore, LIU in view of Zhang fails to explicitly teaches wherein when a MHP(Multi-hypothesis prediction) mode is applied to the current block, wherein the OBMC is not applied to the current block regardless of the predetermined condition.
However, LIN teaches wherein when a MHP(Multi-hypothesis prediction) mode is applied to the current block, wherein the OBMC is not applied to the current block regardless of the predetermined condition (Par. [0141], For example, if the current inter-mode is multi-hypothesis mode, then the OBMC is turned off implicitly).
References LIU, Zhang and LIN are considered to be analogous art because they relate to overlap block motion compensation in video coding. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying not performing deblock filtering when the OBMC is applied as suggested by LIN in the inventions of LIU and Zhang in order to exclude OBMC for some Inter prediction modes (See LIN, Par. [0141]).
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Brian T. Pendleton, can be reached on (571)270-0498. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Susan E. Hodges/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425