DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed 8/13/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-10 remain pending in the application.
Applicant's amendment has overcome the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejection of claim 1 and claim 10. The 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejections of claims 1 and 10 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues (see remarks pages 7-8), Rainer in view of Honegger fails to render obvious at least the limitations "moving a train of workpiece- carriers in front of the K subsets so that all the workpiece-carriers arrive sequentially at each K- th subset at least once ... and all workpiece-carriers also arrive sequentially at the line entry," and "picking components from said consecutive workpiece-carriers and loading them onto the line, emptying one workpiece-carrier after the other."
Applicant’s characterization of Rainer as providing components only at successive processing stations along the line, rather than moving in front of a spatially-arranged sequence of K component subsets prior to reaching the line, overlooks its upstream loading arrangement. Rainer in (para. [0024], Fig. 5 ) expressly describes positioning a carrier system in a logistics line, depositing different components on that carrier system, and transferring the loaded carrier system to a processing line. Furthermore (para. [0038]) identifies successive loading operation in which robots obtain different components from component magazines and load them onto the carrier system before its transfer to production. Rainer also discloses the carrier system as several carriers coupled in series (para. [0023]). Accordingly, Rainer’s disclosure is not limited to only positioning carriers beside processing stations.
Applicant’s assertion that Rainer fails to disclose “all workpiece-carriers also arrive sequentially at the line entry” is inconsistent with the disclosure of Rainer. Rainer describes coupling several carrier systems in series (para. [0023]) and transferring loaded carrier systems to the processing line (para. [0024], [0040]). Advancing such a series of carriers through the transport direction into the processing line would bring each respective carrier to that receiving location one after the other. Thus, Rainer teaches all workpiece-carriers arriving sequentially at the line entry.
Applicant’s argument that Honegger sequencing as limited to unrelated finished product is inconsistent with Honegger’s disclosure. Honegger discloses products assigned to one end product, including supplements subsequently inserted into a newspaper (col. 1, lines 30-53). In addition, it discloses further processing that inserts groups of products into a folded printed product (col. 9, lines 6-8), or transferring the products in a sequentially correct manner for the purpose of stapling or binding (col. 8, lines 42-47). Its sequencing teaching is therefore not restricted to arranging unrelated articles for independent use. Honegger therefore contemplates sequencing articles for subsequent combination into a common printed product. Rather than exclusively for independent use.
Applicant’s arguments, regarding “picking components from said consecutive workpiece-carriers and loading them onto the line, emptying one workpiece-carrier after the other” has been fully considered. The rejection of claim 1 is revised to rely on Honegger’s successive carrier discharge at the downstream transfer location (col. 8, lines 3-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rainer et al. (DE102010015617A1) in view of Honegger (US7845485).
Regarding claim 1, Rainer discloses a method for loading on a line, capable of producing an assembled product starting from a set of N separate components, N>=2, and assembling the N separate components in a certain order (para. [001]-[0002], [0038], [0040]-[0041]; Fig. 5, different components needed for the assembly are stored in different component magazines 8; parts are assembled in order as per “remaining parts required to complete the component are transported to the next station”), with the steps of
subdividing the set of N components into K subsets of components, K>=2 (para. [0038]; Fig. 5, different components are divided and stored in different component magazines 8),
spatially arranging the K subsets into a spatial sequence (para. [0038]; Fig. 5, the different component magazines 8 spatially arranged along the carrier path),
moving a train of workpiece-carriers in front of the K subsets so that all the workpiece-carriers arrive sequentially at each K-th subset at least once so that, when necessary, it is possible to take from a K-th subset a component and load it on the workpiece-carrier (para. [0023]-[0024][0038]; Fig. 5, carriers 2 coupled in series are advanced sequentially in front of the workpiece loading robot 6 in the logistics area), and all workpiece-carriers also arrive sequentially at the line entry (para. [0023]-[0024][0038]; Fig. 5, the coupled carriers 2 are transferred in the corresponding transport direction 9 to a processing line 14: Note: Advancing such a series of carriers through the transport direction into the processing line would bring reach respective carrier to that receiving location one after the other), and
picking components from said consecutive workpiece-carriers and loading them onto the line (para. [0040]; Fig. 5, components 5 are picked up by industrial robots 6 to the processing line 14).
Rainer further discloses conveying subsequent parts required for completing an assembly (para. [0041]). However, Rainer does not explicitly disclose for each workpiece-carrier arriving at each K-th subset, activating or excluding the loading of a component from that K-th subset so that, progressively as the train moves, consecutive workpiece-carriers of the train are loaded with components corresponding to the predefined sequence, or loading components onto the line, emptying one workpiece-carrier after the other.
Honegger discloses a method and device for creating a product flow according to predefined sequences (col. 5, lines 35-47), including for each workpiece-carrier arriving at each K-th subset, activating or excluding the loading of a component from that K-th subset so that, progressively as the train moves, consecutive workpiece-carriers of the train are loaded with components corresponding to the predefined sequence (col. 3, line 58 to col. 4, line 12; col. 5, lines 35-46; Fig. 1b, the controllable feed units have switches to control release of products to create a predefined sequence. Note: The separate conveyor compartments 12 constitute work-piece carriers), and
loading components onto the line, emptying one workpiece-carrier after the other (col. 8, lines 3-15; in normal operation the compartment clamps open at the transfer location to discharge their contents into conveyor 44. As successive compartments pass that location, their contents are emptied successively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify component supply method of Rainer to incorporate in Honegger’s sequence dependent feeding and successive carrier emptying arrangement, while retaining Rainer’s robot to pick and transfer the carried components into the receiving line to establish the required component order before downstream processing and to preserve that order when feeding the line. Emptying each carrier before unloading the next carrier would help in preserving the established sequence. Honegger describes establishing a prescribed product sequence and controlling release to further-processing station so that the products are supplied in the correct sequence (Honegger: col. 2, line 62 to col. 3, line 16).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Rainer and Honegger discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Rainer further discloses a component is loaded from each K-th subset onto a workpiece-carrier via a robot or manipulator (para. [0038]; Fig. 5, components 5 are picked up by industrial robots 6 from the component magazine on to carrier 6 at the processing station 11).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Rainer and Honegger discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Rainer further discloses components are picked up from said consecutive workpiece-carriers and loaded onto the line by a robot or manipulator (para. [0040]; Fig. 5, components 5 are picked up by industrial robots 6 at the processing line 14).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Rainer and Honegger discloses all the limitations of claim 3. Honegger further discloses what Rainer lacks, the robots or manipulators of each K-th subset are activated to load a component onto a workpiece-carrier or controlled to do something else if, respectively, the current workpiece-carrier present at said K-th subset must contain a component to comply with the predefined sequence or not (col. 3, line 58 to col. 4, line 12; col. 5, lines 35-46; Fig. 1b, the controllable feed units have switches to control release of products to create a predefined sequence).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transport and provisioning apparatus of Rainer to incorporate the teachings in Honegger of activating the robots or manipulators of each K-th subset to load a component onto a workpiece-carrier or control to do something else if, respectively, the current workpiece-carrier present at said K-th subset must contain a component to comply with the predefined sequence or not to improve production efficiency by aligning the workpiece requirement of the further-processing with the sequence of products (Honegger: col. 2, lines 48-57).
Regarding claim 7, Rainer discloses a feeder apparatus configured to feed the entry of a production line, made up of several machines in series, with a predefined sequence of N components, the N components being used to produce a desired finished part at the end of the line (para. [001]-[0002], [0038], [0040]-[0041]; Fig. 5, different components needed for the assembly are stored in different component magazines 8; parts are assembled in order as per “remaining parts required to complete the component are transported to the next station”), the apparatus comprising:
- K subsets of components, K>=2, spatially arranged into a spatial sequence (para. [0038]; Fig. 5, different components are divided and stored in different component magazines 8),
- a train of workpiece-carriers that is movable with respect to the K subsets so that each workpiece-carrier sequentially arrives at each K-th subset at least once and also arrives at said entry (para. [0023]-[0024][0038]; Fig. 5, carriers 2 coupled in series are advanced sequentially in front of the workpiece loading robot 6 in the logistics area),
- first means, or one or more manipulators, for picking up a component from a K-th subset and load it onto a workpiece-carrier of the train (para. [0038]; Fig. 5, components 5 are picked up by industrial robots 6 from the component magazine on to carrier 6 at the processing station 11),
- second means, or one or more manipulators, for picking up a component from a workpiece-carrier of the train and loading it onto the production line (para. [0040]; Fig. 5, components 5 are picked up by industrial robots 6 at the processing line 14).
Rainer discloses a system using automated conveyors and robotic devices to provision required workpieces to a production line, contemplating the need for a controller to control the movement of the conveyance device as well as the robotic manipulators (para. [0021], [0037]), but is however silent about - an electronic control unit configured for
controlling the movement of the workpiece-carriers so that they arrive sequentially at each K-th subset at least once and also arrive sequentially at the line entry,
- driving the first means to be able to pick up from a K-th subset a component and load it on a workpiece-carrier,
- driving the second means to pick up a component from a workpiece-carrier and load it onto the line,
- activating or excluding the loading of a component from a K-th subset so that, progressively as the train moves, consecutive workpiece-carriers of the train are loaded with components corresponding to the predefined sequence, and
- driving the second means to pick up the components from said consecutive workpiece-carriers and load them onto the line, emptying one carrier after the other.
Honegger discloses a method and device for creating a product flow according to predefined sequences (col. 5, lines 35-47), including - an electronic control unit (col. 5, line 64 to col. 6, line 12; Fig. 1b, control unit 60) configured for controlling the movement of the workpiece-carriers so that they arrive sequentially at each K-th subset at least once and also arrive sequentially at the line entry (col. 8, lines 3-15),
- driving the first means to be able to pick up from a K-th subset a component and load it on a workpiece-carrier (col. 5, line 64 to col. 6, line 12; Fig. 1b, control unit 60 controls the feed units Sa, Sb, Sc),
- driving the second means to pick up a component from a workpiece-carrier and load it onto the line (col. 5, line 64 to col. 6, line 12; Fig. 1b, control unit 60 controls the release unit 30),
- activating or excluding the loading of a component from a K-th subset so that, progressively as the train moves, consecutive workpiece-carriers of the train are loaded with components corresponding to the predefined sequence (col. 3, line 58 to col. 4, line 12; col. 5, lines 35-46; Fig. 1b, the controllable feed units have switches to control release of products to create a predefined sequence), and
- driving the second means to pick up the components from said consecutive workpiece-carriers and load them onto the line, emptying one carrier after the other (col. 5, line 64 to col. 6, line 12; Fig. 1b, control unit 60 controls the release unit 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transport and provisioning apparatus of Rainer to incorporate the teachings in Honegger of a controller for controlling the movement of the workpiece-carriers, the first means for pickup, and a second means for pick up to provide a fully automated delivery pipeline that can respond to errors in material delivery sequence by having a controller that oversees the overall operation of the apparatus (Honegger: col. 3, line 3 to col. 4, line 12).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Rainer and Honegger discloses all the limitations of claim 7. Rainer further discloses the train comprises a closed chain of workpiece-carriers adapted to move on a closed or circular path (para. [0040]; Fig. 5, carriers 2 on along a closed path along transport direction 9).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Rainer and Honegger discloses all the limitations of claim 8. Honegger further discloses what Rainer lacks, specifically each K-th subset comprises a respective conveyor device, such K conveyor devices being arranged in parallel rows in front of the train of workpiece-carriers (col. 8, lines 28-37; Fig. 2b, k intermediate conveyors 52 in parallel rows in front of the train of workpiece-carriers 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transport and provisioning apparatus of Rainer to incorporate the teachings in Honegger where each K-th subset comprises a respective conveyor device, such K conveyor devices being arranged in parallel rows in front of the train of workpiece-carriers to provide an intermediate buffer location to compensate for irregularities in the feed of the products from the respective sources (Honegger: col. 5 lines 57-64).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rainer et al.(DE102010015617A1) in view of Honegger (US 7845485), and in further view of KUKA SYSTEMS GMBH (DE 202013103555 U1) hereinafter Kuka.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Rainer and Honegger discloses all the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Rainer and Honegger does not disclose each K- th subset comprises adjacent stacks of equal components, each stack having the same height, and from the adjacent stacks of components of each K-th subset a layer of components is unloaded and laid in a work area, from which they are picked for loading onto a workpiece-carrier.
Kuka discloses a logistics system for providing components to a production plant that includes for each K- th subset comprises adjacent stacks of equal components, each stack having the same height, and from the adjacent stacks of components of each K-th subset a layer of components is unloaded and laid in a work area, from which they are picked for loading onto a workpiece-carrier (para. [0037]; Fig. 2; stacks unloaded from containers 11 and laid in work areas 26 or 27) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transport and provisioning apparatus of Rainer in view of Honegger and further incorporate the teachings in Kuka of unloading components from each K- th subset comprising adjacent stacks of equal components, each stack having the same height, and from the adjacent stacks of components of each K-th subset a layer of components is unloaded and laid in a work area, from which they are picked for loading onto a workpiece-carrier to improve the picking efficiency and speed of the picking manipulator by allowing it to grasp the components more easily (Kuka: para. [0037]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Rainer and Honegger discloses all the limitations of claim 1. The combination of Rainer and Honegger does not disclose, if components remain unused, they are placed in a temporary rest area and loaded onto a workpiece-carrier at the first occurrence.
Kuka discloses a logistics system for providing components to a production plant that includes , if components remain unused, they are placed in a temporary rest area and loaded onto a workpiece-carrier at the first occurrence (Kuka: para. [0037]; components not picked by the collector robot remain at the temporary storage space 26 or 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transport and provisioning apparatus of Rainer in view of Honegger and further incorporate the teachings in Kuka of unloading workpieces from carriers and transferring them to temporary locations for easy pick-up, and leaving them on the temporary location and loading onto workpiece-carrier at the first occurrence to the work cycle of the robot and free it to continue delivering other components.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rainer et al. (DE102010015617A1) in view of Honegger (US 7845485), and in further view of Tanaka et al. (US 20180022557 A1 ).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Rainer and Honegger discloses all the limitations of claim 9. The combination of Rainer and Honegger, does not discloses one or each conveyor device comprises a first transporting means and a second transporting means placed in series with the first means, and two robots or manipulators, one placed between the first transporting means and the second transporting means for transferring components from the first transporting means to the second transporting means, and one placed between the second transporting means and the train to transfer components from the second transporting means to the train of workpiece-carriers.
Tanaka discloses one or each conveyor device comprises a first transporting means and a second transporting means placed in series with the first means, and two robots or manipulators (para. [0027], [0041]; Fig. 1; first transport means 14, second transport means 24, two robots or manipulators 20 and 34),
one placed between the first transporting means and the second transporting means for transferring components from the first transporting means to the second transporting means (para. [0035]; Fig. 1; first manipulators 20 between first transport means 14 and second transport means 24), and
one placed between the second transporting means and the train to transfer components from the second transporting means to a target location (para. [0072], second manipulators 18 between second transport means 11 and train of workpiece-carriers 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transport and provisioning apparatus of Rainer in view of Honegger and further incorporate the teachings in Tanaka of a serial conveyor and robotic transfer arrangement, a first robot transferring components from an upstream supply container to an intermediate buffer conveyor, and a second robot positioned between that buffer conveyor and Rainer’s coupled carriers to compensate for irregularities in the feed of the products from respective sources (Honegger: col. 5, lines 57-64).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Snyder et al. (US 4403726 A) discloses a method and apparatus for high speed sequencing of radial lead components onto clip carrier on an endless conveyor, transfer of the components to an insertion head, and insertion of the components into the holes of a printed circuit board. Multiple loading heads along the clip carrier path are used to supply individual components in a preferred sequence to the clip carriers and the clip carrier are unloading using a rotary transfer assembly before being passed to an insert head assembly that assembles the component into a printed circuit board (col. 3, line 50 to col. 4, line 24; Fig. 2).
/TEMESGEN M. MARU/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655