DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because it claims a method of using without reciting any active, positive steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claims 9-10 claim a method of using without reciting any active, positive steps.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. The claimed “Shore hardness” is indefinite because the method for determining the property is not claimed. Furthermore, the instant specification does not disclose a complete testing method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (CN 111548612A) in view of Huang et al. (CN 111732819).
Regarding claims 1 and 3-7: Deng et al. teach a polyester resin composition comprising 49 parts of a PCT resin, 30 parts of glass fiber, 3 parts of KH-R163, which is a polyester-ether elastomer comprising a polyester hard segment and a polyether soft segment, has a shore hardness of 63 D, a melting point of 212°C, and an intrinsic viscosity of 0.75 dL/g, and the additives 3 parts MBS, 0.5 parts of a dispersing agent, 0.3 parts of a nucleating agent, and 0.5 parts of an antioxidant (4.3 parts additives in total).
Deng et al. fail to teach a white pigment.
However, Huang et al. teach adding 25 parts of the white pigment titanium dioxide to an analogous composition [0058; Example; Tables].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed composition to add 25 parts of titanium dioxide as taught by Huang et al. to the composition of Deng et al. to produce a white composition.
Regarding claim 2: Deng et al. teach 20-65 parts by weight of PCT resin and 20 to 60 parts by weight of glass fiber [0021-0023].
The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that choosing the overlapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 8: Deng et al. teach a preparation method of mixing the components, conducting melt extrusion and granulation to obtain the polyester resin composition [0056; Examples].
Relevant Art
Written Opinion of the International Searching Authority for PCT/CN2022/117708 provides evidence that KH-R163 is a polyester-ether elastomer comprising a polyester hard segment and a polyether soft segment, has a shore hardness of 63 D, a melting point of 212°C, and an intrinsic viscosity of 0.75 dL/g (page 4).
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763