Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: triggering module and elastic module in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “approximate plane” in claims 2-3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “approximate plane” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Antonio”, US Publication 20170290546.
Regarding claim 1, Antonio discloses an installation unit of analyte detection device [e.g., fig.26, 27], which comprises:
a housing [1521] provided with an auxiliary-needle limit slot [1528];
a parallel slider module [e.g., 1570, 1572] arranged in the housing, which is slidable relative to the housing, a far end face of the parallel slider module is provided with at least one slider-buckle [fig. 27, 1540; inwardly facing hooks] [0115+];
an analyte detection device [100] arranged at a front end of the parallel slider module, wherein the analyte detection device comprises a shell, a transmitter, a sensor and an internal circuit [e.g., transmitter] arranged in the shell and electrically coupled with the sensor [0121];
an auxiliary-needle module, comprising an auxiliary-needle slide block [fig.28, 1540], an auxiliary-needle fixed block [fig.28, 1590] and an auxiliary-needle [fig. 27, 410], wherein the auxiliary-needle slide block is clamped with the auxiliary-needle fixed block, and is located in the auxiliary-needle limit slot, the auxiliary-needle fixed block and the auxiliary-needle are fixedly connected [e.g., fig. 326, 27];
a triggering module [1510], wherein when the triggering module moves towards the far end relative to the housing, an installation action is implemented; and
an elastic module [e.g., 1530, 1550] used to provide an elastic force required to implement the installation action;
wherein when the installation action is implemented, the parallel slider module and the auxiliary-needle module move to a near end relative to the housing [fig.27], and when the slider-buckle is detached from the auxiliary-needle limit slot, a connection between the auxiliary-needle slide block and the slider-buckle is released, and the auxiliary-needle slide block returns back to an initial position [fig.28, 29; 0116].
Regarding claim 2, Antonio discloses wherein the connection [inwardly facing hooks interface] of the slider-buckle and the auxiliary-needle slide block is at a plane or an approximate plane [e.g., fig.26, 27; 0115+].
Regarding claim 3, Antonio discloses wherein the plane or the approximate plane is at a fixed angle with a horizontal plane and converges at the far end [fig.26, interfaces at far end before compression].
Regarding claim 4, Antonio discloses wherein the slider-buckle comprises a flexible material [the slider-buckle or inwardly facing hooks is flexible in order to allow auxiliary needle slide block tab to come out from slider-buckle as seen in fig.28 in contrast with fig.27] or an elastic material.
Regarding claim 5, Antonio discloses wherein when the slider-buckle is located in the auxiliary-needle limit slot, an inner wall of the auxiliary-needle limit slot prevents the slider-buckle from bending [when inside limit slot 1528 as seen in fig.27, the cylindrical wall of 1528 prevents the inwardly facing hooks or slider-buckle from bending so the auxiliary needle slide block tab don’t come out as seen in fig.28].
Regarding claim 6, Antonio discloses wherein the auxiliary-needle comprises a semi-enclosed needle body [0032].
Regarding claim 7, Antonio discloses wherein the sensor [e.g., filament] is located in the semi-enclosed needle body [0032].
Regarding claim 8, Antonio discloses wherein when the slider-buckle detaches from the auxiliary-needle limit slot, the semi-enclosed needle body pierces subcutaneously [0116].
Regarding claim 10, Antonio discloses wherein a diameter of the auxiliary-needle fixed block is smaller than a diameter of the auxiliary-needle slide block [0115; 1590 inside 1540].
Regarding claim 11, Antonio discloses wherein a number of the at least one slider-buckle is two [e.g., fig.26].
Regarding claim 12, Antonio discloses wherein the slider-buckles are symmetrically distributed on the parallel slider module [e.g., fig. 26].
Regarding claim 13, Antonio discloses wherein a front end of the analyte detection device also comprises an adhesive tape for fixing the analyte detection device on a skin surface [0032+].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antonio as applied to claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 9, Antonio did not disclose explicitly a fully-enclosed needle body. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to include a fully-enclosed needle between a fixed block and a semi-enclosed needle body to improve sensor protection and insertion profile.
Conclusion
/TSE W CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791