Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: triggering module and elastic module in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Antonio”, US Publication 20170290546, in view of “Covestro”, “Snap-Fit Joints for Plastic Design Guide”.
Regarding claim 1, Antonio discloses an installation unit of analyte detection device [e.g., fig.26, 27], which comprises:
a housing [1521] provided with an auxiliary-needle limit slot [1528];
a parallel slider module [e.g., 1570, 1572] arranged in the housing, which is slidable relative to the housing, a far end face of the parallel slider module is provided with at least one slider-buckle [fig. 27, 1540; inwardly facing hooks] [0115+];
an analyte detection device [100] arranged at a front end of the parallel slider module, wherein the analyte detection device comprises a shell, a transmitter, a sensor and an internal circuit [e.g., transmitter] arranged in the shell and electrically coupled with the sensor [0121];
an auxiliary-needle module, comprising an auxiliary-needle slide block [fig.28, 1540], an auxiliary-needle fixed block [fig.28, 1590] and an auxiliary-needle [fig. 27, 410], wherein the auxiliary-needle slide block is clamped with the auxiliary-needle fixed block, and is located in the auxiliary-needle limit slot, the auxiliary-needle fixed block and the auxiliary-needle are fixedly connected [e.g., fig. 326, 27];
a triggering module [1510], wherein when the triggering module moves towards the far end relative to the housing, an installation action is implemented; and
an elastic module [e.g., 1530, 1550] used to provide an elastic force required to implement the installation action;
wherein when the installation action is implemented, the parallel slider module and the auxiliary-needle module move to a near end relative to the housing [fig.27], and when the slider-buckle is detached from the auxiliary-needle limit slot, a connection between the auxiliary-needle slide block and the slider-buckle is released, and the auxiliary-needle slide block returns back to an initial position [fig.28, 29; 0116].
Antonio did not disclose explicitly T-shaped structures to detachably dispose the analyte detection device at the parallel slide module.
Covestro teaches a design guide for snap-fit joints that is applicable to attaching/detaching [pg. 3: separable] different components of units such as that of Antonio’s, including at least two T-shaped structures, and each of the T-shaped structures [e.g., pg.4, upper right figure] comprises a horizontal part [e.g., bottom] and a vertical part [e.g., protruding].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the snap-fit design of Covestro into the parallel slider module of Antonio’s installation unit so that it comprises at least two T-shaped structures that comprises a horizontal part and a vertical part [horizontal part can be a ring to conform with the shape of analyte detection device, with the vertical protrusion connected to the parallel slider via friction or integration], wherein the analyte detection device is detachably disposed at the parallel slide module by at least two T-shaped structures [Covestro: pg.4, upper right figure; protruding inward “hooks” would hold the analyte detection device in place just like the rod being held in the figure].
Regarding claim 2, Antonio discloses wherein the connection [inwardly facing hooks interface] of the slider-buckle and the auxiliary-needle slide block is at a plane or an approximate plane [e.g., fig.26, 27; 0115+].
Regarding claim 3, Antonio discloses wherein the plane or the approximate plane is at a fixed angle with a horizontal plane and converges at the far end [fig.26, interfaces at far end before compression].
Regarding claim 4, Antonio discloses wherein the slider-buckle comprises a flexible material [the slider-buckle or inwardly facing hooks is flexible in order to allow auxiliary needle slide block tab to come out from slider-buckle as seen in fig.28 in contrast with fig.27] or an elastic material.
Regarding claim 5, Antonio discloses wherein when the slider-buckle is located in the auxiliary-needle limit slot, an inner wall of the auxiliary-needle limit slot prevents the slider-buckle from bending [when inside limit slot 1528 as seen in fig.27, the cylindrical wall of 1528 prevents the inwardly facing hooks or slider-buckle from bending so the auxiliary needle slide block tab don’t come out as seen in fig.28].
Regarding claim 6, Antonio discloses wherein the auxiliary-needle comprises a semi-enclosed needle body [0032].
Regarding claim 7, Antonio discloses wherein the sensor [e.g., filament] is located in the semi-enclosed needle body [0032].
Regarding claim 8, Antonio discloses wherein when the slider-buckle detaches from the auxiliary-needle limit slot, the semi-enclosed needle body pierces subcutaneously [0116].
Regarding claim 9, Antonio did not disclose explicitly a fully-enclosed needle body. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to include a fully-enclosed needle between a fixed block and a semi-enclosed needle body to improve sensor protection and insertion profile.
Regarding claim 10, Antonio discloses wherein a diameter of the auxiliary-needle fixed block is smaller than a diameter of the auxiliary-needle slide block [0115; 1590 inside 1540].
Regarding claim 11, Antonio discloses wherein a number of the at least one slider-buckle is two [e.g., fig.26].
Regarding claim 12, Antonio discloses wherein the slider-buckles are symmetrically distributed on the parallel slider module [e.g., fig. 26].
Regarding claim 13, Antonio discloses wherein a front end of the analyte detection device also comprises an adhesive tape for fixing the analyte detection device on a skin surface [0032+].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted 5/4/26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, Covestro as discussed above teaches the T-shaped structure that is broadly claimed without any particular orientation that enables the analyte detection device to be detachably disposed.
Conclusion
/TSE CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791