Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tajima (US 20230144809 A1), in view of Barshan (US 20210103829 A1), and further in view of and further in view of Lee (US 11200467 B2).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Tajima discloses a circuitry that calculates a ([0069] The SWD calculation unit 261 determines presence or absence of an invalid label. If an invalid label is present, the SWD calculation unit 261 excludes the invalid label from the plurality of labels (S601). The remaining labels are valid labels. For example, at least one valid label (or invalid label) may be manually selected via the input UI provided by the user input unit 270. Here, the “invalid label” is a label for which the number of target data elements (data elements in the target data) is less than a predetermined value L (L is a natural number).); and
generates a trained model by a few-label learning process of training the model by using data in which the ("[0038] For each of the one or more second periods, the variation point specifying unit 262 determines whether the calculated SWD is greater than or equal to a first threshold, and specifies a time according to the second period as a variation point when a result of the determination is true. The candidate determination unit 263 determines one or more training data candidates respectively corresponding to one or more periods in the entire period from a part or all of the entire data in the data store 131 based on one or more variation points. The result output unit 264 outputs the determined one or more training data candidates or meta-information about them for relearning of the learning model.
[0059] The generation of the pseudo label enables utilization of partial data, such as calculation of an SWD for each label and a determination of a training data candidate for each label even if the label is not associated with the data element." (the examiner interprets a few-label learning as disclosed by the instant application to be the same as a pseudo-label as disclosed by prior art Tajima since Pseudo-labeling is a semi-supervised machine learning technique that boosts model performance by using a model trained on a small labeled dataset to generate "pseudo-labels" (predicted labels) for a larger set of unlabeled data, then retraining the model on both the original labeled and the new pseudo-labeled data)). Tajima implicitly discloses a degree of influence as an SWD (sliced Wasserstein distance). The prior art obtains the point of change based on the SWD as a base point, and selects training data candidates from data after said point of change. The training data candidates are data after the point of change.
However, in a similar field of endeavor of applying an influence function to training data points, Barshan explicitly teaches, in better detail, calculates a degree of influence of data collected by a sensing device on model training by machine learning ([0064] In order to identify the influential training data points, an influence function 410 is provided the database of labeled training data points 210, the trained MLA 230, the input 310, and/or the prediction 320 corresponding to the input 310. The influence function 410 may determine an indicator of influence, i.e. an influence score, for each of the training data points in the database of labeled training data points 210. The influence score may be a numerical indicator of how much influence the training data point has with respect to the prediction 320.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Barshan’s teaching of influence data scores and functions, with Tajima’s disclosure of pseudo labeling, in order to provide training data points that are more related to a prediction, and reduce the likelihood that outlier training data points will be provided to the user (Barshan [0008]). Barshan and Tajima do not explicitly disclose via a transfer learning to update an original model.
In a similar field of endeavor of object recognition, Lee teaches via a transfer learning to update an original model (col 22, lines 49-58: The transfer learning may be one of the learning techniques in deep learning and be used to generate and learn a new model by using a previously learned model and also used to change a domain to which the learned model is applied. Information on the previously learned model (e.g., a model parameter) may be used as knowledge or information about a new model. The learning or relearning of a model that is newly generated from the previously trained model may be referred to as fine-tuning.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the known system of influence scores using pseudo labeling, as taught by Barshan and Tajima, with the known methods of transfer learning, as taught by Lee, in order to yield the predictable results of accelerating development and boosting accuracy by leveraging pre-trained models, requiring less data and computation.
Regarding claim 2, Tajima discloses circuitry performs the few-label learning process using data having the degree of influence greater than a predetermined threshold ("[0038] For each of the one or more second periods, the variation point specifying unit 262 determines whether the calculated SWD is greater than or equal to a first threshold, and specifies a time according to the second period as a variation point when a result of the determination is true. The candidate determination unit 263 determines one or more training data candidates respectively corresponding to one or more periods in the entire period from a part or all of the entire data in the data store 131 based on one or more variation points. The result output unit 264 outputs the determined one or more training data candidates or meta-information about them for relearning of the learning model.
[0098] The meta-information list 112 is a list of meta-information about training data candidates. For example, the meta-information list 112 represents, for each training data candidate, an ID of a candidate, a start time of a period corresponding to the candidate, an end time of the period, an SWD of the candidate, and an exclusion period during the period."). Tajima implicitly discloses a degree of influence as an SWD (sliced Wasserstein distance). The prior art obtains the point of change based on the SWD as a base point, and selects training data candidates from data after said point of change. The training data candidates are data after the point of change.
However, in a similar field of endeavor of applying an influence function to training data points, Barshan explicitly teaches, in better detail, a degree of influence ([0064] In order to identify the influential training data points, an influence function 410 is provided the database of labeled training data points 210, the trained MLA 230, the input 310, and/or the prediction 320 corresponding to the input 310. The influence function 410 may determine an indicator of influence, i.e. an influence score, for each of the training data points in the database of labeled training data points 210. The influence score may be a numerical indicator of how much influence the training data point has with respect to the prediction 320.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Barshan’s teaching of influence data scores and functions, with Tajima’s disclosure of pseudo labeling, order to provide training data points that are more related to a prediction, and reduce the likelihood that outlier training data points will be provided to the user (Barshan [0008]).
Regarding claim 3, Tajima does not disclose but Barshan teaches the circuitry calculates the degree of influence based on a loss function ([0064] The influence score for a training data point may be determined based on the gradient of loss corresponding to the respective training data point.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Barshan’s teaching of influence data scores and functions, with Tajima’s disclosure of pseudo labeling, order to provide training data points that are more related to a prediction, and reduce the likelihood that outlier training data points will be provided to the user (Barshan [0008]).
Regarding claim 4, Tajima does not disclose but Barshan teaches the circuitry calculates the degree of influence by influence functions ([0064] In order to identify the influential training data points, an influence function 410 is provided the database of labeled training data points 210, the trained MLA 230, the input 310, and/or the prediction 320 corresponding to the input 310. The influence function 410 may determine an indicator of influence, i.e. an influence score, for each of the training data points in the database of labeled training data points 210.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Barshan’s teaching of influence data scores and functions, with Tajima’s disclosure of pseudo labeling, order to provide training data points that are more related to a prediction, and reduce the likelihood that outlier training data points will be provided to the user (Barshan [0008]).
Regarding claim 5, Tajima discloses a predicts a label of unlabeled data in which no label is assigned ("[0053] The SWD calculation unit 261 specifies target data for which the SWD is not calculated (S301). In a case where a data element with which a label is not associated is present in the target data, the pseudo label generation unit 267 sets a result of clustering the base data as a pseudo label, generates a pseudo label to be given to the data element by causing an identification model such as a k-nearest neighbor algorithm to learn a relationship between the pseudo label and the base data (S302), and causes the generated label to be included in the data element in the data store 131.
[0057] An example of a case where a data element including an input variable has no label is a case where the learning model is a learning model without teacher data. In such a case, generation and assignment of a pseudo label are effective. For each label, inference surveillance may be performed, or a determination may be made whether a set of data elements including labels is used as a training data candidate."), wherein
performs the few-label learning process using a predicted label predicted, with unlabeled data in which the degree of influence satisfies the condition as target data, and the target data ([0053] The SWD calculation unit 261 calculates the SWD between the base data and the target data selected in S302 (S303), and stores the calculated target data in the data store 131 as at least a part of the meta-information about the target data.
Claim 9. The model operation support system according to claim 4, wherein the processor further generates a pseudo label for a target data element when the target data element has no label.). Tajima implicitly discloses a degree of influence as an SWD (sliced Wasserstein distance). The prior art obtains the point of change based on the SWD as a base point, and selects training data candidates from data after said point of change. The training data candidates are data after the point of change.
However, in a similar field of endeavor of applying an influence function to training data points, Barshan explicitly teaches, in better detail, a degree of influence ([0064] In order to identify the influential training data points, an influence function 410 is provided the database of labeled training data points 210, the trained MLA 230, the input 310, and/or the prediction 320 corresponding to the input 310. The influence function 410 may determine an indicator of influence, i.e. an influence score, for each of the training data points in the database of labeled training data points 210. The influence score may be a numerical indicator of how much influence the training data point has with respect to the prediction 320.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Barshan’s teaching of influence data scores and functions, with Tajima’s disclosure of pseudo labeling, order to provide training data points that are more related to a prediction, and reduce the likelihood that outlier training data points will be provided to the user (Barshan [0008]).
Regarding claim 6, Tajima discloses the circuitry predicts the predicted label of the target data using a classifier trained with a dataset of labeled data in which a label is assigned ([0053] The SWD calculation unit 261 specifies target data for which the SWD is not calculated (S301). In a case where a data element with which a label is not associated is present in the target data, the pseudo label generation unit 267 sets a result of clustering the base data as a pseudo label, generates a pseudo label to be given to the data element by causing an identification model such as a k-nearest neighbor algorithm to learn a relationship between the pseudo label and the base data (S302), and causes the generated label to be included in the data element in the data store 131.), and
generates the trained model using a dataset to which the target data with the predicted label assigned is added ([0058] The generation of the pseudo label may be performed as follows, for example. That is, the pseudo label generation unit 267 clusters a plurality of data elements in the base data used to create the learning model into a plurality of data sets, and assigns a class to each of the data sets. The pseudo label generation unit 267 creates a model (for example, a neural network) in which a class assigned to each of the data sets is a pseudo label, and causes a pseudo label generation model as this model to learn through self-teaching.).
Regarding claim 7, Tajima discloses deletes data in which the degree of influence does not satisfy the condition ([0069] The SWD calculation unit 261 determines presence or absence of an invalid label. If an invalid label is present, the SWD calculation unit 261 excludes the invalid label from the plurality of labels (S601). The remaining labels are valid labels. For example, at least one valid label (or invalid label) may be manually selected via the input UI provided by the user input unit 270. Here, the “invalid label” is a label for which the number of target data elements (data elements in the target data) is less than a predetermined value L (L is a natural number).),
and stores data in which the degree of influence satisfies the condition ([0048] The model operation support system 100 includes an interface device 251, a storage device 252, and a processor 253 connected to them. Through the interface device 251, data is received from the collection device 210, and a UI is provided to the user terminal 230. The storage device 252 is a base of the data store 131. Data stored in the data store 131 is stored in the storage device 252.). Tajima implicitly discloses a degree of influence as an SWD (sliced Wasserstein distance). The prior art obtains the point of change based on the SWD as a base point, and selects training data candidates from data after said point of change. The training data candidates are data after the point of change.
However, in a similar field of endeavor of applying an influence function to training data points, Barshan explicitly teaches, in better detail, a data management unit that deletes data in which the degree of influence does not satisfy the condition ([0063]For example the user may wish to identify training data points causing erroneous predictions and remove those labeled training data points from the database of labeled training data points 210. Identifying the influential training data points may provide a human-understandable explanation as to how the trained MLA 230 made the prediction 320. As described above, humans are more likely to rely on the prediction 320 if they can understand how the prediction 320 was made.
[0064] In order to identify the influential training data points, an influence function 410 is provided the database of labeled training data points 210, the trained MLA 230, the input 310, and/or the prediction 320 corresponding to the input 310. The influence function 410 may determine an indicator of influence, i.e. an influence score, for each of the training data points in the database of labeled training data points 210. The influence score may be a numerical indicator of how much influence the training data point has with respect to the prediction 320.
[0079] If at step 540 a determination is made that one or more of the training data points are causing errors, the method 500 may continue at step 545 where the training data points causing errors are removed from the set of training data. The training data points may be deleted from the database of labeled training data points 210, or an indication may be stored that these training data points should not be used for training the MLA.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Barshan’s teaching of removing influence data scores and functions that do not satisfy a condition, with Tajima’s disclosure of pseudo labeling, order to provide training data points that are more related to a prediction, and reduce the likelihood that outlier training data points will be provided to the user (Barshan [0008]). The modification would also be motivated to reduce erroneous predictions (Barshan [0063]).
Regarding claim 8, Tajima discloses the circuitry calculates the degree of influence of image data collected by an image sensor ([0047] The target device 220 is a device as an object of the learning model. The collection device 210 collects data about the target device 220 and transmits the collected data to the model operation support system 100. For example, in a case where the learning model is a model for detecting a value indicated by an analog meter, the target device 220 may be an analog meter, the collection device 210 may be a camera that images the analog meter or a device that collects a captured image from the camera, and the collected data may be captured image data of the analog meter.), and
performs the few-label learning process using image data in which the degree of influence satisfies the condition ("[0038] For each of the one or more second periods, the variation point specifying unit 262 determines whether the calculated SWD is greater than or equal to a first threshold, and specifies a time according to the second period as a variation point when a result of the determination is true. The candidate determination unit 263 determines one or more training data candidates respectively corresponding to one or more periods in the entire period from a part or all of the entire data in the data store 131 based on one or more variation points. The result output unit 264 outputs the determined one or more training data candidates or meta-information about them for relearning of the learning model.
[0059] The generation of the pseudo label enables utilization of partial data, such as calculation of an SWD for each label and a determination of a training data candidate for each label even if the label is not associated with the data element."). Tajima implicitly discloses a degree of influence as an SWD (sliced Wasserstein distance). The prior art obtains the point of change based on the SWD as a base point, and selects training data candidates from data after said point of change. The training data candidates are data after the point of change.
However, in a similar field of endeavor of applying an influence function to training data points, Barshan explicitly teaches, in better detail, calculates the degree of influence of image data collected by an image sensor ([0064] In order to identify the influential training data points, an influence function 410 is provided the database of labeled training data points 210, the trained MLA 230, the input 310, and/or the prediction 320 corresponding to the input 310. The influence function 410 may determine an indicator of influence, i.e. an influence score, for each of the training data points in the database of labeled training data points 210.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Barshan’s teaching of influence data scores and functions, with Tajima’s disclosure of pseudo labeling, order to provide training data points that are more related to a prediction, and reduce the likelihood that outlier training data points will be provided to the user (Barshan [0008]).
Regarding claim 9, Tajima discloses the circuitry performs the few-label learning process using corrected image data obtained by correcting the image data in which the degree of influence satisfies the condition ([0076] In a case where the detection is made that the current time is the relearning timing of the learning model, this processing is performed. For example, the model surveillance unit 268 may surveil whether the degree of change in the tendency of inference including the input to the inference model and the output from the inference model has reached a certain degree or more. The relearning timing may be timing at which it is detected that the degree of change is greater than or equal to the certain degree. This makes it possible to automatically determine an appropriate training data candidate and cause the learning model to relearn when the degree of change in the tendency of inference reaches the certain degree or more.). Tajima implicitly discloses a degree of influence as an SWD (sliced Wasserstein distance). The prior art obtains the point of change based on the SWD as a base point, and selects training data candidates from data after said point of change. The training data candidates are data after the point of change.
However, in a similar field of endeavor of applying an influence function to training data points, Barshan explicitly teaches, in better detail, the circuitry performs the few-label learning process using corrected image data obtained by correcting the image data in which the degree of influence satisfies the condition (["[0066] Influence function formulation can be viewed as an inner product between the decrease loss vector for a given test sample and the vector of parameter change caused by upweighting a training sample. For low probability training samples (e.g., outliers) the magnitude of loss gradient and consequently the vector of parameter change are often large. This large-sized magnitude can dominate the effect of directional similarity in the inner product and leads to a significantly larger influence score for low probability training samples compared to more typical ones.
[0067] A normalizing function 430 may be used to determine samples that change the model parameters in the direction of reinforcing the generated prediction the most. To accomplish this, influence scores may be modified to reflect the directional alignment between the change in model parameters and improved loss for the generated prediction.
[0080] After removing the training data points causing errors at step 545, the MLA may be re-trained at step 550. The MLA may be retrained without using the training data points that were removed at step 545. Instead of retraining the MLA, the MLA may be modified so that the removed training data points no longer have an influence on the MLA. In other words, rather than retraining the entire MLA, the MLA may be modified so that it acts as if it were retrained without the removed training data points. ").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Barshan’s teaching of influence data scores and functions, with Tajima’s disclosure of pseudo labeling, order to provide training data points that are more related to a prediction, and reduce the likelihood that outlier training data points will be provided to the user (Barshan [0008]).
Regarding claim 10, Tajima discloses that transmits the trained model generated to an external device ("[0042] In addition, as described later, the result output unit 264 outputs one or more determined training data candidates for relearning of the learning model, and performs model deployment that is to change an inference model by replacing the learning model with the relearned learning model in response to a manual instruction or without a manual instruction. As described above, in the present embodiment, the model deployment of the relearned learning model is performed using one or more training data candidates instead of or in addition to one or more training data candidates or the meta-information about them. Therefore, convenience is high.
[0047] The target device 220 is a device as an object of the learning model. The collection device 210 collects data about the target device 220 and transmits the collected data to the model operation support system 100. For example, in a case where the learning model is a model for detecting a value indicated by an analog meter, the target device 220 may be an analog meter, the collection device 210 may be a camera that images the analog meter or a device that collects a captured image from the camera, and the collected data may be captured image data of the analog meter.
[0048] Through the interface device 251, data is received from the collection device 210, and a UI is provided to the user terminal 230. The storage device 252 is a base of the data store 131.
[0053] The SWD calculation unit 261 specifies target data for which the SWD is not calculated (S301). In a case where a data element with which a label is not associated is present in the target data, the pseudo label generation unit 267 sets a result of clustering the base data as a pseudo label, generates a pseudo label to be given to the data element by causing an identification model such as a k-nearest neighbor algorithm to learn a relationship between the pseudo label and the base data (S302), and causes the generated label to be included in the data element in the data store 131. ").
Regarding claim 11, Tajima discloses the circuitry calculates the degree of influence of data collected by a sensing device that is the external device using the trained model ([0045] The model operation support system 100 communicates with a user terminal 230 and one or a plurality of collection devices 210 (for example, two collection devices 210A and 210B) via a network 200 (for example, the Internet). The collection device 210 collects data from one or more target devices 220. For example, the collection device 210A collects data from one target device 220A, and the collection device 210B collects data from two target devices 220B1 and 220B2. For example, the model operation support system 100 may be an example of a core system, and the collection device 210 may be an example of an edge system.
[0069] The SWD calculation unit 261 determines presence or absence of an invalid label. If an invalid label is present, the SWD calculation unit 261 excludes the invalid label from the plurality of labels (S601). The remaining labels are valid labels. For example, at least one valid label (or invalid label) may be manually selected via the input UI provided by the user input unit 270. Here, the “invalid label” is a label for which the number of target data elements (data elements in the target data) is less than a predetermined value L (L is a natural number).), and
updates the trained model using data in which the degree of influence calculated satisfies the condition ([0076] The relearning timing may be timing at which it is detected that the degree of change is greater than or equal to the certain degree. This makes it possible to automatically determine an appropriate training data candidate and cause the learning model to relearn when the degree of change in the tendency of inference reaches the certain degree or more.
[0093] On the other hand, if the result of the determination in S707 is true (YES in S707), for example, in a case where the evaluation of the relearned learning model is higher than or equal to the second evaluation, the result output unit 264 performs model deployment that is to change the inference model by replacing the learning model with the relearned learning model without presenting the operation support UI 110 (S709).). Tajima implicitly discloses a degree of influence as an SWD (sliced Wasserstein distance). The prior art obtains the point of change based on the SWD as a base point, and selects training data candidates from data after said point of change. The training data candidates are data after the point of change.
However, in a similar field of endeavor of applying an influence function to training data points, Barshan explicitly teaches, in better detail, a degree of influence ([0064] In order to identify the influential training data points, an influence function 410 is provided the database of labeled training data points 210, the trained MLA 230, the input 310, and/or the prediction 320 corresponding to the input 310. The influence function 410 may determine an indicator of influence, i.e. an influence score, for each of the training data points in the database of labeled training data points 210. The influence score may be a numerical indicator of how much influence the training data point has with respect to the prediction 320.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Barshan’s teaching of influence data scores and functions, with Tajima’s disclosure of pseudo labeling, order to provide training data points that are more related to a prediction, and reduce the likelihood that outlier training data points will be provided to the user (Barshan [0008]).
Regarding claim 12, Tajima discloses the circuitry transmits the trained model after updating to the sensing device ([0042] In addition, as described later, the result output unit 264 outputs one or more determined training data candidates for relearning of the learning model, and performs model deployment that is to change an inference model by replacing the learning model with the relearned learning model in response to a manual instruction or without a manual instruction.).
Regarding claim 13, Tajima discloses the learning device is a server device that provides a model to the sensing device ([0045] The model operation support system 100 communicates with a user terminal 230 and one or a plurality of collection devices 210 (for example, two collection devices 210A and 210B) via a network 200 (for example, the Internet). The collection device 210 collects data from one or more target devices 220. For example, the collection device 210A collects data from one target device 220A, and the collection device 210B collects data from two target devices 220B1 and 220B2. For example, the model operation support system 100 may be an example of a core system, and the collection device 210 may be an example of an edge system.).
Regarding claims 15 and 20, Tajima discloses a circuitry that transmits data collected by sensing to a learning device that generates, in a case where a degree of influence of the data on model training by machine learning satisfies a condition, a trained model by a few-label learning process of training the model by using the data ("[0042] In addition, as described later, the result output unit 264 outputs one or more determined training data candidates for relearning of the learning model, and performs model deployment that is to change an inference model by replacing the learning model with the relearned learning model in response to a manual instruction or without a manual instruction. As described above, in the present embodiment, the model deployment of the relearned learning model is performed using one or more training data candidates instead of or in addition to one or more training data candidates or the meta-information about them. Therefore, convenience is high.
[0047] The target device 220 is a device as an object of the learning model. The collection device 210 collects data about the target device 220 and transmits the collected data to the model operation support system 100. For example, in a case where the learning model is a model for detecting a value indicated by an analog meter, the target device 220 may be an analog meter, the collection device 210 may be a camera that images the analog meter or a device that collects a captured image from the camera, and the collected data may be captured image data of the analog meter.
[0053] The SWD calculation unit 261 specifies target data for which the SWD is not calculated (S301). In a case where a data element with which a label is not associated is present in the target data, the pseudo label generation unit 267 sets a result of clustering the base data as a pseudo label, generates a pseudo label to be given to the data element by causing an identification model such as a k-nearest neighbor algorithm to learn a relationship between the pseudo label and the base data (S302), and causes the generated label to be included in the data element in the data store 131.
[0093] On the other hand, if the result of the determination in S707 is true (YES in S707), for example, in a case where the evaluation of the relearned learning model is higher than or equal to the second evaluation, the result output unit 264 performs model deployment that is to change the inference model by replacing the learning model with the relearned learning model without presenting the operation support UI 110 (S709).");
receives the trained model trained by the learning device from the learning device ("[0045] The model operation support system 100 communicates with a user terminal 230 and one or a plurality of collection devices 210 (for example, two collection devices 210A and 210B) via a network 200 (for example, the Internet). The collection device 210 collects data from one or more target devices 220. For example, the collection device 210A collects data from one target device 220A, and the collection device 210B collects data from two target devices 220B1 and 220B2. For example, the model operation support system 100 may be an example of a core system, and the collection device 210 may be an example of an edge system.
[0051] In addition, it is assumed that the model learning unit 265 creates a learning model and the model inference unit 266 uses the learning model as an inference model. For example, it is assumed that the data collection unit 269 receives data collected for the target device 220 from the collection device 210 and stores the data in the data store 131, and the model inference unit 266 inputs an input variable in the data to the inference model to obtain an output variable."); and
collects data by sensing using the trained model ([0050] The data collection unit 269 collects data from the collection device 210 and stores the collected data in the data store 131.). Tajima implicitly discloses a degree of influence as an SWD (sliced Wasserstein distance). The prior art obtains the point of change based on the SWD as a base point, and selects training data candidates from data after said point of change. The training data candidates are data after the point of change.
However, in a similar field of endeavor of applying an influence function to training data points, Barshan explicitly teaches, in better detail, a degree of influence ([0064] In order to identify the influential training data points, an influence function 410 is provided the database of labeled training data points 210, the trained MLA 230, the input 310, and/or the prediction 320 corresponding to the input 310. The influence function 410 may determine an indicator of influence, i.e. an influence score, for each of the training data points in the database of labeled training data points 210. The influence score may be a numerical indicator of how much influence the training data point has with respect to the prediction 320.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Barshan’s teaching of influence data scores and functions, with Tajima’s disclosure of pseudo labeling, order to provide training data points that are more related to a prediction, and reduce the likelihood that outlier training data points will be provided to the user (Barshan [0008]). Barshan and Tajima do not explicitly disclose via a transfer learning to update an original model.
In a similar field of endeavor of object recognition, Lee teaches via a transfer learning to update an original model (col 22, lines 49-58: The transfer learning may be one of the learning techniques in deep learning and be used to generate and learn a new model by using a previously learned model and also used to change a domain to which the learned model is applied. Information on the previously learned model (e.g., a model parameter) may be used as knowledge or information about a new model. The learning or relearning of a model that is newly generated from the previously trained model may be referred to as fine-tuning.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the known system of influence scores using pseudo labeling, as taught by Barshan and Tajima, with the known methods of transfer learning, as taught by Lee, in order to yield the predictable results of accelerating development and boosting accuracy by leveraging pre-trained models, requiring less data and computation.
Regarding claim 16, Tajima discloses the circuitry transmits the data collected, by sensing using the trained model to the learning device ([0047] The target device 220 is a device as an object of the learning model. The collection device 210 collects data about the target device 220 and transmits the collected data to the model operation support system 100. For example, in a case where the learning model is a model for detecting a value indicated by an analog meter, the target device 220 may be an analog meter, the collection device 210 may be a camera that images the analog meter or a device that collects a captured image from the camera, and the collected data may be captured image data of the analog meter.).
Regarding claim 17, Tajima discloses the circuitry receives, from the learning device, the trained model updated using the data collected, by the sensing device, by sensing using the trained model ("[0045] The model operation support system 100 communicates with a user terminal 230 and one or a plurality of collection devices 210 (for example, two collection devices 210A and 210B) via a network 200 (for example, the Internet). The collection device 210 collects data from one or more target devices 220. For example, the collection device 210A collects data from one target device 220A, and the collection device 210B collects data from two target devices 220B1 and 220B2. For example, the model operation support system 100 may be an example of a core system, and the collection device 210 may be an example of an edge system.
[0051] In addition, it is assumed that the model learning unit 265 creates a learning model and the model inference unit 266 uses the learning model as an inference model. For example, it is assumed that the data collection unit 269 receives data collected for the target device 220 from the collection device 210 and stores the data in the data store 131, and the model inference unit 266 inputs an input variable in the data to the inference model to obtain an output variable."), and
collects data by sensing using the trained model updated by the learning device ([0050] The data collection unit 269 collects data from the collection device 210 and stores the collected data in the data store 131.).
Regarding claim 18, Tajima discloses the circuitry collects image data detected by a sensor ([0047] The target device 220 is a device as an object of the learning model. The collection device 210 collects data about the target device 220 and transmits the collected data to the model operation support system 100. For example, in a case where the learning model is a model for detecting a value indicated by an analog meter, the target device 220 may be an analog meter, the collection device 210 may be a camera that images the analog meter or a device that collects a captured image from the camera, and the collected data may be captured image data of the analog meter.).
Regarding claim 19, Tajima discloses the circuitry transmits image data collected by sensing to the learning device ([0047] The target device 220 is a device as an object of the learning model. The collection device 210 collects data about the target device 220 and transmits the collected data to the model operation support system 100.)
receives, from the learning device, the trained model trained by the learning device using image data ([0051] FIG. 3 illustrates an example of a flow of processing from specification of target data to calculation of SWD. Note that the base data and the target data in the following description are acquired from the data store 131. In addition, it is assumed that the model learning unit 265 creates a learning model and the model inference unit 266 uses the learning model as an inference model. For example, it is assumed that the data collection unit 269 receives data collected for the target device 220 from the collection device 210 and stores the data in the data store 131, and the model inference unit 266 inputs an input variable in the data to the inference model to obtain an output variable.), and
collects image data by sensing using the trained model ([0047] The target device 220 is a device as an object of the learning model. The collection device 210 collects data about the target device 220 and transmits the collected data to the model operation support system 100. For example, in a case where the learning model is a model for detecting a value indicated by an analog meter, the target device 220 may be an analog meter, the collection device 210 may be a camera that images the analog meter or a device that collects a captured image from the camera, and the collected data may be captured image data of the analog meter.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lee (US 11200467 B2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20190377982 A1 to claim 17: [0008] One or more embodiments provide a processing method for generating learning data, which may include: a step of specifying requirement information for generating learning data, based on request information for making a request for learning; and a step of transmitting the requirement information to a device that generates the learning data.
Kuchnik "EFFICIENT AUGMENTATION VIA DATA SUBSAMPLING" to claim 1: "abstract: We propose a novel set of subsampling policies, based on model influence and loss, that can achieve a 90% reduction in augmentation set size while maintaining the accuracy gains of standard data augmentation.
Page 3, sec 4: Our proposed policies consist of two parts: (i) an augmentation score which maps each training point (xi , yi) to a value s ∈ R, and (ii) a policy by which to sample points based on these augmentation scores. In Section 4.1, we describe two metrics, loss and model influence, by which augmentation scores are generated."
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED A NASHER/Examiner, Art Unit 2675
/ANDREW M MOYER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2675