DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office action on the 18/692853 application filed on 3/18/24.
Claims 1-9 are pending and have been fully considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/21/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: frame part, driving part, cell culture part in claim 1; porous member in claim 3, and spacing member in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the limitations recite “the scaffold”, however, claim 1 from which it depends recites “a plurality of scaffolds”. It is unclear which of the plurality of scaffolds is “the” scaffold referred to in claim 5, or if applicant intended the limitation to apply to each or all of the claimed scaffolds.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (US 20150093819) as cited by applicant on the IDS filed 3/21/24 in view of HO (US 2018/0371394).
Regarding claim 1, frame part, driving part and cell culture part are is interpreted under 35 USC 112f (see statute above) to be: frame part – base plate + mounting plate [Spec 38], driving part – known driving motors [Spec 40] and cell culture part – housing and plurality of scaffolds [Spec 45] and functional equivalents thereof for each.
ZHANG discloses a bioreactor system 10, for suspension cells, comprising a cell culture chamber 15 (cell culture part) including remaining parts 5, 8 (frame part) on which a rotation motor 65 (driving part) is mounted; the cell culture chamber 15 (housing) having an interior 35 (inner space)in which cell culture media including suspension cells are disposed, wherein one side of the chamber 15 is axially coupled to the rotation motor (0028-40, Fig 1-2f).
ZHANG discloses the cell culture chamber, but does not explicitly disclose the plurality of scaffolds disposed in multiple stages and spaced predetermined intervals in the inner space.
However, HO discloses a bioreactor system comprising a culture vessel 1 (culture part) in a supporting vessel 7 which is connected to a coupling shaft to a motor 14 (driving part) on a platform 18 (frame part), in which the culture vessel 1 is a multi-tray culture vessel comprising at least two rectangular cell culture compartments (plurality of scaffolds) arranged in a stacked orientation with respect to each other (disposed in multiple stages and spaced predetermined intervals) (Fig 1, 0057-62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the culture chamber of ZHANG to include the multi-tray stacked culture compartments as taught by HO because it allow for forming separated compartments that remain connected to others via a manifold (0061) and allows for automated cell culture in a scaled up fashion using commonly used systems (0003).
Regarding claim 2, ZHANG discloses the culture chamber is rotated by the motor so that the medium is maintained in a suspension state between the two ends of the culture chamber (0030-36, 0039, Fig 2a-2f) and HO discloses the culture vessel is rotated to a position to allow a given amount of medium to sufficiently fill each tray such that the fluid is equilibrated among all trays (0061-62).
Regarding claim 3-4, porous member is interpreted under 35 USC 112f (see statute above) to be a water repellent membrane as recited in claim 4 and functional equivalents thereof.
ZHANG discloses the culture container has one or more ports serving as entrances for materials required for cell growth, such as CO2 (gas inlet), the port inherently having a predetermined area to allow the gas to be introduce to the inner space; and discloses the housing can include a wall (predetermined area of gas inlet formed to pass through housing) made with gas permeable materials (porous member covering a gas inlet), in which gas permeable membranes are known to be impermeable to liquid (water-repellent) (0022, 0029).
Regarding claim 5, HO discloses cell culture trays are plate shaped members having a predetermined area, that divide the inner space into a plurality of culture compartments (Fig 6, 0070), and the medium including cells is stored in the inner space to fill each of the plurality of the culture spaces (Fig 1, 0057-62).
Regarding claim 8, spacing member is interpreted under 35 USC 112f (see statute above) to be ring shaped members or bar shaped members [Spec 88] and functional equivalents thereof. HO discloses the plurality of trays (scaffolds) remains spaced at predetermined interval via a manifold post (spacing member) disposed between two trays (0061, Fig 6).
Regarding claim 9, ZHANG discloses the medium can further include magnetic particles (0030), which shows the bioreactor is capable of use with medium including magnetic particles that are peptide motif-coated.
Regarding the contents of the container, the examiner has given the limitation its appropriate weight. This limitation does not afford patentability to the apparatus or system because they are not defining any structural features of said apparatus but merely defining the contents used in the claimed apparatus during its use. It has been well established that it is fundamental that an apparatus claim defines the structure of the invention and not how the structure is used in a process, or what materials the structure houses in carrying out the process. It is noted the material/fluid handled by an apparatus is accorded no weight in apparatus claims, MPEP 2115.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (US 20150093819) as cited by applicant on the IDS filed 3/21/24 in view of HO (US 2018/0371394) and further in view of JOHNSON (US 2015/0056703).
Regarding claim 6-7, modified ZHANG does not disclose the scaffolds include plate shaped supports having a pair of nanofiber membranes attached that are motif coated with through holes.
However, JOHNSON discloses fiber scaffolds (nanofiber membrane, inherently includes plurality of through holes) coated with at least one compound to promote cellular attachment including proteins (coated with protein motif) (0024), the scaffolds can be various shapes such as a sheet (plate shaped) (Fig 2), that can be placed in a bioreactor (supporter) for cell culture, the fiber structure attached to the bioreactor (supporter) walls (support member) on one side using an adhesive (0025). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the scaffold of ZHANG and HO to include the added fiber scaffolds as taught by JOHNSON because it provides an improved substrate that allows for the desired growth of large numbers of usable adherent cells while allowing the cells to be harvested efficiently (0002-3, 0024, 0027-29).
The prior art does not explicitly disclose a pair of nanofiber surfaces attached to both surfaces of the support, however, The pair merely represents either a duplication of parts already known in the art or a rearrangement of parts without substantially affecting functionality or operation, and therefore is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references cited were cited in related applications.
/DANIELLE B HENKEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/William H. Beisner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799