DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/18/2024 and 05/27/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 9, 13, 18, 21, 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kadiri et al. (US 2021/0194714, filed in IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, Kadiri teaches a method for indicating a multicast broadcast service (MBS), performed by a terminal device, the method comprising:
acquiring downlink control information (DCI), and determining subgroup indication information according to the DCI ([0119] the UEs 115 may be subscribed to broadcast services and operations with base station 105-b and may receive downlink data from base station 105-b in multicast transmissions (e.g., broadcasted data) via a broadcast beam 310. ... the indication may include a G-RNTI′ configured to indicate whether the multicast data transmission includes a retransmission of data previously transmitted to a group of UEs 115; [0120] base station 105-b may configure multiple G-RNTI's for multiple UE subgroups 305. For example, the multiple G-RNTI's may be configured such that one G-RNTI′ is allocated for a subgroup 305 of UEs 115 monitoring for a retransmission of a multicast transmission (e.g., broadcast transmission). As shown, base station 105-b may configure a first G-RNTI′ for three (3) UEs 115 in a first subgroup 305-a, a second G-RNTI′ for two (2) UEs 115 in a second subgroup 305-b, and a third G-RNTI′ for four (4) UEs 115 in a third subgroup 305-c; [0122] a PDCCH with the allocated G-RNTI′ for a corresponding subgroup 305 may be sent when at least one UE 115 in the same subgroup 305 sends the NACK feedback message, where the subgroup 305 has a less number of UEs 115 than of no grouping; [0123] UE 115-f may monitor for the G-RNTI′ allocated to the first subgroup 305-a to identify and receive the retransmission; [0128] base station 105-c may determine multiple subgroups of UEs 115 for the set of UEs 115 based on coverage, CSI, downlink control channel repetitions (e.g., PDCCH repetitions), an SNR, a CQI, a beam direction, a transmit beam ID, or a combination thereof for UEs 115 in each subgroup of the multiple subgroups of UEs 115. In some cases, base station 105-c may indicate these subgroups to the set of UEs 115; [0132] UE 115-g may receive, from base station 105-c, a message in a downlink control channel (e.g., a PDCCH), the message indicating that a downlink shared channel (e.g., a PDSCH) transmission is a retransmission of the multicast transmission. ... UE 115-g may determine the message is allocated for a subgroup of UEs 115 for the set of UEs 11; [0133] the message may include a first G-RNTI (e.g., G-RNTI′) indicating the retransmission of the multicast transmission or a retransmission indicator bit in DCI. In some cases, base station 105-c may transmit the retransmission of the multicast transmission in the downlink shared channel transmission to at least one subgroup of UEs; [0139] UE 115-g may decode the downlink shared channel transmission based on the message being allocated to the subgroup of UEs and the message indicating the downlink shared transmission is the retransmission of the multicast transmission); and
determining a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the DCI that needs to be parsed according to at least one subgroup identifier (ID) corresponding to the terminal device and the subgroup indication information, wherein the PDSCH is configured to carry the MBS ([0131] base station 105-c may determine to retransmit the scheduled downlink data (e.g., in the retransmission) that was initially sent in the multicast transmission; [0132] UE 115-g may receive, from base station 105-c, a message in a downlink control channel (e.g., a PDCCH), the message indicating that a downlink shared channel (e.g., a PDSCH) transmission is a retransmission of the multicast transmission. For example, the message may indicate that the downlink scheduled data transmitted in the downlink shared channel transmission is a retransmission of the downlink scheduled data transmitted in the multicast transmission; [0134] UE 115-g may determine to decode or to refrain from decoding the downlink shared channel transmission based on the message including the first G-RNTI (e.g., G-RNTI′) indicating the retransmission of the multicast transmission or a retransmission indicator bit in DCI; [0139] UE 115-g may decode the downlink shared channel transmission based on the message being allocated to the subgroup of UEs and the message indicating the downlink shared transmission is the retransmission of the multicast transmission).
Regarding Claim 2, Kadiri teaches the terminal device has at least one group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI), wherein the at least one G-RNTI is configured to identify an MBS group to which the terminal device belongs ([0052] The indication in the downlink control channel may include a group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI); [0120] base station 105-b may configure multiple G-RNTI's for multiple UE subgroups 305. For example, the multiple G-RNTI's may be configured such that one G-RNTI′ is allocated for a subgroup 305 of UEs 115 monitoring for a retransmission of a multicast transmission (e.g., broadcast transmission). As shown, base station 105-b may configure a first G-RNTI′ for three (3) UEs 115 in a first subgroup 305-a, a second G-RNTI′ for two (2) UEs 115 in a second subgroup 305-b, and a third G-RNTI′ for four (4) UEs 115 in a third subgroup 305-c).
Regarding Claim 4, Kadiri teaches the DCI is carried by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and the DCI comprises the subgroup indication information ([0115] base station 105-a may use a retransmission indicator bit (e.g., L2 retransmission indicator bit) in DCI to indicate that a multicast data is a retransmission 220 (e.g., in a PDCCH DCI) ... base station 105-a may transmit a G-RNTI and the retransmission indicator bit in a PDCCH DCI).
Regarding Claim 6, Kadiri teaches determining the PDSCH scheduled by the DCI that needs to be parsed according to the at least one subgroup ID corresponding to the terminal device and the subgroup indication information comprises: receiving the DCI comprising the subgroup indication information, and determining a target subgroup ID according to the subgroup indication information comprised in the DCI ([0119] the UEs 115 may be subscribed to broadcast services and operations with base station 105-b and may receive downlink data from base station 105-b in multicast transmissions (e.g., broadcasted data) via a broadcast beam 310. ... the indication may include a G-RNTI′ configured to indicate whether the multicast data transmission includes a retransmission of data previously transmitted to a group of UEs 115; [0120] base station 105-b may configure multiple G-RNTI's for multiple UE subgroups 305. For example, the multiple G-RNTI's may be configured such that one G-RNTI′ is allocated for a subgroup 305 of UEs 115 monitoring for a retransmission of a multicast transmission (e.g., broadcast transmission). As shown, base station 105-b may configure a first G-RNTI′ for three (3) UEs 115 in a first subgroup 305-a, a second G-RNTI′ for two (2) UEs 115 in a second subgroup 305-b, and a third G-RNTI′ for four (4) UEs 115 in a third subgroup 305-c; [0122] a PDCCH with the allocated G-RNTI′ for a corresponding subgroup 305 may be sent when at least one UE 115 in the same subgroup 305 sends the NACK feedback message, where the subgroup 305 has a less number of UEs 115 than of no grouping; [0123] UE 115-f may monitor for the G-RNTI′ allocated to the first subgroup 305-a to identify and receive the retransmission; [0128] base station 105-c may determine multiple subgroups of UEs 115 for the set of UEs 115 based on coverage, CSI, downlink control channel repetitions (e.g., PDCCH repetitions), an SNR, a CQI, a beam direction, a transmit beam ID, or a combination thereof for UEs 115 in each subgroup of the multiple subgroups of UEs 115. In some cases, base station 105-c may indicate these subgroups to the set of UEs 115; [0132] UE 115-g may receive, from base station 105-c, a message in a downlink control channel (e.g., a PDCCH), the message indicating that a downlink shared channel (e.g., a PDSCH) transmission is a retransmission of the multicast transmission. ... UE 115-g may determine the message is allocated for a subgroup of UEs 115 for the set of UEs 11; [0133] the message may include a first G-RNTI (e.g., G-RNTI′) indicating the retransmission of the multicast transmission or a retransmission indicator bit in DCI. In some cases, base station 105-c may transmit the retransmission of the multicast transmission in the downlink shared channel transmission to at least one subgroup of UEs; [0139] UE 115-g may decode the downlink shared channel transmission based on the message being allocated to the subgroup of UEs and the message indicating the downlink shared transmission is the retransmission of the multicast transmission); and
in response to the terminal device belonging to a target subgroup corresponding to the target subgroup ID, determining to parse the PDSCH scheduled by the DCI according to scheduling information in the DCI ([0131] base station 105-c may determine to retransmit the scheduled downlink data (e.g., in the retransmission) that was initially sent in the multicast transmission; [0132] UE 115-g may receive, from base station 105-c, a message in a downlink control channel (e.g., a PDCCH), the message indicating that a downlink shared channel (e.g., a PDSCH) transmission is a retransmission of the multicast transmission. For example, the message may indicate that the downlink scheduled data transmitted in the downlink shared channel transmission is a retransmission of the downlink scheduled data transmitted in the multicast transmission; [0134] UE 115-g may determine to decode or to refrain from decoding the downlink shared channel transmission based on the message including the first G-RNTI (e.g., G-RNTI′) indicating the retransmission of the multicast transmission or a retransmission indicator bit in DCI; [0139] UE 115-g may decode the downlink shared channel transmission based on the message being allocated to the subgroup of UEs and the message indicating the downlink shared transmission is the retransmission of the multicast transmission).
Regarding Claim 9, Kadiri teaches a method for indicating a multicast broadcast service (MBS), performed by a network device, comprising: sending subgroup indication information to a terminal device via downlink control information (DCI), wherein the subgroup indication information is configured to indicate to the terminal device a subgroup corresponding to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the DCI ([0119] the UEs 115 may be subscribed to broadcast services and operations with base station 105-b and may receive downlink data from base station 105-b in multicast transmissions (e.g., broadcasted data) via a broadcast beam 310. ... the indication may include a G-RNTI′ configured to indicate whether the multicast data transmission includes a retransmission of data previously transmitted to a group of UEs 115; [0120] base station 105-b may configure multiple G-RNTI's for multiple UE subgroups 305. For example, the multiple G-RNTI's may be configured such that one G-RNTI′ is allocated for a subgroup 305 of UEs 115 monitoring for a retransmission of a multicast transmission (e.g., broadcast transmission). As shown, base station 105-b may configure a first G-RNTI′ for three (3) UEs 115 in a first subgroup 305-a, a second G-RNTI′ for two (2) UEs 115 in a second subgroup 305-b, and a third G-RNTI′ for four (4) UEs 115 in a third subgroup 305-c; [0122] a PDCCH with the allocated G-RNTI′ for a corresponding subgroup 305 may be sent when at least one UE 115 in the same subgroup 305 sends the NACK feedback message, where the subgroup 305 has a less number of UEs 115 than of no grouping; [0123] UE 115-f may monitor for the G-RNTI′ allocated to the first subgroup 305-a to identify and receive the retransmission; [0128] base station 105-c may determine multiple subgroups of UEs 115 for the set of UEs 115 based on coverage, CSI, downlink control channel repetitions (e.g., PDCCH repetitions), an SNR, a CQI, a beam direction, a transmit beam ID, or a combination thereof for UEs 115 in each subgroup of the multiple subgroups of UEs 115. In some cases, base station 105-c may indicate these subgroups to the set of UEs 115; [0132] UE 115-g may receive, from base station 105-c, a message in a downlink control channel (e.g., a PDCCH), the message indicating that a downlink shared channel (e.g., a PDSCH) transmission is a retransmission of the multicast transmission. ... UE 115-g may determine the message is allocated for a subgroup of UEs 115 for the set of UEs 11; [0133] the message may include a first G-RNTI (e.g., G-RNTI′) indicating the retransmission of the multicast transmission or a retransmission indicator bit in DCI. In some cases, base station 105-c may transmit the retransmission of the multicast transmission in the downlink shared channel transmission to at least one subgroup of UEs; [0139] UE 115-g may decode the downlink shared channel transmission based on the message being allocated to the subgroup of UEs and the message indicating the downlink shared transmission is the retransmission of the multicast transmission).
Regarding Claim 13, Kadiri teaches sending the subgroup indication information to the terminal device via the DCI comprises: sending the DCI comprising the subgroup indication information, and indicating a target subgroup ID to the terminal device according to the subgroup indication information comprised in the DCI ([0119] the UEs 115 may be subscribed to broadcast services and operations with base station 105-b and may receive downlink data from base station 105-b in multicast transmissions (e.g., broadcasted data) via a broadcast beam 310. ... the indication may include a G-RNTI′ configured to indicate whether the multicast data transmission includes a retransmission of data previously transmitted to a group of UEs 115; [0120] base station 105-b may configure multiple G-RNTI's for multiple UE subgroups 305. For example, the multiple G-RNTI's may be configured such that one G-RNTI′ is allocated for a subgroup 305 of UEs 115 monitoring for a retransmission of a multicast transmission (e.g., broadcast transmission). As shown, base station 105-b may configure a first G-RNTI′ for three (3) UEs 115 in a first subgroup 305-a, a second G-RNTI′ for two (2) UEs 115 in a second subgroup 305-b, and a third G-RNTI′ for four (4) UEs 115 in a third subgroup 305-c; [0122] a PDCCH with the allocated G-RNTI′ for a corresponding subgroup 305 may be sent when at least one UE 115 in the same subgroup 305 sends the NACK feedback message, where the subgroup 305 has a less number of UEs 115 than of no grouping; [0123] UE 115-f may monitor for the G-RNTI′ allocated to the first subgroup 305-a to identify and receive the retransmission; [0128] base station 105-c may determine multiple subgroups of UEs 115 for the set of UEs 115 based on coverage, CSI, downlink control channel repetitions (e.g., PDCCH repetitions), an SNR, a CQI, a beam direction, a transmit beam ID, or a combination thereof for UEs 115 in each subgroup of the multiple subgroups of UEs 115. In some cases, base station 105-c may indicate these subgroups to the set of UEs 115; [0132] UE 115-g may receive, from base station 105-c, a message in a downlink control channel (e.g., a PDCCH), the message indicating that a downlink shared channel (e.g., a PDSCH) transmission is a retransmission of the multicast transmission. ... UE 115-g may determine the message is allocated for a subgroup of UEs 115 for the set of UEs 11; [0133] the message may include a first G-RNTI (e.g., G-RNTI′) indicating the retransmission of the multicast transmission or a retransmission indicator bit in DCI. In some cases, base station 105-c may transmit the retransmission of the multicast transmission in the downlink shared channel transmission to at least one subgroup of UEs; [0139] UE 115-g may decode the downlink shared channel transmission based on the message being allocated to the subgroup of UEs and the message indicating the downlink shared transmission is the retransmission of the multicast transmission); and
sending a PDSCH corresponding to a target subgroup according to scheduling information carried in the DCI ([0131] base station 105-c may determine to retransmit the scheduled downlink data (e.g., in the retransmission) that was initially sent in the multicast transmission; [0132] UE 115-g may receive, from base station 105-c, a message in a downlink control channel (e.g., a PDCCH), the message indicating that a downlink shared channel (e.g., a PDSCH) transmission is a retransmission of the multicast transmission. For example, the message may indicate that the downlink scheduled data transmitted in the downlink shared channel transmission is a retransmission of the downlink scheduled data transmitted in the multicast transmission; [0134] UE 115-g may determine to decode or to refrain from decoding the downlink shared channel transmission based on the message including the first G-RNTI (e.g., G-RNTI′) indicating the retransmission of the multicast transmission or a retransmission indicator bit in DCI; [0139] UE 115-g may decode the downlink shared channel transmission based on the message being allocated to the subgroup of UEs and the message indicating the downlink shared transmission is the retransmission of the multicast transmission).
Regarding Claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 21, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7, 10-11, 14, 22 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiri et al. in view of Lei (US 2024/0137183).
Regarding Claim 3, Kadiri does not teach receiving a radio resource control (RRC) signaling sent by a network device, and acquiring the at least one subgroup ID corresponding to the terminal device according to the RRC signaling.
In an analogous art, Lei teaches receiving a radio resource control (RRC) signaling sent by a network device, and acquiring the at least one subgroup ID corresponding to the terminal device according to the RRC signaling ([0027] The group-common RNTI may be configured via RRC signaling; [0082] the BS may perform a sub-group based PTM retransmission to all the UEs in the identified sub-group. ... a sub-group common RNTI (e.g., sub-group RNTI (SG-RNTI)) may be configured via, for example, RRC signaling, to UEs in the same sub-group of UEs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Lei’s method with Kadiri’s method so that the grouping of the UEs can be achieved with high reliability and security by using the RRC-layer signaling.
Regarding Claim 7, Kadiri does not teach determining a scrambling sequence used for the PDSCH scheduled by the DCI according to subgroup indication information carried in the DCI; or determining a scrambling ID used for scrambling the PDSCH via an RRC signaling sent by a network device, and determining a scrambling sequence according to the scrambling ID.
In an analogous art, Lei teaches determining a scrambling sequence used for the PDSCH scheduled by the DCI according to subgroup indication information carried in the DCI; or determining a scrambling ID used for scrambling the PDSCH via an RRC signaling sent by a network device, and determining a scrambling sequence according to the scrambling ID ([0080] Each PDSCH may be scrambled with a unique G-RNTI, which, as described above, is broadcast or multicast (for example, in the group-common DCI) to a subset of UEs expecting the same downlink or uplink resource configurations; [0085] The group-common DCI includes different sub-fields that indicate the G-RNTI and scheduling information for the different PDSCHs; [0088] The base station 105-a may then transmit the KM PDSCHs 415 scheduled by the group-common DCI, in which each PDSCH is scrambled by the G-RNTI indicated in the DCI sub-field that includes the scheduling information for the PDSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Lei’s method with Kadiri’s method so that only targeted UEs with correct group IDs can receive and decode the PDSCH for MBS services.
Regarding Claim 10, Kadiri teaches wherein the at least one G- RNTI is configured to identify an MBS group to which the terminal device belongs ([0052] The indication in the downlink control channel may include a group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI); [0120] base station 105-b may configure multiple G-RNTI's for multiple UE subgroups 305. For example, the multiple G-RNTI's may be configured such that one G-RNTI′ is allocated for a subgroup 305 of UEs 115 monitoring for a retransmission of a multicast transmission (e.g., broadcast transmission). As shown, base station 105-b may configure a first G-RNTI′ for three (3) UEs 115 in a first subgroup 305-a, a second G-RNTI′ for two (2) UEs 115 in a second subgroup 305-b, and a third G-RNTI′ for four (4) UEs 115 in a third subgroup 305-c).
However, Kadiri does not teach configuring at least one group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) for the terminal device via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
In an analogous art, Lei teaches configuring at least one group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) for the terminal device via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0027] The group-common RNTI may be configured via RRC signaling; [0082] the BS may perform a sub-group based PTM retransmission to all the UEs in the identified sub-group. ... a sub-group common RNTI (e.g., sub-group RNTI (SG-RNTI)) may be configured via, for example, RRC signaling, to UEs in the same sub-group of UEs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Lei’s method with Kadiri’s method so that the grouping of the UEs can be achieved with high reliability and security by using the RRC-layer signaling.
Regarding Claim 11, Kadiri does not teach configuring at least one subgroup identifier (ID) for the terminal device via an RRC signaling.
In an analogous art, Lei teaches configuring at least one subgroup identifier (ID) for the terminal device via an RRC signaling ([0027] The group-common RNTI may be configured via RRC signaling; [0082] the BS may perform a sub-group based PTM retransmission to all the UEs in the identified sub-group. ... a sub-group common RNTI (e.g., sub-group RNTI (SG-RNTI)) may be configured via, for example, RRC signaling, to UEs in the same sub-group of UEs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Lei’s method with Kadiri’s method so that the grouping of the UEs can be achieved with high reliability and security by using the RRC-layer signaling.
Regarding Claim 14, Kadiri does not teach configuring a scrambling ID for the PDSCH corresponding to the subgroup; or configuring a scrambling ID used for the PDSCH corresponding to the subgroup for the terminal device via an RRC signaling, and generating a scrambling sequence according to the scrambling ID to scramble the PDSCH.
In an analogous art, Lei teaches configuring a scrambling ID for the PDSCH corresponding to the subgroup; or configuring a scrambling ID used for the PDSCH corresponding to the subgroup for the terminal device via an RRC signaling, and generating a scrambling sequence according to the scrambling ID to scramble the PDSCH ([0080] Each PDSCH may be scrambled with a unique G-RNTI, which, as described above, is broadcast or multicast (for example, in the group-common DCI) to a subset of UEs expecting the same downlink or uplink resource configurations; [0085] The group-common DCI includes different sub-fields that indicate the G-RNTI and scheduling information for the different PDSCHs; [0088] The base station 105-a may then transmit the KM PDSCHs 415 scheduled by the group-common DCI, in which each PDSCH is scrambled by the G-RNTI indicated in the DCI sub-field that includes the scheduling information for the PDSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Lei’s method with Kadiri’s method so that only targeted UEs with correct group IDs can receive and decode the PDSCH for MBS services.
Regarding Claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 7.
Claims 5, 12 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiri et al. in view of Liu et al. (US 2021/0250918, filed in IDS).
Regarding Claim 5, Kadiri does not teach the subgroup indication information is located in at least one of: a newly added information field in the DCI; a refarmed information field in the DCI; or a frozen bit comprised in coded bits of the DCI.
In an analogous art, Liu teaches the subgroup indication information is located in at least one of: a newly added information field in the DCI; a refarmed information field in the DCI; or a frozen bit comprised in coded bits of the DCI ([0077] the DCI format 1_0 can be scrambled (e.g., the CRC can be scrambled) by MB-RNTI and/or G-RNTI. In this example, a format similar to DCI format 1_0 with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI can be used, but some existing bits defined for DCI format for unicast communications can be modified to convey MB communication information. In one example, fields in the DCI format that are non-reserved can be reserved for different (or new) fields or parameters of MB communications).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Liu’s method with Kadiri’s method so that DCI generating component can generate DCI for MB communications based on the indicated MB DCI format(s), which may include the shortened DCI formats without feedback-related bits/fields to conserve signaling resources (Liu [0112], [0116]).
Regarding Claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Babaei (US 2025/0203623) teaches group notification for multicast broadcast services.
Kim (US 2022/0272662) teaches method of resource management for multicast and broadcast service.
/YU-WEN CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413