DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Application # 18692875 filed 03/18/2024. Claims 1-3, 7, 10, 12, 13, and 19-22 amended; claims 17-18 canceled. Claims 1-16 and 19-22 are subject to examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 16 recites “measurement value on measured” in line 6. It is recommended that the claim be amended to read “measurement value on”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3-6, 10-11, 7-9, and 13-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the target BWP comprises the initial BWP or the separate SDT BWP”. If one (initial BWP) is selected for rejecting claim 1, then the other one (SDT BWP) becomes optional. It is not clear how dependent claim 3, 7, 11 would further limit claim 1 if one is selected for claim 1 and other is selected for claim 3, 7, and 11.
Claim 4-5, 8-9, and 13-16 recites “the separate SDT BWP … SSB”. It is not clear to the examiner about the relationship between whether SSB is configure or not on the separate SDT BWP with the rest of the claim limitations.
Claim 13-16 recites “measurement value measured on”. The limitation “measured” is unclear because it merely states functions of the UE without providing any indication about how these functions are performed. The recited functions do not follow from the structure recited in the claim, i.e., the network device, so it is unclear whether the functions require some other structure or are simply a result of operating the claimed system in a certain manner.
Claim 14-16 recites “before entering the inactive state”. The limitation “entering” is unclear because it merely states functions of the UE without providing any indication about how these functions are performed. The recited functions do not follow from the structure recited in the claim, i.e., the network device, so it is unclear whether the functions require some other structure or are simply a result of operating the claimed system in a certain manner.
Claim(s) 4-6 and 8-9 are also rejected because they are dependent upon rejected claims 3 and 7 as set forth above and include limitations of the claims 3 and 7 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 11-12, and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by TSAI et al. (TSAI hereinafter) (US 20210337625 A1).
Regarding claim 1, claim 19, and claim 21, TSAI teaches, A bandwidth part (BWP) switching method, performed by a terminal and comprising:
determining a target BWP to be switched to for the terminal (TSAI; the BWP indicator may be included in the RRC release message, Par. 0090), wherein the terminal is configured with an initial BWP and a separate small data transmission (SDT) BWP (TSAI; a specific BWP (ID) may be configured for the UE to use in the RRC_INACTIVE state (e.g., for SDT) … configured BWP may be an initial BWP, a default BWP, and/or a specific BWP, Par. 0090), the terminal is triggered to enter from a connected state to an inactive state, and the target BWP comprises the initial BWP or the separate SDT BWP (TSAI; if the UE receives the BWP indicator and/or if the UE initiates a SDT procedure, the UE may switch the active BWP to the indicated/configured BWP (e.g., through the BWP indicator) when entering the RRC_INACTIVE state, Par. 0090); and
switching from an active BWP to the target BWP (TSAI; the UE may switch the active BWP to the indicated/configured BWP, Par. 0090).
Specifically for claim 19, TSAI teaches, A BWP switching device terminal, comprising: a processor; and a memory configured to store processor-executable instructions; wherein the processor is configured to (TSAI; the UE, Par. 0090).
Specifically for claim 21, TSAI teaches, A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a processor of a terminal, cause the terminal to perform the BWP switching method according to claim 1 (TSAI; the UE, Par. 0090).
Regarding claim 2, TSAI teaches, The BWP switching method according to claim 1, wherein determining the target BWP comprises at least one of:
determining the target BWP for the terminal based on a communication protocol;
determining the target BWP for the terminal based on a predefined condition; or
determining the target BWP for the terminal based on indication information, wherein the indication information indicates the target BWP to be switched to (TSAI; the BWP indicator may be included in the RRC release message, Par. 0090).
Regarding claim 11, TSAI teaches, The BWP switching method according to claim 2,
wherein determining the target BWP to be switched to for the terminal based on the predefined condition comprises:
determining that a condition for switching to the separate SDT BWP is met, and switching to the separate SDT BWP (TSAI; The indicated … BWP may be … a specific BWP, Par. 0090),; or
determining that a condition for switching to the separate SDT BWP is not met, and switching to the initial BWP;
wherein the condition for switching to the separate SDT BWP comprises: the separate SDT BWP being configured with one or more parameters for at least one of the following signals or channels: SSB, paging message, system message, and random access channel (TSAI; SDT configurations (e.g., RACH configuration, 2-step RACH configuration, Configured Grant configuration, Radio Bearer configuration, BWP Indicator, ... Paging configuration, Par. 0095).
Regarding claim 12, claim 20, and claim 22, TSAI teaches, A bandwidth part (BWP) switching method, performed by a network device and comprising:
sending indication information (TSAI; the BWP indicator may be included in the RRC release message, Par. 0090), wherein the indication information indicates a target BWP to be switched to for a terminal that is triggered to enter an inactive state from a connected state (TSAI; if the UE receives the BWP indicator and/or if the UE initiates a SDT procedure, the UE may switch the active BWP to the indicated/configured BWP (e.g., through the BWP indicator) when entering the RRC_INACTIVE state, Par. 0090), and the target BWP comprises an initial BWP or a separate small data transmission (SDT) BWP (TSAI; a specific BWP (ID) may be configured for the UE to use in the RRC_INACTIVE state (e.g., for SDT) … configured BWP may be an initial BWP, a default BWP, and/or a specific BWP, Par. 0090).
Specifically for claim 20, TSAI teaches, A network device, comprising: a processor; and a memory configured to store processor-executable instructions; wherein the processor is configured to: execute the BWP switching method according to claim 12 (TSAI; a base station, Par. 0067).
Specifically for claim 22, TSAI teaches, A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a processor of a network device, cause the network device to perform the BWP switching method according to claim 12 (TSAI; a base station, Par. 0067).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3, 7, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAI in view of R2-2107867 (R2-2107867 hereinafter) (3GPP TSG-RAN2#115-e, Aug 2021, submitted in IDS).
Regarding claim 3, TSAI teaches, The BWP switching method according to claim 2, wherein the target BWP to be switched to for the terminal is the initial BWP (TSAI; The indicated … BWP may be an initial BWP, Par. 0090), and the BWP switching method further comprises:
determining that a small data packet to be transmitted exists (TSAI; if the UE initiates a SDT procedure, Par. 0090), and determining that a time advance (TA) corresponding to the SDT is valid (TSAI; SDT) configuration may include ... a TA timer for TA validity, Par. 0086; the configured grant resource may only be valid while the timer is running, Par. 0088).
Although TSAI teaches “a UE may be configured with a first CG configuration (when the UE is in the RRC_INACTIVE state) ... the UE may determine whether there is a valid/available UL resource for UL data transmission (e.g., SDT) in the RRC_INACTIVE state based on whether a specific procedure is triggered (or pending or ongoing)”, but TSAI fails to explicitly teach,
switching from the initial BWP to the separate SDT BWP and performing a configured grant (CG) SDT.
However, in the same field of endeavor, R2-2107867 teaches,
switching from the initial BWP to the separate SDT BWP and performing a configured grant (CG) SDT (R2-2107867; In Alt 2, the UE switches to the initial UL BWP when the UE transits to RRC INACTIVE as in legacy. The UE remains in the initial UL BWP in RRC INACTIVE. When CG-SDT is initiated, the UE switches to the separate SDT UL BWP and performs CG-SDT procedure on the separate SDT UL BWP, pg 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of TSAI to include the use of separate SDT UL BWP as taught by R2-2107867 in order to perform SDT (R2-2107867; pg 2).
Regarding claim 7, TSAI teaches, The BWP switching method according to claim 2, wherein the target BWP to be switched to for the terminal is the separate SDT BWP (TSAI; The indicated … BWP may be … a specific BWP, Par. 0090), and the method further comprises:
determining that a small data packet to be transmitted exists (TSAI; if the UE initiates a SDT procedure, Par. 0090), and determining that a time advance (TA) corresponding to the SDT is valid (TSAI; SDT) configuration may include ... a TA timer for TA validity, Par. 0086; the configured grant resource may only be valid while the timer is running, Par. 0088).
Although TSAI teaches “a UE may be configured with a first CG configuration (when the UE is in the RRC_INACTIVE state) ... the UE may determine whether there is a valid/available UL resource for UL data transmission (e.g., SDT) in the RRC_INACTIVE state based on whether a specific procedure is triggered (or pending or ongoing)”, but TSAI fails to explicitly teach,
performing a configured grant (CG) SDT on the separate SDT BWP.
However, in the same field of endeavor, R2-2107867 teaches,
performing a configured grant (CG) SDT on the separate SDT BWP (R2-2107867; In Alt 1, the UE switches to the separate SDT UL BWP when UE receives RRCRelease message for transition to RRC_TNACTIVE. The UE remains in the separate SDT UL BWP during RRC_TNACTIVE. When CG-SDT is initiated, the UE performs CG-SDT procedure using the separate SDT UL BWP, pg 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of TSAI to include the use of separate SDT UL BWP as taught by R2-2107867 in order to perform SDT (R2-2107867; pg 2).
Regarding claim 10, TSAI- R2-2107867 teaches, The BWP switching method according to claim 3, further comprising:
determining that the small data packet to be transmitted exists, and determining that the TA corresponding to the SDT is invalid; and performing a random access-based SDT on the initial BWP or the separate SDT BWP (TSAI; If the specific TA timer expires ( or not running), the UE may determine that the TA is not valid, Par. 0092; the timer may be a CG validity timer or a TA timer ... If the timer expires and the associated CG configuration(s) becomes invalid, the UE may release/suspend the CG configuration(s)/resource. Subsequently, when the CG configuration(s) is released/suspend, the UE may initiate an RA procedure with 2-step RA type and/or 4-step RA type for small data transmission).
Claim 4-5 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAI- R2-2107867 in view of TAKAHASHI et al. (TAKAHASHI hereinafter) (US 20240023187 A1) and in further view of Thangarasa et al. (Thangarasa hereinafter) (US 20240172155 A1).
Regarding claim 4, TSAI- R2-2107867 teaches, The BWP switching method according to claim 3.
TSAI- R2-2107867 fail to explicitly teach,
wherein the separate SDT BWP is not configured with a synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB), and determining that the TA corresponding to the SDT is valid comprises:
determining that the TA corresponding to the SDT is valid based on a first parameter reference value and a first parameter measurement value, wherein the first parameter reference value comprises a parameter measurement value measured on the initial BWP or an active BWP before entering the inactive state, and the first parameter measurement value is obtained by measuring a beam, the same as a beam measured to obtain the first parameter reference value, on the initial BWP after entering the inactive state.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Thangarasa teaches,
determining that the TA corresponding to the SDT is valid based on (Thangarasa; Some metrics for determination of TA validation may be related to the absolute RSRP or the RSRP change, Par. 0087) a first parameter reference value and a first parameter measurement value, wherein the first parameter reference value comprises a parameter measurement value measured on the initial BWP or an active BWP before entering the inactive state, and the first parameter measurement value is obtained by measuring a beam, the same as a beam measured to obtain the first parameter reference value, on the initial BWP after entering the inactive state (Thangarasa; the RSRP change can be based on the latest SSB selected and the latest SSB selected some time ago, wherein the “some time” can be a predetermined time such as, for example, the time when RRC released to enter RRC inactive state, when latest TA was obtained or updated, or when SDT configuration was received, Par. 0088).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of TSAI- R2-2107867 to include the use of selecting latest SSB as taught by Thangarasa in order to calculate variation (Thangarasa; Par. 0088).
TSAI- R2-2107867-Thangarasa fail to explicitly teach,
wherein the separate SDT BWP is not configured with a synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB).
However, in the same field of endeavor, TAKAHASHI teaches,
the separate SDT BWP is not configured with an SSB a synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB) (TAKAHASHI; BWP in which the SSB is not transmitted, Par. 0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of TSAI- R2-2107867-Thangarasa to include the use of measurement configuration as taught by TAKAHASHI in order to perform measurement (TAKAHASHI; Par. 0075).
Regarding claim 5, TSAI- R2-2107867 teaches, The switching method according to claim 3, wherein the target BWP to be switched to for the terminal is determined to be the initial BWP based on the communication protocol or the indication information (TSAI; The indicated/configured BWP may be an initial BWP, Par. 0090).
TSAI- R2-2107867 fail to explicitly teach,
the separate SDT BWP is configured with an SSB, and determining that the TA corresponding to the SDT is valid comprise:
determining that the TA corresponding to the SDT is valid based on a second parameter reference value and a second parameter measurement value, wherein the second parameter reference value comprises a parameter measurement value measured on the initial BWP, the separate SDT BWP or an active BWP before entering the inactive state, and the second parameter measurement value is obtained by measuring a beam, the same as a beam measured to obtain the second parameter reference value, on the separate SDT BWP or the initial BWP after entering the inactive state.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Thangarasa teaches,
determining that the TA corresponding to the SDT is valid based on (Thangarasa; Some metrics for determination of TA validation may be related to the absolute RSRP or the RSRP change, Par. 0087) a second parameter reference value and a second parameter measurement value, wherein the second parameter reference value comprises a parameter measurement value measured on the initial BWP, the separate SDT BWP or an active BWP before entering the inactive state, and the second parameter measurement value is obtained by measuring a beam, the same as a beam measured to obtain the second parameter reference value, on the separate SDT BWP or the initial BWP after entering the inactive state (Thangarasa; the RSRP change can be based on the latest SSB selected and the latest SSB selected some time ago, wherein the “some time” can be a predetermined time such as, for example, the time when RRC released to enter RRC inactive state, when latest TA was obtained or updated, or when SDT configuration was received, Par. 0088).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of TSAI- R2-2107867 to include the use of selecting latest SSB as taught by Thangarasa in order to calculate variation (Thangarasa; Par. 0088).
TSAI- R2-2107867-Thangarasa fail to explicitly teach,
the separate SDT BWP is configured with an SSB.
However, in the same field of endeavor, TAKAHASHI teaches,
the separate SDT BWP is configured with an SSB (TAKAHASHI; performing measurement on an SSB when a BWP with the SSB, which is a BWP in which the SSB is transmitted from the base station, Par. 0010).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of TSAI- R2-2107867-Thangarasa to include the use of measurement configuration as taught by TAKAHASHI in order to perform measurement (TAKAHASHI; Par. 0075).
Regarding claim 8, TSAI- R2-2107867 teaches, The BWP switching method according to claim 7.
TSAI- R2-2107867 fail to explicitly teach,
wherein the separate SDT BWP comprises the initial BWP, or the separate SDT BWP is configured with one or more parameters for at least one of the following signals or channels: SSB, paging message, system message, and random access channel; and
determining that the TA corresponding to the SDT is valid comprises:
determining that the TA corresponding to the SDT is valid based on a third parameter reference value and a third parameter measurement value, wherein the third parameter reference value comprises a parameter measurement value measured on the separate SDT BWP or an active BWP before entering the inactive state, and the third parameter measurement value is obtained by measuring a beam, the same as a beam measured to obtain the third parameter reference value, on the separate SDT BWP after entering the inactive state.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Thangarasa teaches,
determining that the TA corresponding to the SDT is valid comprises:
determining that the TA corresponding to the SDT is valid based on (Thangarasa; Some metrics for determination of TA validation may be related to the absolute RSRP or the RSRP change, Par. 0087) a third parameter reference value and a third parameter measurement value, wherein the third parameter reference value comprises a parameter measurement value measured on the separate SDT BWP or an active BWP before entering the inactive state, and the third parameter measurement value is obtained by measuring a beam, the same as a beam measured to obtain the third parameter reference value, on the separate SDT BWP after entering the inactive state (Thangarasa; the RSRP change can be based on the latest SSB selected and the latest SSB selected some time ago, wherein the “some time” can be a predetermined time such as, for example, the time when RRC released to enter RRC inactive state, when latest TA was obtained or updated, or when SDT configuration was received, Par. 0088).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of TSAI- R2-2107867 to include the use of selecting latest SSB as taught by Thangarasa in order to calculate variation (Thangarasa; Par. 0088).
TSAI- R2-2107867-Thangarasa fail to explicitly teach,
wherein the separate SDT BWP comprises the initial BWP, or the separate SDT BWP is configured with one or more parameters for at least one of the following signals or channels: SSB, paging message, system message, and random access channel.
However, in the same field of endeavor, TAKAHASHI teaches,
the separate SDT BWP is configured with … SSB (TAKAHASHI; performing measurement on an SSB when a BWP with the SSB, which is a BWP in which the SSB is transmitted from the base station, Par. 0010).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of TSAI- R2-2107867-Thangarasa to include the use of measurement configuration as taught by TAKAHASHI in order to perform measurement (TAKAHASHI; Par. 0075).
Regarding claim 9, TSAI- R2-2107867 teaches, The BWP switching method according to claim 7, wherein the target BWP to be switched to for the terminal is determined to be the separate SDT BWP based on the communication protocol or the indication information (TSAI; The indicated/configured BWP may be … a specific BWP, Par. 0090 & R2-2107867; Alt 2, pg 2).
TSAI- R2-2107867 fail to explicitly teach,
no SSB is configured in the separate SDT BWP; and
determining that the TA corresponding to the SDT is valid comprises:
determining that the TA corresponding to the SDT is valid based on a fourth parameter reference value and a fourth parameter measurement value, wherein the fourth parameter reference value comprises a parameter measurement value measured on the initial BWP or an active BWP before entering the inactive state, and the fourth parameter measurement value is obtained by measuring a beam, the same as a beammeasured to obtain the fourth parameter reference value, on the initial BWP after entering the inactive state.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Thangarasa teaches,
determining that the TA corresponding to the SDT is valid comprises:
determining that the TA corresponding to the SDT is valid based on (Thangarasa; Some metrics for determination of TA validation may be related to the absolute RSRP or the RSRP change, Par. 0087) a fourth parameter reference value and a fourth parameter measurement value, wherein the fourth parameter reference value comprises a parameter measurement value measured on the initial BWP or an active BWP before entering the inactive state, and the fourth parameter measurement value is obtained by measuring a beam, the same as a beam measured to obtain the fourth parameter reference value, on the initial BWP after entering the inactive state (Thangarasa; the RSRP change can be based on the latest SSB selected and the latest SSB selected some time ago, wherein the “some time” can be a predetermined time such as, for example, the time when RRC released to enter RRC inactive state, when latest TA was obtained or updated, or when SDT configuration was received, Par. 0088).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of TSAI- R2-2107867 to include the use of selecting latest SSB as taught by Thangarasa in order to calculate variation (Thangarasa; Par. 0088).
TSAI- R2-2107867-Thangarasa fail to explicitly teach,
no SSB is configured in the separate SDT BWP.
However, in the same field of endeavor, TAKAHASHI teaches,
no SSB is configured in the separate SDT BWP (TAKAHASHI; BWP in which the SSB is not transmitted, Par. 0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of TSAI- R2-2107867-Thangarasa to include the use of measurement configuration as taught by TAKAHASHI in order to perform measurement (TAKAHASHI; Par. 0075).
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAI- R2-2107867 in view of TSENG et al. (TSENG hereinafter) (US 20240040626 A1).
Regarding claim 6, TSAI- R2-2107867 teaches, The BWP switching method according to claim 3, further comprising.
TSAI- R2-2107867 fail to explicitly teach,
determining that the SDT is completed, and switching from the separate SDT BWP to the initial BWP.
However, in the same field of endeavor, TSENG teaches,
determining that the SDT is completed, and switching from the separate SDT BWP to the initial BWP (TSENG; when the UE triggers/initiates the SDT procedure, the UE may switch its serving BWP from the initial DL-BWP/initial UL-BWP to the UE-specific DL-BWP/UL-BWP that is configured in the SDT configuration for the SDT procedure. In some implementations, the UE may (or may not) switch from the UE-specific DL-BWP/UL-BWP to the initial DL-BWP/UL-BWP after the SDT procedure is finished, Par. 0060).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of TSAI to include the use of SDT procedure as taught by TSENG in order to switch BWP (TSENG; Par. 0060).
Claim 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAI in view of TAKAHASHI.
Regarding claim 13, TSAI teaches, The BWP switching method according to claim 12, wherein the target BWP comprises the initial BWP (TSAI; the UE may perform a measurement procedure on a DL reference signal(s) (e.g., SSB/CSI-RS), Par. 0173), and the method further comprises:
configuring the initial BWP with measurement of a beam, the same as a beam used for measurement of a first parameter reference value, wherein the first parameter reference value is a parameter measurement value measured on the initial BWP or an active BWP (TSAI; if a change in the DL channel condition/quality is higher than a second threshold, for example, the comparison of the current RSRP to the stored/previous RSRP is higher than a RSRP threshold, Par. 0175; beam/SSB, Par. 0170).
Although TSAI teaches measuring of SSB/CSI-RS in order to use configured grant resources, but failed to failed to explicitly teach,
the separate SDT BWP is not configured with an SSB a synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB); and
configuring BWP with measurement information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, TAKAHASHI teaches,
the separate SDT BWP is not configured with an SSB a synchronization signal and PBCH block (SSB) (TAKAHASHI; BWP in which the SSB is not transmitted, Par. 0075); and
configuring BWP with measurement information (TAKAHASHI; In step S101, the BS 200 transmits configuration information in order to configure a BWP to the UE 100, Par. 0068; in a case where the downlink BWP dedicatedly configured for the UE 100 includes the dedicated downlink BWP in which the SSB is not transmitted, the BS 200 may configure, in the UE 100, measurement using the CSI-RS resource included in the dedicated downlink BWP in which the SSB is not transmitted, Par. 0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of TSAI to include the use of measurement configuration as taught by TAKAHASHI in order to perform measurement (TAKAHASHI; Par. 0075).
Claim 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAI in view of TAKAHASHI and in further view of Thangarasa.
Regarding claim 14, TSAI teaches, The BWP switching method according to claim 12, wherein the target BWP comprises the initial BWP (TSAI; the UE may perform a measurement procedure on a DL reference signal(s) (e.g., SSB/CSI-RS), Par. 0173), and the method further comprises:
configuring the separate SDT BWP with measurement of a beam, the same as a beam used for measurement of a second parameter reference value, wherein the second parameter reference value is a parameter measurement value measured on the initial BWP, the separate SDT BWP or an active BWP (TSAI; if a change in the DL channel condition/quality is higher than a second threshold, for example, the comparison of the current RSRP to the stored/previous RSRP is higher than a RSRP threshold, Par. 0175; beam/SSB, Par. 0170).
Although TSAI teaches measuring of SSB/CSI-RS in order to use configured grant resources, but failed to failed to explicitly teach,
the separate SDT BWP is configured with an SSB; and
configuring BWP with measurement information;
measured before entering the inactive state.
However, in the same field of endeavor, TAKAHASHI teaches,
the separate SDT BWP is configured with an SSB (TAKAHASHI; performing measurement on an SSB when a BWP with the SSB, which is a BWP in which the SSB is transmitted from the base station, Par. 0010); and
configuring BWP with measurement information (TAKAHASHI; In step S101, the BS 200 transmits configuration information in order to configure a BWP to the UE 100, Par. 0068; in a case where the downlink BWP dedicatedly configured for the UE 100 includes the dedicated downlink BWP in which the SSB is not transmitted, the BS 200 may configure, in the UE 100, measurement using the CSI-RS resource included in the dedicated downlink BWP in which the SSB is not transmitted, Par. 0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of TSAI to include the use of measurement configuration as taught by TAKAHASHI in order to perform measurement (TAKAHASHI; Par. 0075).
Although TSAI teaches storing RSRP for comparing purposes, but TSAI- TAKAHASHI failed to failed to explicitly teach,
measured before entering the inactive state.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Thangarasa teaches,
measured before entering the inactive state (Thangarasa; the RSRP change can be based on the latest SSB selected and the latest SSB selected some time ago, wherein the “some time” can be a predetermined time such as, for example, the time when RRC released to enter RRC inactive state, when latest TA was obtained or updated, or when SDT configuration was received, Par. 0088).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of TSAI- TAKAHASHI to include the use of selecting latest SSB as taught by Thangarasa in order to calculate variation (Thangarasa; Par. 0088).
Regarding claim 15, TSAI teaches, The BWP switching method according to claim 12, wherein the target BWP comprises the separate SDT BWP (TSAI; the UE may perform a measurement procedure on a DL reference signal(s) (e.g., SSB/CSI-RS), Par. 0173), and the method further comprises:
configuring the separate SDT BWP with measurement of a beam, the same as a beam used for measurement of a third parameter reference value, wherein the third parameter reference value is a parameter measurement value measured on the separate SDT BWP or an active BWP (TSAI; if a change in the DL channel condition/quality is higher than a second threshold, for example, the comparison of the current RSRP to the stored/previous RSRP is higher than a RSRP threshold, Par. 0175; beam/SSB, Par. 0170).
Although TSAI teaches measuring of SSB/CSI-RS in order to use configured grant resources, but failed to failed to explicitly teach,
the separate SDT BWP comprises the initial BWP or the separate SDT BWP is configured with one or more parameters for at least one of the following signals or channels: SSB, paging message, system message, and random access channel; and
configuring BWP with measurement information;
measured before entering the inactive state.
However, in the same field of endeavor, TAKAHASHI teaches,
the separate SDT BWP is configured with one or more parameters for at least one of the following signals or channels: SSB (TAKAHASHI; performing measurement on an SSB when a BWP with the SSB, which is a BWP in which the SSB is transmitted from the base station, Par. 0010); and
configuring BWP with measurement information (TAKAHASHI; In step S101, the BS 200 transmits configuration information in order to configure a BWP to the UE 100, Par. 0068; in a case where the downlink BWP dedicatedly configured for the UE 100 includes the dedicated downlink BWP in which the SSB is not transmitted, the BS 200 may configure, in the UE 100, measurement using the CSI-RS resource included in the dedicated downlink BWP in which the SSB is not transmitted, Par. 0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of TSAI to include the use of measurement configuration as taught by TAKAHASHI in order to perform measurement (TAKAHASHI; Par. 0075).
Although TSAI teaches storing RSRP for comparing purposes, but TSAI- TAKAHASHI failed to failed to explicitly teach,
measured before entering the inactive state.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Thangarasa teaches,
measured before entering the inactive state (Thangarasa; the RSRP change can be based on the latest SSB selected and the latest SSB selected some time ago, wherein the “some time” can be a predetermined time such as, for example, the time when RRC released to enter RRC inactive state, when latest TA was obtained or updated, or when SDT configuration was received, Par. 0088).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of TSAI- TAKAHASHI to include the use of selecting latest SSB as taught by Thangarasa in order to calculate variation (Thangarasa; Par. 0088).
Regarding claim 16, TSAI teaches, The BWP switching method according to claim 12, wherein the target BWP comprises the separate SDT BWP (TSAI; the UE may perform a measurement procedure on a DL reference signal(s) (e.g., SSB/CSI-RS), Par. 0173), and the method further comprises:
configuring the initial BWP with measurement of a beam, the same as a beam used for measurement of a fourth parameter reference value, wherein the fourth parameter reference value is a parameter measurement value measured on the initial BWP or an active BWP (TSAI; if a change in the DL channel condition/quality is higher than a second threshold, for example, the comparison of the current RSRP to the stored/previous RSRP is higher than a RSRP threshold, Par. 0175; beam/SSB, Par. 0170).
Although TSAI teaches measuring of SSB/CSI-RS in order to use configured grant resources, but failed to failed to explicitly teach,
no SSB is configured in the separate SDT BWP; and
configuring BWP with measurement information;
measured before entering the inactive state.
However, in the same field of endeavor, TAKAHASHI teaches,
no SSB is configured in the separate SDT BWP (TAKAHASHI; BWP in which the SSB is not transmitted, Par. 0075); and
configuring BWP with measurement information (TAKAHASHI; In step S101, the BS 200 transmits configuration information in order to configure a BWP to the UE 100, Par. 0068; in a case where the downlink BWP dedicatedly configured for the UE 100 includes the dedicated downlink BWP in which the SSB is not transmitted, the BS 200 may configure, in the UE 100, measurement using the CSI-RS resource included in the dedicated downlink BWP in which the SSB is not transmitted, Par. 0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of TSAI to include the use of measurement configuration as taught by TAKAHASHI in order to perform measurement (TAKAHASHI; Par. 0075).
Although TSAI teaches storing RSRP for comparing purposes, but TSAI- TAKAHASHI failed to failed to explicitly teach,
measured before entering the inactive state.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Thangarasa teaches,
measured before entering the inactive state (Thangarasa; the RSRP change can be based on the latest SSB selected and the latest SSB selected some time ago, wherein the “some time” can be a predetermined time such as, for example, the time when RRC released to enter RRC inactive state, when latest TA was obtained or updated, or when SDT configuration was received, Par. 0088).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of TSAI- TAKAHASHI to include the use of selecting latest SSB as taught by Thangarasa in order to calculate variation (Thangarasa; Par. 0088).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Prior art ZHANG et al. (US 20230189103 A1) teaches in Fig. 10 that a terminal device enters inactive state and subsequently a DCI instructing the device to switch BWP.
/SHARMIN CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416