CTNF 18/692,886 CTNF 93485 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION This communication is responsive to Application # 18692886 filed 03/18/2024. Claims 1-3, 6-9 and 15-18 amended; Claims 13-14 canceled. Claims 1-12 and 15-18 are subject to examination. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 6-8 and claim 10-11 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6-8 and claim 10-11 recite “the PDSCH located”. It is not clear whether “the PDSCH” is referring back to “receiving the PDSCH” or “not receiving the PDSCH”. It is recommended to amend the claims to recite “ the received PDSCH” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 AIA Claim 4-8 and 10-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 1 and 9 recite “PDSCH receiving mode is a first mode or a second mode”. If one of the modes is selected for rejection, the other mode becomes optional . Claim 4-5 recite “unreceived …PDSCH” and Claim 6-7 and claim 10-11 recite “excludes a portion of a cross-region PDSCH”, both of which belong to the first mode scenario. Examiner is not clear how dependent claim 4-5, 6-7, and 10-11 would further limit claim 1 and claim 9 if “second mode” is selected for rejection. Similarly, Claim 8 and 12 recite “includes a portion of a cross-region PDSCH located after the end position of the COT”, which belong to the second mode scenario. Examiner is not clear how dependent claim 8 and 12 would further limit claim 1 and claim 9 if “first mode” is selected for rejection. Allowable Subject Matter 07-43-02 AIA Claim 4-8 and 10-12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 1-3, 9, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU ( WU hereinafter) (US 20220104216 A1) in view of SUN et al. ( SUN hereinafter) (US 20210120431 A1) . Regarding claim 1 and claim 17, WU teaches, A method for receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), performed by a user device, the method comprising: determining, by a user device, a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) receiving mode (WU; the terminal device determines the slot format on the first carrier according to the target time window, Par. 0068; The target time window includes a COT window initiated by the network device, wherein a third symbol group in a third slot is located outside the COT window, Par. 0126) , wherein the PDSCH receiving mode is a first mode (WU; cancels receiving, Par. 0127) or a second mode; wherein the first mode corresponds to, after the user device monitors control indication information including an end position of the channel occupation time (COT) (WU; The terminal device determines the COT window according to the received second indication information, wherein the second indication information includes at least one of length indication information of the COT window, slot structure indication information, Par. 0054; the second indication information may be a physical layer signaling, Par. 0061; a PDCCH for carrying the DCI format 2-0, Par. 0043) , receiving the PDSCH located before the end position of the COT and not receiving the PDSCH located after the end position of the COT (WU; if the terminal device is configured to receive a preconfigured downlink transmission on the third symbol group in the third slot, the terminal device cancels receiving the preconfigured downlink transmission on the third symbol group in the third slot, or the terminal device cancels receiving the preconfigured downlink transmission on the third slot, Par. 0127) ; monitoring and receiving, by the user device, downlink control information, wherein the downlink control information includes information for indicating the end position of the COT (WU; If one or more symbols in the group of symbols are symbols in a CORESET configured for the UE for PDCCH monitoring, the UE receives a PDCCH in the CORESET only in a case where an SFI-index field in the DCI format 2_0 indicates that the one or more symbols are downlink symbols, Par. 0103; the second indication information includes at least one of length indication information of the COT window, slot structure indication information, Par. 0054) ; and receiving the PDSCH in the determined PDSCH receiving mode (WU; If the UE is configured by a high layer to receive a PDSCH … on the group of symbol in the slot, the UE receives the PDSCH, Par. 0107) . Although WU teaches that the UE receives PDSCH within the network initiated COT, but fails to explicitly teach, wherein the second mode corresponds to, after the user device monitors the control indication information including the end position of the COT, receiving the PDSCH located before the end position of the COT and receiving the PDSCH located after the end position of the COT. However, in the same field of endeavor, SUN teaches, wherein the second mode corresponds to, after the user device monitors the control indication information including the end position of the COT, receiving the PDSCH located before the end position of the COT and receiving the PDSCH located after the end position of the COT (SUN; At block 1258, for the DL configured resource 1212b outside he BS COT's 1208, the BS may share the UE's COT 1209 ... The BS may transmit a COT indication when sharing the UE's COT 1209 using similar mechanisms as the COT indication 1222, Par. 0149; UE may be aware of when the BS's COT 408 starts and/or ends based on a detection of the COT indicator 422, Par. 0076) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of WU to include the use of COT sharing as taught by SUN in order to transmit downlink outside BS COT ( SUN ; Fig. 12B). Specifically for claim 17, WU teaches, A non-transient computer-readable storage medium, having instructions stored therein, wherein when the instructions are invoked for execution on a computer, the computer is enabled to implement the method according to claim 1 (WU; The terminal device, Par. 0054) . Regarding claim 9, claim 16, and claim 18, WU teaches, (Currently Amended) A method for sending a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), performed by a network device, the method comprising: sending, by a network device, first indication information to a user device, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate that a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) receiving mode (WU; The terminal device determines the COT window according to the received second indication information, wherein the second indication information includes at least one of length indication information of the COT window, slot structure indication information, Par. 0054) is a first mode (WU; cancels receiving, Par. 0127) or a second mode; sending, by the network device, downlink control information (DCI), wherein the downlink control information includes information for indicating an end position of channel occupation time (the COT) (WU; The terminal device determines the COT window according to the received second indication information, wherein the second indication information includes at least one of length indication information of the COT window, slot structure indication information, Par. 0054; the second indication information may be a physical layer signaling, Par. 0061; a PDCCH for carrying the DCI format 2-0, Par. 0043) ; and sending, by the network device, the PDSCH (WU; If the UE is configured by a high layer to receive a PDSCH … on the group of symbol in the slot, the UE receives the PDSCH, Par. 0107) , wherein the first mode corresponds to, after the user device monitors control indication information comprising the end position of the COT, receiving the PDSCH located before the end position of the COT and not receiving the PDSCH located after the end position of the COT (WU; if the terminal device is configured to receive a preconfigured downlink transmission on the third symbol group in the third slot, the terminal device cancels receiving the preconfigured downlink transmission on the third symbol group in the third slot, or the terminal device cancels receiving the preconfigured downlink transmission on the third slot, Par. 0127) ; Although WU teaches that the UE receives PDSCH within the network initiated COT, but fails to explicitly teach, wherein the second mode corresponds to, after the user device monitors the control indication information comprising the end position of the COT, receiving the PDSCH located before the end position of the COT and receiving the PDSCH located after the end position of the COT. However, in the same field of endeavor, SUN teaches, wherein the second mode corresponds to, after the user device monitors the control indication information comprising the end position of the COT, receiving the PDSCH located before the end position of the COT and receiving the PDSCH located after the end position of the COT (SUN; At block 1258, for the DL configured resource 1212b outside he BS COT's 1208, the BS may share the UE's COT 1209 ... The BS may transmit a COT indication when sharing the UE's COT 1209 using similar mechanisms as the COT indication 1222, Par. 0149; UE may be aware of when the BS's COT 408 starts and/or ends based on a detection of the COT indicator 422, Par. 0076) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of WU to include the use of COT sharing as taught by SUN in order to transmit downlink outside BS COT ( SUN ; Fig. 12B). Specifically for claim 16, WU teaches, A communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program; and wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer program to implement the method according to claim 9 (WU; network device, Par. 0028) . Specifically for claim 18, WU teaches, A non-transient computer-readable storage medium, having instructions stored therein, wherein when the instructions are invoked for execution on a computer, the computer is enabled to implement the method according to claim 9 (WU; network device, Par. 0028) . Regarding claim 15, WU teaches, A communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program; and wherein the processor is configured to (WU; the terminal device, Par. 0068) : determining, by a user device, a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) receiving mode (WU; the terminal device determines the slot format on the first carrier according to the target time window, Par. 0068; The target time window includes a COT window initiated by the network device, wherein a third symbol group in a third slot is located outside the COT window, Par. 0126) , wherein the PDSCH receiving mode is a first mode (WU; cancels receiving, Par. 0127) or a second mode; wherein the first mode corresponds to, after the user device monitors control indication information including an end position of the channel occupation time (COT) (WU; The terminal device determines the COT window according to the received second indication information, wherein the second indication information includes at least one of length indication information of the COT window, slot structure indication information, Par. 0054; the second indication information may be a physical layer signaling, Par. 0061; a PDCCH for carrying the DCI format 2-0, Par. 0043) , monitor and receive downlink control information (WU; If one or more symbols in the group of symbols are symbols in a CORESET configured for the UE for PDCCH monitoring, the UE receives a PDCCH, Par. 0103) , receiving the PDSCH located before the end position of the COT and not receiving the PDSCH located after the end position of the COT (WU; if the terminal device is configured to receive a preconfigured downlink transmission on the third symbol group in the third slot, the terminal device cancels receiving the preconfigured downlink transmission on the third symbol group in the third slot, or the terminal device cancels receiving the preconfigured downlink transmission on the third slot, Par. 0127) ; wherein the downlink control information includes information for indicating the end position of the COT (WU; The terminal device determines the COT window according to the received second indication information, wherein the second indication information includes at least one of length indication information of the COT window, slot structure indication information, Par. 0054) ; and receive the PDSCH in the determined PDSCH receiving mode (WU; If the UE is configured by a high layer to receive a PDSCH … on the group of symbol in the slot, the UE receives the PDSCH, Par. 0107) . Although WU teaches that the UE receives PDSCH within the network initiated COT, but fails to explicitly teach, wherein the second mode corresponds to, after the user device monitors the control indication information including the end position of the COT, receiving the PDSCH located before the end position of the COT and receiving the PDSCH located after the end position of the COT . However, in the same field of endeavor, SUN teaches, wherein the second mode corresponds to, after the user device monitors the control indication information including the end position of the COT, receiving the PDSCH located before the end position of the COT and receiving the PDSCH located after the end position of the COT (SUN; At block 1258, for the DL configured resource 1212b outside he BS COT's 1208, the BS may share the UE's COT 1209 ... The BS may transmit a COT indication when sharing the UE's COT 1209 using similar mechanisms as the COT indication 1222, Par. 0149; UE may be aware of when the BS's COT 408 starts and/or ends based on a detection of the COT indicator 422, Par. 0076) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of WU to include the use of COT sharing as taught by SUN in order to transmit downlink outside BS COT ( SUN ; Fig. 12B). Regarding claim 2, WU- SUN teaches, The method according to claim 1 , wherein determining the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) receiving mode comprises: determining the PDSCH receiving mode based on a protocol provision (SUN; the BS configures the UE with a rule 950 for using configured resources within a BS's COT and a rule 960 for using configured resources outside a BS's COT. In some other instances, the rules 950 and 960 and/or when to apply the rules 950 and 960 may be predetermined, for example, specified by a certain wireless communication protocol, Par. 0118) . The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of SUN is the same as for Claim 1. Regarding claim 3, WU- SUN teaches, The method according to claim 1 , wherein determining the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) receiving mode comprises: receiving first indication information from a network device, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate that the PDSCH receiving mode is the first mode or the second mode (WU; The terminal device determines the COT window according to the received second indication information, wherein the second indication information includes at least one of length indication information of the COT window, slot structure indication information, Par. 0054 & SUN; The BS may transmit a COT indication when sharing the UE's COT 1209 using similar mechanisms as the COT indication 1222, Par. 0149 ). The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of SUN is the same as for Claim 1 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Prior art Oteri et al. (US 20220346125 A1) teaches cross-COT multi-PDSCH/PUSCH scheduling Fig. 11A-11C. Prior art Wang (US 20220104260 A1) teaches in Par. 0098 that “gNB initiated COT information is transmitted to the UE(s) regarding COT structure and one or more of: DL/UL/flexible symbols (like SFI) …SFI information (start/end/next) … COT Duration, End of COT, Additional SFI entries for partial slots, SFI of outside COT, and COT Sharing (e.g. for configured grant sharing)” . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SHARMIN CHOWDHURY whose telephone number is (571)272-6419. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Noel Beharry can be reached at 5712705630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SHARMIN CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/692,886 Page 2 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/692,886 Page 4 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/692,886 Page 5 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/692,886 Page 6 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/692,886 Page 7 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/692,886 Page 8 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/692,886 Page 9 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/692,886 Page 10 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/692,886 Page 11 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/692,886 Page 12 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/692,886 Page 13 Art Unit: 2416 Application/Control Number: 18/692,886 Page 14 Art Unit: 2416